GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Gamestop Xbox 360 Controller

The perfect solution to your multiplayer problems! The Gamestop Xbox 360 Controller will let you bring your friends in on the action!
Average Customer Rating:
4.8
4.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (80 reviews)
10 stars
12
9 stars
7
8 stars
6
7 stars
2
6 stars
5
5 stars
4
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
11
1 star
20
36 out of 8045%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gamestop Xbox 360 Controller
Review 1 for Gamestop Xbox 360 Controller
POC- Piece of C
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/14
Goldfish4545
Location: Rochester, MN
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I DO NOT RECOMEND buying this controller. The quality of this controller is the worst I've ever seen. I set the controller on a chair and someone bumped the chair. The controller fell about a foot and the right thumb stick broke on the inside of the controller. DO NOT BUY THIS CONTROLLER. You are better off buying Microsoft's version rather than GameStop's.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Gamestop Xbox 360 Controller
One of the best controllers I have ever had.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/16/14
digitaljake1
Location: Farmington,MO
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I Love this Controller. It is Strong and reliable and you can use them for a long time. I love this controller, I have two Black Controllers. If you want a really good Controller and dont want to pay alot of money for a Controller, This controller Is for you.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Gamestop Xbox 360 Controller
Don't buy this!!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:2/9/14
anonusername300
Location: NJ
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This controller was fine for like a month. Then, all of a sudden, the left control stick got messed up with not even a month having it. Horribly constructed and not good control sticks at all. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 4 for Gamestop Xbox 360 Controller
Not for precision gaming.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/20/14
BladeMaverick
Location: Fort Wayne
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Just purchased this controller from a local GameStop in town an hour ago. While my review is mainly off the time that I got home and started playing a game and comparing it to a Microsoft branded 360 controller that I've had for around 9 months now. Design-wise, it mimics a Microsoft controller pretty well with the awkward location of the "Back" and "start" buttons. I cannot say anything about the microphone, or messenger pad as I don't utilize these (PC Gamer. Bought for PC to play on PC.) In terms for using on PC - I have had no issues plugging in my new controller into my laptop (Running Win8) and playing games such as Warframe, Borderlands 2, Grand Theft Auto 4, Saint's Row: The Third to list a few.Buttons are reactive, however they produce a very notable "click" while playing - the sticks especially. The sticks themselves both have an obvious deadzone - meaning just nudging the sticks in some games to get that precise shot will not be possible as you have to exceed the zone for the game to respond to the stick movement (NOT present in the MS brand). With that said, can mean the difference between (in most cases) a kill in a FPS/3PS, or say, bad timing because of the non-responsiveness of the sticks until exceeding that threshold. For non-3PS/FPS games that don't require such precision, this controller I would recommend, otherwise you're better off with a MS brand or similar.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 5 for Gamestop Xbox 360 Controller
It was ok...for 4 months
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:12/15/13
link5561
Location: seattle, WA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have a wireless controller from Microsoft, but it kept running out of batteries, so i decided to get a new wired controller. I saw this one and the cheap price and wanted it badly.Before I got this controller I read the reviews, and decided to test the controller out, even though the reviews were saying horrible things about the controller. But since it was cheap, i decided ' oh what the heck, im buying this' when i got this, it was working great for a good 4 months, but with the occasional unresponsive sprint button, but that was it. Then, the horrors started happening. Now, when the controller lets me sprint in a game like CoD, which is 50% of the time, my character automatically aims down sight afterwards.It gets very annoying to run, stop, run, stop and it gives the opponents an advantage. Also the l-trigger is much to sensitive now. I cant even put my finger on the L-trigger without it aiming down sight, and for a quick-scoper like me, that gives me like a half-second delay which is extremely important. Now, the most annoying of all, the controller will just shoot randomly out of nowhere, which gives a way my position, and when playing something like zombies, wastes precious ammo until its all gone. So, this controller proved to be a temporary controller and a waste of money. So if you want one that is temporary, then get this controller, but if your a hard-core gamer then save yourself the trouble and just get the Microsoft brand or a rechargeable battery pack(i haven't tested those out yet so I don't know if they work good). My wireless controller from Microsoft hasn't disappointed me like this ever, except for the battery dying in mid-game but that's my fault for not getting new batteries. All in all, just get a REAL controller. it'll save you all the frustration that I had.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 6 for Gamestop Xbox 360 Controller
It works great, but...
