GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Quake 4

In a desperate war for Earth's survival, against an unrelenting alien enemy, the only way to defeat them is to become one of them. Armed with advanced weaponry and vehicles and aided by an elite squad of marines, you take the battle to the heart of the Strogg home planet and become Earth's only hope for victory.
Average Customer Rating:
6.474
6.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
4
8 stars
4
7 stars
1
6 stars
3
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
12 out of 1963%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Quake 4
Review 1 for Quake 4
some flaws but way way fun
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/22/10
mugen
Location: minneapolis,MN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought my 360 about 4 years after it was released and quake 4 was one of the first games I got for it. I had been a fan of the quake series since i played the first one but not a huge fan. I really like the whole idea of the Strogg and the distant planet Stroggos. I think quake 4 does a very good job of filling in details concerning this war between man and strogg. The graphics are decent, the enemies look good, however many enemies have weapons with very slow projectiles so dodging their fire is unrealistically easy, the players weapons are well rounded and each weapon has its advantage. One thing I really liked in this game is the chatter between the marines over the radio net, it gives you a sense of other events happening around you that you arent able to actually see. Ive played this game through more times than i can count and i cant wait to see a quake 5.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Quake 4
Just like Quake 2...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/14/10
Soap89
Quake 4 is about a famous marine (Cpl Kane).Cpl Kane is famous because he was one of the survivors of the attack on Armstrong base.Because of the attack it causes Kane to have a fake robot eye.This game is basically the sequel to Quake 2,because Quake 2 you are a lone soldier who kills the strogg leader called the Mackron.Anyway Kanes goal is to destroy the main leader/creator of the strogg,but I can't tell you what or I will ruin the surprise.The storyline is actually interesting one of the parts are when Kane gets turned into the Strogg.This game's graphics is to much like original Xbox graphic's though.Thats the only bad part,but the game is still very good!WARNING:The middle of the game gets like Doom 3.You can hold atleast 16-20 weapons.I hope this helped you think about getting this game,ENJOY....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Quake 4
worth the price
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/28/09
kingmahmah
First off I would like to say that I used to own this game when it first came out. I traded it in because I didn't play it online that much like I did COD2. Well after this latest price drop I decided to pick it up again. I can honestly say that it was a wise decision. The graphics do look a little dated but that is because this was basically a launch title with the system. But overall the graphics are still pretty good. The sound is great, from the gun blasts to the explosions. The story is typical Doom/Quake story where you are fighting to save the human race against aliens, but does have some cool cutscenes that will freak you out a little bit. The controls are pretty tight and responsive, no complaints there. Overall for the price you can get this for used now makes it an automatic buy. Don't waste time renting just go buy it now!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Quake 4
Fast, fun and aggressive
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/4/11
KKom27
Location: Salt Lake
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is fast, fun and aggressive. It includes an array of weapons and for its time (2006) plays tight and looks good. The graphics look dated now but that’s to be expected. To this day, I still load it up occasionally and I'd love to see another single player campaign in the Quake world – using current technology of course.
I’ve always been a fan of ID and rank them at the top with Bungie, Valve and Bethesda.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Quake 4
Good but dated...
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/5/12
bongoboyj
Location: zombieland
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
By dated I mean its been out a long time so this game can't be compared with games released as of late. I've been playing nothing but great titles released as of late, so going back to this one was disappointing because when I played this at release it was amazing. Now its just mediocre. Like I say, you can't compare it with today, only titles 5 years ago. The game has checkpoints BUT they are spread out quite a bit, so be ready to remember tough sequences and then save right before it so you don't keep replaying certain areas over and over. The graphics are dated but if you like shooters you will enjoy.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Quake 4
awesome game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/2/08
gears dude
ever since i bought this game (about a month ago) i've been playing it non-stop (not literaly) this game is awesome. some of the "strogg" are really easy to kill but the game does have its ups and downs in challenges. whats really realistic is when they capture you and you become a strogg the needles and saws and other things in there makes it feel realistic when the needles poke in your face its really freaky. but in the awseome way. i dont know anything about the end because my xbox got RROD a few weeks ago and im waiting for it. but anyways the game is really good and at a cheap price. you cant find that very much with the descent xbox 360 games. I've taken it to a bunch of my friends and they all said it was a great game. i hope you buy this game so you can enjoy it too! unlike the other guy, which is fine you don't like it, don't buy it. For others i suggest renting it if your still unsure!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 7 for Quake 4
Better on the PC but still good.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/11
Tylerkills0012
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I know alot of people complain about the graphics but at the time, when the game first came out it had the best looking graphics on the Xbox 360. It is dumbed down... a good bit compared to its PC counter part which can match some of todays top notch games. You can tell this is the ID Tech 4 engine (same engine Call of Duty 4, Modern Warfare 2, and Doom 3 are built on.) The gameplay is nice and tight. I do only recommend this for Hardcore gamers since they appreciate the classics and the original games. Quake 4 has alot to offer and can really fill in the gaps in the non-existant story that was called Quake. Also the multiplayer is alot of fun and should atleast be tried out.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Quake 4
Good Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/12
RESIDENTSTRIKE
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a really good game for those who are just starting shooters. There is no difficult controles and its very simple. And also fun for those who want to step back and take a break from there heavy hitter shooters. Also dont expect the best graphics cuz its a earlier game so people that complain about the graphics just ignore..And also expect a good amount of blood its a mature game so its not going to be all pretty colors so if you have an issue with gore dont bother playing it also dont complain about the gore on here either if you write a review... Its not ment for kids so deal with the blood.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Quake 4
Very Good Game!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/2/12
zacrazy
Location: fl
If you love Prey you will love this game. it's like Prey's twin brother. this game is outdated but is still very fun. The only big difference between Quake IV and Prey is that it's WAY harder than Prey! Great game for the money.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Quake 4
Good buy
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/10
D00MBOX
i hadnt played quake since quake 2. i wish i had picked this game up earlier but thats here nor there. when i came across the game it was ***** so i thought im broke, ill pick up a cheapy game. its well worth the small cost. the graphics are dated but thats because its a launch title. the controls are pretty smooth, not great but smooth. i never cared for the story of quake in the first place but it was ok. the challange wasnt that high but it was still fun. there isnt many people online who play but if you have a few friends who have it ,play them because its wicked fun. to me the game seems like doom 3 a little bit as far as the graphics and plot goes. but the game really is a good buy for how cheap it is. its one of the good cheap games out there if you on a real tight budget.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 11 for Quake 4
a good game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/10
CodHalo911
Location: boston
a pretty good game for when it came out!!! i would recommend this game for people reading this!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Quake 4
Well.. at least it was fun, right?
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/08
socom_lover
Yeah..um, this game is not all that great. There really is nothing you have not seen in a shooter. This game a Quake game, and nothing you would not expect. First, the challenge of the game is not difficult. In a few minutes, once you get the ropes you will be able to go through the game very easily. And, once you crank up the difficultly, the game puts more enemies, and they are just so dumb as they are in easy mode, just more of them. Second, the graphics are not good. Poor quality on the creators of the game. This game looks bland and nothing a next-gen. game would looks like. And the animation is the same thing with each character, they didn't even bother to switch up the scheme a little. Third, the story line is way too short, and leaves you a sense of dissatisfaction after playing the game through. Even playing the game on a difficult mode doesn't give that feeling of accomplishing something so hard that you feel great about yourself. Fourth, the sound, well sound is sound so there isn't anything bad about it. oh wait there is. Sometimes there are cheesy gun sounds in the game that don't sound so good. And with that it, it is hard enough to try to find something good in this game. All in all this game is a rental at best, and with all of the not so great things about it, this is one game that you can live without in your collection of games.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Quake 4
Re-release?
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:6/23/12
RhoTrux64
Location: Pasadena, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Can expect much from a 7 yr old game. It's from the same year the 360 was released. I enjoyed the game back then (I still have the original), but of course it can't hold a candle to the recent shooters. I gave it a medium rating cause it was good then, but lost points for the re-release. WHY?
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Quake 4
Horrible
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/12
Deadrising2Fan
I got this because it was so cheap and when i put it in i already knew it was going to be stupid. I literally put it down 5 minutes after putting it in my Xbox
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Nightsever
 
