GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Nintendogs (Miniature Dachshund)

Put a puppy inside your Nintendo DS! Described as a "puppy simulator", this innovative new title gives you a small amount of money to purchase your own puppy...and from there, the sky's the limit! Using the Nintendo DS's built-in microphone, you can name your dog, and then teach him tricks! Nintendogs also makes heavy use of the DS Touch Screen. Use the stylus to pet your dog, rub him on the belly, or touch his nose! But be careful: different dog breeds have different personalities, and not all like to be treated the same way.
Average Customer Rating:
8.8
8.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
10 stars
15
9 stars
5
8 stars
5
7 stars
3
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
28 out of 3093%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nintendogs (Miniature Dachshund)
Review 1 for Nintendogs (Miniature Dachshund)
The game that came back
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/11
Lakewhisper
Location: Texas
Ok about 1-2 years ago I got rid of this game. I had a dream about my two favorite dogs that I had, Charlie, and Cracker. I missed them alot, so I went to the GameStop that I sold them two and bought the game. I left my DS Lite at home so I souldn't play it in the car. When I got home I put the game cartridge in my DS Lite and turned it on. I looked at the two dogs displayed on the top screen. I thought to myself "Wow those two dogs look alot like Charlie and Cracker........The same coler and flower.........." So I sadly taped the screen to see what the dogs names where. And I couldn't belive my eyes! The dogs names where Charlie and Cracker!!!!! I thought "Maybe this is one of thier friends games who bougt the same game and named them the same thing....." I checked the dog hotel "Balto! Night! Choco! Blaze! Silver! Youre all still here this is my game!!!!!!!!!!!!! I guess I got it back by missing it so much! But the game is so awsome I love it evven more now that I have it back! I hope you guys reading this understand the is very rare to get a game back! So the game is perfect hope you guys like it too!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ghostshadow25
Arlington, IA
 
Please wait while more information about Ghostshadow25 is loaded.
Additional information about Ghostshadow25 could not be loaded.
Posted 1/28/11
Wow that was Lucky! Cool story.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Nintendogs (Miniature Dachshund)
Cute! ♥
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/10
music95
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is SO adorable! You pick out your own puppy at the local shelter and then name him/her. Once they're home, you can teach him/her tricks, care for him/her (feed, give water, bathe), and play with them. You can enter them in contests, which are the Agility Trial, Obedience Trial, and Disc Competition. You can walk them and, while on your walk, you can stop by some local stores to buy accessories for your pet, dog food and water or milk, or stop buy the park or agility practice center. The reason I gave the game an 8, though, was because it's one of those games where you come back to it once in a while. Once you get the game, you LOVE it! But then it will start to get boring.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nintendogs (Miniature Dachshund)
I LOVE THIS GAME :D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/28/11
Ghostshadow25
Location: Arlington, IA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is awesome! Heck, im a boy and I still love it! I can get all the dogs i ever wanted (Beagles, retrievers, german shepards, etc.) You can play with the dogs, feed the dogs, take them for walks, put them in competions, and even connect two DS' with the same game to play multiplayer!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
17 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nintendogs (Miniature Dachshund)
AWESOME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/08
Another Fan
For christmas i got a nitendo ds, I love it so much. A couple of months later i got nitendogs. It is so realistic that i just can't get enough i feed my dogs like my own... I already have over 90,000 gamer points so i am going to get a new one. I will probily get the lab one but i am not sure. I would prefer this game for anyone that is in love with dogs (Not cats) because i feel like if it is a real game. I wake up and say,"I need to feed my dogs." And my mom would say that they already are. And i would say, "No my other dogs." It is like another dog in my family. Please let me no how the game is because i want to know. Like i said it is probily the best game of the nitendo ds EVER!!!! It is perfect for any age and if you are a boy or a girl. It is very fun and i will always be a nintendogs fan. Thank you...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nintendogs (Miniature Dachshund)
Good Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/09
Snow Board chick
I think that this game is really good for kids, and adults. its cute, simple, and fun. yeah it'll get boring after about 3 days of consistently playing, but then after a few days of not playing it, you'll miss it, and want to play again. I think Nintendo needs to make a Nitendogs 2 and have there be more breeds, or make a Nintendogs Rare Breeds, or Mixed Breeds, and/or be able to mix breeds together and see what comes out...just a thought. There could be a lot more to this game like, for example there's only a few stores to go to, and they could have made like a salon, or a pet store with more, and funner toys and food for the dogs. its a very creative game, and i think they did a great job, i just think there needs to be a second one soon! this game has been out for a while, so why not make another? This game is fun for everyone, and i highly recommend it to younger kids who wish, or have dogs, or just like them in general. Have Fun!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nintendogs (Miniature Dachshund)
