GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Gears of War

"Gears of War" is the first game developed by Epic Games exclusively for Microsoft Game Studios and the Xbox 360 video game and entertainment system. "Gears of War" thrusts gamers into a deep and harrowing story of humankind's epic battle for survival against the Locust Horde, a nightmarish race of creatures that surface from the bowels of the planet.
Average Customer Rating:
8.863
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (233 reviews)
10 stars
129
9 stars
50
8 stars
22
7 stars
12
6 stars
2
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
5
212 out of 23391%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gears of War
Review 1 for Gears of War
Great Game, But Impossible Campaign
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/14
Todd101010
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game is good for its time, but the 5th level is impossible, there are these indestructible things called berserkers and they destroy everything. The thing is, you have to kill one. Think about it indestructible locust, and you have to KILL it. It's impossible. Everything else up to that point in the game is great. Gears of war 2 is better.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gears of War
chainsaws on guns works
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/13
nightkid921
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a sci fi take on the cover based third person shooter that has a great story. The graphics of the game hold up well for being so old and playing the game co-op is the best way to experience it.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Gears of War
it is the best game and it gets better every time
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/11
katmn
Location: brevercreek ohio greencouty
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
it kicks butt and the guns rock it is gory but you can get rid of that and the story is so good it is one of the best games in the world.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gears of War
the start of something great.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/10
thesmokeydice
Location: tennessee
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this is a must have. yes, i know that we have all become spoiled on call of duty. But the fact remains that this game is the start of something great. it was the first game that i played that made me go "white knuckle" on the controller. yes the gameplay was a bit slower than what you may be used to. but that was the point of it. when you run, you run like you have over 100 pounds of "battle rattle" on. when you shoot, it's visceral, and when you use your chainsaw bayonet it's more so. it's not the quick to please, " i guess i'll shoot some baddies" kind of game. it's the " holy god, i'm an enlisted grunt that is about to die". kind of game. if your the kind of hardcore gamer that you may claim to be. stop the self-rightous prattle and sit down, buckle up and hold the heck on for one of the best games ever made.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gears of War
Gears of War: one of the best games ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/09
O
This game is amazing. It's one of those games you can play multiple times, and not get tired of it. The graphics are totally amazing, the storyline is insane its not the easiest game out for the 360 right now, the multiplayer is also pretty good (not as good as halo of course), and the overall concept of the third person gameplay is something not used very often. Sometimes changing things up a little bit in a game can really make a big difference in how good it is. For example, first person shooter games have been out for a long time and people have gotten used to them, so they have to now be really good like Halo to get a lot of popularity, but the gameplay in Gears makes people automatically want to play it to see if its any good. It reminds me of Resident Evil 4 a little bit because that also switched up the gameplay and look how amazing it was. All in all this game is one of the best games i have ever played so if you're thinking about getting a 360, get this game, it's worth your money.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Gears of War
BEST GAME EVER MADE!!! Gears of War is EPIC!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/11
Mathatias
Location: Lansing, MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I remember my cousin saying to me that I need to buy a xbox 360 because of this game back in 2007. So I go and buy the 360 and Gears of War. I set up everything on my non hd 480p tv "bad move". Start playing the first level and think to myself "whats so good about it"??? My cousin tells me I need to buy a HD tv to see and experience it. So I go and fork out $1000 on a 32 inch lcd. Hook it up and POP!!!!!!! I could not believe it. It was amazing!!! The graphics was killler. I hooked up surround and POP!!! the sound was killer too!!! In my opinion Gears was the first true hd game. The graphics was a 10!!! The story was awesome. The characters was awesome. Everything I wanted in a game. I would have bought the Xbox 360 just to play this game. I took the day off work and played this game for almost 24 hours straight. And to play Coop made it even more fun. I can't say enough about this game. Gears of War 2 was great! And I am sure Gears 3 wiill be just as good. But their is something special about the first Gears that keeps me coming back to play it over and over again.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gears of War
