GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

God of War II

Kratos, the once mortal warrior turned ruthless god, sits atop his throne on Olympus as a threat far worse than his predecessor Ares had ever been, striking down anyone who crosses his path or the path of his beloved Sparta. The "Ghost of Sparta" sets out to alter that which no mortal or god has ever changed. His fate. Facing mythical characters, all bent on preventing him from reaching his goal, Kratos' journey brings him to the very edge of the Earth. But this is Kratos, and his defiance is filled with such arrogance and contempt that all of the ancient world still trembles at his name: Kratos, The God of War.
Average Customer Rating:
9.349
9.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (375 reviews)
10 stars
32
9 stars
8
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
40 out of 4393%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for God of War II
Review 1 for God of War II
One part ruins the game COMPLETLY!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/13
oorr23
Location: Newburgh, NY
The game is fun UNTIL YOU FIRST RIDE PEGAUSAS! That level us HARD! Mark my words you will NEVER BEAT IT LIKE ME.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 2 for God of War II
Epic
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/30/12
MetalG
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i have no words to describe this game only to say its my favorite in all the series, its just beautiful to look at, in this game you really get a sense of the greek mythological world its just visually stunning and the journey is fascinating.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for God of War II
great....but not as good as the first one
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/2/12
madcuzilost
Location: North Carolina
THE GOOD-great combat. awesome bosses. weapon and magic upgrades are sweet. story is captivating and it includes some twists. the more difficult puzzles are not impossible and when completed, you feel very accomplished. graphics are like the last game which means they are truly incredible for a PS2. unlockables. THE BAD-a few puzzles can be extremely difficult but if you look around and think a bit harder you will figure it out. there should have been some kind of guide to tell you where to go next.THE END-i extremley recomend playing the first GOW before this one so the story is clear to you. if you want you may check out my review on it :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for God of War II
Just An Awesome Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/12
ELMOSLASH
Location: hawthorne, ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is great, it has challenge and action plus this great graphics for ps2 the sound its great but I expected it to be not that short, if you like me that play almost every day it would take 1 and a half month or less (depending on the difficulty) but still the best game on ps2. So dont wait more buy it .
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for God of War II
The Greatest game I've played in a while
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/12
zeldahero
Location: Ohio , OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I used the title because the last 4 months or so all I've played are Skyrim and Plants Vs Zombies. Now, I have two Playstation 3's and one is the newer version of the console and one is the older one that's 4USB and can play Playstation 2 games. So, I had gotten kind of bored playing Playstation 3 games and my family and I were driving around. Then, I saw a gamestop and wanted to stop there so we did and I saw God Of War ll. I had beaten the first but never really was fond enough of it to go out and get the second one. So, well, I bought it. I took it home and thought I'd play maybe to the third checkpoint (Save Place). Well, lets just say I didn't leave my room again that night. God Of War ll is overwhelmingly improved from the last game. There are quite a few reasons why this is. For starters better graphics, the gameplay graphics themselves are slight in improvement but the cut-scene graphics, some are as good if not better than gameplay graphics we see today. Next, the controls. Though the general idea of the controls is still the same, they feel less clunky then they do in the original game, with a smoother run, and quicker attacks. Next, there are more boss battles. In the first, game there were way to few boss battles, it was harder to stay hooked because in my opinion the boss battles are the most fun thing about God Of War, in God Of War ll There are at least 10 bosses you get to fight. I can't really say the weaponry is super different, actually the blade of Artemis I prefer prior to the Giant hammer you get in this game. Now, story in the first game was really just Kratos on a mission. In this game his seek for vengeance begins, it adds more thrill to the adventure. Well, there's more great stuff I could tell about this game but I have to Leave. Hope My Review Was Helpful, and For Your Information it's worth the ten bucks, and if you don't have a PS2 or the PS3 I have, then buy what I also Bought, now being a God Of War Fan Again, the collector's edition for PS3 with God Of War 1 & 2 on a single blue ray disc. BUY NOW AND BYE NOW.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 6 for God of War II
Amazing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/12
Nenemy
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is amazing, I loved it, the executions were awesome. The boss fights were fun and challenging. The storyline is great, every detail of it was great.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for God of War II
Sony did Good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/12
Anonymous
Location: Gamer Island
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this is a astounding game perfect graphics for such a classic 1st one is good too thought Sony did awesome don't get me wrong i'm an Xbox 360 man to the end i think sony is awesome i just think they did the worst in the entire world when they made the PS3 it's so awful that the Wii is better but PS to PS2 and PSP are pretty good.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for God of War II
it's awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/21/12
ERS2012
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The sound track, the story and the game play are all great. plus the creatures are awesome,even though being turn to stone, than shattered to pieces suck. On a very rare occasion the grapple doesn't work
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for God of War II
way better than the first
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/7/12
SocialKilla
I like this game more than the first because it is longer and there is more boss fights and has better graphics.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for God of War II
awsomely awsome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/20/11
Bobobobobob
Location: Medicine Lodge, Ks
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is totally awsome. it is a very very very very good game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for God of War II
Sick sequel!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/11
NewEnglandGamingFiend
Location: wallingford,CT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I thought the first one could never be improved on.BOY was I wrong! Better graphics,sound effects,and gameplay.Tight controls, outrageous combat....OK I cant say enough good about this game..One of my all time favorite games. If you own a PS2,and love hyper-violent games,that require a bit of problem solving skill...GET IT!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for God of War II
An Amazing Game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/11
Argenis25
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
God of war 1 was awesome but God of war 2 was even awesomer, the graphics for a playstation 2 are simply stupendous.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
godofwar12
Houston TX
 
