GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mass Effect

"Mass Effect" is a science-fiction action and role-playing game (RPG) created by BioWare, the commercially and critically acclaimed RPG developer of "Jade Empire and "Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic." "Mass Effect" delivers an immersive, story-driven gameplay experience with stunning visual fidelity. As one of the first human beings to step onto the galactic stage, you face a grave threat that may destroy all of civilization. Your job is complicated by the fact that no one believes that there is any threat at all. Travel across an expansive universe, exploring the uncharted corners of the galaxy, searching for pieces of the truth in order to discover how to defeat the coming destruction.
Average Customer Rating:
8.99
9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (350 reviews)
10 stars
125
9 stars
40
8 stars
11
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
5
177 out of 19790%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mass Effect
Review 1 for Mass Effect
Great
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/12
HighbornManPon
Location: LaVista, NE
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Mass Effect is an incredible game. The storyline is awesome, the gameplay is addicting, the role playing is unparallel to any other game. and much more. This game is awesome and will be long-lasting entertainment. The price of Mass Effect is equal/more expensive than Mass Effect 2, which was also an epic exerpience. So, what does that say about the game?
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ZayneROC
 
Please wait while more information about ZayneROC is loaded.
Additional information about ZayneROC could not be loaded.
Awesome
Posted 3/19/12
I played this at my friends house once and fell in love with it. Now that Mass Effect 3 is out I want to buy the whole series then start with one the to two then three. But there is just one thing I am wondering about.... why is Mass Effect 1 more expensive than Mass Effect 2?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Mass Effect
Best start for the best role-playing games ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/12
BJAJ
Location: Leesburg, IN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This was the first rpg game I have ever played in my entire life. I realized how much I have been missing out. It was confusing for me only becuase I was not fimilary with this type of game play which is in no way a bad thing. I'm playing Mass Effect 3 right now and I can already see how one of my decisions from Mass Effect will greatly impact the fate of entire civilizations and possibly all life in the galaxy. Some decisions that were made I regret making, but being able to make multiple campains with practically infinite amounts of decisions is the reason this franchise has been so successful. I used to think actions games like Halo were the best to have in the world. I realized how wrong I was for my likes and dislikes. For any gamer, this trilogy is seriouly worth your money whether you are a hard core gamer or not. I could play as many hours on one Mass Effect as I did on completely 5 games. Those five games were still good however. Seriously, this experience is worth it, for men and women.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mass Effect
Where It All Began
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/14/13
Jureidini
Location: FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have been getting ready for ME3 after being turned on to the franchise from ME2, however I still had to go back to the original. Here are my 2013 thoughts on what is an oldie, but a goodie. First off, ME had an awesome start with a terrific and incredibly involving storyline. You develop lots of love/hate for the characters who really feel lifelike thanks to good voiceacting, and you always feel as if your objective is a must. Graphics are decent, bit lumpy but for the time it was terrific and does not take away from the experience. Lumpy definitely is the word I would use again to describe your combat gameplay....out of everything this is where the sequels made massive steps. For the ME fans who [picked up on it at the later games like myself, do yourself a favour and give a brief playthrough of the original as I did. Scouring through isn't necessary, but a simply 15-20 hours easily provides all the experiences of the grand daddy that you would want. Hard to find a good copy though! Good luck fellow fans.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mass Effect
Overboard?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/09
Nelos
To those who might be wondering if I went overboard by giving every rateable section a perfect 10, I would just like to say that I have not. At least, I personally believe that I have not. I am a huge fan of Role-playing games, and my personal reflections are that this game is on par with Oblivion. Wait, scratch that. I actually enjoyed Mass Effect MORE than Oblivion. The story line, the unique characters and races, along with futuristic weapons - it was like playing Knights of the Old Republic all over again! Just... Minus the lightsabers and the Force. Bioware really went above and beyond when designing this game. They've done a good job trying to keep players focused on completing the story, but that doesn't mean we players aren't free to explore large areas. Quite the contrary, even though Bioware seemingly compels us to finish the story, they realize that personal exploration is also a big part of an RPG. And so I take my hat off to the brilliant men and women who designed this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Mass Effect
you'll want to play through it twice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/18/08
The One Who Reviews
