GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dead Rising

Dead Rising follows the harrowing tale of Frank West, an overly zealous freelance photojournalist on a hunt for the scoop of a lifetime. In pursuit of a juicy lead, he makes his way to a small suburban town only to find that it has become overrun by zombies. He escapes to the local shopping mall, thinking it will be a bastion of safety, but it turns out to be anything but.
Average Customer Rating:
8.138
8.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (138 reviews)
10 stars
47
9 stars
37
8 stars
14
7 stars
11
6 stars
13
5 stars
3
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
3
113 out of 13882%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dead Rising
Review 1 for Dead Rising
Great Zombie Game !!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/20/13
Kecho
Location: Houston TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Well I got to say this is one of My favorite Games ,it is so intense the side Missions ,the Cases it is a really good game that will keep You entertained and engaged in the story, i have to say I couldnt ask for more in this Game ,and I have to say one of the challeging Games I ever played a must buy :D
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Dead Rising
Great Zombie Game!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/13
WalrusLord
Location: West Virginia
First off, the price is $5. That should make you at least want to try it out. Second the weapon choice is massive. You want that park bench to kill zombies? Then go get it and ram them! It has a decent story line and it will keep you entertained, and it's very addicting. The only down side to this game would have to be the save system. You have an entire mall to explore and kill the undead. So go get the game and do so.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Dead Rising
Hard and lame
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/13
PotterHeadBob
Location: Jacksonville, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
No save points. As soon as you pass that one level you;ve been trying so hard on bam you die. RESTART!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 4 for Dead Rising
This game started an amazing zombie series
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/13
nightkid921
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is an awesome third person open world zombie game. You can run around the mall and pick up almost anything in the mall to use as a weapon. The newer versions are better but it is still fun to see where the series started.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for Dead Rising
Love it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/12
JELLOCAT
Location: AZ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Great free-roam for only 5$. The zombies are not scary and so many ways to fight such as
megamanblaster
katana
minichainsaw
giant lego head
uzi
BUY IT
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Dead Rising
a timed game:(
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/12
55426127
Location: corpus christi tx
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
the whole game is timed you are rushed for every mission and theres psycos every where! what would frank do? kill zombs of course i was in love tell i died all the time and had to save in every bathroom:( its an ok game sure its fun to kill and an ok storyline! rent it dont buy it:)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 7 for Dead Rising
best zombie game on sale
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/10/12
XxiownthebattlexX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
good graphics and so many weapons and zombies so theres never a time in the game where theres nothing to do.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Dead Rising
A very good, very original game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/1/12
Clarkey
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Dead Rising is very fun and offers a very unique experience. It's part 3rd-person-action game, part RPG, part mystery and part horror/zombie apocalypse. You level up and gain new abilities/more life/more inventory slots as you accomplish in-game goals and kill zombies. Two important things to note about this game: 1) You really don't have to do the "Main Story Missions"; your ending will depend on how much of the mystery of the zombie outbreak you discover through the main story missions BUT just surviving the outbreak long enough to hitch a ride out of the mall is an accomplishment in itself. 2) You will most likely NOT beat the game on your first attempt. When you die you start over from day 1 BUT you keep all your experience and levels gained. The point of this is that while you might die without beating the game you'll get another chance as a stronger character with more moves and better stats. This process can be repeated until you become strong enough to last through the entire zombie infestation. While there are many reviews stating that this system is annoying or aggravating look at it like this: just screw around in the mall killing zombies and just trying to survive until your evac arrives your first time or two through..... when you are comfortable with the mall and your character is all super-buff perhaps give the Story Missions a try. Trust me, it's more fun and less frustrating this way (and this is coming from someone who LOVES difficult games like Dark Souls).
The sound/music is OK and the graphics are pretty good considering the age of this game. If you have surround sound it makes the game MUCH freakier.... makes it literally sound like there are zombies clawing at the walls of your house.
This game is really about the substance and not the frills. It basically boils down to this: you are trapped in a zombie-infested shopping mall for a certain number of days.... the only weapons you have are what can be found in the mall itself... meaning you will be using some unusual weapons like barbells, umbrellas, CDs, parasols, etc. You earn experience and level up as you go along and learn all sorts of cool moves as you level up. There are plot missions that allow you to learn why these events are transpiring and the amount that you complete helps determine your ending. In theory you can ignore them totally and just focus on surviving and your ending will be affected accordingly.
