GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mario Kart Wii

Your favorite go-kart racing circuit is finally coming to the Wii. Just snap your Wii remote into the included steering wheel, and you're ready to enjoy classic Mario racing circuits, as well as plenty of new ones, with your old friends Mario, Luigi, Princess Peach, Wario, Yoshi, Donkey Kong, Toad, Bowser and more. Pick up coins and Koopa shells along the way to increase your speed or blow your opponents off of the track.
Average Customer Rating:
9.24
9.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (413 reviews)
10 stars
164
9 stars
66
8 stars
19
7 stars
4
6 stars
3
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
250 out of 26794%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mario Kart Wii
Review 1 for Mario Kart Wii
Great Game to Play With Others
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/1/11
YSKJustin
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Mario Kart Wii is a very good game. I would say that the single player mode can get a little boring after you have unlocked everything. However, there is a mode where you can play people online. You can friend people and even talk to them in a private room. You get a code (0000-0000-0000) and you can give it to a friend and battle each other in the comfort of your own homes. There are 2 types of gameplay. One is a classic race, and the other is a battle. In a race, you just try to be the 1st place winner after 3 laps are over. This mode would get boring if it didn't have some twist, right? Well as all mario games do, it does. They have crazy speed bumps, short cuts, and classic mario items. The items will apear to be better the worse your doing. So lets say I was in 1st. I would get something like a banana peal to drop. But if I was in 12th place, (last) I would get something like a bullet bill to bring me a lot closer to the opponents. I would say the items make this game worth playing. In battle mode, you will rotate from balloon battle, to coin battle. In balloon battle, you have to hit the opponents as many times as possible. Every hit is 1 point. You get 3 balloons. each time you get hit, you will lose 1 of your balloons. If you lose all 3, you get a new set of balloons, and get -1 point. You can not go negative though. (0-1=0) There is much more to learn about this game. I am not going to go any further and just say, this game is a lot of fun if you have WiFi in addition.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Mario Kart Wii
Cool and fast.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/10/11
Lucario32
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is the best (for me) game of go-karts. It is easy to learn and it is challenging and it has the best charachters from toadette and dry bones to funky kong and bowser jr. The only trouble is that sometimes the wiiwheel is hard to control and the most of people preferr other controls. Aside from that, it is a good game.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mario Kart Wii
Everyone loves MK Wii!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/12
MetaTheKnight
Location: New Haven, CT
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is accesible by anyone from age 0 to age 00 (Infinity). The only bad thing about this game is that there are a billion glitches that are either helpful or hindering.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
My Video of a glitch that is helpful
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Wii Big Super Shell Classic Grip
9.7 out of 10(7)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mario Kart Wii
AWESOME!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/7/11
pokeman4512
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Mario Kart Wii is the best racing game on the Wii, period. The graphics and sound are great, and playing with the Wii Wheel makes it feel like you're really driving (sort of). They still have Retro Cups with stages from the original Mario Kart, the DS version, the N64 version, and the Gamecube version. It also has brand new courses and battle stages! Battle mode is either Coin or Balloon Battle. You can race and battle via Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection against REAL people, not CPUs. The controls are the best! Playing with the Wii Wheel is the most fun, but you can also play with the Wii remote and Nunchuk, Classic controller, or the Gamecube controller. The best part of Mario Kart Wii is that now Nintendo has added BIKES to the vehicle line-up!! You can do wheelies with bikes to go faster than you normally can. I think this game appeals most to anyone. Whether you are a hardcore gamer or one who only plays once in a while or at parties, this is a game for you. 10 out of 10.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mario Kart Wii
