GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Harvest Moon: A Wonderful Life Special Edition

The second PlayStation 2 entry in the Harvest Moon series builds upon the similarly-named GameCube title, Harvest Moon: A Wonderful Life. A few big changes mark the jump from GameCube to PS2 -- in this version, you may have either a boy or a girl once you've been married, and there are now four wives to woo with the addition of the lovely Lumina, and continued building of your farm is allowed once you've completed the story campaign.
Average Customer Rating:
6.125
6.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
5 out of 862%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Harvest Moon: A Wonderful Life Special Edition
Review 1 for Harvest Moon: A Wonderful Life Special Edition
Oh Lordy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/11/08
Crazy|Blond|HVM Fan
I am in LOVE with this game and its other sequels and etc. I love the plot of trying to fulfill your fathers job. It has a clear plot, but there are always the little tidbits you un cover along the way that make the time you spend with the game just a tad better. And, even though it's not... un-beatable, actually its semi-easy. But it is defiantly worthwhile. I spent at least 2 real life hours running around trying to find Nina in the second chapter! Only to discover she kicked the bucket, which really made me somewhat mad at the creators of the game, I loved her. If i had to recomend another game from this game company. It would NOT be Chuvlip... Oh my god. So freakin perverted. you had to run around and kiss people... I always died and got kicked by the pole person. I'm thinking of selling it back to Gamestop... Anyways. I love this game! And the special edition with Ceila and a baby girl just takes the whole cake!! GET IT
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Harvest Moon: A Wonderful Life Special Edition
Harvest Moon: A Wonderful Life Special Edition
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/10
chris.c
This game is awsome.In this game you have to live a farm life for your father because your father did not get to.so you inherit the farm that your father and his best freind fond.cool things that you can do are plant crops,raise animals,and you can get maried and have a child.you can make friends with people at the town.you can buy helpful items for your farm and you can sell crops,unneeded items,useles items, ALMOST ANY THING.you can play mini games.you can go fishing and sell the fish you catch.you can make deliciuos meals and sell or eat them.you can also free rome around town.I think this game has pretty good graphics and the storyline is pretty realistic and the game is also.The sounds sound great and not fake.the controls are pretty basic and easy.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Harvest Moon: A Wonderful Life Special Edition
Horrible everything
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/10
Rinny
Location: Houston, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I don't understand those of you who gave this a 10/10. Sure, A Wonderful Life deserved high ratings, but this game was horribly made. I got it because I wanted to marry Lumina, but I can't make it that far! The loading times are horrible (it takes at least ten seconds to get into the barn/house/outside/into houses/etc.), the frame rate is disgraceful (I remember meeting the Sprites, and my character was staring at nothing: then suddenly all of them popped up), and the graphics SHOULD be better than the Gamecube since it's on the PS2, but they are the same if not worse. Buy A Wonder Life or HMDS and AVOID this game if you want to marry Lumina: you won't have the patience to get there.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
9 of 25 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Harvest Moon: A Wonderful Life Special Edition
its the best game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/11/10
bake623
Location: bloomington mn
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
it co0ol for cool ppl and it just like real life i love this game its for kids and big ppl it really fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Harvest Moon: A Wonderful Life Special Edition
I liked this game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/12
harris502
Location: Corinth,ms
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Ok, it wasnt a hardcore gamers game. I like a bunch of shooters, cod,fallout3, and so on but this is a good game, good game play you will never run out of things to do in this game, you are always workin on your farm and trying to make it bigger and better its a bang for your buck i would get this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Harvest Moon: A Wonderful Life Special Edition
Severely disappointing and broken in nearly every respect.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/08
Daniel B Demented
