GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Final Fantasy XII

Our story takes place in a world called "Ivalice," in an age when magic was commonplace and airships plied the skies - the Archadian Empire, seeking to strengthen its base of power, had been invading and subjugating its neighboring lands one by one - a fate which befell the small Kingdom of Dalmasca. Archadia's invasion and the subsequent death of the Dalmascan king prompted the Princess Ashe, the sole surviving heir to the Dalmascan throne, to take up arms against the invaders. In her struggle to oust the occupying Archadian forces and restore freedom to her people, Ashe must watch as many of her allies pay the blood price for that freedom. Though tempted to abandon all hope in the face of the Empire's might, her determination keeps her from succumbing before what would seem to be inevitable defeat. Then she meets Vaan, an urchin from the Dalmascan capital of Rabanastre. Vaan dreams of one day becoming a sky pirate, escaping the Empire on his airship. Vaan, Ashe, Vaan's friend Penelo, the sky pirate Balthier, his partner Fran and many more are on an adventure through Ivalice that traces the mysteries behind the Archadian Empire's invasion.
Average Customer Rating:
8.565
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (85 reviews)
10 stars
44
9 stars
17
8 stars
6
7 stars
6
6 stars
1
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
1
70 out of 8582%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Final Fantasy XII
Review 1 for Final Fantasy XII
amazing change in the series
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/11
RPGgamefanatic
Location: Frisco, NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Final Fantasy XII was my favorite in the series, it was seriously underrated but i like it because the storyline didn't follow the traditional Final Fantasy's along with the battle system its cool because of the major free roam on the extremely huge map and the side quests.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
FINAL FANTASY XI Ultimate Collection Abyssea Edition
9.2 out of 10(13)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Final Fantasy XII
simply amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/14
Qu1ggs
Location: davisburg mi
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is amazing for the story and characters to the gameplay and graphics. I got this game when it came out and it kicked my butt for 8 years but I couldnt stop playing it. The story is awesome way better than the traditional ff games. the characters go great together eachone just gets better the further you get. An amazine open world with absolutely stunning design every area is truly a work of art and the seamless battle system is amazing there are tons of side quests to be done you can do the main quest whenever you want so seriously take the time to explore the amazing scenery found thougout the game. The graphics are beautiful they are some of the best I have ever seen and im not just talking for that generation of consols they are better than some ive seen on the xbox360 and ps3 the cut scenes are amazing they really bring the story to life. I hope this game gets remastered so people on newer consoles can play this masterpiece.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Final Fantasy XII
It get's hate because of the changes to the series
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/11
Nidav3
Location: Baltimore, MD
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Even though Final Fantasy XII may not be like the other Final Fantasies there is a lot of good things going for this game I find it to be the best PS2 Final Fantasy and that's saying something. The thing people notice the most about the game that aren't similar to the others in the series are the battle system and the license board both which let's you customize how each character play while your not controlling them and the weapons,magic, stats,etc. each character use. This is the longest Final Fantasy game that I've played and that's not a bad thing the game is at the right difficulty where the only real frustrating thing's you encounter aren't optional. This game is filled with a lot of side quest and secrets to keep you playing after you beat the game. The best part about the game is that it's filled with exploration and not a straight line like FFXIII and to some extent FFX. So if you could put up with this game not being like the rest you'll enjoy it and it's also cheap so you won't be losing that much if you don't like it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Final Fantasy XII
Ah FF XII
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/11
albanygamer
Location: Albany, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is definately one of the Final Fantasy games that deviates from what we've come to expect. With a whole new live action targeting and battle system, this game takes the cake in the "new idea" category. The first thing you will notice when you start this game, is the richer graphics. Thus far in the series, games have a "cartoon-like" quality during regular gameplay, and enhanced graphics were only seen during the cutscences. You can see that Square Enix is definately making an effort to reach "seamless" gameplay. The storyline is very full with plenty of intersting side quests. At the risk of giving too much of the game away, I do wonder what they were thinking when they chose the main character. It seems that the story would have been much more enriching, had they gone with other, more involved core characters. In short, a well put together storyline with a fullfilling ending. Very well done.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Final Fantasy XII