my favorite game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/3/08
Nickmister
When I first heard of this game I thought back to the old gamecube version. It used to be my favorite video game. I then realized how much better this version had to be because of the new wii wheel. The old version was pretty good but this one was even better. The controls work amazingly as long as you are a skilled driver! But one of my favorite features is that you can also play without the wheel. You can play with just a wii remote or a classic controller. You can even play with a gamecube controller. So now you don't have to waste money on a wheel. Sound and music was pretty good. The music can get boring after a while but I don't really care. The graphics were just stunning. It's just so good, that I can barely explain it. Challenge is great. They just got it right. It's not too hard or easy interface! You don't have to ask!!There is a good amount of vehicles and tracks in this game. In conclusion, I really love this game and I definitely recommend this game to people of all ages.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Mario Kart Wii
Ture to the Series
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/08
vader6185
I wasn't quite sure what to expect when i opened up Mario Kart Wii. Since Mario Kart on the NES this has been a favorite series of mine. Mario Kart 64 was a whole new level in graphical improvement. My friends and I spent many hours shouting about how the race was so close or how the other was a complete jerk for shooting that red shell at the end of the race, this is basically the essence of what the Mario Kart is all about. Mario Kart Wii Isn't a graphical powerhouse of a game, but it shines in it's own way. The wheel which comes prepackaged with the game is very easy to use and the controls are reasonable. It takes some time at first to get used to the way you turn, but it grows on you. The tracks in the game are varied and add challenges to the race that help keep things fresh and exciting and the WFC feature in the game spices things up as well. With the ability to download ghost data from the top racer's from around the world and online racing this game will live for a long time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Mario Kart Wii
Good old Mariokart
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/7/09
nomas14
This game is a really great game to have. It never gets boring and theres is always something new to try or somones record to beat. The game is really fun for any kind of gamer at any age. Ive found adults sometimes like to play it and little kids love this game. The online play is great, you can choose to play with people from around the world or people closer to you or even just people you've registered as wii friends. You can battle or race people from around the world, and there are tournaments to compete in which i haven't participated in but Ihear its fun and i've watched people play it and it looks fun. There are time trials where you can try to beat people's records or beat your own record. The controls are great because you can choose from a couple different ways to control your racer like the wii wheel, the gamecube controller, or the classic controller depending on your reference. Overall a great game and i definitely recommend it to any fan of mariokart or racing games.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 8 for Mario Kart Wii
Can't Wait 3 weeks 21 days left!
Posted on:4/6/08
MARIOKARTWiiFanatic08
I can't tell anyone how excited I am about this game, it's going to be the best out of the series. I want to play online races and battle mode. I can't wait to use the Wii Wheel so I can feel like I am actually racing and feel like I am driving a car. The are 16 new course and 16 old course that are revamped. I really like the single player Idea , I think it was cool to have double kart in one series but back to single karts is good I prefer it when I was playing MK64. I like that there is 12 player battle mode online & that u are on 1 team of 6. I think I will be Mario for the first time because Mario is my favorite character for Nintendo. There are so many different ways of playing gamecube, classic controller, wii remote & wii remote & nunchuk and then of course the Wii Wheel. I am hoping I can unlock all the characters and Karts within a week because I was able to with double dash. bottom line is I can't wait for this game and so isn't everyone else. Best Mario Kart game out of the Wii!
