GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

God of War II

Kratos, the once mortal warrior turned ruthless god, sits atop his throne on Olympus as a threat far worse than his predecessor Ares had ever been, striking down anyone who crosses his path or the path of his beloved Sparta. The "Ghost of Sparta" sets out to alter that which no mortal or god has ever changed. His fate. Facing mythical characters, all bent on preventing him from reaching his goal, Kratos' journey brings him to the very edge of the Earth. But this is Kratos, and his defiance is filled with such arrogance and contempt that all of the ancient world still trembles at his name: Kratos, The God of War.
Average Customer Rating:
9.364
9.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (376 reviews)
10 stars
33
9 stars
8
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
41 out of 4493%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for God of War II
Review 1 for God of War II
Better than the first one.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/26/11
ViperSniper
Location: California
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I bought this game new about a month after I bought the first one. These games are somewhat short, but they pack a boatload of gameplay in a 10 to 20 hour duration. You pick up right where GOW 1 left off. The Blade of Olympus is an excellent weapon. You get it within the first 15 minutes of playing. There are a bunch of other weapons you get as you progress through the game. The game itself is just cool. The environments have excellent detail, the enemies have the same detail. When Zeus first confronts you, you can easily beat him. He does not go down though, he strikes a crippling blow to you and your health is near zero. Your movement is greatly affected and Zues "Kills" you. He also takes back the Blade of Olympus. The spirits of Hades start to pull you down, but you climb back up. You now have a new mission. Kill Zues. The levels in this game are really cool looking. It is a must buy. If you have the first one, you have to get the second one. I can't wait to get a PS3 and play God of War 3.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Sony Playstation 3 160GB
8.9 out of 10(25)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for God of War II
cod of war!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/10
tonio458
i bought this game as a greatest hits title, with the bonus disc (which includes all the spoilers and stuff like that) and i heard it was good and when i started playing it, i immediately thought it was a great game! it starts off with kratos as the new god of war after ares and Athena rebels against him and tells Zeus to stop him and he takes it as a betrayal and until the end, you travel through far lands just to reach the sisters of fate to go back to the exact moment in which Zeus betrayed him to kill Zeus and so the when he reaches them, the sisters don't want to help kratos, so he finds his own way to travel back in time. when he does, he uses it to his advantage and brings the titans back to when the great war between the titans and the gods first began. when he reaches mount Olympus he rides on the back of a titan named Gaea. and from there they are climbing to the destruction of Olympus and the death of Zeus! this game was awesome and i would recommend this game to anyone!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rette20
austin , texas
 
Please wait while more information about Rette20 is loaded.
Additional information about Rette20 could not be loaded.
Amazing !!!!
Posted 9/17/10
I heard of this b4 but never played at all period . Til one day i was at game stop deciding a new game to try , my friend picked this game and asked have i played i said no . Since that day i've been hooked , and can't put it down at all . I thought it was goin to be boring but proved me wrong .
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for God of War II
go GOW 2
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/09
MattisGOW
This is a great game event if you missed the first "God of War"! There is always a way to get through the challenges but it's up to you to figure it out in this totally "BA" game! It is more fun if you do not look up the walkthrough on google but this game can seriously aggrivate you if you do not know what you are doing. It never stops giving you what you want! MORE POWER there is an upgrade menu unknown URNS OF POWER Boss fights if only they would make it for wii imagine that actually swinging the swords around yourself doing the actions personally also the case paper you can turn inside out to show a super awsome picture for god of war 2. And now you can fly in this new installment to the gow series. Also later to come is God of war 3.... Dont believe me open up the case for god of war 2 and look at the users manuel at the back page it will tell you "COMING SOON GOD OF WAR 3" new REAL trailer is on youtube watch out some of them are fake. But then G4 stepped in and got the real one for us Go G4!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for God of War II
The God of the games is BACK!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:3/4/07
MFC - PR
The God of all action games is back in 9 days and I can't wait. I finish the first game in GOD mode and it was so great. This is going to be better in all aspects, the graphics, story, action, magic, adventure, etc. Better moves adds to the old ones, more difficult to beat but not impossible for me. I'm ready for the challenge. I'm sick of waiting because I reserved my copy in August. I'm adjusting my schedule for next week because I'm going to play 8 to 10 hours each day until I beat the normal, difficult and god mode levels. Sorry for those that doesn't have a PS2, you don't know what are you missing. Kratos and GOW2 are going to cut the 15 seconds of fame of the Xbox 360 and Wii games. This game is going to make history and again it will be the Game of the Year. Count with that. March 13, 2007 - The end begins for the other games. GOW2 will raise to claim its throne. Prepare for the headache, because the laberints and puzzels are going to be a great CHALLENGE......
