GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Star Trek: Legacy

Legacy is an epic game of Starfleet combat covering the entire Star Trek Universe. Players become the Admiral of a task force of warships and must lead their fleet to victory in large-scale battles. As the Admiral of the Fleet you choose the ships, equipment, and captains that you will lead into battle. The game is designed to provide an immersive strategic and tactical experience by emphasizing the dramatic excitement of large-scale battles without the hassle of complex starship management.
Average Customer Rating:
7.071
7.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
5
8 stars
5
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 out of 1471%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Star Trek: Legacy
Review 1 for Star Trek: Legacy
Locked on Target
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/09
Leviathan
Ok, lets me start off by saying that I am a Trek fan, and and that I love the movies. This game is actually pretty good, you just have to give it a chance and not be so critical on the game, if you read some of the negative discussions on the game you'll notcie that the people said "well I played it for five minutes and I couldn't take it." or "The weapons did little or no damage"... Well as the game progresses the weapons as with any advancing tech, gets better, and if you play the game long enough and pay carefull attention to the training in the begging of the game you'll learn, how to target critical systems such as weapons, sheilds, propulsion, etc. just like in the movies. That and start off on easy even if you consider yourself hardcore, your goning to need easy AI in order to master certain controlls, and as you get better then turn up the difficulty, and really test yourself. All in all I consider this a must have for any Trek fan and any gamer looking for a good space-combat game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Star Trek: Legacy
Actually not too bad
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/23/08
R0AHN
I'll admit it: I'm a Trekkie - my eyes are jaded in this review. Now that we're on common ground... This was indeed a game that any self-respecting Trek-fan needs. It encompasses the major eras, has bloody good voices, and the detail is quite exceptional. Now, anyone who thinks this is an "easy" game really needs to try playing it on the hardest difficulty - thanks to the unfortunately poor interface, the higher difficulties require a lot of effort before they can be beaten with any sort of regularity. Also, the enemy AI can be so annoying that you occasionally just cannot get past a level no matter what you do. The only AI that seems to be stupid is your own. The storyline makes a lot of sense, actually taking the Star Trek: First Contact loose end and finishing it with a solid plot. This game was good, but it needs a bit of work. If they can fix that interface, include even more ships and levels, especially an upgrade to the AI, and we'll have a game worthy of even greater notice.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Star Trek: Legacy
The game has its ups and downs
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/09
Spock
Well I am a Star Trek fan and Legacy offers players to play in Enterprise, Original, Next Generation and I believe Voyager of Deep Space 9 eras of Star Trek. Now however the game is very confusing at some parts. It has rather long dialouge videos which may cause some people to become less interested in the game. It does offer you the ability to build your own fleet of ships which you can go into battle with. Now however, it is sometimes difficult to fight once you engage in battle. As for the actual manuvering of the ship is sometimes quite difficult. I do have to say the achievements are hard to get, the online multiplayer ones especially seems how no one really plays the game except for a select few. It is however a difficult game because of the manuverablility of the ship and different features your ships may have. This is a good game as long as you can really stick with it for a while.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Star Trek: Legacy
Great Tactical True Star Trek Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/09
soapd33
The game has its up and downs but all in all its great fun. This game is not the dog fighting type of space game. Your ships are large and you have the options to devert power to different areas like shields wepons or engines. You also have to repair your ship there are 6 different parts of the ship that can go out. It does everything you see in the movies from trackter beams to hailing and scaning and even using away teams. They even has all the voices of all the captians. Shatner dident sound to good but everyone else was great. They story line is amazing spaning throw enterprise, Original series, next gen, voyger, deep space nine,. The multiplayer is great to. Me and a Friend were battling the borg and he took damage so I had to tow him out of the battle field while giving orders to my other ships. Just get the game its great.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Star Trek: Legacy
Not the Best
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/09
Rather play Army of Two