Few games can rival what Harvest Moon can manage in regard to it's addictive simplicity, and it was with baited breath that I anticipated what 'A Wonderful Life' could bring to the table.Unfortunately, what I was met with was one of the shoddiest, broken and most lazily ported games I've ever played. So, if you're a fan of stuttering frame rates, constant loading screens, blurry and jagged graphics, and a control scheme that's stuck in slow motion, you'll find plenty to love in this game.Starting with the technical issues, it seems Harvest Moon's intention was to provide a serene farming town, complete with it's many bustling denizens going about their daily activities. This would be true, if there was any actual activity going on about town. As it is, you're hard pressed to find anyone, and you'll more often than not have to hunt them down by searching every last room in every house. This wouldn't be that big of a problem, but unfortunately, any time you access or close anything in the game you're greeted by a loading screen. Opening a door, window, drawer, refrigerator, etc? loading...Opening your backpack? loading... Adding or withdrawing items from inventory? loading...Changing through menu pages? loading...Accessing your map? loading...As one might guess, the loading gets very tiresome very quickly, and sometimes the loading isn't even present in the form of a proper loading screen, but as a game-freezing 2-4 second interruption. Considering the technological standards in place today regarding data access in video games, this in inexcusable and can only make someone think they're playing Harvest Moon on the Sega CD.The loading screens are bad, make no mistake about it, but adding insult to injury are the quality of the graphics. The terrain is smudged and blurry, with no discernible differences between textures of different objects, and character models feature extremely jagged edges, coupled with the blurry and smudged details that mar the rest of the environment. Couple that with the frequently plummeting frame rates, (which drop whenever the terrain changes, more than one character is on screen, or when you rotate the camera) and you wonder what exactly the game is loading so often if the actual in-game performance is so critically flawed.Rounding out this slew of faults is the control scheme which is nowhere near as intuitive, precise or fun as 2002's 'Save the Homeland'. Every movement your character makes is in slow motion, and not just in the animation, as there seems to be a delay in between the actual command being issued and the game carrying out the command. This makes every action turn into a bothersome, tedious chore. You'll no longer look forward to harvesting your crops or feeding the cows, as the time it takes to do those tasks leave you bored and frustrated. That combined with the naturally slow pace of the game, the unstable frame rate, and the innumerable loading times, grind the progression of the game to a halt.With those issues out in the open, we're left with the game's meager collection of positive traits.For veterans of the series, the inner spirit of the Harvest Moon franchise is present, albeit in a small form, in this game. The cast of characters is likable and diverse, with no shortage of potential mates for your character to woo, and plenty of other characters offering side-missions to accomplish.Complimenting the cast is the art direction, which retains it's charm from previous versions but is ultimately all but destroyed by the shoddy technical presentation.In the end, playing this game simply begs the question, "Why?"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
7 of 17 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
?
Posted 1/5/11
i think it was possibly your system or the game...because i rented it and played it and it was pretty awesome and the loading doesn't take that much time at all
Customer Avatar
KW1193
 
Please wait while more information about KW1193 is loaded.
Additional information about KW1193 could not be loaded.
Maybee..
Posted 9/9/10
Could it possibly of been your system? Everyone I've ever seen play this game, it worked GREAT.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 7 for Harvest Moon: A Wonderful Life Special Edition
Good game, not so good graphics.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/11
dumica
Location: BC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is extremely good for people who don't play games often/ at all because you can't lose. It's just life you go through financial drops, you take care of animals and raise a family trying to put food on the table. I do enjoy playing this game, I play games a lot, but one thing that you have to deal with is the graphics/loading screens, the graphics are quite poor and the loading screen takes longer than normal, but I think for what it's worth at least give it a go and if you hate it, sell it or give it to someone who wants it. If I had a say they should re-make it and fix the graphics, but I know they won't so I just play it and ignore the graphics. That's my two cents.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Harvest Moon: A Wonderful Life Special Edition
THIS GAME SHOULDNT BE ON ps2
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/23/12
MNB19
Location: TX
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game truly SUCKS IN all aspects of the game. Please never buy this game EVER EVER!!!!!!!! THE GRAPHICS ARE ALL WRONG and the game play is too. u can only b a guy
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 5 found this review helpful.