GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Mad Catz Xbox 360 Headcom Pro

Lightweight, ergonomic design allows comfortable play for any sized gamer. Just plug your Mad Catz HeadCOM Pro into the X360 controller for talking trash to your fearful opponent. The Mad Catz HeadCOM Pro features an ear piece and microphone, which provide clear transmissions of voice and sounds no matter how far away your opponent lives. Microphone swivels for use on either ear.
Average Customer Rating:
3.152
3.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
1
8 stars
6
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
26
11 out of 4624%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mad Catz Xbox 360 Headcom Pro
Review 1 for Mad Catz Xbox 360 Headcom Pro
Broken out of the box!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/08
Tw1n Gats
This headset was broken the second I pulled it out of the box, not only that but GOOD LORD does this thing hurt your ear. It felt like I was being stabbed in the ear the whole time, upon plugging it in my friends said that I sounded like I was screaming when I was talking low and they could hear my TV full blast from across the room on low! It is entirely over sensitive, I had to mute the damn thing so everyone in my World at War room wouldn't yell at me when I was idle the mic icon would stay on the whole time. Every 2 years or so I will put my faith back into Mad Catz and buy one of their products but every time I do I end up regretting it to the fullest and this also includes about 95% of their controllers as well. I am waiting for the store to open so that I can return this garbage product that is designed to steal money from children that can't differentiate and want to save $5 bucks. I'll give you the $5 extra little kid and go buy yourself a Microsoft product!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
hellero
 
Please wait while more information about hellero is loaded.
Additional information about hellero could not be loaded.
piece of junk
Posted 11/22/10
snapped in ten seconds out of the package
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Mad Catz Xbox 360 Headcom Pro
What's Better?
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/28/11
Far125
Location: Lake Balboa, CA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Yes this headset does come with a new or per-owned xbox 360. It does fit good on your head but it is not worth buying one of these. A better headset are the ones that cost more like the wireless headset. If your headset (that came with xbox 360) still does work keep it and buy another headset. Here is a small tip if you cant hear anybody. ( Look at picture below)Try the following:
1. Adjust your voice preferences.
1. Press the Guide button on your controller.
2. Go to Settings.
3. Select Preferences.
4. Select Voice.
5. Clear the Mute checkbox, and increase the volume to 10.
6. Under Voice Output, select Play Through Both.
7. See if you can hear other players.
8. If this doesn't fix the problem, try selecting Play Through Headset under Voice Output.
2. Verify your communication setup. See Communicate with friends on Xbox LIVE.
3. Verify that you don't have a NAT issue. See Error: Your NAT type is set to strict (or moderate).
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mad Catz Xbox 360 Headcom Pro
Horrible Headset that Easily Breaks
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/26/08
DarkInfluence
I purchased this horrible headset one day, and that same day, the headset broke. I wasn't doing anything serious or anything that would cause the product to break, it just broke. After buying the headset, I plugged it in to my controller and slowly put it on my head so I could play my XBOX 360. After trying to adjust the mic to set in front of my mouth, the mic broke off causing the headset to split. After trying to put it back together, with no luck, I gave up and tried to replace the item back at GameStop, and then learned of how horrible and pathetic the headset really was from previous customers they've had. I wish I would have learned this earlier before I spent money on the stupid thing, but you live and you learn. I suggest that no one else buy or attempt to buy this item, unless you would like to suffer anger and pain. Hopefully Microsoft will learn from their mistakes and not make any more cheesy, pathetic headsets or any other dumb products that can easily break.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
hardy
va
 
Please wait while more information about hardy is loaded.
Additional information about hardy could not be loaded.
I AGREE
Posted 4/3/11
i have a turtle beach mic and i found that all my friends says its bad i checked out and its true but i want to correct you Mad Catz made this mic stop punshing innocent gamers who are pooore or cheap.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Mad Catz Xbox 360 Headcom Pro
Awsome if you like Ear Problems
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/11/10
BlackShadowXS
I was given this headset when my old one broke on me some time ago. It wasn't the one I expected to receive, but I would have taken anything over my broken microphone. Immediately the design caught my eye and it looked decent. When I put it on, it felt so uncomfortable that I had to stick a ball of tissue in my ear. Eventually that began to fail and I could only wear it for about an hour the first week. The second week I couldn't tell what some of the things on it did. They all looked useless. My ear had also began bleeding a bit and black bumps appeared in my ear.The third week my ear got adjusted to the microphone even though it still hurt my ear a bit. I went to talk to my friends and I noticed they weren't answering me. I found out that I couldn't talk to them, but I could hear them. So now I'm using my old broken headset. It may not work completely, but I'd take it it over this .