Review 9 for Mario Kart Wii
A perfect game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/10
sonicfan2010
Mario Kart Wii is one of the best Mario's games.The playable characters are Mario,Luigi,Peach,Daisy,Yoshi,Baby Mario,Baby Luigi,Wario,Waluigi,Rosalina,Baby Peach,Baby Daisy, Donkey Kong,Diddy Kong,Funky Kong,Birdo,Dry Bones,Koopa,Bowser,Bowser Jr.,King Boo,Toad,Toadette and Dry Bowser.Over 32 courses 16 Wii courses and 16 classic courses from NES,SNES,N64,NGC,GB and NDS.Choise kart or bike.The controls are the Wii Wheel,Wii Remote and Nunchuk,GameCube Controler and Classic Controler.The courses are awsome.A big variety of karts and bikes.12 players in race.Various modes like Grand Prix,Time Trials and more.The best racers are Mario,Luigi,Baby Mario,Baby Luigi and Yoshi.Use items like the star,bullet bill,red shell,green shell,mushroom,bomb-omb and new items like mega mushroom and more.This is the best racing game of all time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mario Kart Wii
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/6/12
snoopdog53
Location: PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Mario Kart Wii is a awesome game lots of characters, tracks, power ups and items. There are eight different cups which each consist of four tracks each the cups are shell cup, star cup, mushroom cup, special cup, lighting cup, banana cup, flower cup and leaf cup. You will have to unlock some of the cups by winning the Grand Prix races you can also unlock some characters that way. Other ways to unlock characters is time trials and battles. The items/power ups are Banana Peels, Green Turtle Shells, Red Turtle Shells, Bullet Bill, Mushrooms, Mega Mushrooms, Stars, POW Blocks, Lighting Cloud, Golden Mushrooms, Bloopers, Fake Item Boxes, Bomb-Ombs, Spiny Shells and Lighting. There are 24 selectable Nintendo characters, more than any of its predecessors. In addition, there are twelve character variants (3 weight classes, 2 genders, 2 Mii outfits) and there are a total of 36 vehicles. If you like Mario games and racing games this is a perfect game for you.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mario Kart Wii
a MUST for the Wii
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/1/09
shannonxjo
Now that I own Mario Cart, other games for the Wii seem extremely dull and boring by comparison. The controls for this game are smooth and it operates very well. The voice over things for each character and funny and quirky. Not only are the later courses challenging, you will want to play the beginner courses again and again as well. The online wi-fi connect is just a tad disappointing, and so are the choices for carts, but other than that I think the people who worked on this game did an excellent job. The graphics are amazing to me personally, and it loads fast. I think the only sad downside, is your thumb will hurt like crazy if you play for too long. if you start to get a button imprint in your finger, you know its time to take a break. If you are thinking about getting this game for the Wii, go ahead and get it. And get another wheel too. Even though that extra wheel from gamestop isn't a complete wheel, it doesn't matter, you aren't going to be holding that part anyway.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Mario Kart Wii
Pure Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/3/08
Blahson
This game is incredibly awesome just as the title says. I was so excited the day I got it, I nearly jumped out of my skin because I was so happy. I thought it was going to be a great game. I was wrong. It was more than just a great game. It was an incredible and the most enjoyable experience I've had on a console for a while. While the game itself is good, you are going to love the online feature. Everyone says it's good, and trust me, it is. I'll leave it to you to find out what I mean. In addition, you can use just about any kind of controller that fits you, (mine is the Nunchuck and the Wii Remote, or the Wii Wheel.) and they all work really well. There will always be new courses to play, as well as some old ones that got remixed. (Bowser's Castle and Rainbow Road for example.) Of course, there are some that haven't been changed at all, so you can play your favorite courses on the game. There's really nothing that's that bad on this game, so get it now if you have a Wii!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Mario Kart Wii
If you like mario kart for ds, you love mario kart wii
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/08
Juan V.
I think that mario kart wii is the best mario game. The challenge starts a little easy, but after you unlock new worlds, it gets more challenging. I think the controls are the most awesome because you use the wii wheel and it feels like you're actually driving the kart in the game. The graphics are good because it's not to detailed, but it is not to simple, it is just in the middle. I think they did a good job with interface. I like the sound of the game. The game has good sound affects and just the sound itself is great. I think the track variety was awesome because it had some easy tracks, medium tracks, hard tracks, and just plain cool tracks. I like the vehicle customization. They made it kart the characters personality and like you'll know its that persons kart. I like the vehicle variety. It had many karts to choose from and there are a lot of characters, so there are millions of karts. If you liked Mario Kart for the ds, you'll love Mario Kart Wii ten times as much!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for Mario Kart Wii
The good and the bad
Posted on:4/28/08
Lumancer
First things first: do NOT buy this game if you like Mario Kart for battle mode. They have made DRASTIC changes to the battle system. All of the battle courses are immense, and all battles are 12 person team battle- any empty slots are filled by computers. I won't go into more detail; suffice to say, it's nothing like what we've seen in the past. Negativity out of the way, the racing is a lot of fun. All of the new courses are fast paced, crazy, challenging- and I haven't even unlocked the more difficult cups yet! I really enjoy the motorcycles, it adds a different element and a little more strategy to your choice of vehicle. If you're here to race, you're going to enjoy it. Oddly, all races are 12 person as well, once again filling the empty spaces with computers. Lastly, the wii wheel. Fisher-price jokes aside, it's pretty entertaining, and whereas it requires a little more attention I strongly recommend you give it a try. To all of you getting the game- happy racing!