While Dead Rising 2 took the formula of this game and enhanced it I'd STRONGLY recommend playing this game first. When you START with a sequel and then play the original game it can sometimes make it unplayable due to story spoilers and the removal of all of the improvements typically seen in sequels. When the original game is THIS good and this good of a value (about $5 for potentially a hundred of so hours of gaming goodness) you'd be doing yourself a disservice by missing out on Dead Rising 1. Dead Rising 2 is a VERY cool game that adds just enough to where going back to Dead Rising 1 would be a strong regression.... so pick this one up first, and if you like it you know you have a LOT more content just waiting at the store for you to pick up at your leisure. And I mean, come on! You get to use ANYTHING you can find in a shopping mall to kill zombies?? There are not a whole lot of games/books/movies/ANYTHING that have that cool of a concept.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dead Rising
needs hardly any improvement.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/16/12
pre2death
Location: sherwood, or
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
dead rising is a good game.Probably the only things wrong with it is it's hard and there's about 20 bosses and you have a total of about 5 hours (real time). now i'll list the pros and cons . .pros:funny,lots of replay value,anything is a weapon,freeworld. . cons:some disturbing images.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dead Rising
Alright, better sequel
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/24/12
AppingnGaming
Location: Canada
The Deadrising series is great, killing zombies with anything and everything, fighting epic boss battles and saving survivors! Although the other Deadrising games were awesome, the first just doesn't meet certain expectations for me! I find just free roaming and killing zombies to be boring in this, there isn't enough items to use like there is in the other games. I also find it hard to get to the story mission, because there is either an enemy to kill you or zombies to eat you! Aside from all of that the camera portion of the game is fun to use, you can take pictures with Frank's camera, and you can actually get some pretty funny photos! XD Overall I wouldn't recommend this game to everyone but instead maybe to people who want to try something different. I do know one thing though, Deadrising is a great series!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 11 for Dead Rising
One of the best games I've played so far!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/12
fartso123
I just got an Xbox 360 a few weeks ago and this game was my 4th game and I loved it. It was a perfect game for me. I love zombie games, open world, third person action. And this game was very comedic. So, if your like me i'd get this game. But, there's just one thing I really hate about this game, the way you save your progress in the game. Every time you have to go to a restroom to save and it's sometimes frustrating trying to find one. Overall great game!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dead Rising
dead rising
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/12
aceluck101
Location: in the space between spaces
i just want to start this off by saying that this is one of the worlds greatest zombie games ever. and if you want to know why it has a cult following then look at a'lot of reviews including mine,this is dead rising for the xbox-360. here are the sections to this story- in this crazily awesome tale of zombies + chainsaw = death, we see our protagonist (a photojournalist named frank west) enter a zombie infested town called willamete. not knowing about the outbreak, he hires a pilot to fly him down and pick him up in 72 hours(or for the dumb ones,3 days). after learning the town is infected, he must find a way to survive 72 hours in heck. I say that is a great story. gameplay- so you are stuck in a mall for 72 hours without any special equipment to use as weapons. so what does frank use as a weapon. this is why it has a cult following, anything and everything is a weapon. this make players think of new things to do, try, ect. it will bring hours (if not days)of entertainment . but it's not perfect. problems include doing a roll way too much and OTIS D;<. but it is cool otherwise graphics- unlike most people who find the graphis ugly and such, quite frankly (no pun intended), i like it. its really realistic, and it was great for the time, so anyone who says the graphics look like their from 2006,that's because they are. sounds- the sound was okay,voices=great, music=very bad. the music is bad because they chose the wrong tunes for a part 90% of the time. and trust me, it gets a bit annoying. overall- overall,this is a great zombie game. take a look at the rest of the series if you have the time so this is a 9/10,and a buy. c ya aceluck101
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Dead Rising 2: CASE WEST - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 800 Points
9.1 out of 10(7)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dead Rising
Great zombie game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/12
AJay89
Location: Columbus, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Dead Rising was a good game. True, it had some rough patches (controls, glitches), but it was still a good game if you see it all the way through. The storyline(s) was actually good and I liked how it changed depending on how well (or horrible) you did in the game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 14 for Dead Rising
awesome to a fault
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/6/12
Kaede45
Location: Marysville, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game was pretty fun for the most part but it had some flaws. The time constraints mean that if you spend too much time on any one objective you would not have enough time to complete the main objectives. The text was illegibly tiny, even on a decent sized TV, making it hard to know what people were telling you unless they had an accompanying voice-over. And then there was the janitor who would call you in the middle of beating down a hoard of zombies, then got mad at you if you hung up on him because you were getting mobbed. I seriously wanted to go to that janitor & beat him to death with the phone he gave me. All-in-all it was fun, but very annoying at times.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
kae2one0
texas
 
Please wait while more information about kae2one0 is loaded.
Additional information about kae2one0 could not be loaded.
text...
Posted 6/13/12
yeah i forgot to put that in mine.. i got a 52" tv and was still having to move up a little closer to read everything on the screen.. good call
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Dead Rising
ok...returned after a few days
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/12
Rracer
I would've given this higher like 7 or 8 if game wasn't so frustrating. Basically even tho the game was timed...I was having fun with it until this one part. I'm surprised no one mentioned it but I think it's in the courtyard area when you go outside. There's like hundreds of zombies and then you get these psychos that are driving a jeep with I think it's a 50 cal on the back. Well I spent like 20-30 mins and defeated these guys. Well when I left and entered the area again they were back. Ticked me off so much that I shut it off right there and returned the game. Blah...
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dead Rising
Good game bad controls
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/5/12
theB009EYman
Location: buffalo
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love the concept hate the controls. Fun game but the sequel is way better. So I suggest that you skip this and pick up dead rising 2.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dead Rising
LOVE IT
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/20/12
chillow
Location: soath dakota
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
THIS IS THE FUNNIES BEST GAME OF ZOMBIES I HAVE EVER SEEN OR PLAYED I THINK THAT MANY OF PEOPLE WILL LOVE THIS GAME.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dead Rising
Best zombie survival series since resident evil
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/12
Olin3D
Location: Georgetown,TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
the game is great story s good weapons find them any where no more searching for guns and knifes every thing is a weapon.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dead Rising
good
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/9/12
fattrolls
Location: Fort worth, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
it's good it's sometimes boring then you don't play it for awhile then come back to it. this was the my first xbox 360 game i bought. it's good sometimes hard. hope you guys like it. also you can freerom, help or kill people. it's up to you! have fun!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 20 for Dead Rising
Simply Outstanding
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/12
OmegaToTheMax
It's been awhile since I got this game, but since I've seen some bad reviews, I figure I'd fill in. This game is simply amazing, with a few small downsides that make up for the story and amount of fun you will have killing zombies and psychopaths. There are a few bad things, which are the controls, but they take a little while to get used to since they are unusual. Another is the one of the missions, which seems difficult, but if you do the right trick, it will make it 10x easier. Other than those things, it is simply amazing. The graphics are nice, especially for its time, and the fact that they have a number of how many zombies you killed is awesome. I recommend this game to anyone is kind of hardcore, but still casual.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>