Review 5 for God of War II
Too good for the PS2
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/11
bryantfan24
Location: Salt Lake, UT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Wow, this game is just amazing, I mean really this is one of the best games I have ever played. This is just too good for the PS2.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for God of War II
God of War 2
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/09
JTN
This game is very FUN. It has many unique assets to the game including amazing fights in the air, giant boss fights and a many awesome abilities. This game for me was way better then expected, a friend told me to get it or at least try it out sooo i did. It is a very memorable game with lots of gore and fighting. I would definitely recommend this game if you like things like gore, fighting, adventure, and a killer story line. And about the graphics for it, WOW. Crystal clear graphics, couldn't believe how good they were for PS2 you know. It also had many different types of weapons that you could lvl up. There are also 4 different types of difficulty modes. If i were you i would most definitely start out on the easiest because sometimes this game can get very hard and make you feel like throwing your controller at the screen. The hardest mode is Titan, extremely hard. Well hope u buy and like the game, goodbye
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for God of War II
Another amazing game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/17/08
a customer 2
I can't believe its already over! I first beat God of War: Chains of Olympus, then I went to God of War. As I said, I'd write a review after I beat God of War II. It was really amazing. I have to say though, the first God of War is big competition. I'd definitely get this. Everything is good about it except for, well, I beat it in 8 days of playing time (not 192 hours, of course, but just 8 days of casual play). There really is nothing bad about this game. Lots of killing, cool new weapons, and I just love the bonus play. I played a little in a fish costume! A fish killing greek soldiers. Just picture that in your head. Anyway, back to the gameplay. The graphics during the cutscenes are amazing as well, and the storyline is in chronological order, starting with God of War: Chains of Olympus, then God of War, and finally, God of War II. I have a ps2 and a wii right now, but I will get a ps3 in early 2009 just to get god of War 3!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for God of War II
best of its kind
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/10
screener
God of war 2.Now,if your like me and played gow1,you'd be amazed at how well they made this game.The plot...woooww,it was stupendous,amazing,awesome whatever you wanna use.The way it grows with surprise and meetings with past characters or ones you might hear in greek mythology.From characters like the gorgons to perseus or theseus,to atlas.The puzzles in this game are actually a challenge!to be honest,i have never thought so hard in just one puzzle to another in a game.you must actually look at every detail to every clue to get through.the challenge in this are maybe upped a level from Gow1.The puzzles seem to decrease in this game though.mayb the only let down so far.The length,is actually pretty good,took me the same time as Gow1 did.The weapons and magic,were also pretty cool.Magic from the titans and weapons from enemys.personaly i liked Gow1 magic more but this games was just as good :)animations were spectacular,supeerb.so in overall this game is very awesome,fun,(if you love a challenge you'll love this) the fighting style of swinging two blades is very goood.a blend of puzzles nd fighting was great two.all action nd adventurists will love it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for God of War II
BEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/10
Baseball fan 187
I recently bought this game because it looked AMAZING, snd it is! The graphics are superb and the sound is great. The storyline is acceptable, and you end up learning quite abit about greek mythology too. The controls are easy to learn and are easy to understand. There are 4 difficulties so the challenge can be easy or EXTREMELY hard. The only downfall to this game is the length, the game is not that long. About 10 hours of play and it's over. Even though it's not long you get tons play for your money. Kratos, the main character, hasjust defeated Ares, the god of war, and has become the new god of war. Now as Kratos is shunned by the gods, he must seek revenge against them and get help from the earth mother, Gaia, and the rest of the titans. You get to fight the Colossus at Rhodes and play several minigames along the way. After being killed by Zeus, you respawn and continue your guest to regain your godly form and teah the gods a lesson. With the blades of Athena by your side, you will stop at nothing to achieve your goals and once again be the god of war! This game does include some mature material includig: nudity, very strong violence, some strong language, mall bursts of blood colored water that stains the floors and walls for a short period of time. If you like hardcore fighting games, God of War is for you!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for God of War II
Amazing Beauty At Its Best
Posted on:1/15/07
Icicle
In the first God of War, I remember climbing to Pandora's Temple, and seeing the beautiful landscaping that had been done. In fact, every single world in God of War, I remembered some kind of beautiful imagery that just caught my eye. I also remember how violent the game got, and how really metaphorical the game was being. We saw all those stories about Greek Mythology, but those were the ones that glazed over the violence in history. The real stories were the ones that were left untold. These were the stories that told about Hercules slaughtering his family because of the spell he was under. And we see that through Ares' eyes. God of War II looks more than promising. I can't wait to beat this game 100% all the way through and get every single secret ending or whatever they have for us, at the end. That way, we can see what their intentions are for the future sequels. Rock on Ares! It's time to battle The Fates!
Review 11 for God of War II
GOD OF WAR 2 IS AWESOME BUT YET ...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/29/08
Justarookiegamer
First , i would like to say that this GOW 2 is awesome , unbelievable good . The graphic is amazing and far beyond what i expected it would be . Its' interface and control are so good which makes the game become this great . woo0 , the sound makes the game come alive and it also keep u wanna play it all along . However , I, myself feel like the length of the game is short for the action and storyline game type . A little bit longer and more chapters would make this game more exciting and more fun . I personally think that the levels features in GOW the first and second are pretty hard to play . You just could not keep the experiences and use it to play at another modes such as HARD , GOD and TITAN . They are extremely hard to be beaten by a rookie like me , i know .... Anyways , trust me , this game definitely have to be in your PS2 collection if you are fan of the action type . Thanks for reading my comment .