Review 15 for Mario Kart Wii
Great Game!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/2/09
L The Gamer
Well let me start off with the challenge the challenge is pretty descent if its on 150cc or something like that. you can drive a car or a motorcycle with all of your favorite mario charecters. The graphics are great, they're like that 3d kinda graphics and they are very fair. The sound is very great i love the music it is catchy. There wasn't a customize a vehicle mode but you can pick from 6 vehicles to drive with one charecter so thats pretty cool. The controls are very basic and all you do is press 2 on your wii mote and press A with a gamecube ccontroller and A with the classic controller so yeah its very aggreable. Interface is pretty good. The track variety is nice because you unlock new cups and that means more Race Tracks. The vehicle variety is great i love the fact there is 6 different vehicles for just one charecter and that halps alot from the speeds to the turns to the turbo Iove it if you don't have it get it i definetly recmmend this video game to people.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Mario Kart Wii
Simple formula: Mario+wheels=$$$ and :)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/29/09
MadBird11
Yes Mario Kart. Boy, do I love Mario Kart. How much do I love Mario Kart? I bought the game in June, along with Brawl, and have since its been the most played game I own (I've got a 360 as well). The tracks are a plesent combination of new school (Mushroom Gorge, Moonview Highway) and old school (DK Mountain, Shy Guy Beach from the GBA). The karts are balanced for each size of character, and the idea of putting the Mii's in there was brilliant (but can be a little jarring when you relize they aren't the same cartoons as the rest of the cast.) The Wii wheel is the best part about this game. It really transitions nicely from turn to turn and adds a new bit of fun to it. And I love the idea of flips and spins to the game, it really helps and adds a new level of talent to the game. I've played every Mario Kart game ever made, and it always amazes me that nothing Nintendo does with this series is cheap or recycled. It's a brand new game each and every time, and I highly recommend finding out for yourself.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Mario Kart Wii
Just sayingwhat i think about it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/28/08
Ponchy A.L
I had reserved this game a month before it came out, and I wasn't too excited about it, but when I got it and its box and I put it in my wii and I started playing, I was amazed by it. I couldn't stop playing it. I was just so into it. The players are awesome (they could've added more) and the stages are awesome (would've been better with "Baby Park"). The thing I didn't really like about it is that there is not many vehicles. They should've added the players their own specific vehicles, but other than that the game is so amazing and when I beat the game I was like, what am I gonna do now? So I decided to race against ghost racers in time trials and I was entertained and then after that I was once again, what to do now? Then (me being all slow about it) I found out about the wifi play and after that I've just been hooked on wifi races trying to get as many points as I can. I would give this game a 10, but I still think that they could've done better but it's good too.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for Mario Kart Wii
Mario Kart Wii
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/08
Taylor90
I have been waiting for this game for a long time and it was worth the wait. The first thing you'll notice is it comes with the Wii Wheel which is great, and I prefer it instead of the wiimote and nunchuk, classic controller, or GC controller. The game play is smooth; not many glitches at all. The graphics are not the best, but still good. You get a nice variety of new tracks and old tracks, and a good selection of characters, but still feel like they could have added in a few more. The online play is fun as well; you can play up to 11 other people and choose between battle and vs. Only a few things I don't like about this game are you get hit with items like blooper and the blue turtle shell so often it gets a little annoying after awhile, and the the online play does lag at times, but it can be easy to look past those two things because this is still a great game. I recommend it whether it's your first time playing Mario Kart or you have been playing for years.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 19 for Mario Kart Wii
Kicking it old School
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/6/08
Thiele