This was good!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/11
Batman1984
Location: Ellensburg, WA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Well the games been out for a long time. And at 1st i'd have to say i did not like the battle system it had compared to the classic turnbased ATB like in FFX or X-2 but after playing a few hrs got used to it preety quick and fell in love with the game. played over 400hrs (2sep profiles) and still not quite masterd it after putin it down a couple years ago. (couple bosses unbeaten) The customization is great and chracters are sweet and the free roam is awesome. Lots to do lots to explore and lots to get. programers and designers put alot of HIDDEN stuff in it with out a stratigy guide you wouldn't know anythhing or how to get certain things be missin out on a lot of good stuff. This game I think is still WOW when it comes to that aspect of the game. Out of the series 1-13 i'd put this one as 4th or 5th best, only for the battle system ( i like the classic turnbased rpg like FF1-9) Awesome game in genral if u never played it you should ^_^
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Final Fantasy XII
Just plain amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/08
The Sandman
Yeah I was at gamestop I was wondering what would be a good game to buy? I saw it I thought "There is a new final fantasy?" so I decided to buy the collectors edition. As soon as I started playing it I was like "Whoa, this is new". The graphics are a whole lot better than the other final fantasy games. After I got far in the game the puzzles got real challenging. I liked it. It was a real challenge. The storyline was a bit confusing. I'm dumb and I couldn't understand some big words. It controlled really well though. Gambits were confusing at first but you get the hang of it after a while. I like how you are not limited to what weapons you use. I don't like how they took away the names for certain spells and items.(Respect the classics)I don't like how you can't name the main character anymore. I've beat the storyline boss and I'm still not done with all the side stuff and I've put in 115 hours. I would buy this game if I were you.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Final Fantasy XII
Fun, But Feels Like an MMO
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/11
KHisAwesome
Final Fantasy has been held up to be a great RPG series since it started. I have played half of the main-titled games, and love them all. Final Fantasy XII still holds up to be one of the best, but its predescessor being an MMO influenced too much on it. I love this game, but the battles are untraditional. Rather than walking around and an enemy randomly pops up, enemies are already on the map, and you press X, and the game world freezes. You select a command, what enemy you use it on, wait for the attack gauge to fill up, walk near the enemy, and it attacks for you. Instead of turn-based active time battles, you get real-time battles, a very familiar system similar to Kingdom Hearts. But now for the story: Honestly, the story doesen't really kick in for a while. Just surprise yourself! The game is very impressive, and the world is huge. Vaan is the main character, an orphan who does jobs for some dude named Migelo in the beginning. I have hardly played at all, so sorry if this review doesen't help. 9/10
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 8 for Final Fantasy XII
It's definitely worth the buy!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/10
The Female Gaming Guru
I first rented this game to try it out, and within hours I fell in love with it. It's got just enough real-time gameplay to please faster players and enough turn-based elements to take your time and plan things out without getting overwhelmed. The new battle system is really easy to catch onto. Returning RPG players will probably have it down-pat in twenty minutes tops. The cutscenes are epic and the graphics, absolutely stunning! The characters are all loveable as well, even the temporary members. I will admit, about halfway through the game, the challenge really takes a leap and bosses/sidequests get extra hard, so be prepared to level-grind for a while in order to overcome that. In the end, this is definitely one of the best RPG games I've ever played and I highly recommended it to anyone who wants a faster-paced RPG.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Final Fantasy XII
Drastically different from FFX and FFXIII
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/16/12
Clarkey
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I'm a fan of old-school RPGs..... I like big World Maps where I can pick where I want to go.... I like having the option to wander off to places where I'm drastically under-leveled and try to snag a treasure chest with some weapon or armor that I'm not supposed to really have for 20 more hours. I like having options and character customization and open-endlessness. There are lots of good, modern RPGs that have all of these traits but there are also quite a few that don't... and that is where I fear the trend may be heading.... FFX was pretty much walking in a straight line and FFXIII WAS walking in a straight line.... FFXII is more of a throwback and has more in common with FF7, 8, and 9 than linear, hand-holding experiences that were FFX and XIII.