Just like taking care of a real dog
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/10
Sunshine2000
I love this game. But just so you know I have the labrador one. This is the first game I ever got for my DS.It is awesome. The controls are easy. All you mostly use is the stylus. But you can use the D pad to move the camera around. The graphics/animation is good too. The dogs on this game look alot like real dogs in alot of ways. The interface is really good. You can pet your dogs, enter them in contests, feed them, play with them, and groom them.The realism is awesome. They act just like regular dogs. But sometimes the dog might not look that much like the dog in real life. But lets just go with it. The sound is good too. Now in this game you can do lots of things with your dog such as: train them, groom them, and play with them etc. Also make sure you check on you dog from time to time. Because if you don't your dog could run away, but don't worry, sometimes it may come back with a present. I would recommend this game for people love dogs and enjoy playing with them.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 7 for Nintendogs (Miniature Dachshund)
I have this game. Here are my comments.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/09
gamester809
Nintendogs has all different kinds of styles. Chihuahua, miniature dachshund, dalmation, etc. I own the miniature dachshund game. This is a great game for dog-lovers and is very interactive. This is one of my favorites of all 7 DS games I own. The controls are very simple once you get used to them. If I let a friend play, she is very confused at first about the controls. Controls need a little more simplicity. The animation is mostly excellent. The sound is very calm if you are walking your dog. If you do a competition, the sound is fast and intense. Either way, throughout the game the sound is very clear. Sound is everywhere in this game. You can whistle to your dog(s) to make them come to you. You can also call a certain dog's name and it will come to you. You can teach your dogs tricks, train them, and just about do whatever you do with an actual dog. I would recommend this game to people. Nintendogs is a very fun game for all ages.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nintendogs (Miniature Dachshund)
Yay for Dachys!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/10
TehFlame
Location: OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
YAY a Mini Dachy Nintendog game!!! I have a Miniature Dachund Named Sammie and i lubs her! This game is awesome,the online is good,the doggys r cute and theres alot to love in this game.Just like a real dog,and its awesome that you get to talk to them!The mic is an awesome adition to this game! Luv luv luv my dachys! Good work Nintendo! Keep addin them Dachys 2 your Nintendog games! :3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nintendogs (Miniature Dachshund)
this game is AWSOME AND I LOVE IT
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/11
thalia
Location: flordia,apoka
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
THIS GAME IS THE BEST GAME IN THE WORLD THAT INVOLES DOGS.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nintendogs (Miniature Dachshund)
Dogs rock!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/10/08
Little zack
O.K, so it was my birthday a few year years ago, and what I wanted most was a pug, but the rest of my family didn't want one, so I decided to get this game for my birthday. I go home and I start playing for a long time, and the next day, I played the same length. The game was just really good. You can give your dogs accessories (for example, a pirate hat). You can take them on walks, and you can put them in contest's. You can even customize the room you play with them in! The sound is a little real when the dogs bark, too. Another thing is you can teach your dogs tricks, like sit, roll over, and shake hands. The controls are very easy to get along with, since you only have to touch the touch screen with the analog stick. Also the graphics are pretty good, for a DS game. I would recommend this game to anyone who loves dogs, and people who want one, but cant have one.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nintendogs (Miniature Dachshund)
it has had good reviews
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/11
pickleassasin206
Location: maryland,MD
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i think that this gameis meant to partly learn how to connect and to learn how to take care of your dog
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
11 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nintendogs (Miniature Dachshund)
Fun only last for a couple of months
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/10
Mayz0xx