Please wait while more information about Nightsever is loaded.
Additional information about Nightsever could not be loaded.
Idiot.
Posted 6/28/12
5 minutes after you start you put it down? shows how much time you put into games. Its not that bad of a game. It is a dated game and does not compare to recent games, but it is still a good game.
Learn how to appreciate games and not just give up after five minutes.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Quake 4
Not bad.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/16/11
LovelyThickLady111
Location: wilmington, nc
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I played the original game on PC years ago and i believe it was much better than this version. Its not a bad game, one of the disappointments is when you die you go WAY back and have to start over. The graphics aren't that good but the guns are decent.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 16 for Quake 4
Not what I expected
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/11
LMAN
Location: none of your, Business
I didnt find this game to be much fun at all. The graphics are bad with sloppy textures. The sound is terrible because of the ugly voices. The gameplay is just plain bad. I would not recommend this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
WEDnought
 
Please wait while more information about WEDnought is loaded.
Additional information about WEDnought could not be loaded.
To the Reviews....
Posted 6/25/11
How can you contribute to a game that was 6 years old and not have the mind set of a game released in 2005, plus its only $5 you are not out that much.... and still trying to set it to the standards of modern gaming (Killzone 3, Crysis 2, Halo: Reach). Since I do not consider the Gears of War series good games or rivals of modern gaming. For the people that think that I have not played any of the Gears of War games, I did play the first and sure it was fun taking a chainsaw to the first enemy I saw, but after you do it 5 times its boring, and I will not touch another GoW game.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Quake 4
Poor
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:10/9/10
WitchHunterReturns
Location: Torrington, CT
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Quake 4 was poorly designed and it should of came for the ps2 than the XBox 360.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
killbilly123
Chicago,IL
 
Please wait while more information about killbilly123 is loaded.
Additional information about killbilly123 could not be loaded.
Posted 2/20/12
Remember that this game was made in 2005. I don't see why you're complaining about graphics.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Quake 4
poor
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:4/8/12
tuck
Location: 80104
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This Game Is The Worst Game... so bloody and is not a good game. DO NOT GET THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 35 found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Quake 4
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10