FFXII is a VERY long game with lots of optional sidequests and customization. Each character has their own identical giant grid and you earn points (separate from experience and money) to unlock spots of the grid in any fashion you see fit. Thus you can decide to make a character a high-HP White Mage who uses firearms and maces..... or a quick, agile ninja skilled with small blades and support/buffing magic. There are many, many combinations and with the decent number of party members you acquire you can mix and match your customized characters to your hearts desire. The story is pretty good and remains interesting throughout.
You don't really have to grind too much (wandering around fighting monsters for the sole purpose of making yourself stronger) if you so choose..... but there are many neat skills, spells, and items that you'd need to fight a few extra monsters to earn money for.... you don't earn money from fighting per se, but rather they drop items that only exist to be sold. The game world isn't the most massive in the RPG realm but there is a lot of depth in most locations and reasons to revisit towns you've already been to...... store inventories update to carry weapons that are actually useful and new quests open up. The big side-quest in the game is bounty hunting certain monsters..... you earn some amazing rewards for beating these sometimes impossibly (almost) enemies and at certain milestones you get additional neat and rare items.
The graphics are AMAZING considering this is on the PS2... the sound is up to the typical Square-Enix standard. The gameplay itself is a bit different but very cool when you get used to it. Battles happen in real-time (but you CAN pause to set up commands) but you still have your "Fight - Magic - Item" menu and it essentially works the same. You can set up "gambits" that are kind of a programming "If-Then" for a given situation..... example: Your main fighter would attack by default, but you can set it up to where if he gets under 50% HP he'll stop attacking and heal himself, or if a teammate goes under 30% MP he'll give them an ether potion. It sounds confusing but works wonderfully and still has the classic old-school RPG feel once you have the hang of it.
FFXII was a game I didn't pick up for a LONG time after it came out..... I was disenchanted with FFX (a decent stand-alone game but NOT what I expected from a Final Fantasy title) and feared they were dumbing down the series to "appeal to the idiot masses." FFXII surprised me with it's depth and freedom..... I wasn't limited to being forced from one place to another with no time for side-trips and back-tracking. For old-school RPG fans this will most likely satisfy and for all RPG fans i'd say to at least give it a try..... it's certainly come down in price enough to where it wouldn't be an enormous risk.
****For the record I'd probably give this game closer to a 9.5-9.7 but they still don't let me put fractional scores.****
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Borderlands Game of the Year Edition
9.4 out of 10(45)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Final Fantasy XII
Best Gameplay in the Series
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/25/11
BonesJustice
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
---Gameplay--- This isn't just a new engine, it feels nearly perfected. All enemies/allies/neutrals are on the field and visible to see. It gives the enviroments life but most importantly, you can see what your up against. The battle system lets you equip your characters with actions that are based on the situation and enemy types. This makes your party do exactly what you want them to do, when you want it everytime without having to constantly select it. This helps out soo much for grinding and nearly every fight in the game. ---Graphics--- There are 100s of different enemies, NPCs, and many different enviroments. Each area has special weather conditions as well. All of this is pulled off beautifully. Simply the best graphics and animation the PS2 can offer. ---Sound--- There are many different sound effects for the attacks, spells, and movement which all fit nicely. The music is great too. ---Lasting Appeal--- The game is 60 hours plus and to do absolutely everything including the side quests, your looking at 100 plus hours. The story itself doesn't have as many twists and may feel less enjoyable to play out compared to other Final Fantasy games but it is still good. By the time you have finished the game, you may want to start over and play it again. The gameplay is that addicting. ---My Advice--- Buy it. Its too long to rent and the addicting gameplay will make you coming back for more.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Final Fantasy XII
Wonderful game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/11
Hpnotiq
Location: Seattle
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
