GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Valkyria Chronicles

Valkyria Chronicles is set in a fictitious continent reminiscent of 1930s, Europe divided in two and ruled by the Empire and the Federation. The Empire has set its sights on invading a small neutral country called Gallia, which is situated in the middle of the two great empires. The game follows a hero named Welkin and his fellow soldiers of the Federation's 7th Platoon that are fighting against the Empire, who is intent on unifying the continent under its power. The Federation discovers that the Empire possesses a secret weapon, known as the "Valkyria"- an ancient race with special powers thought to exist only in legends. With this new discovery, the fate of the Federation's ability to win the war and a hope for a better future hangs in the balance.
Average Customer Rating:
9.273
9.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
10 stars
30
9 stars
9
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
41 out of 4493%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Valkyria Chronicles
Review 1 for Valkyria Chronicles
Different in a good way
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/23/14
jwing1692
Location: Fayetteville, NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I'll just start out saying that this game is very fun and enjoyable. I really loved the strategy in this game, it's one of the best battle systems I've ever played. Nothing is funner than picking your own squad members and placing them around the battlefield the way that you want. It's not the easiest of games at times but it can be one of the most enjoyable.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Valkyria Chronicles
My top 10 favorite video game of all time!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/19/13
SONICADVANCE20
Location: Oak Creek, WI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
back in '09, i bought valkyria chronicles and i didn't get a whole lot further on that game because i was all new on strategy games. BUT in 2012 and 2013, i've gotten a lot further on that game, and i beat it. twice. The strategy battlefield was decent, but the story-line was incredible. So, frankly, valkyria chronicles is one of my all-time favorites.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Valkyria Chronicles
Nearly Perfect! (9.5/10)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/14/13
Diarrhea
If you've ever played Fire Emblem Awakening on 3DS, you will definitely enjoy this game. I never even found out about it until recently, but I'm already many hours into it. Everything about it, the story, graphics, soundtrack, characters, and gameplay are amazing. This has become one of my favorite games of all time. You really grow attached to your squadmates and want to keep them alive and hit each objective as you fight for your home country.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Valkyria Chronicles
Sooo awesome and obscure
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/22/12
GameInformer
Location: Trenton, NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
OMG THIS GAME IS FUN! Your running around shootin stuff. I like it because its like battalion wars where there is real-time 3rd person shooting, as well as something like military madness with strategic rts-type game style. The only problem is the difficulty. The game gets SOOOO hard just after a few battles. Other than that it's great. best strategy game ever. There are also tons of loveable characters that you can choose! You can mix an match different characters in your platoon with different classes. There are like 50 other characters that you can recruit. They all have specific personalities and traits that make them differ on the battlefield. I love the anime style graphics. It is a great military shooting game for TPS fans. I would recommend this game to EVERY and ANY strategy game fan. It's the greatest.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Valkyria Chronicles
To hard-difficulty up their with dark souls
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/12
AMAC
Location: Fort Worth, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I prefer turnbased games that are not in realtime, everytime you move a character they die because their isnt enough cover- glitchy too.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Valkyria Chronicles
Fantastic!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/2/11
higgsboson
Location: Sunrise, FL
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Great turnbased/realtime hybrid RPG. It's been said in other reviews, but if your looking for an anime Black-Ops, this game is not for you. However, if you are into cerebral stratgey with an incredible artistic flair and depth of gameplay, you gaming desires will be satified. I'm not one to judge story-line, but it's compelling enough to keep you interested from start to finish. The characters are affable and the voice-overs are decent. (Do I hear the voice of Radical Edward from the great Cowboy Bebop?Probably.) One small gripe is the character movement. It can be a bit clunky at times. This can be a pain in the butt, especially when you have to move quickly and think quickly. But you'll soon anticipate this and compensate before you make your move. Bravo to the art team. I am green with envy of the vision they brought to life. Hardcore RPGers rejoice. Can't wait to play the second installment.
