GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sonic Rush

The popular and favorite blue dude with tude, Sonic The Hedgehog, blasts his way onto the Nintendo DS and takes high-speed action gaming to a whole new level...literally! He's the fastest blue hedgehog on this planet and now he's pairing up with royalty - Queen, Blaze the Cat. This dynamic duo is a pair from different dimensions...but it's a match made to save the world! In search of the Sol Emerald, Sonic and Blaze must battle it out in their own worlds but as they do, ripple effects will change the events of the others. Sonic Rush takes full advantage of the dual screens on the Nintendo® DS system to deliver a frenetic adventure with dizzying dives, near vertical curves, extreme jumps, brain-twisting loops and more!
Average Customer Rating:
7.353
7.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
5
8 stars
1
7 stars
2
6 stars
4
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
11 out of 1765%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sonic Rush
Review 1 for Sonic Rush
Best Sonic Game for DS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/10
nintendokid
Location: NJ
This game has to be the best sonic game that i have played since sonic adventure 2 battle and the new Sonic Colors. The graphics are awsome and this game is just awsome to play over and over and you would still not get tired. I've played this game about 10 times already and i will keep on playing it 10 more times. Thats how fun and awsome it is. The story is that Eggman gose to a different dimension to get the sol emeralds to be paired with the chaos emerald. He is working with another evil scientist named Eggman Nega but when Eggman comes back Blaze the keeper of the sol emeralds follows him back to his dimension. At the same time when Sonic and Tails defeat Eggman, Blaze shows up and takes the sol emerald. This leaves Tails so courious that Sonic and him went to his workshop to check something. What he finds is frightining. There is a tear in the space time continum. This could make both words dissapear. Now Tails and Sonic are tring to find Blaze. Blaze at the same time found herself with Cream. Cream acts as her tour guide so she dosent get lost. Blaze already knows whats happening and is trying to collect all the sol emeralds. When Blaze and Sonic meet Sonic thinks Blaze has something to do with Eggman and Eggman Nega's plan. When Blaze refuses to say anything saying "It's my buissnes'' Blaze and Sonic battle. As they battle Eggman takes Cream. Affter the battle Blaze finally opens up and becomes more freindly and finds that Cream was captured. She tell Sonic that she will get Cream and for Sonic to go after Eggman Nega. After Sonic defeats Eggman Nega and Blaze beats Eggman and gets cream she looks for Eggman and Eggman Nega. When Blaze finds Eggman and Eggman Nega they get Blaze and take the sol emeralds and drained their energy. When Sonic got to Blaze she thought that she had faild but everyone showed that you always need someone to lean on. Just then the power off everyone working together brought the sol emeralds back. Then Sonic and Blaze turned into super Sonic and super Blaze and defeated Eggman and Eggman Nega. So if you want a great sonic game GET THIS ASAP. You will be happy you did.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
1012killer
Atlanta, GA
 