One of the best games I have ever played. very emersive story line, loveable characters, amazing graphics, and a great gameplay system are just some of the great things about this game. I am on about my 4th playthrough. The only thing that it is lacking is a romance, you are not as attached to the characters as much as say yuna and tidus. There is something new to find every time. You can beat it in about 45 hours, but it is easily a 100+ hour long game if you play it through all the way and do all of the hunts. I definently recomend this game to rpg gamers, for a ff enthusiast it takes about an hour to get used to the new battle system but once you are past it you are gonna love it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Final Fantasy XII
Not what I expected
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/10
Taiyumi
Ok, so I'm a huge Final Fantasy fan. I bought this when it first came out and thought it was very cool. I liked the way the new battle system took the strategy to another level and even making the characters the way I would like them. Instead of being forced to have a healer, you could choose who you'd like to heal etc... However, the storyline wasn't a mature one like everyone would like to say it is. I would have loved to see romance. Also, why include that Vaan want's to be a sky pirate and then neglect to say any more about it until later on in the game? It seems so pointless. "Hi, I'm Vaan and I want to be a sky pirate but I'm not going to mention it until the last part of the game." So that turned me off to the game, as well as the license board. Horribly done. I believe many of the people who played, screwed on because of this board. It would have been nice to at least have see what we would have been unlocking rather than "Heavy Armor 3".
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Final Fantasy XII
Have 360 ps3 and play this more than anything
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/09
Cghost21
First i would like to say that this game is a very well put together game. People are complaining about the new battle system. it is by far way better then the old battle system. in the last game you could be running in an open field and all of a sudden the screen takes you to fight mode which is so not cool. the new system is more interactive and more modern. Dont get mad at the game because you didnt learn the new system. thats like getting mad at a shooting game because you forget what button is to shoot so u say it sucks. cmon please. how about the person that compares it to old final fantasy games but has never played one before this. please read some of the bad comments so you can really see where these people are coming from. the game is quite long the story is very catchy and it is very fun. get the strategy guide to help you so you wont be like the guy on here that said i dont know what to do. if he paid attention to the story he would know what to do so please get this game if you are an rpg fan you will enjoy this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Final Fantasy XII
Best game I have ever played in my life. :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/15/10
FantasyLover
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game amazed me to a maxium. Since the beginning of the game i've been hooked. It doesn't start off slow at any point and is so amazing. The only part I was un-happy with is that when you buy armour, it doesn't show on your player. Ex: If i equip a chest-plate, my characters appearance won't change. But i'll have the extra defence and stats, etc. Other than that, the characters are amazing. You get to pick 3 characters on your party, out of 7 (i think). Each character goes back to a point where your mouth is open and you are just so amazed. I love this game and felt depressed when i beat it. I was not un-happy with the ending though. I loved it. The game is very long and a lot of obstacles and twists that make it impossible NOT to love. THIS GAME IS NOT WORTH 12 BUCKS. ITS WORTH 1000000 BUCKS :) BUT SINCE IT IS SOMEWHERE AROUND 12 BUCKS. ITS DEFENITLY WORTH THE BUY :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Final Fantasy XII
My favorite Final Fantasy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/31/12
chibimello
I think this game is by far the best. When I first bought this a few years back I couldn't put it down. The storyline is so infectious and well thoughtout. And the voice acting, soundtrack, and characters all blend together beautifuly. The game is pretty long and has tons of lasting appeal. And my favorite part was the free play battle system. It gave me a chance to make my character the way I want them to be. The possibilities are endless. And there's plenty for you to do and plenty of places to travel. And what's great is that you can play the game at your own pace because there's extra bosses for you to defeat and missions to be handled. Also it can be a pretty challenging game too. I think what's most important about a game is building a connection with the characters and having your own viewpoint on what they're going through and feeling their emotions. I found myself being entrapped with all the situations they encountered. I'm really in love with this game. I would totally recommend this to all RPG fans alike. I think you won't be disappointed.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Final Fantasy XII
A Lackluster JRPG
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/10