Please wait while more information about godofwar12 is loaded.
Additional information about godofwar12 could not be loaded.
amazingly awesome game
Posted 12/5/11
best ps2 game that I have played! it is epic!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for God of War II
it sucks idk why i bought it i want my money back
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/13/11
ironjoker
Location: homer AK
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i bought this 2 days ago and i tried like 10 times and it never worked DONT BUY THIS GAME
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 18 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RPG3Guy4356
Suprise Az
 
Please wait while more information about RPG3Guy4356 is loaded.
Additional information about RPG3Guy4356 could not be loaded.
Top 50 Contributor
?
Posted 4/13/12
ok you have returnded to gamestop they give you a new disc if it does not work dont say the game is bad if you never played it before
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for God of War II
Wowzers!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/11
Halo4
Location: Ann Arbor
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Kratos last PS2 adventure was an epic! In my opinion this one was even better than GOW3 on PS3, it pushed the PS2 farther than GOW3 pushes the PS3 by far. One look at at the graphics and you will see, pS3 quality. The gameplay is as fresh as always, numerous combos abound. Buy this game ASAP it's an instant classic.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for God of War II
Better than the first one.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/26/11
ViperSniper
Location: California
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I bought this game new about a month after I bought the first one. These games are somewhat short, but they pack a boatload of gameplay in a 10 to 20 hour duration. You pick up right where GOW 1 left off. The Blade of Olympus is an excellent weapon. You get it within the first 15 minutes of playing. There are a bunch of other weapons you get as you progress through the game. The game itself is just cool. The environments have excellent detail, the enemies have the same detail. When Zeus first confronts you, you can easily beat him. He does not go down though, he strikes a crippling blow to you and your health is near zero. Your movement is greatly affected and Zues "Kills" you. He also takes back the Blade of Olympus. The spirits of Hades start to pull you down, but you climb back up. You now have a new mission. Kill Zues. The levels in this game are really cool looking. It is a must buy. If you have the first one, you have to get the second one. I can't wait to get a PS3 and play God of War 3.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Sony Playstation 3 160GB
8.9 out of 10(25)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for God of War II
awsome!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/18/11
coolgamer1
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i love this game its really cool i recomend this to all god of war fans
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for God of War II
Too good for the PS2
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/11
bryantfan24
Location: Salt Lake, UT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Wow, this game is just amazing, I mean really this is one of the best games I have ever played. This is just too good for the PS2.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for God of War II
EPIC
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/10
DOmiNicanBoy21
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I hope I speak on behalf of everyone when I say that God of War is truly the greatest series in the history of games. The first one was great and this one did not disappoint. The first game in the series didn't really pay much detail to the environmental art but I felt they fixed it in this one and made it perfect in the third. For being a PS2 game, the graphics here were breathtaking and the amazing twist to the story was stunning. The gameplay is amazing because you now get to see the perspective of the titans instead of the Gods. You are assisted by the Titans which grant you similar but are slightly different. If you haven't tried the God of War series, please play it ASAP, BUT PLEASE PLAY THE FIRST ONE so that you can better understand the story. Note: You do not need a PS2 to play this game. If you have a PS3, you can buy the collection which includes the first and second God of War. That way you can get both games remastered i HD and then pick up your copy of God of War 3. I understand how awesome the third one is but please play the first two before. I highly recommend this game to any one. And if you truly love the series, I recommend getting the two PSP games (Ghost of Sparta and Chains of Olympus) that give extra insight into the life of Kratos. Trust me, you will love it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for God of War II
awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/10
hunt1886
Location: plainfield,IN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is perfect it is my favorite ps2 game ever
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Nickel18
nunya USA
 
Please wait while more information about Nickel18 is loaded.
Additional information about Nickel18 could not be loaded.
THE GREATEST SEQUEL OF ALL TIME
Posted 12/10/11
this game is all that the first one was and more. there are more monsters to fight and even cooler bosses. i once again highly recomend this game, it kicks total butt.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for God of War II
Best Game in the WORLD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/10
GodofwarHero1994
Location: california
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is one of the only games that i have played repetitively because of graphics and game play if you don't like this game you don't belong near technology
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>