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mad Catz Xbox 360 Headcom Pro
Dont Waste your Money
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/10
Kingoftrolls88
Like many of you my original headset got sat on and broke, so I got this because it was simple and had a low price and at the time I didn't have $$ for a better one. So if you are buying this simply because you need a working headset fast , then that's the only reason I would get it. There is a long list of reasons why this product sucks and blows. First off, the thin green cord is way too long, it would be good if I was a girrafe, but since Im 6ft its just waay to cumbersome to have this freaking long cord that gets tangled on everything. Also the plug that plugs the mic into your controller is dainty and weak and doesn't have the teeth that the original microsoft mics do to prevent it from getting unplugged during play. The anacanda-esque cord also doesnt help with that issue since it gets snagged around my freaking knee and gets unplugged.. Thirdly; the ear-plug that goes in your ear is effin huge, and if you play for more than an hour your ear will feel like Kimbo Slice just raped your head. So please I EMPLORE you, spend the money on a better mic !!!!!! O and before I forget, the mic itself is horrid and is hard to get it in a good position that pics up your voice...IE, its too short. This is another Mad Catz POS!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mad Catz Xbox 360 Headcom Pro
Worst headset available
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/4/09
Horrified Gamer
Do not buy this broken product. Not only does it only work when set to the off position but it will occasionally electrically shock you through the earpiece. The bad design jabs your ear and is quite painful. I guess this is Mad Catz way of punishing you for buying such a sub par product. I have never written a product review or complained about a company's product to them, but I felt compelled to do so because of this piece of trash. The extra * dollars that you would pay for the Microsoft brand mic is so worth it after buying this product. I even told the Gamestop employee to stop selling the product to innocent gamers. Once again, do not buy this mic. You are better off yelling across town to whoever you are talking with on Xbox live.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mad Catz Xbox 360 Headcom Pro
idk why this is supposevely bad
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/16/11
p8onman18
Location: Kansas City, MO
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this works real well and the leading reason things like this break is cause of bad owners or its put in the wrong area. use it well and it will be well.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
xxGhostkiller23
Minnesota
 
Please wait while more information about xxGhostkiller23 is loaded.
Additional information about xxGhostkiller23 could not be loaded.
It works FINE!
Posted 8/16/12
I broke this mic because of my carelessness, but when I did have it, it worked well. The sound was alright and people had no problems hearing me. it is very fragile, so keep it safe somewhere.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Mad Catz Xbox 360 Headcom Pro
Spend the extra few dollars for any brand name.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/13
RichardRahl
Location: New York
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this headset as a transportable pair, as I own Tritons at home and don't want to lug them around. I assumed that they wouldn't be quality as they are so cheap, so I bought them anyway. I got about 3 uses out of them before they stopped responding. I tried all of the troubleshooting methods but was unable to get them to work again. I then attempted to twist the wires, move things around, etc. and things began breaking left and right! Overall, the sound quality was poor but manageable. The voice quality was average. The product design was extremely poor as the mic crank is oddly loose and the materials used are EXTREMELY cheap. My advice, opt for a $20-$25 dollar headset designed by Microsoft or Sony. Chances are, if you are not always extremely careful, you will break this headset by accident and will have to buy a new one! (if this product doesnt malfunction first...). Do not make my mistake!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 9 for Mad Catz Xbox 360 Headcom Pro
not worth it
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/12
SnIcKeR101
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i bought it to use and about a month the speaker went out and i couldnt hear my friends the mic part also falls out.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mad Catz Xbox 360 Headcom Pro
Good Headset
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/4/14
SkatemanH
Location: USA
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This headset is good I had it for a long time & it still works Good job Mad Catz! 4 out of 5 Stars .
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 11 for Mad Catz Xbox 360 Headcom Pro
JUNK
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/10
Dont Bother
Out of the package its crap. I could hear others but they couldn't hear me. I got this thing because I've gone through three other various headsets and all are junk. Save up and buy the Turtle Beach. Its extremely uncomfortable to wear, sound quality is terrible. You need a degree to figure out how to wear it. Its sad that these things get pumped out to the public at the cyclic rate but the quality is extremely poor. I borrowed a friends Turtle Beach and it was phenomenal, sound was great. After all the other headsets I bought I could have saved money by just buying the Turtle Beach first. I also bought the Mad Catz voice communicator and it worked great at first but then after two weeks in tru Mad Catz style it broke and I had no sound. Save up and buy better.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mad Catz Xbox 360 Headcom Pro
Whats with all the 1's?
