GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Zoo Tycoon

Easy to learn, hard to master! Encounter the ultimate zoo experience in Zoo Tycoon DS! Get up close and personal while collecting and caring for the world's most popular animals in a custom zoo you create! Manage your environment properly and achieve the ultimate goal of a zoo full of happy animals and customers.
Average Customer Rating:
6.3
6.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
1
8 stars
1
7 stars
2
6 stars
2
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
5 out of 1050%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Zoo Tycoon
Review 1 for Zoo Tycoon
Not worth your Money, Just pass it by.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/7/09
Naz400
I had gotten mine at Gamestop & I loved playing the old Pc version of Zoo tycoon & even RollerCoaster. I decided to play it since I had nothing better to do. I turn it on & to get to the main page it takes a while. Also unless you have quick hands or fingers to finish the tasks to be done in about give or take 5-10mins, the whole game will freeze up causing you to restart the whole game over. This cycle goes on again. The sound quality is not something to shake a stick at... Even if you save what you are doing this only delays it for a little longer I've noticed but the freezing seems to act up when the game is paused. When I get a chance I'm going to tell my firend, who wanted this game after me, not to bother even getting it & then I'm returning it for another game that actually works. I wouldn't take a chance on the Zoo Tycoon 2 for the DS either the game runs much better when it's not used on a ds. But I would recommend getting only the PC ones.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
5 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
teddyiscool
 
Please wait while more information about teddyiscool is loaded.
Additional information about teddyiscool could not be loaded.
i like it!
Posted 3/9/12
i think one of the best tycoon games for ds. i really enjoyed it! they did a great transition between the pc version and this one. good job!
5 stars!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Zoo Tycoon
not bad! i dont see why people dont like it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/12
teddyiscool
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i actually really like this game, usually you see these types of games on pc, but to see one on a ds is great. i liked the gameplay, the visuals were fine. getting money is a tiny bit hard, but its still over all a fun game. some of the sound effects are a bit annoying and somewhat loud, but i would say overall 9/10. well done!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Zoo Tycoon
A fun game, but gets boring fast
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/11/11
OcarinaOfAwesome
Zoo Tycoon is just like any building game; you direct the construction of a zoo, and watch it grow. However, even with multiple game modes, this game lacks the pull that keeps you playing.The main game gets very repetitive, and the missions are time-consuming. I would only recommend it if this is your type of game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Zoo Tycoon
Zoo Tycoon DS
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/27/09
Proffessor Game
Controls: These controls use the touch screen at some times and the buttons others. Pretty good mix of both. Interface: Perfect. Sound: Good enough. Graphics and Animation: Terrible graphics I think. You can't tell the difference between anything. The penguin looks like a polar bear and the giraffe looks like a lion. This aspect of the game makes one of my least favorite ever becasue everything is so pixiley. Realism: You do feel like you are taking care of animals, but because it is so blurry it's not real at all. You feel like you are taking care of a big blob. Pretty stupid actually. Special Additions: Non at all. I gave this game a 7 out of ten overall. I would not get this game. If you are looking for this type of game get Viva Pinata Pocket Paradise. Way better game in my opinion.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Zoo Tycoon
This game is kinda hard..
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/09
Jlynne26
This game is kinda hard I think for that I am still sorta playing it and I got it 3 years ago.. The beginning was easy of course but I 'm stuck on the second to last challenge I pray every time I have to start over that I get all the requirements and its hard. You have to make sure the guest are happy and the animals and I m usually a point off from that. But overall the game is pretty good the graphics are actually good for a ds screen and the sound is clear, especially when your zoo gets real busy you can hear all the people talking. The controls kind suck arrange the fencing for the cages is kinda stupid the viewing getting on your nerves. When you play free mode I think you should have everything available to you all the things like the balloons, etc... not only when you un-lock them in the game. It would be a lot more fun to play and maybe Id be done with it by now lol-
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Zoo Tycoon
It was good!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/10
nik101
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have had it for a long time now. I loved playing it and it kept me entertained for quite awhile. ON FREEPLAY: It's a good game but after playing it for a certain amount of time (depends how much you play it) it get boring because there's not much stuff to earn and you earn it fast. There's not enough room to make an exhibit for every animal even when you choose the largest location. You pretty much never run out of money if you set it to the highest it goes (500,000). It's kind of boring on story mode but normally I don't play story mode on any game I get so it depends if you like games like that. I like how it gives you a choice between story mode and freeplay. I would recommend this game to anyone.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Zoo Tycoon
the pc version is way better.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:2/17/12
alrkitty
Location: florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought this game because at the time I did not have a computer and and wanted to play a zoo tycoon game. but I guess you could say I never should have played my friends pc version first. Over all the game play was a bit fun but eventually gets boring and you are pretty limited in what you can do compared to the pc version. the graphics of course don't even come close to the pc version. I got board of this gave very quickly plus my game kept messing up on me the longer I played it which was truly annoying. so basically if you have a computer I would recommend zoo tycoon for the pc if not this will do till you can. It wont let me recommend the one i want to so I will tell you its title here. zoo tycoon complete collection and zoo tycoon 2 the ultimate collection.
 
My Product Recommendations
Zoo Tycoon 2: Extinct Animals
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DSLLover
...LOL...
 
Please wait while more information about DSLLover is loaded.
Additional information about DSLLover could not be loaded.
your right but...
Posted 3/31/12
well.. if your on the go and you LOVE this game then you'll want to take it with you right? if you CAN take it with you then BINGO!! yes you just put the game in your DS and your off on an adventure! and your STILL playing Zoo Tycoon! (though yes, the PC version IS much better but you can't always take a huge computer in with you. unless you have a really teeny-tiny computer.) so I think the DS version is ok!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Zoo Tycoon
BUILD YOUR OWN WONDERFUL ZOO
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/23/11
CODCRAZY667
Location: PA PITT
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
THIS GAME IS SO FUN. I JUST CANT PUT IT DOWN. SO MANY ANIMALS TO CHOOSE FROM. IF YOU LIKE TO GO TO THE ZOO BUT DON,T HAVE THE TIME JUST PLAY THIS GAME AND IT WILL BE LIKE YOU OWN YOUR VERY OWN ZOO!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Zoo Tycoon
Uh..
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:8/1/11
BrooklynSaga
Location: Hillsborough, NJ
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
decent game. would probably only play if i were seriously bored though.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Zoo Tycoon
Not The Best
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/11/13
deco
Location: Vidalia , GA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I got this game I have this for the PC . So I thought it would be just like it ,but it sucked . I hated it . It is hard to move around and play . I wish I had never wasted money on it.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10