Excellent considering it was a 2006 game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/11
DeusAres
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
You guys for one have to consider the fact that this was a 2006 game. The graphics were in fact amazing for that year. I merely got this game and part 2 primarily for the story. i was satisfied with its gameplay as well as the graphics for the time being. I will admit the campaign was rather short and the weapons were a bit overpowered. I mean you practically get the chainsaw bayonet at the very beginning which is pretty much the best weapon in the game. i think they should have waited and rewarded you with this beasty weapon sometime later in the game. The weapon selection was also very sparse. This could have been better. But oh well you gotta save the good stuff for the sequels i suppose. And this was obviously where they introduced Gears 2 which was an amazing game. The improvements that were made...simply impressive. Haven't yet completed Gears 2 but i should be posting a review of that fairly soon. So far so good. Looking forward to playing with the add on that was included with the triple pack... as well as Gears 3 whenever it is released. :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gears of War
Gears of War...all thats its lived up to be
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/08
dogfighter33
ok first of all i've been itching to get this game. all my friends have been yelling at me beause i just got a new 360, so i decided to pick it up, and like i said....it is everything ive heard and more. the only thing i didnt like was sort of the sound. you could tell when 5 locus were gonna run out of a building, or an emergence hole was coming. other than that i loved the storyline and it was pretty challenging. this was the first game i ever placed on a 360. i liked the one button control and once i got the hang of it it was great. im not one of the hardcore people who have to have everything like....HD TV.....SURROUND SOUND......but i did love the graphics....the only ting that botherd me was every once in a while a frame would get stuck for a fraction of a second.....or the subtitles wouldnt change but that wasnt really a problem. overall it was a great game and i cant wait for multiplayer( i dont have a network adaptor but im getting it soon) i would DEFINATLY recomment this without a doubt.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 9 for Gears of War
We needed Gears of War
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/3/11
Sonic1
Location: San Francisco, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
In my opinion, Gears of War is one of the best games I have played. Campaign is pretty awesome!!! You start off in a cell and break out with one of you former teammates. You have a wonderful selection of weapons including........ The CHAINSAW Bayonet!!!!!!! It is the best weapon I have ever used in a campaign before!!!! The graphics are really good for 2006!!! They still look good today! The campaign is fun and it is a good amount of time! If you buy Gears of War campaign is the first thing you should play. Multi-player is good too. It has a good system, fun game modes, etc. But remember, Buy GOW for the campaign. This game is definitely worth your money and you should gather your money, and go out and buy this game! Gears of War is AWESOME!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gears of War
OKAY GAME!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/31/08
COD4RULEZ
I bought this game after watching a friend play it. It looked very good so i just had to pick up it up. I get home and throw it in the 360 and off I go I thought. I went straight to multiplayer because that is my favorite part of 360 games and it took like 10 minutes to find a match and this is midday when I thought more people would be on. I guess not. So online will take a while to find a regular 4 v 4 match. Another thing, you will get owned really badly your first and probably the next 5 times you play against people. It will take a while for you to get used to these controls too. As for the campaign mode, it was really exciting at the start and just died down. Toward the middle the challenge was lost and shooting the locust from the ground became way too easy and I had the rest of the game beat in about an hour. So unless this is just a must have for some reason I'd say just rent it, then you will have beat the game by then and you will get annoyed in online.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 11 for Gears of War
Awesome 3rd person
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/19/11
LMAN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is a great third person shooter. It has a great story, dedicated characters, and awesome environments.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gears of War
Not that great...