Westervelt
Final Fantasy XII is an extremely linear RPG with very nice graphics. However, it suffers from bland characters, an uninteresting storyline, and broken core mechanics. You can easily tweak your characters so that they have all of their super-attacks available early, and plow through any and all boss fights by chaining said attacks. The world is large, but boring. The game is long, but there are no side-quests or minigames with the exception of monster-slaying quests. The combat is real-time and initially interesting, but becomes tedious quickly. If you find the Final Fantasy stories to be compelling, it might be worthwhile to slog through the repetitive combat, because that's all there really is to the game. I however, could not stomach the irritating characters, the cliched story, or seeing the same idiotic super-attack animations played over again, and again, and again.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
3 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Final Fantasy XII
So many weapons, so many monsters.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/09
Justin Sampson
wow! This game is wonderfull. This is my favorite final fantasy game. It seems slow at first, but if you give it time you will love it. Many people dislike the new battle system, but without random encounters and seemless battle screens, I wonder what they dislike. The best part of this game is the incredible amount of things to do after you beat the game. All of the legendary equipment is really hard to get and you probally will beat the game your first time before you get any of it. It is soooooo rewarding when you finally get the best sword in the game, the tournesol, and you will love it. The other part of this game that is great is the incredible amount of side quests and optional bosses in the game. The hardest boss in the game, Yiazmat, will take you about a month to beat. He has multiple health bars, and you can leave, save your game, and when you return his health will be where you left. Play this game through and don't be afraid to get some help off a website, the game can be difficult in spots. Balthier is the coolest character in a final fantasy game ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for Final Fantasy XII
The best of the final fantasy games that i have played
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/16/09
Colton Sutton
out of the final fantasy games i have played 1,2,4,7,8,and 9 this is the best. the creators took the classic walk and then get into battle into the new choose a command and move up close with your opponent. i liked this game very much. although many parts of the game are pretty tough the playrasier hunt, the Ridorian Cartaract (spell check). it was very lengthy and challenging. unfournatley i did not get to finish the game but i hope to shortly. but only this time with the guide. the wepons in this game were very complex, out of the new things in the game i liked the liscence the best. it allowed total customization to any character, not only the mage in the game could use magic every character could as long as you had the correct liscense bought and same with wepons, not only the knight could use the awsome sword. i would recomend this game to anyone who likes rpg's because to me other than oblivion this is my favorite game ever!!! thanks Bradygames for comming up with this great game ~ a satisfied customer~
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Final Fantasy XII
best final fantasy ever
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/11
1012killer
Location: Atlanta, GA
the graphics are awesome, the gameplay is great, even though i wish they just put the map on the screen like they did in FFX instead of pulling up a few screens to see where you are. there's tons to do, so you wouldn't quit playing this game. the new battle system is great, though a bit confusing at times, and in the storyline, sometimes you won't know where to go because the map doesn't mark that area for you. other than that, it's a great game, and you will not regret getting this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Final Fantasy XII
I love it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/8/09
Corey aka Prosauce
This is by far one of my favorite games of all time next to the other Final Fantasy games. I have not completely finished the story yet but i have put in about 65 hours of gameplay and am still not bored with it. I love games that have a long gameplay like the Final Fantasy series. So if you like long gameplay then you should deffinately pick up a copy of this game. I really enjoy how you can change your weapons, armor, and equipment and the licence board gives a whole new challenge to the game. The only flaw to that is that unless you go make special trips to get loot then gil is a bit hard to come by. The hunts are also really entertaining. Sometimes I go to go on a hunt just for fun and I end up doing 4 or 5 and then forget whats happening in the story. xD I gave this a perfect 10 because it is challenging, fun, and a very long game. I recommend this game to anyone willing to play it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 next>>