GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Lost Magic

A top-down RPG where players can summon monsters and cast one of six magic spells using the touch screen
Average Customer Rating:
7.7
7.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
0
8 stars
3
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 out of 1080%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lost Magic
Review 1 for Lost Magic
Lost Magic
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/7/13
lobothesacred3
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
=========
Story
=========
Lost Magic features a rather simplistic coming of age story with a few of the usual plot devices. The game does feature a good and bad ending though.
=========
Gameplay
=========
Gameplay wise combat is in real-time and feels a bit like a relatively simplistic Real-Time Strategy game. Of course, the major focus of combat is ironically enough to capture monsters so you can use them in combat. And, you'll need to capture a lot of monsters during this game since their alignment will be a key factor in how easy or difficult a boss fight is.
I also feel like there are a few flaws with the game as well. Sometimes the game has difficulty reading certain spells. Though, this may be because I was drawing certain spells incorrectly. The game will also sometimes recognize spells incorrectly. I had the game read my level one water spell as the level one dark spell more then a few times.
I'll also admit that the game can be highly challenging at times with massive spikes in difficulty followed by massive lulls. The constant shift from easy to difficult is rather disconcerting since the final boss fight is much easier then a lot of fights you'll have to get through in order to get there.
=========
Graphics
=========
Graphically the game is rather colorful, but the designs feel rather simplistic and lacking in detail.
=========
Sound
=========
The soundtrack for the game is pretty solid. A lot of the pieces add to the mood the game is going for and the other tracks make for rather decent background music during combat.
=========
Lasting Appeal
=========
After you beat the game you can replay it again while keeping all of your old monsters. The game also increases in difficulty after you beat it as well.
=========
Scores
=========
Story: 8
Gameplay: 7
Graphics: 9
Sound: 10
Lasting Appeal: 9
Overall: 8.125
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lost Magic
Extremelly challening but that what makes it great
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/19/11
Ghostvine
Location: Cow pastures, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
So I have only had this game for a day and i already have a Love/Hate relationship with it! It's has a great storyline, good background music, and room to grow..It just get's really frustrating..And I am what you would occasionally call a hardcore gamer and I just had to stop and go do something else before I could redo the battle for the fourth time...
But if your ready for a challenge then Get this game! Come on it's only $5 XD
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Lost Magic
Way to challenging
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/11
Choncho007
Really fun game, but it is way to difficult. They needed to make an easy mode.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 4 for Lost Magic
Stunning in Greatness
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/11
Anonymous
Location: Warren, NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've played so many games, yet this one has got to be my favorite. This game is simply amazing. There is not a single flaw and I don't understand how anyone couldn't like it. The story of this game is fantastic, they did a great job with it, along with major character development and plot twists. The gameplay is sweet too. While it is sometimes difficult to draw runes on the touch screen, it's usually pretty good and drawing it enough times will get you used to it. This game, especially it's boss fights, can be very challenging, so I wouldn't recommend this for young gamers, but hardcore gamers will love this, even if their not fond of the DS. The soundtrack is absolutely incredible, the graphics are very good, though they could be better I suppose. And this is one of the few games I've played that I wanted to play again after I beat it. And then again. I'm on my 8th playthrough of this game right now :) All and all, this game is astounding, and I recommend it to anyone who sees it. And spread the word, because this game deserves all the publicity it can get.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lost Magic
don't buy this...
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/11
1012killer
Location: Atlanta, GA
i borrowed this game from my friend for a few days. turns out, it was an awful game. the "casting spells" concept can be uncooperative a lot, and the AI can't even defend themselves ( say, the mission where you gotta protect the girl that fell on you). I do not recommend this game to anyone unless you want to waste $10.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lost Magic
One of the best games i,ve ever played.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/18/11
BTunes
Location: MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Playing this game was one of the funnest things I have done involving video games. Although the story may not be the best I still enjoyed it. Drawing runes to cast spells is a lot of fun and messing around with all the monsters is too. The wifi was a whole other experience of its own. Although tough for most at first, once you get the hang of it it will be a lot of fun and enjoyable.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lost Magic
Not a good game.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/5/10
Link4264
To start with the controls are horrible. I'll try to cast a spell and lots of times it cancelled the spell. It is very challengeing all throughout the the game. You can't customize your character hardly any. The graphics are very poor. I like the sound and music they chose. Don't listen to game magazenes or anyone who says it's a good game. Why do you think it's ony 5 dollars. It's a horible game that's why. The only way to customize your character is Level UP and make your spells more powerful. The touch screen is way to sensitive. Sometimes it even makes me use a different spell. The graphics look like NES graphics. The music is the best thing I like about it. All in all it was a pretty bad game. It was so bad in fact, I got rid of it before I beat it. Long story short, don't buy this game.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lost Magic
Lost Magic
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/20/10
Neezy
All right, Lost magic is a pretty cool game for the DS if your looking for something to play with the stylus. For the most part the levels are challenging enough, and some of the last level are quite difficult, the Rune Panel System is an awesome implementation though i wish there had been more effects then were available. Frankly the storyline blows, but i didnt really play it for the storyline to start with, and the sound was nothing special either, and there should have been allowed more monster points. Never being able to have a full group of awesome support monsters really kinda sucked. Overall thought the gameplay experience is fun and honestly if they took the time to touch it up and make it a bit more fast paced, they could make a much better sequel.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lost Magic
Only for determined players
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/09
LostMagic-is-awesome
There was only one review on this game, so I decided to make this clear: THIS IS A HARD GAME. You have to be determined to beat this. You have to work very hard and long. If you want to buy this, make sure you're ready. I wish they'd have a training mode where you can train your charcter and monsters. I also wish you could learn spells faster. Kids six or under will probaly get bored unless they are determined to beat what they started. I really love this game, and it is awesome in my opinion. They should make a LostMagic 2 with new enimies and new spells. The game needs more options for practice [would you like to test this move out now?]. I'm still stuck on fighting a wizard guy and have been for a month. It's still fun. If you're a determined player, this is a must-buy!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lost Magic
This is the best game ever. Period.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/09
lostmagicrocks
OMG this game is so good i was playin and came to see how good the reviews are and i saw there were none and i was like OMG cant beleive there arent any ive never written a review before but i wrote one for this just cus it is so good. Ive played it through like 8 times and it still isnt boring! you get to control monsters, cast spells, and there are like 5 different endings. there are 396 spells and a few hundred different monsters. you draw symbols different for each rune (things that make spells) and depending on how well you draw it that is how powerful the spell is. I am going to rate the things above again bc i dont think 10/10 is high enough. Challenge: 20/10 (you can choose how hard it is) Controls 15/10 (you click on things you want to move and then click again where to move them) Interface 50/10 (spell system the most genius thing EVER) sound 10/10 (awesome soundtracks) character customization 15/10(the more u use a certain spell type (Water, fire, wind, earth, dark, light), that type gets more strong in general) Graphics 20/10 (some of the best ive ever seen on a handheld) Length 100/10 (VERY long and very good replay) Storyline 1000/10 (best story ever trust me) i know u probably think i am exagerating these things but if you played the game, you would totally agree I reccommend to anyone who... is anyone and i would not reccommend it to someone that doesnt like to have fun but likes to torture themselves you are stupid if you dont buy this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.