GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Def Jam Fight for NY: The Takeover

Battle for control of hip hop's underworld.Take the raw reality of the urban underworld with you anywhere with Def Jam Fight for New York: The Takeover, the only game featuring five intense fighting styles, hardcore hip hop music, more than 40 artists and celebrities, and 24 seedy urban venues. Choose your crew in a territory war to control New York's hip hop underground. Combine up to three styles to create devastating hybrid styles, complete with unique Blazin' moves to finish off your opponent. Gain respect by winning fights as you rise among the ranks and battle for control of the underworld.
Average Customer Rating:
8
8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
1
8 stars
2
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 1090%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Def Jam Fight for NY: The Takeover
Review 1 for Def Jam Fight for NY: The Takeover
this game is good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/24/11
Gamer2169
Location: Connecticut, US
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is crazy you got most of the raper's from back in the day fighting it out. the story mode is kool to blood needs to be in a fight game with it is. You like rap, hip hop, r&b you will like this one go and buy it. HAVE A GOOD TIME GAMEING
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Def Jam Fight for NY: The Takeover
Love It!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/11
Newnie
Location: Indianapolis, IN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
man i swear thats one of the best games i have ever played
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Def Jam Fight for NY: The Takeover
this is hot
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/11
BBEAR
Location: va
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this a good game i love they need to make one for ps3
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Def Jam Fight for NY: The Takeover
Cool, but...egh
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/26/10
JRH13
Location: Kyle, TX
I went to my dad's house for a week and found this game so i played it little(remember i dont usually like fighting games) i actually liked it so since im a night owl i put it up and played it later and loved it i played it all night long until 7 am then fell asleep for a hour and i still didnt finish it yet playing through the story how it was supposed to be played leveling your character buying clothes paying attention to storylines butttt eventually it can be boring but you can unlock music from the hip hop world which is great for music lovers and to see snoop dog beat up ludacris probaly not the first time though. the game is good but definitly not for everybody especially if you dont know anything about hip hop.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Def Jam Fight for NY: The Takeover
i love this game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/10
jaybone
Location: Milledgeville,GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i love this game. my second favorite fighting game. my first iz ufc:undisputed 2010
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Def Jam Fight for NY: The Takeover
Not Bad but really easy
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/10
bmiddrummer
Location: Greensboro, NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game i got with my psp, it was pretty good but i must admit it was really easy to beat (within 5 or 6 hours). Liked the variety of characters and venues, but not the music. Too much of the same stuff. I would recommend this to those "new" to fighting games, or fans of DOA, TNA, etc. Pretty good overall though
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Def Jam Fight for NY: The Takeover
i like this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/14/12
manny980877887
Location: chicago,il
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this games is the bomb always busta ryhms is raw you have to play this man once you start to play you wont stop
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Def Jam Fight for NY: The Takeover
that game was sweet
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/11
bambieboy
Location: orlando, fl
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is cool but it's so sanoing when you lose
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Def Jam Fight for NY: The Takeover
It's Ok...
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/12/09
jl225
It Kinda Impressed Me With The Many Fighting Styles And Clothing Options...Though It Somewhat Gets Boring.The Multi-Player Is Adequate At Best Nothing I Haven't Seen Before But For PSP I Recommend. I Would Prescribe It To The Die Hard Def Jam Fans But To The Regulars You May Be Taking A Risk. It Has A Nice Story Line It's Never The Same Unless You Make The Same Old Decision But It All Ends One Way. The Crowd Detail Should Have Been Better And They Kinda Took Out The Videos And The Scenes Such As The Shooting And The Killing Of OG Out Of The Orignal Version. All And All My Decision Doesn't Somewhat Count If You Believe You Enjoy Fighting No Matter How Crappy This Game Is (Not To Bad) It Just Like The Game The Decision Is Yours In This Game..
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Def Jam Fight for NY: The Takeover
Good for a few days...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/12
BreezyBoyBrana
Location: East Stroudsburg, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game overall is excellent but its to easy. I beat the story mode in less than 2 hours. Also after a few days of playing it i felt really bored with it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10