Peace!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Valkyria Chronicles
It's my type of game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/11
Kikosho
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Well you should know this before you go ahead and buy this game, it is a strategic game, not your typical first-role shooting, nor it is like any RPG or action game out there. The graphic is breezing and indeed the game looks good. the music is beyond average but definitely not as catchy as some major titles. If you are into this genre you'll enjoy this game because of its well executed quality.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Valkyria Chronicles
A must have!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/19/11
Jcee25
Location: Rochester Hills,MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you own a PS3, this game is a must have. The beautiful art paint looking graphics is perfect in this game. The story is filled with epic scene and emotional one too. A very very good RPG game. Various way to customized each characters
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Valkyria Chronicles
One of the best games ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/9/11
wyrush94
Location: New Hampshire
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I will be honest at first I thought this was just another kids game, but my friend kept insisting that I buy it. Once I did I could not stop playing this game. It is a grate concept. Strategy mixed with third person shooter, and turn based. At the start of each turn you get a view of the map and then select a unit. Once you have selected a unit it switches to a third person view ware you can advance and attack. After you attack your turn is over and you can select another unit. The storyline is grate with about 10 minutes of video each chapter and unlockable extra story. You also get to select your squad, and can buy lots of weapons, and tank upgrades. Truly a unique game that everyone should play.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Valkyria Chronicles
Perfect for hardcore RPG fans or the casual gamer.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/11
Allthenamesaretaken
Location: Virginia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
if you own a ps3 and like RPG's or tactical combat games than Valkyria Chronicles is the game for you no question. from the hardcore RPG fans to the casual gamer VC will leave you in shock and awe.
the transition from turn selection at the map to controlling ur squad member in 3rd person is flawless and easy. the story is fantastic and the graphic style is unique and rememberable. the guns handle well enough (not COD, guns will miss and they will miss often as its a RPG)
The only draw back was the massive number of cliches (if you watch anime like me on a regular basis ul spot them all effortlessly) just about every person able to be recruited has a cliches in someway down to the main girl herself, but its not bad enough to warrent avoiding the game, some of them are interesting and squad members react accordingly to them example: a guy jann gets boost around men, but the men who get boost around females say funny 1 liners to jann when he gets in range of them and they are funny at that, that kinda stuff and each character is unique thanks to each character having different potentials such as clean freak, being on dirt causes lower accuracy or the prefers men/women where being around them gives a boost in accuracy, there is many many more but if i named them all this would be a page on its own.
so yes if you have a PS3 VC is a MUST OWN game, but good luck in finding it, i had to search 5 diff gamestops before i found it...its a rare game nowadays and i got the last copy X3 its a shame this game sold so poorly...its amazing in every way
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Valkyria Chronicles
GOOD SRPG BUT TEDIOUS
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/11
Anonymous
Location: Florida, USA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The storyline was very good but the battles got longer & longer and repetitive. I also would have preferred to level up my characters individually instead of in a group. Overall a bit above average. If you liked the Classic Front Mission type games you will enjoy this one.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Valkyria Chronicles
Best RPG
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/10
SJboy25
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is the best RPG ever. Although the lack of Trophies is a bummer, the game itself is amazing, especially the graphics.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Valkyria Chronicles
Great intro to Strategy RPGs.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/10
cougarcm20
Location: North Charleston, SC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Taking place in an alternate version of Europe in the mid-1930s, Valkyria Chronicles tells the story of a militia squad from Gallia, a small, independent nation, caught up in a war between two powerful factions -- the Atlantic Federation to its west, and the East Europan Imperial Alliance (a.k.a. the Empire).
Both the story and the style of play stand out in this Sega title. The game covers the Second Europan War (E.W. II), with the Imperial invasion of Gallia in March 1935 E.C. (Europan Calendar) as the starting point. The following battles, as well as the events in between, are mostly seen from the viewpoint of Squad 7, led by Lt. Welkin Gunther. Gunther and the other members of his squad have their own reasons to fight, and as you progress through the campaign, side chapters involving Squad 7's key will be unlocked, adding even more depth to the story. The Imperial forces have compelling figures as well, as the leader of the Gallian invasion, Prince Maximillian, and the Generals under his direct command have their own reasons to fight as well.
