GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion

Oblivion is the quintessential role-playing game for the next generation and another leap forward in gaming. Step inside the most richly detailed and vibrant game-world ever created. Oblivion is the latest chapter in the epic and highly successful Elder Scrolls saga and utilizes the latest PC and next-generation video game hardware to fully immerse you into the experience. With a powerful combination of freeform gameplay and unprecedented graphics, you can unravel the main quest at your own pace or explore the vast world and find your own challenges.
Average Customer Rating:
9.23
9.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (187 reviews)
10 stars
143
9 stars
16
8 stars
10
7 stars
6
6 stars
2
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
6
173 out of 18793%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
Review 1 for Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
The game of the year
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/13
TraviBoi
Location: Saginaw,Michigan
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
One of the best RPG games in history. The game world is vibrant and beautiful with many locations to explore. In oblivion you will encounter memorable and likeable characters. The storyline is one of the best i have ever seen. Oblivion is a perfect 10/10 Masterpiece
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
Oblivion is too confusing
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:11/6/13
SenorBadass
Location: St. Louis, MO
Oblivion is the 4th installment to the Elder Scrolls Series, and in my opinion it is the worst. The gameplay is very confusing, it was hard to really stay playing the game, and the character features are down right ridiculous. Yeah I get that it was early back in the 2000's but still. The only positive thing about it is the sounds, the environment animation which is beautiful, and the class creation. I love how you can create your own class by adding traits from other classes. The worst thing about it was that the gameplay was way to confusing. The controls were hard to get used to, it was really hard to navigate through the quest log, inventory, and other things. The menu designs are so similar that i kept getting confused. And it was really hard to keep playing this game. Overall, I dont' like Oblivion. I would recommend this to a friend but it's just not for me.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
It's the best game ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/1/13
Perfectionism
Location: Johnson City, TN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game will make you wanna keep playing after you see how amazing it is. It is just so amazing. Everyone would enjoy this game!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
Contender for best game of all time
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/13
tooo
Location: maple grove, MN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Endless content, engaging storyline, clever turns in storyline, free roam for endless fun, what more could you ask for?? Better than skyrim IMO.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
DO NOT BUY A USED COPY
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/1/13
BladeTheGamer
I purchased this as it is my favorite game of all time, however I had lost my Xbox 360 edition long ago. The disc came scratched like crazy and did not work at all. Also, the case was so cheap, upon trying to open the package, it ripped in half, sending plastic flying everywhere. Great game, horrible selling.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
The Elder Scrolls 4 Oblivion
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/7/13
Stoffangadd
Location: Gotland
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I really like this game at first but after I started thinking more about it it just got worse. First of all let's see what you see as soon as you start the game up the graphics are terrible for 2006-2007 and the characters look like monkeys. And everything feels kind of stiff (Especially if you've played Skyrim) and I just can't play this game more than once (after completing the story I just stopped playing 'cause I really dislike this game now).
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Steve131313
 
Please wait while more information about Steve131313 is loaded.
Additional information about Steve131313 could not be loaded.
Posted 11/5/13
First off, this game came out in 2005 not 2006-2007, it was one of the launch titles for xbox 360, second the game had unbelievable graphics when it came out and still does. Third this game is way better then most other stuff out now-a-days and has an amazing replay value. You don't know what you talking about, go back to playing your call of duty games. By the way, I only made an account to comment on this.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
oblivion
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/14/13
basketball1650
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i love this game. the graphics are awesome for a 2006 game.you can have a lot of fun from this game.the only problem is the sound.sometimes it is hard to hear people.other than that it is a good game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
Greatest game that came out in 2006
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/13
Kyle77
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got this game in 08, and loved it ever since. I only really recommend this game to you if you haven't played skyrim yet because you might not like the downgrade in graphics but if you can over come that then this game is awesome.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
Great game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/12
corvus1noctis
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a great free roaming RPG - fourth playthrough and I'm still not bored! The graphics are good, and the quests seem almost endless.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
Favorite PS3 game of all time!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/12
BehindGrnEyez
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is my hand down favorite game for ps3. It was the very first game I played on my ps3 and it set the bar so high that other games have a hard time competing. I liked this game better than skyrim! It takes place in the realm of Cyrodil, the center of lands of the Elder Scroll series and home to the epic size imperial city. Due to this central location you can travel to from swamp, to snowy nord borders and everywhere inbetween. The architecture changes, and is more elaborate than skyrim, with the cities and each city is intricate with a large number of quests. Many of the cities have hidden areas, and in the imperial city you have vast underground sewers that can lead into some homes. Like skyrim, each city has a castle but these castles seem kingly and the game as a whole is epic. I enjoyed the story line better than Skyrim's, but Story is the one thing Elder scrolls seem to be lacking. The backstory of the land is epic with tomes and history carrying over and remaining true from game to game. Yet the main story line always seems to fall short. Some of the side stories seem longer than the main story. The game as a whole, with all side quest (guild story lines etc.) is very long, you definitely get your money's worth. Though at times the play can seem redundant, mostly because the game is as long as it is, yet Skyrim felt more so than Oblivion as oblivion changed up certain aspects of the guild line quests which made them fun and unique. The dark brotherhood was far more enjoyable in Oblivion, with Skyrim's remnant dark brotherhood feeling exactly as that- a remnant of what was. The mage's guild was also more intricate, a university set to hone your craft. The most redundant aspect of Oblivion was the main quest of closing the many gates, which at first is cool as the deadra lands are very dark fantasy oriented, but each one is like the one before and after a while it becomes tedious. You don't craft weapons as you do in skyrim but you can enchant them and gain ever more powerful ones. I highly recommend this game, When I damaged my ps3 I bought a new one just so I can play Oblivion!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
OBLIVION THE BEST
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/4/12
axelmaster
Location: PHOENIX,AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I know that is old but the graphics are great great campaign huge world to explore and great game like skyrim and morrowind
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
THE BEST AFTER MORROWIND
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/29/12
axelmaster
Location: PHOENIX,AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is the perfect i love skyrim and morrowind if you too you should get this... great campaign huge places great villages and grat game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
Epic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/26/12
Crunchy
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When i was nine this game first came out it was my first game for xbox360 and i instantly fell in love with it i love everything about this game.
