GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Harvest Moon: Magic Melody

Farming simulation and adventure game. Choose to play as a girl or a boy and start life in a farming village with the goal of becoming an expert farm manager. Taking over your own farm, you raise plants and animals, catch lots of fish, build up your farm, and see your character grow into adulthood. The game features cows, horses and sheep, among other animals, but this time around, if you don't have a gate around their grazing area, they may get out from your farm area and, when night comes, get attacked by wild dogs. You also have added freedom with your planting, as you can now raise plants outside your own farm area. Once again, interacting with town folk and falling in love are major points of the game. Your choice of love interests changes depending on your choice of boy or girl at the start of the game.
Average Customer Rating:
9.667
9.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
10 stars
13
9 stars
0
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Harvest Moon: Magic Melody
Review 1 for Harvest Moon: Magic Melody
Best Harvest Moon Game Ever!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/23/12
Jag20
Location: Laurel,Md
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i have played a lot of harvest moon games and this one is by far the best. the game is very entertaining. i love to play this game. the concept of the game is awesome. its also a great option that i can play as either a boy or girl. i highly suggest getting this game
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Harvest Moon: Magic Melody
its a awsome game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/12
billybobo
Location: ohio
This game is perfect for: party gamers
i have had hm and it dose not work but im getting 1 today
i played the game to 100% i had 100hrs >:{]
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Harvest Moon: Magic Melody
Amazing game...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/12
RoxyRPG
Location: California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love the Harvest Moon series, and so far this has been my favorite one. Way more bachelors/bachelotettes than preivious ones I've played, easier to ship, easier to find things TO ship, time goes by faster, but not too fast, the menu shows you how much the people, animals, farm animals, and pets all like you, etc. I even got my boyfriend hooked on this game. Definitely worth the 10 dollars, and I highly suggest the GC version over the Wii version. Involve a wii remote in any old game and it becomes a lot more tedious than necessary.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Harvest Moon: Magic Melody
Could be better, but still an OK game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/25/11
Mandi123
Location: Ashtabula
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have to admit i played this game for a while, before getting completely frustrated with it, But then decided after a few months to try it again. Getting married takes F-O-R-E-V-E-R, so even after a year (in real time lol) i still haven't done so. In the beginning i hated the cartoon style, wich is very unrealistic. And the daily routine becomes old after a while(as most other games). But besides these issues, I think experienced H.M. players would find this game fun to try to master.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Harvest Moon: Magic Melody
Wow...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/4/11
EthanR
Location: Nova Scotia, CA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I ordered this game and when it got to me it couldn't be read and i'm sorta PO'ed about it because my other one broke and now i cant play harvest moon at all -_-.. The game is good but, come on really.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Harvest Moon: Magic Melody
I LOVE THIS GAME!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/11
ilikecakex3
At first I didn't like it but I got used to it and I began to like it. The beginning is slow but it gets better. This is my favorite game, though it is hard to get all the notes. Still a great game though.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Harvest Moon: Magic Melody
Best in the series
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/11
DKandDK
In my opinion this the best harvest moon game created. It is better than the next best harvest moon, a wonderful life, for a few key reasons. One of those reasons is beacause there are 10 potential brides instead of just three like in a woderful life. The mining in this game is the best in harvest moon games to date. The fishing though easy is a blast. the music is great and does not get repetitive and the energy bar does not run out too easily. A few problems with this game are the graphics make the characters look fat and It can get too easy to make money but other than that the game is one of the 10 best games of all time get it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Harvest Moon: Magic Melody
WOW
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/11
Jamesboyadvance
Location: Ma
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is a masterpeice. Although at first I hated it. Your character is slow, and looks like he has problems, the game looks too chartoonish, and tyou don't start with a barn nor chicken coop. So I just went back to a Wonderful Life. Then I don't know why, but I popped it back in. Then I relized this game was amazing. Mining is the best in the series to date, collecting music notes added an objective in the game to save the Harvest Goddess, and buying every block of land I could get was sooo much fun. So over all... BUY IT. Oh and gamestop it's Magical Melody.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Harvest Moon: Magic Melody
A Farming Masterpiece!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/19/11
DKenobi
Location: Arizona, USA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
If you're into farming(I am, it's in my blood), then I A-B-S-O-L-U-T-E-L-Y recommend this game. This infuses farming with real life. The only, very miniscule problem is that it wont let you make enemies(other than Jamie). Other than that, this game has talent!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Harvest Moon: Magic Melody
Best Harvest Moon Game Ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/11
sundog123
Location: California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got this game for Christmas when I was 6. It was my very first game ever. And I loved it so much! There's so much to do and everything is fun! I married Alex, but there's so many choices of potential brides/grooms. Basically, you start off in a little house with a puppy. Your backyard size depends on the area you choose in the beginning of the game. There's Ocean Plot, (somewhat fertile land, a lot of space) River Plot, (fertile land, medium space) and Town plot. (little land, most fertile) Also, when you first start, there's a lot of trees and weeds in your backyard. Chopping trees takes 3 days at the most. Picking weeds takes about 10 seconds at the least. You can farm, raise cattle, or just pick up whatever you find around town for money. I would totally recommend this to girl or boy, from the ages 5 to 10. It's really fun, easy, and the best game you will have played in your life.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Harvest Moon: Magic Melody
One Of The Best!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/10
HarvestPlayer
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
By far the best Harvest Moon game I've played. It's easy, simple, and not to hard to make money. The characters are adorable especially when that character blushes or kiss. The cut scenes with your partner are to melt for (If you’re a girl who loves the romance)
There are a few annoyance in the gameplay though
Letting the cows/sheep/horses out of the barn, the characters looks as if they're still children, when snowing you cannot grow crops, when a snowstorm you've have to stay inside your house and sleep, and the mini games are dreadful.
But all in all, awesome game! I love it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 12 for Harvest Moon: Magic Melody
Harvest Moon: Magical Melody
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/16/10
MiniMesemo
I have not played this game in a while but from what I remember... it is soooo long! But it is still a reeeeeaaaaaallyyy good game. Now, I have had one glitch. When it was summer and it started to get later in the day and the waves would appear my character would start to move really slow infront of my ranch. It might just be my system or something but H ave also had the same problem in Harvest Moon: Tree of Tranquility. You can have horses in this game. Yes, you can have have more than one horse witch is a plus from other harvest moon games where you could only have one horse. You can just have horses even! I do not reccomemend that though because then you would have to fish and be a gatherer for money. So all in all I reccomend this game greatly to all people.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Harvest Moon: Magic Melody
A Good Game? Chyeah!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/09
Steph
This game is really fun, It's an absolutely great game for anyone who loves the Harvest Moon series, and it's also fun for pretty much anyone. It has a great story line, with many possible spouses and plenty of time-consuming tasks. It also has great graphics, easily beating out some other gamecube games. It's also not one of those games that gets boring after a while. This game stays fun for a long time, giving you plenty of playing time. You even have many options of what to do with your farm, but it offers a higher challenge to succeed than other harvest moon games. The town is also better than other versions of this game, because it offers a higher variety of places that you can visit to buy things, get things made, or just hang out and eat some yummy food!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Harvest Moon: Magic Melody
Good Simulation Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/09
LoveKOTORandLink
Who hasn't at least heard of Harvest Moon (in passing)? It is a unique game where you have to run your own farm, get married, have kids, and live a successful life. This is the best Harvest Moon game I have ever played (I haven't played Harvest Moon Tree of Tranquility though... that one looks better), if I can get myself to look past the cell-shaded graphics. This is the most challenging Harvest Moon I've ever played. First of all, it is very difficult to get a husband or wife. Besides having to woo over your hun, you have to have a big enough bed and house. After that, you have to buy stuff for a baby's room. In this game you don't automatically get a house upgrade... you have to pay someone to upgrade the house for you. Pretty tough. The controls are basic Harvest Moon stuff. They are somewhat difficult for a Harvest Moon newb but they can easily figure out the basic gist in about an hour. The graphics are cell-shaded and thus very cartoony. If you have ever played or seen Legend of Zelda Wind Waker... that's what the graphics are like. Cartoony with an overhead view. I personally hate overhead views, but if you like them. This game is a really long game, like all Harvest Moons. Getting a husband/wife is the least of your worries! You have to worry about getting more property, preparing the baby's room, taking care of said baby... this game goes on and on and on! The storyline is every other Harvest Moon storyline... get a spouse, have a kid, take care of the kid, live happily ever after. This game is a great simulation that you should get. You can't really customize your character beyond your gender, name, and birthday. However, of all Harvest Moons this game gives you the most customization period. You can actually move around all of your furniture the way YOU want. You can even buy more houses and more property.The sound isn't good at all, though, my biggest complaint. In all other Harvest Moon games I've played (Harvest Moon: A Wonderful Life, Harvest Moon: Another Wonderful Life, and the really really old Harvest Moon 64) the sound was realistic and I could tell that the people at Natsume put a lot of effort into the sound. In this game the sound is botched really badly though, maybe to compliment the cartoony graphics. The music is also tinny and very very annoying. The story line is a little bit more creative because you have to find notes to save the spring fairy, and turn her from stone. Other than that, normal Harvest Moon action... get a spouse, have a kid, make a successful farm... thus, this game is very very long. This is a very good simulation game that you should definitely try!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Shawzall
 
