GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Gears of War

"Gears of War" is the first game developed by Epic Games exclusively for Microsoft Game Studios and the Xbox 360 video game and entertainment system. "Gears of War" thrusts gamers into a deep and harrowing story of humankind's epic battle for survival against the Locust Horde, a nightmarish race of creatures that surface from the bowels of the planet.
Average Customer Rating:
8.863
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (233 reviews)
10 stars
129
9 stars
50
8 stars
22
7 stars
12
6 stars
2
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
5
212 out of 23391%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gears of War
Review 1 for Gears of War
GOW
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/29/14
Xxsoldier454xX
Location: Texas, Tx
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
To me this game is way better then call of duty its a really good game its worth your money be sure to get all of the gows.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Gears of War
Great Game, But Impossible Campaign
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/14
Todd101010
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game is good for its time, but the 5th level is impossible, there are these indestructible things called berserkers and they destroy everything. The thing is, you have to kill one. Think about it indestructible locust, and you have to KILL it. It's impossible. Everything else up to that point in the game is great. Gears of war 2 is better.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Gears of War
This Game was the Reason to Have a 360
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/14
coffeedude
Location: Tim Buck Two
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Now I understand I'm a little late, but here it goes. This game is amazing! The campaign was great! I loved all the weapons, gameplay mechanics, co-op, the locust, blood and gore, dialogue, everything! Everything about this game is fun! The soundtrack is also amazing. The trailer of this game with the song Mad World is very cool. It describes the game. The online multiplayer, while a little dated, is still fun. The game modes are mostly the same, but hey, this game came out in 2006. I liked being able to host games and choose to be the COG or Locust. The maps are great, with the weapons scattered throughout them. Everything about this game is fun, it makes you want to buy the other ones.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for Gears of War
awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/13
CodGamerForLife
Location: tn
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this is the most awesome game ever i love it you should buy it all i got to say is that the game is awesome
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for Gears of War
BUY IT NOW
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/13
Slayrconn2013
Location: Buckingham, VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is one of the best I've ever played.definitely worth the buy for any type of gamer . it only three dollars pre-owed and with the pre owed gaurentee its perfect! so you know save up ur lunch money and pester your parents into ordering it for you! lol
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 6 for Gears of War
Best Game Ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/13
WalrusLord
Location: West Virginia
This is why you buy an Xbox. A game that is absolutely perfect in gameplay, characters you get attached to, weapons, and story. This is my personal favorite game of all of the Gears of War games. But I suggest picking up all 4.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Gears of War
The Start Of Something Legendary
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/13
1djgamer
Location: Milwaukee,WI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Graphics-to-Sounds-to-Multiplayer is all of the above #1 game in the U.S. gaming department. Gears Of War has blown away many minds. The creator has out-done himself, 11-out-of-10!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Gears of War
Its seems sucky at 1st but it gets better kind of.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/9/13
Climbingleader
Location: Kansas City, ks
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I picked up the game when i went to a local gamestop with just 7 dollars. it was pretty cheap and well you get what you pay for. Its no Call of duty but it does get your attention. there are speaking parts which kind of bore me as do the characters. The game play is alright and you get use to it after a while. I would recommend this if you're low on cash and want a new game it gets sort of addictive after a while believe it or not .
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 9 for Gears of War
chainsaws on guns works
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/13
nightkid921
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a sci fi take on the cover based third person shooter that has a great story. The graphics of the game hold up well for being so old and playing the game co-op is the best way to experience it.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for Gears of War
Great Game for $3
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/13
astults13
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I just recently got back into playing Xbox again, and this was one of the first games I picked up at Gamestop. I had played a little bit of Gears before, but this game blew me away. Even for 2013 the graphics are still pretty good, and the combat system is really remarkable. The game is challenging enough to keep anyone interested. I've already bought GOW2 and 3 and plan on playing them soon!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for Gears of War
Edge of the Seat Experience
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/14/13
gamermatt71
Location: Bronx, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I'm a casual gamer and am playing this for the first time now. Enemies can pop up anywhere and they aren't stupid. They charge, put out suppressing fire and try to flank. The use of cover is great and the bad guys use it as well. There's no map or way to tell where enemies are until they start firing at you. In my opinion this game is fast-paced compared to games like Assassin's Creed, Fallout, Red Dead Redemption and Grand Theft Auto. In those games, you can take a rest in safe areas, but in Gears of War it seems you always have to be alert. Check this game out.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for Gears of War
Gory!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/30/13
DemonOfMist
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Playing alone is alright. Playing with a partner is the real fun. Whenever I hit the pause button I get a static annoying loud sound. I returned the game and got another on and it did the same thing. Other than that, the game seemed boring playing alone, but got real fun with a partner. by the time I finished the game, I was like wow this is short, but I wish it was longer.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gears of War
Classic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/27/13
FLJohn
What can I say that hasn't already been said? If you have an Xbox 360, this game must be on your shelf.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for Gears of War
GEARS BABY!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/13
SteveZ
Location: Mishawaka, IN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Unbelievable game, got it when it first came out and I still enjoy it big time. If you haven't played it yet and enjoy third person shooters (TPS) then you definately have to snag this one. At 19.99 for the first one new or 2.99 used, or just get the combo of one and two with all the dlc for it in the double pack for 29.99 new either way it's a great deal. Go pick it up and enjoy the chainsawin fun and alien warfare!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Gears of War
Dont Get This
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/12
xxrichkxx
Location: Middle Island, NY
I got it and it was really boring just didnt catch my intrest, if u want a good shooter or action game get call of duty or the legend of zelda way better.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Xbox 360 Bang for the Buck Game Bundle
6 out of 10(4)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gears of War
good game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/12
crazeyman
Location: N.Y.
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
very good game can not wait to play next game.Hope #2 is just as good.Has good controls and game play good thoughout game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 17 for Gears of War
good for its time...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/8/12
Executioner1032
Location: Westport, CT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
ever since this game came out I have loved the gears of war series. this game obviously isn't as good as gears 2 and 3 (mainly because of horde). but like it says in the title it was good for its time. a solid campaign, different than call of duty and especially, heads flying off. now you don't need to play this game to play the second and third but I would recommend it because some of the dialogue in 2 links to this game. This game also has good lasting appeal, so definitely a game worth getting
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Gears of War
Good/average
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:11/1/12
jdmax121reviews
Never liked gears of war and this was no were near excelent. My friends told me this game was great so i picked it up for myself. Boring and hard. My advice rent this game, buy it if you dare
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 19 for Gears of War
Not my favorite but still good
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/12
superblooper108
Location: Burlington, NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Gears of war 1 is a okay games just has a few bad things. 1 the berserker can kill you in one hit. 2 if you get shot or hit enough you just die automatically he does not fall on the ground and crawl. I am not saying it is the worst game ever it just has a few bad things. If you want this game just be aware of those things when you play.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 20 for Gears of War
Steroids spilling Guts
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/12
Anonymous
The best Gears campaign, it's also great for co-op, locally or remote. Which is hard to find these days.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>