This game is an instant classic and if you've played skyrim then u should remember that this game is six years old so the graphics are dated and not alot of voice actors but all u have to remember is if u play this game for ever you can still go back to skyrim and have a different experience also i prefer Oblivion's Art director to skyrims .
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
I understand it's old, but it fails badly in areas
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/12
AwesomeShadowNinja123
Location: West Covina, California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Okay, I get it, it's already six years old, the graphics aren't gonna be that good, and neither is the sound. That's why I gave the Graphics and Sound high scores because back then they were probably fantastic, but now they're nothing close to impressive. But, the game overall, even for back then, isn't all that impressive, I really don't know what people see in it. The Combat SUCKS. Not only are the buttons sometimes glitchy, the entire fighting section is plain boring, Pull RT to attack, LT to block, and RB to use magic, THAT'S IT! Nothing special or engaging about that. The RPG in this game isn't all that heavy, you get to customize and name your character and make choices, but you don't have choices and paths that weigh quite as heavily compared to, for example, the Mass Effect series. The story line is good, and the side quests don't get that repetitive, but sometimes your objective for a mission gets boring. What I also don't like is a lot of times during side quests you have to go into a dark area like a cave or sewer, and it is PITCH black in those places most of the time. Even though the torches last awhile, you need an almost unlimited supply of torches for how many times your in the dark. There are even times when your just wandering and it gets dark within a minute and you're too far to find a lighted place, so if you don't have a torch you're left to basically find your way by looking at the map every two seconds. As far as buying armor, weapons and such, money is sometimes hard to get, and in this game you need Gold to get good apparel or weapons because you can never find any useful equipment in the wild. Usually buying things isn't expensive, it's just hard to get money in the first place. Exploring, is pretty fun, even though the graphics aren't that great it's still cool to find new places, meet new people, and discover new creatures. AND the game supports a big land for you to explore and find secrets within. Going back to the customization, I think it's completely AWESOME! You get to chose your species, face and body definition, skin color, and lots more. As far as the people go, they barely differ at all, you see tons of different species, but it seems like all citizens say and wear the same thing. ESPECIALLY the City Guards. As far as navigating around the world, it's relatively easy, you have three tools/maps for getting around. This game has tons of things to do other than exploring, and side quests, like joining factions or buying houses. Your skill management is okay, not as good as something like the Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning. In conclusion, this game is fun to explore and play, but is majorly lacking in some areas. This is only my opinion, so you may like the game more than I do. But in my opinion, this game is nothing special and not worth a buy unless you really think you want it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
Loved it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/12
ObLiViOnLoVeR
Location: lol
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
The graphics were not As good than the other Elder Scrolls. One of my favorite games. 10-10. lololololololol
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
SOOOO FUN
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/29/12
jurky9609
Location: zanesville, oh
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
so fun i still like it better than skyrim. it has bad graphics but is still a lot of fun. you can do whatever you want in this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
really wow
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/12
explosivewater
Location: minnesota
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
this game i thought was alot of fun till i realized u can tweak the difficulty settings during gameplay to cheat. pretty bad, and u can almost fast travel anywhere. which is kinda blah , and hearin people talk is boring as watching one of your worst feared tv shows. i liked skyrim, but this game really let me down. dont waste ur money. get a 5 dollar game instead
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
3 of 33 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
One of the best rpg games
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/12
TheOutlaw84
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game has a very big map and a long story but the grapichs sucks and this game still fun the sword fighting and magics and spells
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
FONOMINAL GAME!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/12
Leprachaun98
Location: whittier,CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
when i first got this game,i was a little sceptical about it at first,but after i played through it for about 30 minutes i realized this game is pretty awesome.graphics are pretty good and sound is over the top.being able to cast spells and upgrade your class is pretty awesome.my favorite weapons are the steel claymore and the bow.at the end of the day its just a good game,just go out to your nearest gamestop store and buy it,youll be glad you did.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
Gigantic World! Equipment maxes too early.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/12
SirPickles
Location: Bethel, CT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Was amazed at how much there was to do in this game. Tons of quests, dungeons and even underwater exploration. Graphics were really good for the time and the story line was decent.
Not a huge fan of the combat system, but give them an A for effort and being different.
It did have its share of bugs, save and save often.
If you even do half the side quests your equipment will be maxed out and all the loot you find in the second half will be to sell only. Was really disappointed it that aspect of the game. I love finding loot and getting better gear and to go through a good 40-30% of the game with the same equipment is boring lol.
Overall a really fun game to play and a great story to be part of.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>