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/08
Green Man and the all-famous Boston Creamer
Good day everyone... This game was horrible. Not only do you not find out where the Locus came from... you don't find out ANYTHING about the characters even when they hint at their mysterious pasts. Me and a friend played this game on co-op and we were entertained with the fighting. But I would NEVER play this game alone or recommend it to anyone who knows what a real game should be like. You never even find out why you do any of the things you do. All this game is, is an excuse for "cool" cut-scenes which last about 20 seconds a piece. I can only assume people who love this game have never played another video game in their life, because it is such a piece of crap. I highly suggest you don't listen to you friends if they tell you this is "THIS IS THE CRAZIEST GAME I'VE EVER PLAYED!", because that's what I did... and now I want to throw-up in their face. If you are reading this because you want to find a great game to play, I HIGHLY recommend Dead Space.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gears of War
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/29/10
warhammer1791
First of all lets just say this game is awesome. They say it is a survival horror, but the only scary things about this game is if you turn a corner and a wretch, [basically a gears of war banshee] jumps out at you or, if in one level you go into a tiny pool of darkness and a kryll swarm, [gears of war flood] fly down and swarm and evasciverate your helpless chrachter until you step into some precious light. The gun fights are really cool but reload takes a while and figuring out how to throw grenades took a while. Like most tps it has a snap-to-surface maneuver and makes firefights much,much, easier. The graphics are so good it makes ps3 graphics look like atari. Altough Im not trying to bag on ps3, I have one. If you want a good, long, fun game, get this and get it quick!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
minorso852
Rockford,IL
 
Please wait while more information about minorso852 is loaded.
Additional information about minorso852 could not be loaded.
TERRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted 11/24/10
This game is not good at all.When i got it 5 days ago i thought it was going to be awesome nu it is not.The graphics are terrible and when they talk they don't even open their mouths.The controlls are kind of good and the gameplay sucks.That's all i have to write.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Gears of War
Dont think about it just get it!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/10
jakedarkman
This game is one of the best games ever made in all ways it starts off every major city has been attacked from under and billions are killed and a man named marcus fenix who is a fighrter in the war goes to save his father but he is already dead so as punishment for going against his orders to help father he is sentenced to 40 years in prison but after time things change and he gets out ,play the game to find out more.Lets start with challege it is great for the game can be very hard depending on the dificulty selected.The grapics are great people look real and excutions look very realistic in all ways.The interface is great is so many ways.the storyline makes alot of sense as I told in the introduction.the controls are great for you can choose to free aim or to look down your sights.the responsiveness is great for enemies and teamates react to what you do.The sound is great for you will hear things and get music warnings so it gets a ten.I would recommend this game to all war game lovers because this is one of the best.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Gears of War
Greatest Game ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/9/08
izowiz
Gears of War is in fact the best game ever. If you like gore and hardcore gameplay then i highly recommend getting this game. First off the multiplayer is out of this world. I haven't experienced any other multiplayer like it. I have to say i am one of the better players at this game. I've had the game ever since it came out and it just doesn't get boring. I would choose this game over any other game out there. The graphics are out of this world. The new updates that continue to come out for it never get old. There are tons of great maps to play. They also offer player matches instead of ranked matches where you can party up with people and play for as long as you want on every map in the game. The communication and team work is like non other and if your looking for a great game with good graphics and great multiplayer then buy Gears of War. I highly recommend it and this is a must add to your collection if you don't have it. Get it or be left out.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Gears of War
This game is just great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/10
iD3M0LiTioN540i
Man! The first time i got my xbox 360 this was the first game i played online and man what an experience. I Mastered all the levels and Boy do i love just shooting without zooming in. I alwayz loved the way you could turn around a small corner with a shotgun and as soon as you see someone you pull the trigger and see their whole upper body tear into peices.I still can't forget how cool these guys look when their running. I also love the online play when I play annex how people don't go into the circle and just kill eachother until they get get bored. THis game is just awesome. I would choose this game over anything just because of how beast i was at it. I remember making up our own little games in it like we would play sniper battle No scopes only. If you want an extremely fun game for little cost just get this game. This game will never let you down. You will definetely love how you could stick grenades onto people and just run then just watch them explode if your fast enough. This gets game of the year every year in my book.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
N0ob
N0ob
 
Please wait while more information about N0ob is loaded.
