GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Sims 2: Castaway

Help your Sims build a life from scratch after washing ashore on a deserted tropical island.Overcome the forces of nature to help them become the ultimate survivors and thrive in thisundiscovered paradise while unearthing clues that will lead them back to civilization. Build shelters,craft unique items, and discover many useful treasures and ancient mysteries hidden deep within adiverse jungle environment filled with plants, fruits, and even wildlife. Your Sims change as theytake on the challenges of island life and learn to survive in style. Create a new life for your Sims onan uncharted island in The Sims 2 Castaway.
Average Customer Rating:
7.647
7.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
1
8 stars
3
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
13 out of 1776%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Sims 2: Castaway
Review 1 for The Sims 2: Castaway
Fun game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/09
TXgrL23
I love all the sims games and have been playing them since I could remember. Sims castaway is a fun different turn on sims. Your lost on an island all by yourself. You have to gather resources (gather as many and as much as u can you will need them) to survive. And eventually you run into other people who were shipwrecked also. When you do this its best to build a fire and declare this your "home" that way you can invite others to stay there and be in your tribe. ANd then everyone will have a job. That way it's not so hard to gather resources by yourself. After you play the game a little while you will get the hang of how to do it. And what's the best way to build. You can also fish. Fishing can only be done after you craft a fishing pole. The best way to fish is to wait until they are about to pass you then spear them. I have found that out. I only wish the graphics were better. But we can't blame the game for that. Great game i would recommend it to anyone (im 23)!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Sims 2: Castaway
It was adventurous and had a purpose.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/11
Janie
Location: Wartburg,Tn
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I loved this game! I just wish they would make more for wii in this line, like lost in a jungle or something. I have played it many, many times and it hasn't gotten old yet. You can be so many different characters and have one, two or even 5 members. Each time you find new things you missed the other time it is sooo cool. The monkeys do get on your nerves hollering but I just turn the sound down (I can't understand their language anyway.lol It is a great past time game and I would recommend it to every body and like I said I am hoping for another one like
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
16 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
theycallmewise
 