Well when i first got my DS i was super excited to buy Nintendo Dogs, Sims, and Animal Crossing. When i first got nintendo dogs i was super excited to play. I'm not able to get a dog at the moment so this was a great opporrtunity to at least think i have one. Well the fun only lasted 3 months for me. I fed my dogs, bought like 8 dogs, remodeled the place, took them out to walk, trained them, and that was really basically it. I wish that when you walk the dogs you could get more accesories. Most of the time you get trash, lousy boots, and its really annoying. You hope you can find something cool and 3/5 times you do. But you mostly find stuff that you can sell for like 50 cash. I also wish that the dogs could reproduce. It would be so cool to see a yorkie mate with a chihuaha and then see the result. Other than that good game, but if your the type of person that plays something a lot and then after a while you get tired of it, i woulden't reccomend you to spend so much money on the game. Maybe it would be best if you bought the game used so then later on you woulden't have to regret spending 35 bucks (like i did at the moment) on the game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nintendogs (Miniature Dachshund)
SUPER FUN!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/11
j10a11
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is very fun! It allows you to do many things with your puppies such as giving them a bath, taking them for walks, playing, contests, even dressing them up! You can even link up with another player. This allows your 2 dogs to play with each other. It's an addictive game! I love the many different breeds that are available. Plus, you can have more than just one dog. It's a great game. A big plus is that your dog learns to recognize his or her own name!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nintendogs (Miniature Dachshund)
If you want a dog and can't have one, this game will solve that problem!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/18/08
Caroline
This game is rockin' I tell you. I will tell you some of the really fun things of this game.-You can take them on walks, and they can give you presents! Or you can meet a new dog and meet with them!-You can feed them and give everything they need for nutrition. On walks there are bargain shops and you can get foods and water for your dog a little cheaper than theregular shops.-They allow you take their showers. Your dog will look sleek and glossy. You soap 'em, you water 'em. -On your walks, you can go to the parks to train your dog to a competition! There is a disc competition, where you throw your disc and your dog catches it and you get points depending on how far it caught it. There is an agility competition, where your dog has to go over hurdles and go through tunnels. There is an obediance comeptition, where you have to teach it tricks and you get points for how well your dogs obey. You can get money from the competition, where you can spend it on a lot of stuff.-You can acsserorize it. They have bows and hats, tiaras and collars. Your dog will look cute!-You can connect with other friends who have Nintendogs. You can meet each other with your dogs. -Lastly, you will learn the responsibility of taking care of your dog. This game is so realistic, you feel you want to really have them.So go out there and buy one and try how amazing this game is!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nintendogs (Miniature Dachshund)
BEST NINTENDO D.S. GAME EVER!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/10
Cupcakez
Location: pennsylvania, PA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is great because it teaches you the responsibility of owning a pet such as taking it for a walk, feeding it,and giving it a bath so get this game for any child who dose or doesnt have a pet<3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nintendogs (Miniature Dachshund)
good game for ds
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/7/14
only1gamer
Location: San Marcos, TX
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
overall i loved this game and hope the nintendogs series lasts! I love the animations! It feels ALMOST real!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Nintendogs (Miniature Dachshund)
Best Puppy Game of All Time For Kids!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/11
horsegirl123
Location: California, CA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This is an amazing game for kids! It is even really fun for me!!
:) It is almost impossible to put it down when you start!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nintendogs (Miniature Dachshund)
Dogz
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/13/11
121210mnk
Location: NC
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I got this game when I was really young. I then passed it down to my younger cuz who LOVES it. Very cute. <3 the beagles!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nintendogs (Miniature Dachshund)
L-O-V-E It!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/10
Tangleshadow
This game rocks! I have 4 dogs and it is vey fun to play with them! This game is perfect for kids with or without dogs!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nintendogs (Miniature Dachshund)
This game is AWSOME++++
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/24/12
Horsecrazy
Location: mcgrady
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love this game it is fun and excting. I was never really able to have a smart dog and even though this was game it was like having a real dog to take care of. I really recommend buying it for yourself or anybody else that loves dogs. It is just like having a real dog. You have to train it and play with it, feed it, water it taking on walks. It is great. And I can take it wherever I go no matter how big my "dog" is. LOL I highly recommend this game. It is great.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>