Mass Effect is my favorite game of all time. There is so much replay value as well. You customize your person everything from their background to their powers, looks etc. If you like shooters or role playing games at all you will fall in love with this game. You can also decide what your character says and thinks; it's really cool. The story is great you always know why you are doing what you're doing. The combat is really cool and fun. Some characters use bionic powers which is a lot like the force powers in star wars. You can also tell your squad what to do. You always have 2 companions that will help you through the game. I don't really want to go too into the story because it would be a crime to ruin it but trust me you will probably want to play through it again. I'm already on my second play through and I can't see myself just stopping even after a second time it's a great game to have and they lowered the price on the used copy so get it before they raise the prices back up.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Mass Effect
Very Addictive
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/26/10
xPrototype94
i bought Mass Effect 2 days ago and i thought it would be a low rated game but i was wrong. When i started playing it i was so amazed about what i was playing and couldn't believe how this game got my attention and everyone elses. Ever since i bought i been playing for hours and hours and very interesting about the storyline, it talks about space and the life-forms that interact with humans and other speices, i'm kinda into that stuff. the graphics couldn't be more realistic. For a game that came out 3 or 4 years ago it's look every life-like and fun to play. Mass Effect gives you a look of what the futures look and how it is developed. I enjoyed every minute playing Mass Effect. I'm not done with the game yet. But i can tell it'll be more interesting when i get into it more. Only thing is that bothers me is that lags alot. Idk if it's just mine or the servers but, overall nothing to worry about. Mass Effect is a very fun game and gives people so sense of knowledge in what the games is about.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Mass Effect
Simply the Best
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/13
Moe1
Location: Middleburg, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Without a doubt , the Mass Effect trilogy is my absolute favorite. I enjoyed every single second of my time playing these excellent games. Furthermore, this game is the third best out of the series. The graphics in this game are not as good as the others. However the storyline is excellent. This game is without a doubt worth the buy, and while youre at it just buy the entire trilogy. Some features I found I love in this game: 1) You get to make your own character with your own backstory and such. 2) You are able to really play the game how you want it with your own decisions. [as in selecting the outcomes. There are multiple endings]. 3) Your choices affect the ending and how the other two games play out. 4) Beautifully written story with close attention to details. 5) Excellently designed characters with real depth to them. 6) In Mass Effect, the shooting is easier compared to 2 and 3. 7) You can change the diffuculty. In conclusion, best trilogy ever. Worth the buy.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Mass Effect
Best. Game . Ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/19/09
Master Ninja 84
Now, I know that I'm late to the party when I bought this game. But I must say that this game was worth the wait. The first thing that I want to praise this game for is it's story. Never have I came across a game that has a surprisingly deep, well thought out story. Most rpgs that I play start you out as a nobody. But in this one, you are the hero already. Next, the conversation system. Instead of just watching a hokey cutscene; Mass Effect gets you involved in the story by way of the conversation system. The action is jus awesome. Bar none. My only complaint is the charactor customization. Now I'm not a designer of games or anything, but I think that it would've been nice if I could choose what race of species I was. Butthat one gripe is negligable. In English. that one blemish is no problem. Over all. For any 360 owner, rpg fan, shooter fan, or even a fan of great games. Buy this game. A game this good doesn' t come around but once in a lifetime. I can't wait for part 2.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Mass Effect
terrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/10
disappointed buyer person
if you are not sure whether to buy this or not you probably shouldnt. this game is a good attempt but overall just a fail. the first thing that this game failed is auto save. many times i have walked around for an hour do to lack of action then get bombarded with enemys and have to go back an hour. this is mostly because my team member got in my way my character would get out of my cover. another thing is class fail. when you choose a class you are very limited from you choices of attacks considering the pistol is your main weapon for any class other than soldier. and it takes so long for your powers to regenerate you will be dead by then. another thing is your health is very weak you barely take any hits and you are dead. the driving is also terrible if you look to any direction other than forward with your turret it steers you away. and for how big that vehicle is it takes very little damage before it explodes and when you fix it it doesnt really help. i really suggest that you do not get this game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mass Effect
Best i've ever played!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/11
r3n3gAd3
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've been meaning to write this review for a while but i haven't gotten around to it for a while. THIS GAME IS AMAZING!!!!!!!!!! mass effect by far my favorite game ever! When i first started playing i was a little skeptical but after about an hour i realized i had my hands on the worlds greatest game. The game play is fantastic its super fun and pretty easy to get use to. The story is awesome once you start to understand whats going on in the universe and what the different alien races are like. i love the character customization and all the items you get. you literally get hundreds! the only down side is the combat on the side missions starts to get repetitive after a while because all the facilities and stuff you are fighting in all have the same layout. One more problem is exploring planets. the first few times is pretty fun but after a while it gets kinda boring you seem to spend a lot of time doing. Those are the only two things that people may not like about the game but i loved every bit of it!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Mass Effect