Please wait while more information about 1012killer is loaded.
Additional information about 1012killer could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
spoiler alerts!
Posted 5/15/11
couldn't you have warned people that there were spoilers? you just mentioned the whole plot, from start to finish, and that ruins everything! now people might not be getting this game because they already know the whole storyline before they even got this game!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Sonic Rush
THE BEST SONIC GAME SINCE SONIC ADVENTURE 1+2
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/8/08
G-FRESH
Dimps REALLY knows how to make fantastic Sonic games. They did incredible on all 3 Sonic Advance games and you can also add Sonic Rush to that list. Everything about Sonic Rush is just fantastic. The graphics are superb, everything in the game has a 3D look but it plays strictly 2D and it looks beautiful. You really have to check it in motion yourself. The boss battles are insanely cool and are very different (in a good way of course). Controls work wonderfully and are spot on. I also have to give HUGE props to the composer of the music. This is one of my favorite soundtracks to any Sonic game. Every song is so upbeat, catchy and infectous that it has to be said again...GREAT MUSIC. PERIOD. Storyline is your typical Dr. Robotnick (Eggman just sounds SO stupid) is trying to take over the world but with a little twist (which i won't ruin). Seriously, if you're into Sonic or just an overall solid action game then you really should get your hands on this. I know Sonic games haven't been up to snuff for a while, but Sonic Rush proves that there's still MASSIVE life left in the Hedgehog not to mention the franchise as a whole.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sonic Rush
best sonic game in awhile
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/19/10
StriderKiwi
I remember a day when sonic games were very well made and were in 2-d. Many sonic fans have been less than pleased with the recent 3d sonic games, and I am pleased to announce that those gamers should not pass up Sonic Rush. Rendered in 2d this game feels alot like the older sonic games. which means just everything about the game is great. story is typical sonic nonsense but who really plays a sonic game for the story? (although in this one there are 2 eggmans, PLOT TWIST :O) moving on, the sound track is great, they added a special dashing move that's a nice addition, the story can be played by either sonic or blaze the cat, the new character. The levels are pretty well designed and unique, and the only real downside about the game is that it's a little too short and it's also a bit too hard, but if you're used to the older sonic games than it shouldn't be a problem. all in all, it's a great game that most any sonic fan will enjoy.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sonic Rush
Sonic back to his roots!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/09
BlueAce57
I thought Sonic was pretty much dead after all the terrible games it previously came out but boy did this one saved the series!! The challenge is good great levels with beautiful designs, loops, and traps. And also the Boss levels are pretty cool in 3-D. The length is around 2-5 hours or so but the storyline is also great you play as Sonic the Hedgehog who must stop DR. Eggman from taking over the world and you. Also you get to as Blaze the Cat who must get back the Sol Emeralds. The graphics are pretty neat for it to be on the DS but not that neat and the interface is also pretty cool Time Attack, Boss Battle, Sound Test and V.S. Multi-player mode. And finally the controls are great for the game and the sound is simply beautiful as you go trough levels So in my recommendation I pick up this game if you like 2-d Platforms or your a Sonic Fan.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sonic Rush
way better than sonic 06
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/11
1012killer
Location: Atlanta, GA
the gameplay is the original 2d and fast paced. i like the music that playes in every stage (in fact, some of that music is now on my mp3) and Blaze the cat is my #1 favorite character in the sonic franchise. i can never get that 7th chaos emerlad, which makes the game more challenging, and this deserves to be a masterpeice. i haven't really beaten the game yet, so i don't know what there is after you beat the super sonic section. however, there was already tons of stuff you could do anyways.I think what Sega is doing is just making most of the home console sonic games bad just to get us even more impressed with the handheld sonic games, even though I like sonic colors.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sonic Rush
Not enough content
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/11
steveworldwar2
Location: MN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Getting 100% on this game would take no less than 3 hours. The 3D graphics really don't look that good on the ds, but the stages were by far the funnest sonic stages ever!!!!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sonic Rush
Sonic Rush
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/08
Flare7
Challenge- Sometimes it can be hard but not too hard like on some levels it takes a few trys Graphics/Animation- The graphics are good but could get a little better. It doesn't bother me though because the games so fun Length- There are two characters to use Blaze and Sonic and 7 levels on each which are a little different Each level has Act 1 act 2 and a boss battle then after you beat all the levels you get the Final Zone which is a Boss Battle Storyline- In the story Dr. Eggman stole the SOL Emeralds from Blazes world and she has to find them but when your playing as sonic your trying to get them to save his world from the disruption in the solar system from losing the SOL Emeralds Controls- The controls are great and easy to use the control pad is to go A and B are jump and then you can use them to do tricks when launched into the air and fill up your boost meter which is used by pressing X or Y. you can use the pen to navigate the screen when on the main menu with the stylus. R is used to shoot forward or up. Interface- This game uses both screens. You get part of the place your in on the bottom and some on the top. Usually your playing on the top but when you go higher up you switch to the top screen. It might seem like it would be annoying to have to move your eyes to different screens but you usually do it without thinking. Sound- The music is good and has different songs for each level and songs for boss battles. Sonic and Blaze both have music that is a little different from each other so you wont get tired of a song when you start playing on that level with another character I would recommend this game to anyone thats a sonic fan or not one.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sonic Rush
It's Alright
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/16/10
MarioFan1448
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I got this a while ago, as I am a huge Sonic fan. I grew up with Sonic, Mario, Spyro, and Pokemon, and I still love them all. The original Sonic Rush GBA game was fun for me, so I decided to buy the DS game. It's a traditional sonic game. If you like Sonic, you might like this. It does get boring after a while, but if you are obsessed with Sonic, you will probably enjoy this, as it is a classic Sonic game.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
1012killer
Atlanta, GA
 
Please wait while more information about 1012killer is loaded.
Additional information about 1012killer could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
um, hello!
Posted 5/15/11
there was no sonic rush for the game boy advance. you might mean that you enjoyed either sonic advance 1, 2, or 3 (yes, there were 3 sonic advance games on the GBA)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Sonic Rush
Not that good...
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:8/5/11
Lolgirl
Location: Palmdale, CA
I bought this game a while back, and I was VERY disappointed. I had game for a week or so before I returned it. It got boring and frustrating, and I thought more and more that I should have bought a different game like Sonic Colors.Once I returned it, I remembered I should always read the reviews before buying a game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
philly4267
 
