GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Xbox 360 Play and Charge Kit

Recharge your Xbox 360 Wireless Controller while you play and kiss disposable batteries goodbye. Complete with a charging cable and Rechargeable Battery Pack, the Xbox 360 Play and Charge Kit is all you need to juice up your Wireless Controller - even in the midst of battle.
Average Customer Rating:
5.745
5.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
7
8 stars
6
7 stars
3
6 stars
2
5 stars
5
4 stars
0
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
7
27 out of 4757%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Xbox 360 Play and Charge Kit
Review 1 for Xbox 360 Play and Charge Kit
Save up for a legitimate charger
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/10
Father Licorice
The idea of charging a controller while still being able to play games is cool - but it kinda defeats the purpose of the wireless controller concept... Anyone who has any general education about batteries can tell you that when a battery is being charged it shouldnt be used until it is at full charge, otherwise the batteries overal life will diminish quickly - said "breaking" in other reviews. When you you use a battery while its being charged you out alot of stress on it - energy is in a constant loop within it, travelling in and out which causes heat and death to your battery... so thats no good. If your going to charge batteries, make sure your still not using them - buy a real charger. Other faults with this battery killer are the wires and usb connectors - everything is wired slopily, and the usbs dont always fit tight. Its hard to even keep a steady power flow. (Its almost like its trying to save your battery from impending doom) At any rate, this thing is not such a good idea
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
9 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Xbox 360 Play and Charge Kit
Not many problems
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/09
Doty14
I bought the play and charge kit about a year after I bought my xbox 360 so I have had the same play and charge kit for a little over two years now and I have had no problems with it, either I got really lucky, or I just use it correctly. What I do with the play and charge kit is only use it when it needs charging, you can use the charger anytime you want and charge the controller while playing, but I always plug the controller in after I turn the xbox off, As of now, I am not a hardcore gamer as I use to be months back, I was in a clan for Gears of War and call of duty, and I'd play so long it would just drain, and the battery life of MY charger is around 8+ hours of it being on and the controller will begin to flash. But overall I believe this product is definitely worth buying, it's cheap, you won't have to worry about buying batteries, recharging the batteries, etc.. etc, this is a definite buy. 10/10
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Xbox 360 Play and Charge Kit
Beats replacing batteries.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/12
Tillman1650
Location: NorthCarolina
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Ideal for the wireless controller. Sometimes it has problems charging. I have had mine for only about 8 months and occasionally I have to unplug it and re-plug it to get it to start charging; similar to a cell phone charger. However, it charges really quick, makes connecting a new controller to your system instant, and stows out of the way after a charge. Nice color coded lights red for charging, and green for charge complete. On mine the cord is about twelve feet long, so even if my controller dies, and has to be charged I don't have to change my seat to keep playing. It does remind me of a cell phone charger, it wears out after some use, but what electronic doesn't. Used or new, the price is much more economical, and practical than replacing batteries every couple of weeks.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Xbox 360 Play and Charge Kit
it is woth paying for
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/09
xXOwNxAgEXx
it is really worth paying for you are able to charge the controller and play at the same time. when you turn your xbox off it will still charge.it allow you to play the game without the battery pack you can plug in the wire without the battery pack and it will work fine. i game it all 10s i have 2 of these 1 white and 1 black. you should really buy it. but what i dont like about it is that the battery pack makes the controller a little more weight. Once you buy it you will really love it. you will say that i am proud that i bought this. It saves you some money so you dont have to spend money on buying batterys. but i only have 1 wire because my sis cut one of mine so i only use one. they last a while when they are fully charged. When the light is green its fully charged when its red its not.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Xbox 360 Play and Charge Kit
Wireless no more
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/15/09
Zoro75
Well, the play and charge kit gets the job done the only thing is that it seems that if you just leave it charging with your 360 off it takes longer for it to charge and if a play it sometimes won't show the green light meaning its done. The design is basic something I do not like is that the cable is short so I have to get closer to my TV to play and charge, but it does come with a white or black charge. However, though it is not great it gets the job done at least. Personally, I would suggest connecting it to your controller and your 360 turn it off and just let it charge while you go out to do herons or something like that. Honestly I think that whether you use battery or charge packs you should buy this. Reason it is useful, does the job, and you never know when you might run out of batteries (it comes with white or black charge pack.) Therefore, overall it is a good product.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Xbox 360 Play and Charge Kit
Worth Every Penny.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/11
BigGilk
Location: Fortlauderdale, FL
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i've had mine since 2006 or 2007 i bought it shortly after purchasing my xbox i have never had a problem with it and it has probably saved me hundreds on batteries mine has been through several moves and a overseas tour with the U.S. military just take care of your equipment and it will take care of you
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
16 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Xbox 360 Play and Charge Kit
It's Pretty Bomb
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/10
JBSims3
Location: Pueblo,CO
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have one that came with my wireless red controller and It works perfectly and doesn't take that long to charge. Stop wasting your money on battery packs all ready Buy one Of These!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
13 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Xbox 360 Play and Charge Kit
Pretty good product
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/11
MADEYE
Location: San Bernardino, Ca
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have had my play and charge kit for a year now, it has worked wonders for me. Don't know how others are having a bad experience with this product it works perfectly fine. Some say its a wiring problem maybe people should quit strecthing the cord across the living room while its connect and charging and that might solve their problems. I just bought to more yesterday!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Xbox 360 Play and Charge Kit
Definately worth it
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/10
JustMyInput
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I bought my xbox about a year after they came out, and then maybe about 6 months later I bought the Charge & Play. I didn't read all the reviews, but I am a hardcore gamer and up until about last week this charger has been working excellent. It just recently started to show its wear and tear by needing to be in just the right spot to work. For $20, I am definately buying a new one tomorrow since all my battery packs (5 total) are running on their last legs as well. This charger is definately worth it for any type of gamer, but it WILL wear out over time and use but what thing doesnt wear out?