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for God of War II
You are Kratos, the God Of Games...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/08
lbyrd13
I have never played the first GOW, but I can tell you that this one will knock your socks off. The graphics are on par with a CGI movie, the music score helps bring the game to life and the amount of jaw-dropping swordplay is enough to please any action fanatic. Last year, when I first read the article for it, I thought "Oh Geez, BORING!" But that is totally the opposite once you play it. Another thing worth mentioning is the incredible voice acting, Kratos is played to perfection, although my favorite voice is Atlas, played by Michael Clarke Duncan. My only quibble with this game is the camera angles, which seem to stay in the same spot until you almost completely vanish off-screen. I would also like to note that the level of violence is quite high so this is strictly Teens or Adults. Overall, this game scores a 9.1/10 in my book. Please see some of my other reviews, I will be posting many!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for God of War II
Wowzers!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/11
Halo4
Location: Ann Arbor
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Kratos last PS2 adventure was an epic! In my opinion this one was even better than GOW3 on PS3, it pushed the PS2 farther than GOW3 pushes the PS3 by far. One look at at the graphics and you will see, pS3 quality. The gameplay is as fresh as always, numerous combos abound. Buy this game ASAP it's an instant classic.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for God of War II
A MUST HAVE!!
Posted on:2/17/07
Jamaican_Brybry
I bought GOW1 for a friend's birthday gift and ended up buying myself one because he refused to loan it to me. The graphics were over the top, real first rate stuff. I've subsequently bought another copy as mine got scratched. I've seen a couple screen plays on Hi5 and YOUTUBE and I must say that I've already preordered 2 copies for myself and another to be given to a friend who proves worthy. Kratos now has arrows and the GOW2 has arial combat levels with him flying on the mythical horse pegasus. Installment 2 from what I've seen has added more of a Tomb Raider feel in terms of puzzle solving with him swinging through the landscape by using the blades of chaos like a grappling hook. This is bound to be a must have for game geeks, greek mythology buffs and the loyal Tomb Raider following, all of which I am apart. I can't wait till my order touches down here in Jamaica!!
Review 15 for God of War II
EPIC
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/10
DOmiNicanBoy21
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I hope I speak on behalf of everyone when I say that God of War is truly the greatest series in the history of games. The first one was great and this one did not disappoint. The first game in the series didn't really pay much detail to the environmental art but I felt they fixed it in this one and made it perfect in the third. For being a PS2 game, the graphics here were breathtaking and the amazing twist to the story was stunning. The gameplay is amazing because you now get to see the perspective of the titans instead of the Gods. You are assisted by the Titans which grant you similar but are slightly different. If you haven't tried the God of War series, please play it ASAP, BUT PLEASE PLAY THE FIRST ONE so that you can better understand the story. Note: You do not need a PS2 to play this game. If you have a PS3, you can buy the collection which includes the first and second God of War. That way you can get both games remastered i HD and then pick up your copy of God of War 3. I understand how awesome the third one is but please play the first two before. I highly recommend this game to any one. And if you truly love the series, I recommend getting the two PSP games (Ghost of Sparta and Chains of Olympus) that give extra insight into the life of Kratos. Trust me, you will love it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for God of War II
Best Game in the WORLD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/10
GodofwarHero1994
Location: california
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is one of the only games that i have played repetitively because of graphics and game play if you don't like this game you don't belong near technology
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for God of War II
way better than the first
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/7/12
SocialKilla
I like this game more than the first because it is longer and there is more boss fights and has better graphics.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for God of War II
extraordinary
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/10
karthi
Location: chennai
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this god of war game is so nice.wow really amazing for hardcore people
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for God of War II
Sick sequel!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/11
NewEnglandGamingFiend
Location: wallingford,CT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I thought the first one could never be improved on.BOY was I wrong! Better graphics,sound effects,and gameplay.Tight controls, outrageous combat....OK I cant say enough good about this game..One of my all time favorite games. If you own a PS2,and love hyper-violent games,that require a bit of problem solving skill...GET IT!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for God of War II
Best game ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/3/08
Kratos will kill all in 2009
What can I say this game did the seemingly impossible. It was actually better than the original. There is absolutely nothing I can complain about. I mean the story was just as amazing if not better than the original. Kratos himself is even more angry in this game than in the original. Let me see what else the graphics themselves are what I would consider to be right up there with any ps3 game. Even though some think the game is too short I don't think so. I mean if every second of the game is just as good as the next there no such thing as being too short. I do not care what any one else says this is not a mindless button masher as some people think. It is more challenging to beat than the original which was pretty hard in it self on the hardest mode. In ending I would full heartedly recommend this game to anyone no matter what type of games you like.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>