Please wait while more information about philly4267 is loaded.
Additional information about philly4267 could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
sonic colors?
Posted 11/14/12
Don't get sonic colors. I love the game the music and game play and graphics are great but lasting appeal is horrible. I beat in three hours and I never played a sonic Ds game. If your looking for this maybe the wii version would be better but don't get ds unless you like never play video games.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Sonic Rush
Fun
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/13
superhyrulelink
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is decently fun. Tho I kinda felt this game was a little too short but that's just my opinion. Controlling Blaze the Cat is fun! :D
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 11 for Sonic Rush
An interesting idea
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/12
Xnaut1617
Location: MN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game seemed like a cool idea at first, being able to run around as Sonic in 3D on your Nintendo DS system, but it turned out to be quite boring at times and repetitive. But something awesome about his game was the difficulty level. I really enjoyed how this game never fails to have everything be a challenging concept. Aside from these minor flaws, if you are a Sonic fan, I strongly recommend this. And if you are new to Sonic, this game will be difficult, but will make you want to buy more Sonic Games in the future!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 12 for Sonic Rush
A great sonic game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/4/11
metaridley
It is no secret people have been dissapointed in the fastest thing alives recent games,I however have liked most of them (The storybook series and various spin - offs)And this game is great way to get back into sonic its fun and almost retro.The gameplay is fun and energetic.The graphics are not the best,It is a very old DS game.The sound is note perfect just like all sonic games.The game has quite a bit to offer and is very fun it took about a month or less for me to beat it.But its still fun and you should buy it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
1012killer
Atlanta, GA
 
Please wait while more information about 1012killer is loaded.
Additional information about 1012killer could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
it's not that old!
Posted 5/15/11
the game came out in 2005! it's just six years old. if your talking about very old, you'd mean 20 years oldish
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Sonic Rush
Not a big deal
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/9/11
Alexpb
Location: Victorville, Ca
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Honestly this is not a good game. It's good that Sonic is going back to the good old ways of its Sega platformer but the two screens are unnecessary and for me it kind of killed the game. The story line is not so great/interesting, the game is easy in some parts both others it's so darn difficult. I do recommend this for kids but not for someone who wants to have long-term fun because eventually it will get boring with the same running to the right and jumping about.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sonic Rush
sega at its best
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/13
philly4267
Location: omaha ne
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love sonic rush. Even though its older its better than sonic colors. The game is cool how we meet blaze. The best part is the music, I wish I had some of it on my iPod. Don't get sonic colors you'll finish it too quickly, instead go with sonic rush.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 15 for Sonic Rush
Sonic's debut on the DS, and what a debut it was.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/13/13
rockstar321
Location: Fairfax VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This was sonic's first game on the DS, and it's pretty fun. the gameplay is 2D classic gameplay and something new was added to the game and that is, the boost feature. believe it or not, this game was the first Sonic game to use the boost feature, which is now in every modern console sonic game, so this game really started something good. anyway, you play it like a classic sonic game where, there are 2 zones and a boss battle, you go through loops, jump from platform to platform etc, but unlike the classic sonic games, you don't have to start the entire game over after losing all 3 lives!!!! and another thing that's new on this game is a hub world, there is a map style hub world with a bird's eye view where to get from level to level, you walk to each zone on the hub world, and the map looks beautiful by the way, it actually shows all of the structure of each zone on the hub world. the story is kind of ..... weird, here's how it goes, sonic is running through "Leaf forest zone" and is looking for DR EGGMAN for some reason, after you defeat the first boss, eggman flies away, he flies away after every boss, and it looks like a copy and paste animation thing, anyway you meet this pink cat named blaze the cat, who later appears in sonic 06 and sonic generations, blaze tries to find all of the sol emeralds to defeat a new villan that is almost identical to eggman, just with a grey mustache and paler skin tone (which really is not that noticeable) so blaze runs into sonic and they both end up fighting, after the fight they defeat eggman, then it turns out that eggman and his twin from blaze's deminson want to take over both demensions. so sonic and blaze become freinds and defeat both eggman and blaze's eggman. I know, the story really does not make much sense, I actually think that this game is pretty overrated, Im not saying that it's bad, just not as good as sonic 4 ep 1 which is like this game, only more fun. I can understand that because it was a DS game, they would need to go a little low tech and that's okay, so if you want to try this game out, go ahead, it actually is pretty fun.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 16 for Sonic Rush
Big Failure
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/30/11
dolphinboy
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is so cheesy and boring. It's unbeatable and not worth the money. Don't bother buying it.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sonic Rush
Alright for a DS version
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:8/25/11
maxlevelplayer530
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is pretty good for DS. There are only a few levels and only 2 characters. It reminds me of the original Mario Bros. but more loops, enemies, bosses, and a little bit of 3D.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10