Additional information about N0ob could not be loaded.
awesome!!!
Posted 9/26/10
get it its a must have game great graphics too get it now its wroth $7.00
Customer Avatar
Madog13
Wilmington,DE
 
Please wait while more information about Madog13 is loaded.
Additional information about Madog13 could not be loaded.
I love it
Posted 9/24/10
this game is awsome!!!! the only problem is like freakin tourist mode! hardcre on the other hand is hardcore anyway this game rocks and the only really hard part that'l make you through you you're controller is having to kill general RAMM bottom line get it.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 17 for Gears of War
Don't Start
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/08
Keul
This is the worst shooter game I have ever seen. It has a terrible story, with an anti-amazing ending. The gameplay is the worst in any shooter I’ve seen or played. It was challenging the first time, but once you know how, it is quite easy. There is a second one coming out. I’ve seen a video and it shows that the graphics are even better than the first, which isn't hard. It is a bit hard to get used to the controls at first, but after a level or two they are almost a reflex during any game. I have trouble with other games because I’m so used to terrible memories of playing this game. There are a lot of shooters out there, but GOW is unique. The campaign is pretty short, which was a terrible thing, because I’m a great gamer. I don’t like the fact that it is short. You can still replay levels on different difficulties or play online with your friends. It is a terrible game and I think I’m going to still be wishing I never played it for many years to come. Seriously, after I played this it was really hard to play video games at all!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gears of War
Gears of War
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/29/12
iTzDRose1
Location: Chicago, IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I'd love for them to re-make Gears of War 1, Gears of War 1 is easily the best Gears of War. Just better Graphics, and keep the online play the same as Gears of War 1.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Gears of War
never played before
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/13/10
BadSlayerFaith
I had always wanted to see what Gears of War was like since I've heard so much about it. I never was interested though, just figured it would be another army based shooting game that I would probably not be so good at. But, when I saw it on sale in the gamestop sale, I decided to at least give it a shot. And, let me say that right away I was hooked. The gameplay was so easy to follow along and it wasn't so complex, very easy to get a grip on the controls right away without getting lost. The storyline gets you involved with the game pretty quickly as well, so I also liked that right away with the game. The graphics were what really blew me away though. When you put this game in, it's hard to believe it came out a few years ago, it looks so good. Of course, the other games out now look better, but for its time, these graphics are really nice and crisp. I really enjoy just looking around at the environment from time to time and taking a break from all the shooting. What I also liked about the game is the fact that you can do co-op mode through the story. My sister and I play split-screen a lot and it's really fun to be able to enjoy the story with her and play together instead of just multiplayer. The challenge is pretty decent. There are plenty of parts I had gotten stuck on for a while, but overall I think it's a bit short. I am really close to beating the game already and I only played it for 2 - 3 days. However, I think it has replay value since there's different difficulty modes and of course the multiplayer. Overall, I would say to purchase this game if you're looking for something that's pretty cheap in price and a decent shooter. This game has definitely taken the cake and is one of my favorite games now. If it means anything, I had to run out and buy the second game a couple days after receiving the first.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Gears of War
One of The best Xbox 360 games by far
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/9/10
RichR805
For being the first gears of war game to come out for the Xbox, this game has great graphics,amazing storyline, and is very difficult. This game is the main reason the gears of war series was so succesful. The game is very challenging, from all the drones the giant insanely scary berserker. The story line is very long and will take you a while. The graphics of this game are just phenomenal, the game looks insanely realistic. Not only is there the fact that there is co-op campaign, there is also split screen multiplayer and xbox live for it. Also just buying this game you can get more maps for it for free! just go to gears of war on xbox live marketplace and get the map packs that are free. Overall, I give this game a 9.5/10 and if you have an xbox, this game is a must.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>