all-around fun game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/16/09
J Lo
This is a great sci-fi game with some awesome game play. You get to pick-up different weapons, upgrades, and armor. It has a great storyline and cool characters. The world (or universe) they developed reminds me much of Star Wars or even Star Trek in the sense that all the characters have an interesting back story. It defiantly adds to the game when you get to talk to different species of aliens, humans, and some crazy looking things. The only thing that may be frustrating is that you have to run around a lot in the game and sometimes come back to missions to because there are other little things that you need to do first, but i think it adds to it for the most part. There's also no multiplayer mode, but its not that type of game. You get to jump to different solar systems and planets to play side story missions that just add to the overall story of the game. Put some time into running around the plants and boards to look around and talk to people, it's worth it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 12 for Mass Effect
Give It a Chance
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/27/09
Epic Science Fiction Shooter RPG
When I first got this game I started playing it and it was pretty long, boring, and confusing. BUT, once you give it like a couple of hours and figure it out (controls and plot) it is probably the second best RPG game out there next to Oblivion. It is however pretty different than Oblivion in that it feels like a shooter. It is like an RPG futuristic version of Gears of War. The Combat is very fun, and I found that very pleasantly surprising being that it is an RPG game. The combat is very much like Gears where you hide back to cover and peak around the corners looking for a shot. The other thing that this game offers if a vast wide open galaxy for you to explore and enjoy. Mass Effect is kind of like a movie because of all the clips and epic science- fiction story. My only knock on it is if you aren't into dialogue and interaction with other characters this game should be avoided since there is a lot of talking. So if your looking for an RPG that has great customization and combat this is defiantly for you.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 13 for Mass Effect
An excellent RPG for all players
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/08
rsewthefaln
This was a great, all around excellent game. It has great graphics, sound, controls, and items (armor, weapons, ect.). When you start the game, it is a little slow, but this feeling only lasts a few minutes, and it's easy to get addicted to this game. You can customize your character's facial features, his class, such as soldier (specializing in weapons), adept (specializing in biotic powers, that are not unlike magic), engineer (specializing in tech stuff, like computers and robots), and 3 other classes that are a combination of these. The action is not the main part of the game, but it is a fun part. You get a shoulder view, like most RPGs, and you can zoom in from there. Speech flows very well, you have many options of what to say in a conversation, and depending on what you say will affect what you must do, or how much the person likes you. The game is great from begining to end, and you will be wanting to play it again after you've beaten it once through.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 14 for Mass Effect
The Start of the Greatest Saga of All Time
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/10
dracodadark
Location: Minnesota
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
What can I say about this game it has alure, drama, passion, romance, political corruption, Specie issues (which by the way made me not like Ashly all that much as she is definetly pro human, made me feel concerned about her, and a little too much like all about the humans and military and nothing else matters, but I digress), and a main charicter that is a leader from the start. You have decisions that have huge impacts right up to the end of the game in your decision on the council ( I did not like them much anyway so I let them go). You meet great charicters and get to know them my favorties were Garrius, Liara, Rex, and Talli. I loved the game, the story, the epic proportions, and the fact that you control your own destiny not only in this game but in ME2 and beyond. A perfect 10 in my opinion!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mass Effect
MASS EFFECT WILL HAVE MASS EFFECT
Posted on:4/12/07
Skot1420
I have done alot of research into this game and in a few words.....FREAKIN AMAZING!!!! Not only can u make custom characters and weapons - u can harnest elemental abilities and chose ur own depth of combat! What do i mean u ask? There are three levels of detail u can choose when attacking.....1) for the simple minding or fps fans u can run and gun with ur ai teamates . 2) for the socom/graw fans u can choose to use squad based click and command style attacking that allows u to individually control each of ur ai teamtes. 3) Or u can choose to pause the game and go into a battle planning screen to have complete control over ur teamates movement, attacks, when and wear to take cover, weapons that will be in use, and elemental powers that will be used! The graphics look wonderful! The story line is based on machines that are comming back to attempt destruction of the human race after a previous failure. Looks long and rich in detail! This game is a MUST BUY!!!!