Mario Kart was truley the first game to bring the whole family to the console( N64). And now the very same amazing game is back and at it again. with its gamecube version and ds version doing beautifully i had no doubt Nintendo would do a amazing job for their favorite system . with awesome graphics , good surround sound, cool vehicles and tracks what more can a nintendo fan really ask for. And this game did really do it again, i had all my buddys over and we played the game literaly all night and there wasnt a second of boredom . and its not just good for you and your friends . i had my family over for a grill out and all my brothers and sisters and even my 90 year old grandfather played it and they all loved it. So once again Nintendo you out did yourself. and that is why my hat goes off to you As always, Johnny Thiele
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 20 for Mario Kart Wii
Mario's Back at the Racetrack, With Style
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/9/08
Snowdog
Ah, Mario Kart. This fantastic racing series has always had a place in gaming history. Almost every release succeeds in changing the series in a positive way. Does the Wii version do the same? Most definitely, yes. One of the most notable changes is the motion-steering that comes with the Wii wheel. Included with the game, this plastic wheel actually allows the player to steer their vehicle by turning the Wiimote. Although, initially, it is difficult to learn, even the neediest of players will master it eventually. Still, the Wii wheel is not as accurate as a controller, which could be annoying when trying to perfect time trial runs. No fear, Nintendo decided to also allow players to use Gamecube controllers, which are even more precise than they were in MK: Double Dash. The Classic controller also works solidly, but the other options can be extremely annoying at times. I wouldn’t recommend any of them. Game mechanics work well in most areas. Physics are spot on, and even the items work well in single player. However, Karts are unbalanced, and some will never be able to win consistently as a result. Going along with this is the new vehicle option, the motorcycle. Motorcycles give up the ability to get large mini-turbos while drifting in order to gain the ability to do wheelies to gain speed on straight-aways. They control fine, although I found that some courses are better suited to them than others. One thing that was pulled off perfectly, however, was the trick system, which allows your racer to perform tricks after going over ramps for small speed boosts. This new game mechanic makes for some really exhilarating moments. The game’s battle mode is perhaps its most negative aspect. Rather than having 12 player free for all in balloon battles, you are put on teams of six. When your team makes a member of the other team lose a balloon, you gain a point. But the fact that you re-spawn after losing all of your balloons just doesn’t feel like past Mario Kart elimination-based battle modes. It is very disappointing. Also, Nintendo WFC one again shows its inability to handle large amounts of traffic with MK: Wii’s online play. Sure, twelve players and a fantastic point based ranking system make online play extremely fun. But lag makes item flawed in many matches. Other racers will randomly appear ahead of you at times, and red shells will explode for no reason. Still, online play is very entertaining. MK: Wii is graphically beautiful. Although character models may appear somewhat rough when looked at closely, courses and menus look amazing. Even courses from the Super Nes and N64 versions of Kart have been completely redone without losing their retro feel. Although they are not Super Mario Galaxy-esque, MK: Wii’s graphics are among the best on the Wii. Music is fantastic in this game, in both the courses and menus. Some courses actually have slight changes in music depending on where you are driving (such as when you are under water at Koopa Cape). Sound effects are exactly at the standard expected with past Mario Kart games, although having sound come out of the Wiimote’s speaker is a nice touch. As far as replay value goes, players won’t be disappointed. In order to unlock every character and vehicle, players must win single player trophies in every cup in every class. Although single player does get boring with the unskilled AI, it is redeemed with time trial mode. In time trial, players can race ghosts of players that have set world records, and even try to get on to regional and worldwide top ten lists themselves. With local multiplayer (as fun s ever) and online play, Mario Kart Wii can have you playing for months. Mario Kart Wii does indeed live up to its expectations. It can be enjoyed by new players or veterans (who will be delighted by some of the new characters) of all ages. I would recommend it to anyone who has ever enjoyed a Mario game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
60 of 71 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dkcharizard65
Santa fe, New Mexico
 
Please wait while more information about Dkcharizard65 is loaded.
Additional information about Dkcharizard65 could not be loaded.
WOW
Posted 7/26/11
Hi can you give me your friend code i want to play with you online to see if your a good or bad racer so bring it on
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 4 5 ... 21 next>>