GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Too Human

Step into the world of "Too Human," the third-person epic action game from renowned Canadian developer Silicon Knights. As the cybernetic god Baldur, players are thrust into the midst of an ongoing battle that threatens the existence of mankind. An ancient machine presence has forced the gods' hand, and now Baldur is charged with defending humanity from an onslaught of monstrous war machines bent on the eradication of human life.
Average Customer Rating:
7.444
7.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (297 reviews)
10 stars
32
9 stars
27
8 stars
20
7 stars
6
6 stars
3
5 stars
2
4 stars
7
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
8
85 out of 11574%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Too Human
Review 1 for Too Human
Get This
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/11
EROCK1
Location: North Carolina
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
In this game you have levels instead of missions. You can create your own character and use it throughout the game. I highly recommend this game.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Too Human
Well
Posted on:7/19/08
Lawgiva
I've played through the demo 3 times now. It's above average, but it's not exactly the best game ever. The graphics are really good looking, and the camera angles are weird at first but become cool and give a cinematic feel to the levels. And although the camera angle may seem like a cinematic you can sometimes control Balder which I thought was cool. Targeting was a little sluggish especially with the pistols and it can sometimes feel like a hack and slasher but sometimes you have to think of which enemy to attack next or you will get mauled. Although it makes the game a little easier I liked starting back at the end of the hall after death instead of loading up a save point and killing all the enemies again. Plus the death scenes are sweet but a bit too long so you have to wait a while after you die, but not long. The voice acting is really nice and sounds great. Although there's no coop yet over live, I'm thinking that will make the game fun to play with your friends as a team.
Review 3 for Too Human
Pretty freakin good, not up to hype, but pretty freakin good...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/22/08
BlueShadow04
Okay, I knew that there was a lot of hype around the game but I prepared myself for the worst. I'm not one that foolheartedly throws myself into hype. But the game was a lot better than I expected it to be. While controls have some room for improvement, the game is good. That's why they have two other games to make and I'm sure they can improve more. When I say controls, I mean the aiming feature with guns. My biggest gripe is whenever you die, you have to sit through a 3 minute sequence of "rebirth' which gets annoying after a while since you will be dying a LOT! But there is no limit to how many times you die so I can overlook it. But this game plays a lot like WOW so if you like the style of WOW, I'd definitely pick this up. I know one of the guys below me gave this game a 1/10, but I'd say if you did rent it like he said, you'll probably find yourself about to buy it soon. Aside from its flaws, this game had my heart won at the hack and slash action of Dynasty Warriors.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for Too Human
Like Nothing Offered on the Consol
Posted on:7/22/08
Kallen Paddock
The Demo is out now available to Gold and Silver Live subscribers. The game your first time through will seem a little meh. Once you go a second time and start to see the strategy and potential the game really starts to explode. For instance an early example is having two rocket goblins and a big troll. You can try to kill the troll but you will have to shoot it since if you try to mount it for a quick kill you will be knocked off by rockets. So instead you want to take out the two rocket goblins and then mount and kill the troll. This is early play but the enemies will always scale at you and add in tons more types of enemies and 20+ status effects and you actually have a deep combat experience. The right stick combat is brilliant and truly skilled players will get the most out of the system. The timed arenas are a blast and the items are amazing in look and reward in damage potential. Go check out the demo play it a couple times and search around for it but you can actually play all the classes.
Review 5 for Too Human
Misunderstood
Posted on:8/7/08
Anonymous
This game is very misunderstood. First of all, the game has NOT been in development for 10 years. It has merely been an idea. It was pushed back farther and farther by Nintendo and Microsoft. These companies made Silicon Knights work on other games so they had no time for Too Human. A 10 hour long story is sufficient. If I wanted a 20+ hour long story I'd buy a JRPG. Plus, online co-op is a main part of the game. Only 2 players? If you have played the demo you can already sense that this game would be way too laggy and easy for 4 players. All the buffs that 4 players would bring into the game could have you chewing through anything in a very, very short time. Also, this game is unlike any other. It's combat is way different than most other RPGs and people still say it sucks because it isn't like DMC or God of War. Most of the people who complain about the combat and camera have only played the demo once and didn't fully grasp the whole arsenal of skills at your disposal.