Review 16 for Mass Effect
Good but not as good as its made out to be
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/11
natonjob
Location: Banning,ca
The game overall is a great game to be sure. Its a in depth game that will make you log in about 30 hours of play to see everything. If you decide to play the game with different characters and make different choices you could log in 100+ hours. The graphics are great. the voice acting is great. The story is great yet is not very original being your standard save the galaxy from the bad guy... now the bad. The galaxy isnt as deep as you would have liked. Besides the main 3-4 planets you visit the other worlds are all the same just with different coloring. All boring wastelands. The side quests are very simple and kinda boring on these boring non main quest planets. So besides from the 10-15 hours or so you put into the main quest the rest of the game is filled with kinda boring side quests on barren wasteland planets. Your travel companions are not as likeable as they were in Biowars KOTOR for example. The combat system was good yet it seemed like it wasnt nearly as good as gears of war for example. some problems with framerate as well.overall a good game worth picking up yet not the epic experience some claim it to be. 8.8 out of 10
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mass Effect
Well, IT'S MASS EFFECT!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/22/12
SpruceDread4578
Location: Tujunga, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you call this game bad you either don't like RPG or are totally new to the concept. Mass Effect 1 is really amazing, that's for sure! It's really not as simple as ME2, but hey even that game is amazing. If you recently heard about Mass Effect 3 and thought you should get it, do it, but only after you play 1 and 2. The actions you take in 1 and 2 effect 3 big time!!! I have all 3, and overall have at least 500 hours all together on gameplay. It's a must buy for all hardcore RPG fans.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mass Effect
Easily one of the top 10 games of all time
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/14/11
Clarkey
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Do you remember those "Choose Your Own Adventure" books from back in the day? They were the ones where you'd get a few pages in and then it would say "If you go in the door on the left turn to page 30, if you take the door on the right turn to page 35." It was such a novel idea, a story where YOU could make decisions and decide the outcome. Mass Effect is a game-equivalent of these books; do you kill person A or do you let them live? The plot is amazing and the decisions you make change how everyone views you from your squadmates to the galaxy at large. These decisions even have repercussions in Mass Effect 2 and in the upcoming Mass Effect 3. The RPG elements of this game are strong, you choose what kind of character you have skills wise and how these skills evolve over the course of the game. In conversations you choose your responses; keep berating a squadmate and don't be surprised when they are openly hostile towards you, be nice and you can devolop friendships and even romances. Tons of different weapons, skills, planets to visit and explore at your own pace and in whatever order you choose. A word of advice to someone picking up this game; the first "mission" that occurs isn't necessarily the most exciting thing in the world but don't judge the game until after you explore a place called "The Citadel" and subsequently gain the ability to travel the galaxy freely. This is such a wonderful game that can take a good 35-50 hours per playthrough and since the story can be drastically different depending on your actions it is worth playing through a few times. (and you can import your character into Mass Effect 2 and 3.) This game would be a bargain at the full $60 so at the 20 bucks or whatever it costs now it can easily be the biggest bank for your buck you can get at Gamestop right now.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
darthnatus
WI
 
Please wait while more information about darthnatus is loaded.
Additional information about darthnatus could not be loaded.
Top 10? Try again.
Posted 11/23/12
At least 6 of the top 10 games of all time aren't even from this century! Pokemon, Halo, Assassin's Creed, Diablo, Starcraft, these are top 50 material! And they are masterpieces! You want to be top 10 you have to beat Mario, Zelda, Goldeneye, VALVE, Elder Scrolls, Fallout! Sorry but try again. I have played ME and ME2, and couldn't bear to listen to a single cutscene. I eventually just got rid of them to buy a new copy of Halo 3, the space opera. Not science fiction, A FREAKING SPACE OPERA. Space opera, as in Star Wars.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Mass Effect
One for the Ages
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/14
Egon
Location: Orlando, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is by far one of my most favorite games. I have personally played it at least 10 times all the way through and I'm only just now starting to get tired of it. It's not the best game in the franchise, but it is a solid game that will give gamers of all types a great overall experience.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 20 for Mass Effect
Explore new and intense worlds.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/13/11
Kasrkin
Location: Kindred,ND
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is one of the best role playing games. The characters have there own personality and abilities. The story was amazing. First you find out why a robotic AI army is attacking a human colony after they find an ancient device made by an advanced race. After that the story gets even more vivid and exciting, from fighting/saving and extinct race of bugs to crushing a traitor. I love the graphics, although not the best they still bring out the game's atmosphere. The weapons are amazing, you can upgrade a pistol to do a snipers job,if you are good at aiming. You can use biotics to help push and move things, preferably throw at the enemy. The cutscenes are absolutely beautiful, from talking to huge explosions from space fights, they are just amazing. The driving, I admit, is suckish. All you do is flop around and hope you don't go off a cliff or in molten lava. I reccomend this game to anyone that wants a good long story and to casual gamers.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>