Please wait while more information about Shawzall is loaded.
Additional information about Shawzall could not be loaded.
Give it a chance
Posted 12/13/11
This game is a treasure to have. It may look a bit cartoonish, but that adds a whole new level to the game personally. This game has a fair amount of challenge to it, by collecting all 100 notes and then the marriage system is exceptional. One of the things that makes me still play this game is the fact that you can just stumble upon a note, and not really even realize what you did. So there's many upsides to this game, and to play all the way through is a treat for yourself.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Harvest Moon: Magic Melody
Harvest Moon: Magical Melody
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/15/08
ManaTreeMaiden
This game is really awesome! It was my debut Harvest Moon game and it was great. My favorite part of the game was definitely choosing who you got to marry and having them fall in love with you. I chose Alex because he is the cutest and there are herbs everywhere in town so he is easy to get to like you. The only part of the game that I don't really like was I think that after you get married, guys who bring you gifts should act different and not as though they like you. One of the weird things in the game is how Jamie can be either a girl or a boy depending on if you are a girl or a boy....I always thought that "it" was a girl and if you want you can marry "it" even though "it" is mean to you the whole game. I only have 6 hearts with "it" so I'm not sure if he/she gets any nicer. All over it was a good game and obtaining all the Notes is fun and challenging (for some notes).
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DKenobi
Arizona
 
Please wait while more information about DKenobi is loaded.
Additional information about DKenobi could not be loaded.
Harvest Moon: Magical Melody
Posted 2/19/11
A wonderful game. I fell in love with it when I was 9, because farming, actually, was in my blood. My most favorite part was, erm, planting stuff. It gave the farming feel to the game. Now, I recommend this game to kids from 5 to 10, but, if you're like me, then the age makes no difference.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)