Review 6 for Too Human
A pretty good DIablo like port...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/10
Edmunt
Because really, thats what it is. Too Human is a good game, the main reason most people hate this game is either because they had expectations that were too high because of its long production time. Or they're just little kids that never played Diablo. Essentially if you port the controls from Diablo for PC to the 360 this is what you get. And its not bad. Once you learn how to play the game killing things is fun. You actually feel powerful taking on swarms and swarms of enemies. Most of all there is just a ton of loot which is always a good thing. Character progression is also good, you have two trees to invest in. Cybernetic and Human, each one has something beneficial for different classes and its very well balanced. The only problem is the story and length. Its really short and doesn't really have an ending. This is due to the fact that they expected to make it a series but unfortunately no one bought it to that my not happen. Either way if you liked Diablo you may like this game and i suggest it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Too Human
Worth the wait
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/08
alphawolf423
For a few years now I have had my eye on this game, I had some high hopes for it but I did not want to get my hopes up. Now that the game has been released I am happy that I took that approach, the game is good and really enjoyable. I will say that if someone is looking to nit-pick at this game they will find it's short comings. For example the controls don't respond in the way that they are expected on occasion and the idea of leaving the camera with limited adjustment is a little annoying and takes getting use too. The game has it's issues but altogether I have enjoyed it, the environments are glorious, the story tries to keep you involved just as much as the gameplay, and the customizing is awesome. It has all the rpg elements it needs and the action is there in full force, it is truely a good step in the right direction for this trilology. With the series starting out on a good foundation, the skies are truely the limit, when some of the short comings are addressed. I have high hopes for this series.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Too Human
Alot better than they want you to think
Posted on:7/23/08
Jedi32
I have been looking forward to this game. I have also wanted to play it before I bought it. After two worlds I have been very wary of new games promising too much. After playing the demo, I immediately preordered my copy. Too human is extremely fun. It may not be perfect in every area, but what game is. I have yet to see a game that no one finds a problem with. For me, if I have fun with a game and want to play it again, then it must be a decent game. Too human has a diablo 2 feel mixed with a devil may cry or god of war action. The camera and controls take a little getting used to. Also anyone looking for a CoD4 or Halo shooter should not look here. This game is more like a platform game that has RPG collecting and leveling mixed in. People that do not like those types of games will not like this game. However, for those that like that sort of game, Too Human is going to be an extremely fun and replayable experience. At least, I hope so. The demo has given me hope.
Review 9 for Too Human
Great Game, Solid Action, Fun Controls, Highly Replayable
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/23/08
BM
Picked this game up and was really surprised at how fun this game is to play. At first i was a little worried about it because of how simple the controls were and how few different attacks there are to choose from but playing it i realized that it was easy to fight but it was more difficult to master the fighting system, juggling and dashing between different enemies becomes very fun and addicting. CO-OP was even more fun the enemies would come out in much larger numbers and made the strategic elements that much more fun. There is solid action throughout the whole game and the level designs are excellent. They did a very good job of creating huge immersive environments while not making the levels so large that it takes forever to navigate them. The game is also very replayable and there are a countless number of weapons armor and runes to get to customize your character, and the story and personality of the characters are very high in energy, probably one of the best storylines i have played in a game so far.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Too Human
Lots of Hype but still a good game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/24/08
JasonSK
I have been interested in this game since they started showing videos. I do agree that it was hyped a lot, but it still is a concrete game, a little too short but if you enjoy Dungeon Crawlers (IE Phantasy Star, Diablo etc.) it's a good game. Boss battles are tough but not unbeatable. There are some minor glitches and YES you will die a lot. The learning curve might be steep but once you get used to it, you really do get the feeling of just dominating combat and once you have fought the bosses once you can just own them without dying much at all. The game has great replay value and I would say if you are hesitant to buy it, rent it first. This game is not for everyone but the story is great, just very brief. I am happy i got it cause i have a lot of fun with it, as i did with PSU, but let's hope the sequel will be longer. Story is top notch and the game play is good once you're used to it. My only major issues are the range targeting, and some sound glitches.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 11 for Too Human