The gameplay stands out just as much as the plot. In each battlefield, your squad will be able to take a set number of actions (based on Command Points - C.P.) during your Phase; after that, the enemy force will do the same with its phase. You'll choose which unit to spend a C.P. on from a top-down perspective common with many Strategy games. But the twist comes once you select a unit -- the view switches to a third-person shooter style, in which you'll move your unit (either personnel or a tank) to a desired location and take an action (attack an enemy, heal yourself or an ally, etc.), then end that unit's turn.
If you've ever wondered if Strategy R.P.G.s are for you, Valkyria Chronicles is a great starting point. Be sure to seek it out if you can.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Valkyria Chronicles
A must have game if you own a PS3!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/11/10
MisledYouth
Location: Vista, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is amazing! The story is intriguing; the character's feel real; the visuals are stunning; and the gameplay is perfect. Never in my life have I played such a difficult and fun game as Valkyria Chronicles. I recommend it to everyone that I know that has a PS3 and I tell everyone that has a 360 that they need a PS3 solely to play this game. The sequel does not even begin to compare to this gem! All I can say is: for the price it costs now, you're pretty much stealing from SEGA to play this game. So play it already!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Valkyria Chronicles
One of the best RPGs i've ever played
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/10
Yamakaman
Location: Torrance, Ca
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This has got to be one of the best RPGs I have ever played in my life. The sheer beauty of this game just makes me want to play it over and over again. The story line kept you into the game and so did the wonderful cut scene style. The characters are also amazing as each one has some advantages and disadvantages in the field of battle. Its also nice to have a multi-genra game RPG, Strategy, and even some first person shooter elements. Over all if you have a PS3 and you don't have this game then GO BUY IT!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Valkyria Chronicles
Brilliant Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/10/10
IcedEarthaholic
I bought this game a while ago back when it was on sale at a massive mark down, it was the last copy they had in stock. Sadly though, I could not play it then as I did not have a PS3 at the time. It wasn't until months later that I did get one, and when I did, I was so psyched because I heard great things about Valkyria Chronicles or VC as we call it for short. I was blown away by how the graphics looked, the CANVAS engine really adds to the charm of the game in my books as it makes it look and feel like a story book come alive in 3-D on the screen. Simply put, the game looks darn good! However, I wasn't able to fully appreciate the brilliance of this mix of turn-based and real-time strategizing until I upgraded my TV to an HDTV. What looked darn good then, was even more jaw-dropping now as I could make out all sorts of little details that I could not before. I love the comic-style words that appear on the screen for one, seeing the "RRRRRRRRUMBLE" appear as the tank's engine was in rev mode added to that charm. And of course, the characters look great, the voice-overs are excellent, and the story is pretty believable for the most part. The story is set in an alternate Europe called Europa, and revolves around a group of characters deemed as "Squad 7" led by a young man named Welkin Gunther. While I won't give away any spoilers of the story, I will only say that while it takes a little bit to pick up, once you get to the third chapter anyway, you'll be wanting to know what's gonna happen next. Yes, the story is that damn good, trust me on this one, you won't be disappointed. The gameplay is unique, it's a combo of turn-based and real-time strategy. You see, you have what is known as "command points" that you use in order to issue commands to your squad members in the game, depending on how many you have deployed and how many you used the last turn, you can have up to 20 command points at your disposal. You select your character you want to use on an overhead map displaying the entirety of the battlefield, and when you do select said character, you are then swept down to their position where you can move your character in real-time. Bearing in mind you only have a certain amount of time to move your character before it runs out, and you'll want to strategically plan your moves before you need to end said character's turn. But, what makes this system cool is that you can go back and easily re-select that character, move again and possibly set yourself up to fire upon the enemy if your play your cards right. Simply put, it's a refreshing take on the strategy RPG genre with this type of gameplay, and the fact that it is well executed is the icing on this already delicious cake! As you know, the graphics are incredible, I already stated this many times. However, I really need to emphasize how gorgeous they are. Even