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
11 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Xbox 360 Play and Charge Kit
Take care of it
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/12
Woochagodon
Location: FL
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have had my charger for about 4 years and it has just now stopped working. The only reason it stopped working is because the wireing must be very weak and it has just decided to stop charging. Other than that they are very durable and I'm gonna grab another one as soon as possible.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Xbox 360 Play and Charge Kit
Very Good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/8/09
MW2 PLAYA
The charge and play kits are great for an active gamer. Say you are using batteries and they run out you have to run downstairs to get new ones. Well not anymore you can have it charging in your controller while you play or you can have a second one charging so when it runs out you pop it in so you can play.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Xbox 360 Play and Charge Kit
better than batteries
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:8/20/09
nickz313
At first, this product is fairly amazing, worked perfectly. After about a week i noticed that the light which shows if it's charging wouldn't come on. It still charged my controller, just defeated the purpose of having a wireless controller. Still i admit it was a lot better than having to buy batteries and after about 2 months of constant use it just decided to stop working on it's on. So basically looking at other comments i would have to conclude that this product does not last very long, nor does it withstand many everyday tasks. If you're a person who gets really into your games, angry.. pulling and tugging at the controller i cannot see this product lasting very long for you. Since it usually lasts about 1-2 months it's still a better choice, and more convenient than batteries so I'm 50/50 on recommending this product. Just don't go in buying it with false hope of it being amazing and lasting forever.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 13 for Xbox 360 Play and Charge Kit
Great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/26/09
360 fan
This kit is the best way to go for those with a wireless controller. You can play continuously and not have to worry about running out of juice, but you can also take it anywhere. Mine is still holding strong after 6 months since the purchase. All you have to do to keep it working is to not over charge it all the time because when you keep any rechargeable battery plugged in too long, it over charges and loses capacity. Just unplug it 15 minutes after says it's fully charged because again, with every rechargeable battery, the power level indicator always says fully charged once it is really at about 90% charged or so. My only complaint is that sometimes the cable comes loose from my controller and i don't notice for a while and then i have to plug it back in, but that doesn't happen too much.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Xbox 360 Play and Charge Kit
Avoid
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/12
TheIronFistOfDeath
Location: Perryville, MD
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
These are GREAT......for the first year. After that, they only work intermittently, if at all. I'm not sure if the battery isn't being charged, or if the battery just goes bad, but the only thing these are good for (after about a year) is turning your wireless controller into a wired one.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
7 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Xbox 360 Play and Charge Kit
Terrible, Terrible, Terrible
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/19/10
TheSecondNumber1
Location: NJ
At the beggining this was working perfectly and I always took perfect care of the charging wires, batteries ect. However after 2 months or so the chord would have to be in the perfect position to charge. About a week after this problem another one emerged. The product stopped charging completely. Now being revertted back to AA batteries I suggest spending the 10 extra dollars and get a true, reliable charging system which won't die after 2 months.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Xbox 360 Energizer Power & Play Station
7.7 out of 10(9)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
6 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Xbox 360 Play and Charge Kit
What a good product without the strength...
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/13/11
VxxBIGMACxxV
Location: LA,CA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The product has the best charging out of both of the units of just charging, and you can also play. But, the product breaks because of the wiring error, they need to strengthen the product.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Xbox 360 Play and Charge Kit
Does it's job... but only for a very short time!!!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/09
Munkie#1
I bought the play-and -charge kit to avoid having to buy new batteries every time they depleted. When I got home, it worked excellent and I loved it! The design was amazing because the charging cable is long enough to reach from my TV to my couch. I loved that all you have to do is plug in the cable and it would charge as you played - so you don't really have to stop the game to charge for half-an-hour... BUT about a month-and-a-half passed and then it stopped charging. Instead, it required to be connected at all times if I wanted to play. I tired to see if it was my controller or the cable by borrowing a friend's controller but it turned out to be the kit that was faulty. The charge cable recognized the battery to be completely charged at all times, which didn't allow the battery to charge when depleted. I do not recommend this product.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Xbox 360 Play and Charge Kit
Good product... until it breaks.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/17/09
Neilmiser
I use my XBox360 probably about half as often as most of the people here use theirs (things like a job tend to get in the way of a mammoth 20 straight hour gaming session), and the recharger unit still managed to break less than a year after its purchase. The unit is a wonderful idea, with terrific execution and fantastic results, letting the gamer play- albeit with a big, clunky wire attatched to a USB port- without having to worry once about recharging your controller. Unfortunately, however, the wiring died in roughly 10 months, and it no longer recharges my battery at all, instead simply funneling energy from the system to the controller itself while it's plugged in. All in all a pretty good effort for the most part, but not a very high quality or lasting effort.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Xbox 360 Play and Charge Kit
works
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/1/12
ianne7d
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
it works great...untill wear and tear gets to it..then it just stops working,,,ive had mine for about a year now..and it just stopped working
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Xbox 360 Play and Charge Kit
great buy
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/14/14
Drizzly
Location: Elon, NC
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I would recommend getting it at the store it could be cheaper and this is as good as buying a new one except cheaper.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 2 3 next>>