Not a good play - Really
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/08
gamingdexter
So I started playing this game not too long ago, at first it seemed really good. Fun interface, pretty easy although the controls I think are horrible, but I'll get back to that. After the first hour or so, you get some of the story line and it seems normal, defeat the bad guys and win. Well after the first hour or so, you find out that this game is incredibly repetitive. You'll be defeating the same type of enemies over and over and over. Now to go back to the controls, well you use your right thumb stick to fight. What more can I say, the auto camera is not good either, it will spin you around until you defeat enemies; all the enemies. And the lock on is very sad because there is not. You can stay on an enemy for a while, but it will switch off at the worst times. The story line at the end is not great at all, none the near. The only good thing is that you don't die and you will a lot, and there is a somewhat large item gather. Besides that don't buy it!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 12 for Too Human
Short and Sweet
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/24/08
Ruetebah
I was excited for the release of Too Human and with the build up of hype and the pushed back release dates, I was looking forward to a well rounded game. After the demo released I was happy as a clam. This game seemed to be one with a good story, strong game play, and great replay value. Unfortunately, this was not it. The control schematic after about 3 hours of in-game play gets old real quick. Pushing the stick in the direction you want to attack does not make me feel as if I'm playing the game. Reading some of the other reviews, I do agree that you die a lot...I mean, A LOT! This wouldn't be as bad if you were able to speed through the "valkyerie" dragging you off to Vallhala or to your next life. The story is good, and would be willing to watch this if it was a movie or television show. But the story alone cannot carry this game to the end. So, just a little advice...do not buy this game. Do not rent this game. Save yourself the loads of frustration.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 13 for Too Human
Norse gods at their finest I think not...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/11
NewbornRiddler
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Plain and simple the controls sucked. The way you fight is almost annoying to the point you wana kick your tv in. You are Baldur a Norse God which is really cool and to see how they turned the mythology of Norse gods into a game. However, because of the controls I just couldnt get into the game. The graphics werent bad due to a large scale and having alot of enemies on screen at once, but still thought it couldve been done a little better. Overall the story wasnt bad, but a little hard to get into at first. You have the ability to customize your character through the levels which adds a good amount of fun. The downsize is once again the controls from changing from melee to range and using the analog stick to fight was frustrating. All in all if you can get past the controls its not a bad game, but if your like me and used to Darksiders, Fable, Zelda you probably wont like the fighting in this game which will play a big part on whether you own it or not.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Too Human
Too human...
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/21/08
Pinata Pillager
Too human.... What to say.... Iit definitely is unique. It was entertaining while it lasted. And though the levels can take a while to complete there are few. At first I admittedly enjoyed every aspect of the game. Yet, as I continued playing, I started to like it less and less. I mean this game has got some good qualities, but it gets old FAST. It got repetitive fast. Now, I won't play the game on purpose, and enjoy it. The game has a very odd story. Though, it's not very clear. It was obviously setting up for a sequel, but it kind of killed the game. Let's put aside the story and look at the game play. When you die, you go through this 1-3 minute respawn video that happens EVERY TIME you die. This "Valkryie" comes down from the sky slowly and picks you up from the ground and goes back to the sky. Then you respawn in the relative area. And every time you die you lose some armor strength. I wouldn't suggest this to someone I know, it's too short, too repetitive, and too irritating. I would suggest this as a rent at most.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 15 for Too Human
I liked it
Posted on:7/20/08
AhelpingHand
I have never played an rpg because I am a diehard fps fan. So, when I heard about this game, I didn't think about even trying it, but with people saying it was really good, I decided to try it out myself. The first thing I noticed was how beautiful the graphics were and it almost looks like you are watching a movie. The second thing is the storyline. The storyliine was actually really good and got me hooked into the game, it's a great bonus to the game. The last thing, which is the most controversial, is the combat. The combat with the right stick does feel strange, but I found easy to use after the first 5 minutes and also was glad they used the right stick. The right stick made it different from button smashing, it made it different from other games, which I liked. Also, I would just like to point out that this is just from the demo and I think that the game could possibly get a 9.5 out of ten (depending on the controversy over the combat system).
Review 16 for Too Human
Just missed the mark.....