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/10
xxMidgetxx
Location: NJ
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
People lack common sence, they complain about a mic that was meant to be cheaply made. Its 15 dollars of course it will be bad but nobody thought that it would be bad to this extent. The reason why I gave it a 6/10 is because it works well and it didn't break. Yet it hurts after a while its not even a big deal, just take it off and put it back on. But a work around to this is just cut off the right side and the part that curls around your neck because thats not connected to the wires. Then only your left ear will suffer a bit. Still I recommend you save some extra $ and get a 60$+ mic (turtlebeach)
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mad Catz Xbox 360 Headcom Pro
this sucks
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:8/7/11
bigboy13
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
man this sucks it broke the first week i had it save your money
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mad Catz Xbox 360 Headcom Pro
Horrible headset
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/4/12
NiPaMo
Location: Mansfield, Ohio
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is a horrible headset. The mic is hard to position and it will not pick up my voice unless it is almost on top of my lips. It is uncomfortable and flimsy. I feel as if it is about to break any second. I would not be surprised if it does. The sound quality is horrible, both on the mic and ear piece. Also, it is hard to keep in the controller. The headset jack keeps coming out like it is too small for the controller port. This product should not be sold by anyone. It is a waste of $17.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mad Catz Xbox 360 Headcom Pro
I Think Its Worth 18 Bucks!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/13/12
ABCDETMI
Location: Detroit, MI
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When In First Came In The Mail I Truly Thought It Was A Piece Of Trash Looking At It. But After I Used A Couple Times, I Was Really Satisfied With The Quality. Besides The Fact It Feels Weird On The Head, Its Good For 18 Bucks!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mad Catz Xbox 360 Headcom Pro
ouch
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:10/22/08
FpsDave
I would only recommend buying this if you cant get $* more to buy a better one. This product is extremely uncomfortable, it feels like someone is jabbing you in the ear when you wear it. It also isn't very loud. I find it hard to even hear anyone out of it unless I have complete silence and i like to actually be able to hear what's going on in the games I play. I don't even use the earpeice anymore because it would give me ear aches after wearing it for an hour. I just have it run through my tv speakers and have the mic set on my ears instead of in it. So pretty much if you're as desperate for a mic as i was (i paid in store credit and pennies and i still didnt have enough but the guy working just told me to take it) then yeah go ahead and buy this, but it will be very uncomfortable. I'm gonna go buy a better one though as soon as i get $**.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 17 for Mad Catz Xbox 360 Headcom Pro
its ok
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/19/10
Coby
Location: Houston,Tx
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
the mic has great sound quality the bad thing is your hurt hurts like crazy when and after using but it was cheap and it works so yea
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mad Catz Xbox 360 Headcom Pro
ok it works
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/23/10
austin1209
Location: MD
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
its not the worst thing i gave it a 5 because it works to fix the part that hurts you ear i put some of my olds mikes padding on it, it a little quite but horrible too senstive yea but just turn down the t.v. i had too use it cause my old one broke and i was out of cash so just get over it fix a little problem and it was fine iv been useing ii for 5 months without a problem its made to last for a cheap price
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mad Catz Xbox 360 Headcom Pro
Worst Headset Ever
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/13
MadCustomer1
Location: Columbus, OH
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When I first bought this product, I noticed it was very uncomfortable and small. The design is absolutely terrible, you can't have the speakers on your ear without having the mic up on your lips. My friends said there was echos and feedback coming from my mic. Even on mute it would still echo. The product ended up breaking in less than a month. Apparently these headsets can overheat and fry the whole thing.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 20 for Mad Catz Xbox 360 Headcom Pro
sux
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/17/08
aruigus808
Like the last guy said, it's VERY painful and is very bad. The worst thing about the headset is the pain cuz it fells like the ear piece is ripping my ear. Sure my heard set lasted a little longer than i expected but the headset was held together by nothing more than a piece of metal wire. I don't know about Mad Catz but i think they put this together in like 5 seconds. The mic also started to buzz for no reason online. I would know because when I was playing Halo 3 i could see the icon on the screen saying that i was talking but i wasn't talking and my friends what was that buzzing noise too. I thought it was my computer or my Xbox but then i realized that it wasn't those things, it was the stupid headset i got. If you were asked to have this headset or nothing i would go with nothing.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>