Please wait while more information about theycallmewise is loaded.
Additional information about theycallmewise could not be loaded.
Posted 2/3/12
I have played it be for and i lost it but it was funner than any outher sims game i have ever had. I just wish they made it for x-box 360
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for The Sims 2: Castaway
Horrible Game
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/08
big ern
Seeing a sims game (other than sims pets) come out for the wii, I got very excited. I bought this game thinking that it would be like any other sims game that i'd played before on the PS2 (like sims and sims 2). I was way wrong. The graphics are the exact same, but the storyline is that you and your "crew" get ship wrecked. You start off with only one sim but you must find your other "mateys" while surviving on the island, providing yourself with food and shelter. It takes forever to load which gets very irritating after a while. Also, you have to find your objects, and fishing is nearly impossible. Everytime you go to another location or try to gain food you get very tired and must sleep. Once you do find the other sims, it is really hard to switch sims because first you have to find them at a random location and then switch while in the same area as them. Also, building a fairly large house is very difficult because you have to find A LOT of items. I highly recommend NOT buying this game. Seriously. Please don't
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Sims 2: Castaway
Great Game, Good for All Ages, and Interactive.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/10
Adrie
Location: Johnson City, TN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a fun game for all ages, you can create your own customized characters (Maybe someone you know? Or someone out of your imagination). The sounds make it seem like you are on your own island with the sounds of birds and more. You can also choose how many people are in your crew. With only one it is slightly harder and more challenging. After beating the game on pure skill once I decieded to just get cheat codes. More fun this way. I would def. recommend!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Sims 2: Castaway
If you like Sims console games, this is for you
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/08
Itoeye
This game is like the Sims 2 console game with a twist, but I enjoyed it. It is addicting and entertaining. You create a crew that gets shipwrecked and you can find them throughout the islands and create a tribe. Or you can just create yourself and have a tribe of one. I thought it was fun to be able to sit back, explore places including caves and volcanoes. The background is unique too and the controls were not that hard to figure out. If you love the Sims games, then you will love this one. It is one of my favorite Sims console games. Another cool thing is that you can make new clothes with the items you find (e.g., leaves and vines). Like the regular Sims games, this game does give tasks for your sims to complete in order to advance in the game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Sims 2: Castaway
Good in it's class, bad overall.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/08
Ashley Marie
I am one of the biggest Sims 2 fanatics you will find, but I thought this game was just horrid. I play the Sims 2 when I want to relax and wind down a little; it's a very soft-core game and a nice little play when it's on the PC. The key phrase there was PC. Most of the people I know agree with me on this one: the Sims 2 games for the consoles are not very good. You're very limited with customization options, and there is virtually no free play mode. I will admit, Sims 2: Castaway was probably the best Sims game on console, but it was nothing compared to PC. Its pretty difficult to get the hang of the controls, and there are a couple of annoying glitches in this game. It is a pretty challenging game, and that's fine for the first couple of challenges, but then they just get ridiculous. The graphics, oh don't even get me started on those. I know consoles are usually hard to make graphics for, but they definitely could have done better.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Sims 2: Castaway
The Only Good Sims Console Game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/10
A-man67
This is the only good sims console game. It has good graphics and good gameplay. The only bad thing is you can't get married (but it makes sense since there on a deserted island). This is a good sims game suited for a younger child, since it has no "woohoo". This game teaches children basic survival skills such as food gathering.And this game is fun, you can make your own clothes, build a shelter, regroup with members feom the boat crash. Of course, the sims in the game still speak "simlish". The only problem with this game is it has a pretty limited amount of clothing, though this game gives you option to roam around the whole place, unlike other sims console games, were you have too stay in your house the whole game. This game is very realistic. After a while, there cloths tear and they will grow facial hair, and if they all ready have facil hair, it will just go all wild. This game is really fun because you can build the houses and set it up like a tropical getaway. I mean, really, you can build huge places and keep your nice and cozy. You can find your shipmates and form a tribe and asign jobs to them. Here is the list; Hunter, cooker, gatherer. Their are a few more, but I can't remember them. This game has alot of educational value as well as hours of entertainment. And to make the game sound even better, all the other sims console games stink. One thing different on this game is you can't have children, which would cool. Because if they did that then you could have a whole colony. This game is the bomb! There is no way really that you could improve this game. Although the responsivness sometimes can be questionable. Well, listing all the good things about this game would be endless, so I am going to wrap it up here. I hope I helped with this review!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
13 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Sims 2: Castaway
WAY better than the DS games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/7/10
toughgamer98
Location: NC
I have to say, i was VERY disappointed with the DS versions of the sims. I bought this one because i thought it looked good and I was absolutely right. I LOVE this one. I just think its really cool (Especially because i leave my enemies out of the food and let them die!) i mean i love the killing people aspect of this game. if you look on you tube you can find like 50 videos on sims torture. I did that on the Wii. this is one of the ONLY games off of the computer that i like with sims 2. Nice job.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Sims 2: Castaway
THE BEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!MORE FOR KIDS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/10
embugsarbear
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
this is game is the best out of the sims i played it for five hours starit this game is the top game in the world it is more for kids then teens this game rocks peace
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Sims 2: Castaway
the sims fan
Posted on:8/24/07
j
i think this is going to be good especially fot the wii i love the sims and im a sims freak there hasnt been a sims game that was bad and thats it and it probably worth buying
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Sims 2: Castaway
Ok Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/09
Chubzter
I liked this game the first time i played it through, and i was very impressed by it. My 11 year old sister had a very fun time with it also. But after that first time of playing it, i got bored with it almost instantly. One main thing i really enjoyed about this game was that it had a large amount of variety in food, and building materials. But on the other hand, the game was really lacking in updated graphix. The thing that really made me mad was that the game can only have one profile. This really bugged me, because when i wanted to start again, i didnt neccissarily want to get rid of my first character. This is my first sims game, so i have nothing to compare it to. But over all, the game was fun, the story was good, and i am happy i baught it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Sims 2: Castaway
a new home away from (yet in your)home
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/19/14
sugargamer
Location: ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
what is there to say about the sims 2 castaway? well, this game has created a world unlike the usual norm for the sims. this game gives you the fun of being on a deserted island away from civilization. not only do you get to make homes, you get an adventure filled with exploration of not only one, but three islands. thrive alone, or with up to five sims. wheather your goal is to thrive or to escape, this game is enjoyable for everyone with an adventurous heart
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 13 for The Sims 2: Castaway
Fun to build a house on a island
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/12
vrsoccergirl
Location: Michigan
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is a whole lot better than sims 3 for wii the graphics are better, and is more fun because you are ship wrecked and have to find a way to survive with the things around you. Got to have this game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Sims 2: Castaway
Its ok at first but it gets repetitive and boring.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/9/10
paige
Location: Livingston,NJ
when i bought the game i loved it and played it often; the grafics are just like the regular sims games and there is alot to do. but the onlything is i dont like to play it anymore. the story is the same everytime and it is repetitive. if you MUST have this game buy it preowned or something but it is not worth your time and money. buy the regular sims games im selling mine.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Sims 2: Castaway
It not that great
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/12
Emily1522
Location: Florida,Fl
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It a good game but it can get tricky and really slow.I would recommended it if you are the type that not very active and have pensions.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Sims 2: Castaway
Lol
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/12
NekoNeko17
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i got this game a long,long time ago i remembered.... i got attacked by monkeys...lol(if you befriend them they may attack you)
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The Sims 2: Castaway
pretty good!!!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/10
addictgamer
Location: noyb
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I like the gameplay and the graphics and how you make all different kinds of things but it takes a long time to find out what to do next and to beat the game so it can get boring in beweten that time.=(
 
My Product Recommendations
 
MAG
8.3 out of 10(563)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The Sims 2: Castaway
sims
Posted on:10/14/07
j.m.
I'm not sure but when i saw it on the computer i thought it would be cool to play it wii style to see how it feels to play another sims game system because i have urbz sims for playstation 2 and that version is awesome but for wii it better be better then all of the sims games. for a word of advice by what their telling me i feel like its going to wack to if i were you i would get sims for the wii.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Sims 2: Castaway
i dont know
Posted on:10/11/07
Sim Fan
Im not sure about this game...None of the Sims games are the same when they arent on the computer. You cant do as much as you would usally do if you had the Sims for the computer. I think this game will be the same a Sims 2 Bon Voyage but worse. I have the Sims for Playstation 2 and it is not the same as the computers just like the Sims games for the Nitendo Ds.
Review 20 for The Sims 2: Castaway
I can't wait
Posted on:9/18/07
A Customer
I love all the other Sims I've played(some more than others) and I just recently purchased My Sims which I haven't had a chance to play yet. Sims Castaway looks like its going to have some of the interactions which made original Sims so much fun. I looked forward to it and already have it on reserves.
1 2 next>>