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/23/09
bigangrynate
Too Human is a ridiculously fun dungeon-crawler that has it's faults, but for all of them you can't deny the fun that comes with laying waste to 1000s of enemies with 200 even 300 hit melee and gun combos accompanied by your spells. The story is absurd and Baldur, the protagonist, is a whinny sissy but, you control how your hack-n-slash hero turns out. Right down to color schemes! There are plenty of balance issues within in the character classes and sometimes locking to the wrong emeny can be frustrating, some have complained of camera issues but with the sheer amount of havoc on-screen what'd you expect? If your looking for the next Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance or a Diablo II-clone; Too Human doesn't miss the mark (at least in terms of of leveling and looting) by much. If your looking for looking for a pitch perfect action/rpg for this generation of consoles then, Too Human might not be your cup of tea. Yet, for all it's problems looting and leveling hasn't been done this well on ANY console for this generation of games.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 17 for Too Human
Expect major bugs and problems
Posted on:7/19/07
A Customer
This game really doesn't look very unique or original. We've all played this style of game before and all it brings to the table are new graphics. They're also trying too hard to get peoples' attention by comparing it to Star Wars and Lord of the Rings. Too Human just doesn't look anywhere near that level of talent. Silicon Knights, the developer of Too Human, recently filed a lawsuit against the maker of the engine they're using (Unreal Engine 3) and is seeking to pretty much steal the engine away due to their lack of success and issues making their games. This sends up a bright red flag to avoid Too Human because the developer openly admits to having problems bringing the game together. I think anyone that buys this title will quickly grow tired of show stopping bugs and probably deep plot holes. You're better off looking for other big name Xbox 360 titles. I also don't like how they're assuming this game is going to be good enough for a trilogy.
Review 18 for Too Human
Great Game Mass Effect meets Dynasty Warriors and DMC4
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/08
TigerMonkey1
Too Human is not your average game. It links RPG and action elements together in a way that is engaging, adding depth to the gaming experience. So far the graphics and sound are fantastic and the storyline (although it requires that you read the manual to fully understand what's happening) is very compelling. The skills are intriguing and be able to start with one of five different character will make replayability interesting. I'd play just to see how they adapt the different skills for each class. The only challenge I have with the game is that the right joystick is used to attack instead of change camera angles. That's my fault because I am so used to FPS style games. I often end up attacking when I'm just trying see the phenomenal backgrounds. The scenery is incredible on HD. It would probably be a tad frustrating to play on standard definition television. If you like action and RPG I think this game will be a great addition to your library.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Too Human
Its Phantasy Star
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/23/08
Face Explosion
I picked this up on launch day and was excited to see if the ten years in the making was worth it, well it wasn't. The game highly resembles Phantasy Star Universe in many ways. First is the "goblins" the generic enemy, these goblins look VERY identical to the robotic enemies in PSU. Second is the "Blue Prints" you pick up that allow you to craft weapons, these Blue Prints are the same as "Boards" in PSU except less complicated, to craft these weapons you just need money that's it, in PSU you need to get Ingredients and Photons to pick the attributes and colors for the weapon this is called Synthesizing in Too Human its called crafting and instead of adding ingredients and photons you add Runes to add colors and attributes, there is more but its not worth mentioning. Overall this game rips off PSU in the same action rpg way but the combat is more fun but not very intuative, the graphics are grainy on everything, and the camera blows, i only recommend this game to two friends who dont play PSU anymore cause its too expensive.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 20 for Too Human
Awesome
Posted on:8/19/08
Demonbane 94
Before the demo was even out I had been excited about this game but then my buddy told me about the demo and once I played that I went to the store that day and ordered it. graphics aren't bad at all (although some of the npc's don't have a whole lot of facial structure, or so it seems) and the gameplay is completely new and i personally think (after a couple times through the demo) that the right stick melee is a useful tool seeing as it gives a certain sense of strategy to it. Hopefully there are many locales besides the temple from the demo and, speaking of, the openness of the rooms are great with a good variation of layouts. As for the Cyberworld, it is yet to be seen if it will play a huge part. I am hoping (although it might be in the later installments, this being a three-part story) that the NORNS will be trouble and you will be able to do some serious whooping with the powers you get there. All in all, this game is going to be AWESOME!
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>