on an SDTV it looks awesome, but play it on an HDTV and it gets even better than this. Trust me on this, it is a jaw-dropping experience that needs to be played in it's proper definition. I have yet to see another game employ this kind of graphical style and use it with this much finesse. The comic-book-esque texts that appear when your characters do something, or have something done against them adds to this charm. Seeing "Boom!" appear when you blow something up? Nothing is more satisfying than that folks! The sound is excellent too, composer Hitoshi Sakimoto of Final Fantasy Tactics and Final Fantasy 12 fame, has made some wonderful songs, especially for the first few missions when your side is playing. For some odd reason there's a segment of that song that makes me think of Star Trek. It's wonderfull done though, and fits the atmosphere perfectly. There are plenty of tracks to be heard, and I've yet to hear a single one that I didn't like. All of them get the job done, and add some authenticity and militaristic-ness to the atmosphere. It's great stuff that needs to be he
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Valkyria Chronicles
Great
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/29/10
reptigamer
This game has got to be one of the best games on the PS3. The graphics are really really good. They look like watercolor paints brought to life (in a game). I'm about 2 hours into it and am not that far into it. VC makes you think about your every move, you move to the wrong place and that could possibly cost you the mission. If you make the right move well you win. And to make things harder, your main characters aren't allowed to die. I picked this game up a couple of months ago but just started it. I would have to say that there is an awful lot of video clips in between missions but they help you understand the story a lot better. (trust me I started the game over and understand it more now). The wepons when you first start out are horrible but as you get farther you can upgrade them and make them stronger. With all that said I say you go out and get this game. So get off the computer and buy this game!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Valkyria Chronicles
Great game for RPG/Strategy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/14/10
Akonikun
I'll start with the storyline. To be very brief, the storyline for this game was apparently SO GOOD that they made an Anime series based on this game's storyline. I LOVE storylines, which is why I love most RPGs. The length of this game was great, not intensely long, but not disturbingly short. The graphics are really based on a matter of opinion, this game has almost like a 3D anime kind of look to me. It's not something that your average person could just BLAZE through. I really like the soundtrack that plays, the interface is pretty neat and not overwhelming. The controls are really easy to learn. My favorite thing about this game has to be the storyline, it's just really great! Although....the replay value for this game is pretty "eh" if you know what I mean. My second, is probably the fact that it made ME think, there's probably some brainiacs out there that might disagree, but whatever. So...Yeah that's my review....I DO NOT IN ANYWAY SHAPE OR FORM, REGRET BUYING THIS GAME!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Valkyria Chronicles
One of the best games out there
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/28/10
Raineylove
I picked up this game not really knowing what I was getting myself in to. I found out that what I was getting in to was a very wonderful and unexpected surprise. The gameplay starts out decently easy to help you learn the controls and explains which category of soldiers do what in pretty decent detail before it starts throwing out the more harder missions that require the player to think of a strategy to reach the victory conditions. The missions have sandbags, buildings, walls and ladders set so you can place your soldier in a spot where they can effectively hit the enemy, but still have the cover they need to evade enemy attacks. The enemy also uses these to their advantage adding challenge to the missions. In later missions it became extremely rewarding for myself when the strategies I thought up actually succeed making all the frustration I had with prior attempts vanish. The story I found was very intriguing and was pulled off very well. The water-color like graphics added to the romantic story being told about Squad 7. All the characters were fun, even the ones whom you only knew by their 1-2 sentence profile. All in all, I definitely recommend this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for Valkyria Chronicles
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/21/10
Mr.
There are some people who game it a bad review. That was probably because they didn't understand what they were buying. Valkyria Chronicles is a challenging game that requires stragety. Those who rated bad were probably bad at things like "planning of your attack." Get this game while ya can cause its an instant classic. Also get this game to support the Valkyria Chronicles series to ensure we get some more games in the future.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 next>>