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/10/13
D4rkSnip3rX
Location: Dyer, IN
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this controller because mine were old, they rattled, and I was sick of wasting batteries. At first it was great but then problems started emerging. It begun to rattle whenever it vibrated and the port doesn't work with my headset because it buzzes when it vibrates and the person I was in a party with heard a constant buzzing (I have a red samurai gaming headset). This problem isn't necessarily the controller's fault because my headset has a thicker connection port. I returned my first one for another, which had the same problems. Besides these problems the controller worked great, the sticks worked great and gave the controller a nice floating feeling. I'm going to try the actual Xbox 360 brand controller next and will review that one also.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Gamestop Xbox 360 Controller
Limited Action!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/6/13
RumbleRoses3
Location: Toyko, Japan
Age: Over 65
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
All right. I have good news, and bad news; I guess its a mixed review. Okay, the GOOD NEWS is that this controller is PERFECT for casual game play. The BAD NEWS is that this controller's thumb sticks will wear out within 2 to 3 months or less that time. When playing fighting games like Super Street Fighter IV AE the cheap little rubber around the analog stick will wear out rather quickly. It's CHEAP, but it works great for awhile. I would not recommend this controller. I recommend buying a wireless fifty dollar controller. Why? Because even after a session of casual gameplay, it wears out. THIS CONTROLLER SUCKS!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 8 for Gamestop Xbox 360 Controller
Not bad, lasted for a good 6-7 months
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/13
Anonymous
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The controller feels weird at first but you get used to it after a while. The controller has a pretty standard cord length (5-6 ft.). Mine did last me for quite a while, but then the cord crapped out on me (No idea why). I didn't use it to often, that could be a reason why it lasted so long. The sticks on it are kinda bad, they feel kinda heavy. Which makes it a little bit harder to do stuff that takes precision (i.e. Skyrim lockpicking). But overall it's a pretty decent controller, if you're looking for a cheap controller.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 9 for Gamestop Xbox 360 Controller
Works well but not ideal.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/13
Janso
Location: Lancaster, PA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I had this for about a year and then one day it wouldnt turn on. Also im not a huge fan of wired controllers. If someone asked me what controller to buy i wouldnt recommend this one.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 10 for Gamestop Xbox 360 Controller
1-5 ill give a high 3 or low 4
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/13
ronzo
Location: oakland park fl
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
good,not the best but a good 2nd controller in case an unexpected friend or family member comes over. over all GameStop is the best game store i have ever walked into.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 11 for Gamestop Xbox 360 Controller
Not the best controller.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:8/19/13
TheStorm
Location: NC
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got this controller with a holiday bundle that was on sale,and I mostly got it because I needed a cheap,responsive controller that didn't need any batteries.Once I finally got home and tested it out,I knew that it wasn't as great,or as responsive as my old wireless controller.I like play FPS games like COD,and halo so with this controller it was harder to play games like that.In-game the thumbsticks are unresponsive,and I'm not sure if this just happened to me,but as I was playing Halo Reach I thought that my sensitivety was high,so I checked it and it was on the default level.After that I noticed that something must of been broken,or it may have just been poorly mode,and designed.I knew it wasn't the best controller made by a third-party company,and I knew that it wasn't the worst either.So if you are thinking about buying this controller,just buy a used offical controller,its deffinately worth the extra $5,or $10 bucks.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 12 for Gamestop Xbox 360 Controller
All it is, is an Afterglow board in a new shell.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/13
Dudek
Location: New Jersey
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Literally the only difference with this controller and an afterglow is the shell. The board in the controller says Afterglow on it, it's like they took it out of the afterglow and tossed it in the Gamestop shell.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 13 for Gamestop Xbox 360 Controller
This is a good controller
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/13
Gamer37
Location: Atlanta, GA
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Yes, the Microsoft controller is better but for $25 bucks this is a great back up controller. Plus, you don't have to keep buying batteries. I played all the way through Tomb Raider with this controller and had zero issues with it. I did buy this as a new product. This is a good buy for your money!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for Gamestop Xbox 360 Controller
Average
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/13
DMVgee
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It's an average controller...haven't played halo or mordern warfare with it but for madden and 2k13 it plays pretty well. Although the rating would be much higher if the controller would have been $20 instead of $27(tax included).
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 15 for Gamestop Xbox 360 Controller
Very good controller if you want to save money
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/13
warfarefan210
Location: Pennsylvania
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This isn't the best controller ever. A microsoft made controller is obbiously is better, but that dosent mean this controller isnt good. This controller is actually great. If your looking to save money, this is the way to go. it feels like axbox controller. the only thing that feels different is the triggers, and the bumppers.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for Gamestop Xbox 360 Controller
Triggers get stuck
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/13
SammySampsonite
Location: New York, NY
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Pulling the trigger once causes it to be stuck in a barely-on state recognized by most games as a continuous trigger hold. I would not recommend this controller to a friend. Buy a real X-Box controller from Microsoft. It's worth the money. The quality of this item is unacceptable.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 17 for Gamestop Xbox 360 Controller
manually install "Microsoft Common Controller"
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/13
Kataleyo
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It works great but installation can be difficult. You have to manually install the Microsoft common controller drivers on Windows 7. In Device Manager right click on the controller and update driver. Chose Browse > pick from installed drivers and select Microsoft common controller. It will tell you it's not recommended but it's the only way to install this controller.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Gamestop Xbox 360 Controller
Horrible
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/22/13
northshoredr
Location: Chicago
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The shape feels off, the sticks have pretty much no weight in them, the bumpers don't feel like they're there, and the triggers have too much weight in them and feel a bit shorter in length than the normal 360 controller
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 19 for Gamestop Xbox 360 Controller
Worth your money...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/15/13
TLoZelda
Location: Desert Hot Springs
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This controller is really worth your money. True, its made of cheap plastic but it works perfectly. Ohh.. and this also works for PC, on Vista you just plug it in and BAAAM!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Gamestop Xbox 360 Controller
Not great but it works.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/12
Colt45az
Location: AZ
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this controller expecting a little more than I should have. I went to GameStop to purchase my reserved copy of Halo 4 and a new/used controller so I could do some co-op play with a buddy. The GameStop worker informed me that "the GameStop controller was just as durable as the normal Xbox controller." Durable, yes... But if your looking for performance this controller is a disappointment. Like other reviews have said, this controller is pretty bad for FPS games. The joysticks don't react to slight movements so if your trying to do some fine tune aiming in any FPS this is gonna be very annoying. I haven't played any other games with it but I can tell its just not up to par. Get a normal used Xbox controller over this one. I regret my purchase.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 2 3 4 next>>