I found that this game was boring and pointless. the controls were confusing i could never find out how to send more than one ship to do something. Ill give it credit it that i did like how you could convert energy to different parts of your ship. Such as shields, weapons, and defenses. The story line was quite slow and you must have great patience to play with it. The graphics weren't amazing but they also weren't bad. The sound wasn't a problem for me i could hear it just fine. i know how some games can be extrememly quiet then yu have to turn your tv up all the way and its just a pain. I personally think that the challenge was igh but not in the way as tho you need to work your way through it and keep trying but more as i did not quite understand the controls or what they wanted me to do. I did not feel as tho the games directions and objectives were as clear as thy could have been. Overall I would only recommend this game if you are a hardcore trek fan. But fora person like me, who really isnt, i wouldn't really recommend it.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Star Trek: Legacy
Great, but could've been a little better
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/11
codplayer45
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Star trek legacy in all is a great game. It has a well plotted story line and it's multiplayer is really great. Sound as well as graphics are very decent. Althoug interaction could use a little improvement. For example ships when the go on a head on collision they just bump into each other like nothing happened also the skirmish could've been better like it would;ve let you pick the enemy ship instead of the AI just picking a random one that would've made the experience a little more fun. Over all the game is really great i would recommend it to any star trek fan.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Star Trek: Legacy
Boldly go where no man has gone before..... I'll Pass
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/08
Kalel77
Ok lets just start by saying I love the original Star Trek Movies with Captain Kirk, Spock and company. So when I saw this game I was like sweet, I want to be Captain Kirk. Well I never got the chance. Not because he is not in the game, because he is. Along with 4 other Captain from the different Star Trek eras. The problem was the controls are so bad in this game it makes it really hard to enjoy.... After 30 minutes or so I wanted to use this game as a coaster.... The idea for the game is great. Take a Starship and cruise the galaxy solving problems a getting a bigger fleet in the process. ONE BIG PROBLEM.....Controlling your ship is a complete disaster. I love be flying all over the places trying to shoot down 1 ship and getting hit by 5 because I can't seem to control the ship..... I gave up after a hour.... I would not recommand this game unless your a crazy die hard Star Trek fan and then maybe you won't mind the problems....
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Star Trek: Legacy
Great for trekkies to explore the final frontier
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/11
Thetruegamer
Location: Dallas, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Star Trek Legacy is good in some ways. The GAME PLAY is great for trekkies that the battles feel like you are watching the shows and the movies. You get to have four ships to play as and you can play from The Orginal Series, The Next Generation, Deep Space 9, Voyager, and Enterprise and you play as the Federation, Romulans, Kligeons, and the Borg. There are over 80 ships from all three eras and five shows. The Single player mode is good and it is hard.You have three difficulties: Ensign (Easy), Captain (Medium), and Admiral (Hard). You start from the Enterprise Era and you play as Captain Jonathan Archer, than The Original Series Era and you play as Captain James T. Kirk, and The Next Generation Era where you play as Captain Jean-Luc Picard. each Era has five levels which makes it 15 levels total. You have to stop a vulcan name Tu'rell in all three eras. You lock on an enemy and you fire using phaser and missles.The game could've been more better if they had interacive cutscenes like the characters talking in person and more story and dialogue like the TV shows and films. A variety of ships from all five shows and all 10 films for all four races such as the enterprise,USS voyager, Bird of prey, USS Excelsior, USS Defiant, USS Enterprise D and E, Borg cubes, and more .There is also online. In the main menu there will be four comic presentations involving T'urell's plans.It would've been more fun if they put more races such as the Ferengi, Vulcans, Bajorans, and Remans and interactive cut scenes when you warp to a planet, it will blow up or if you are close to a planet and the ship blows up by an enemy, it will crah into a planet (Similar to the films Star Trek III and Star Trek Generations films) and add some scens from the films and TV series. I like the fact that you can self-destruct and war really fast and change how you want your ships powers to be like more speed and more weapon power and repairing the ship. You also use a map to help find your enemies and mission objectives.The GRAPHICS in this game are impressive that the ship models look very detailed.The AUDIO is great that the music really sounds like Star Trek, mainly sounds like TNG, VOY, and DS9. They have all the actors voicing their respective captains which is pretty good. Too bad they didn't put much of the crew in this game to make it more detailed. The LASTING APPEAL will appeal to true trekkies and for people that like RTS games and some casual gamers. But since I like Star Trek, This is pretty good. Imagine a sequel with better improvements and game play, but overall, its worth a try if you like Sci-fy, the voice-acting, music, gameplay, and the TV shows and films, but it is good for trekkies, but not for everyone, unless you wanna try it out.
 
My Product Recommendations
Halo Wars Platinum Hits
8.9 out of 10(30)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Star Trek: Legacy
Looks good,sounds good,plays poorly.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/9/11
NewEnglandGamingFiend
Location: wallingford,CT
I wish someone licensed to release a startrek game actually put an effort into the gameplay.The ships look very detailed,even plasma leaks, and combat damage look super.Firing phasers and torpedos sound and looks great.Command issues,piloting your vessel, or activating a scan or special order is like waiting in line at a DMV.You just hope you eventually get the job done, without going through alot of BS.If bethesda actually cared about the trek fans they would amend this with updates through X-box live.Or even create downloadable add-ons, Id like to see dominion, cardassian, and xindi campaigns too.I would recommend it to trek fans,but I might be thanked, or despised for doing so.Adding original actor voices from each generation of the show to the gameplay, also helped ease agonizing gameplay.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Thetruegamer
Dallas, TX
 
Please wait while more information about Thetruegamer is loaded.
Additional information about Thetruegamer could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
not bad
Posted 12/5/11
This game wasn't that bad. I used to play it a lot.Online could be better but i loved the voice acting.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Star Trek: Legacy
Great if a Trekkie
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/10
TrekieGamer
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Legacy combines the aspect of ship battling with commanding your ship into difficult situations play as ENT,TOS ,TNG charectars awsome but does need some work on the campaign to hard and short.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Star Trek Online Collector's Edition
6.2 out of 10(40)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Star Trek: Legacy
This game makes me sad
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/25/11
Greymoon
Location: Dearborn, MI
As a religious Trekkie and a lover of all of the Star Trek series when I saw this game "excited" was not the word for it. But when I actually started playing it, it fell far short of my expectations. The controls are sticky and hard to get, ship battles are frustrating and game-play itself is quite dull. Also checkpoints are few and far-between and with no manual save you may find yourself playing an entire half hour mission again because of one mistake.
I just don't get how the movies and shows can be so epic but they cant figure out how to make a proper Star Trek Game. Having returned it, I would not buy this game and would not recommend it to anyone.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Star Trek: Legacy
what a bad interface can do to a game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/17/08
PolskaLancer
Star Trek Legacy is a game that any self respecting Star Trek lover with a 360 should have. It contains ships, characters, and a broad overarching story-line that encompasses all five of the TV shows. The five captains do the voice work so it's top notch. The graphics are good. The ships are nicely detailed and all the weapons fire looks great. But the planets are amazingly small. You can cruise around these babies in about a minute. Another problem is that after a ship explodes the pieces don't have any collision detection, you can move right through the pieces and nothing happens! Which isn't exactly realistic. The sound is also amazing. The epic score sets the mood really well and the sound effects sound just like what I assume laser fire to be. The only thing that keeps Star Trek: Legacy from being a top level AAA title is the interface. Piloting one ship is fine. Though their is a steep learning curve as there are real time menu's for quite a lot of things. But its difficult to control fleets of 2 to 4 ships at the same time as the fleet controls and individual controls are mapped to the same buttons. So all in all, Star Trek: Legacy is a great ship combat game with good graphics, story, and voice talent, but it flounders slightly when it comes to controlling large fleets.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Star Trek: Legacy
Well...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/7/11
NewWaveNinja
...as a Star Trek fan, I can safely say this was the biggest dissapointment I've ever had to experience. The sound quality is really good, but everything else about this is mediocre. The starships move too slow and warp speed isn't even fast enough to help that. The shooting controls are the all-time worst I've ever seen and I've seen a lot. The story is actually good, but could be better. The graphics are early Nintendo 64 and I mean 1996. Yeah, they are that bad. Not that I don't like N64, but this is two console generations later. Don't waste time on this game, regardless of how devoted of a fan you may be.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Star Trek: Legacy
awsom
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/12
number1gamer23456789080
Location: San diego, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It is awsom. every one should try it. It is not the easyist game and should not be played by "novice" gamers.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10