GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NASCAR 09

Race your way with unprecedented adaptability and customization in NASCAR 09. As the sport's newest prodigy, NASCAR's four-time champion Jeff Gordon takes you under his wing and guides you through some of the key aspects of the game. Use his advice to your advantage when racing in an all-new Career mode or the Sprint Driver Challenges to earn reputation and become a NASCAR champion yourself. Create a racing credential, design a customized car, and get ready to race for premier contracts as you work your way to the top with NASCAR 09.
Average Customer Rating:
7.615
7.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
5
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
3
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 1362%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NASCAR 09
Review 1 for NASCAR 09
great for all ages.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/17/12
XxNot2dayxX
Location: Dunstable, MA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game has allowed me to fill my time after school racing against opponents fit to my standards. the game can be easily enjoyed by expert nascar racers or people who just want to win. the realistic graphics make for a great expirience. it is a fitting replacement for Nascar 2011 if you dont feel like spending the extra twenty dollars for that game. this version of nascar is just as good.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NASCAR 09
Better than 08
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/11
GameFan98
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game plays better but without manufactures the game doesn't look complete but a all around better career mode it makes the package feel more complete
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 3 for NASCAR 09
NASCAR 09
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/09
Spikerdude
When NASCAR 09 came out, I had no idea what to expect. On one hand, I knew that there have been many good games for the series. On the other, I knew 08 was a disaster. When I put it in, I really liked it. But it needs some work. I hate the lack of manufacturers in the game. They play such a big part in the sport, yet they are easily cut. The engines and overall sound seemed flat to me. Was expecting more from that. The 2 driving models are a Nice touch. This being my first game I would consider sim, it was nice starting easy, and working my way up. The paint booth is amazing. Only complaint is that I want to see everybody's custom schemes, no just my friends. Not happy again with the roster. They really need to license more drivers, and get rid of all the fake ones. Sprint challenges where fun. Own the track I felt was a bit over hyped. The career mode was great. This is a great start. But for NASCAR 2011, whoever makes it. It can definitely be improved.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NASCAR 09
a great game!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/2/09
windchaser45
I've played this game for a while and i think it is a great game with very good graphics for its time and has a great variety of tracks,cars, and customization. The tracks are all realisticly created in accordance to the real deal. The cars all have correct logos and detail. the replay value of this game is what makes it great. If you have a game that takes an hour to finish and starts over whats the point? This is a game that will bring you back wanting to play more, you can replay tracks with different outcomes every time you play. The overall value of this game is stupendous. When you play this game you will feel like your actually in the car racing. This racing experience most likely keep being a great seller for the time between it and the release of 2010. Even then it will probably sell great.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for NASCAR 09
Best Nascar game ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/08
PlaystationMan24
Nascar 09 is awesome! Jeff Gordon is your mentor, who guides you through the game with lots of helpful tips. They just made the game so much more user friendly this year. Aside from him being a mentor, there are two new driving styles: Normal and Pro. Normal is for beginners and Pro is for more experienced players. There's also a new paint booth this year where you can customize your own car any way you want. There are so many things to do in the game. There are Sprint Driver Challenges where you compete in lots of different challenges that are fun to play but difficult to beat. There's also a new career mode this year where you build your reputation by earning REP points to earn better sponsorships and even a contract offer from Jeff Gordon! The game has amazing graphics. It looks cool how Jeff was put into the game and the cars look great. I'm a huge fan of the soundtrack as well. Its a shame there isn't a multi-player offline though but its still the best Nascar game out there and I'd recommend it to anyone!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NASCAR 09
What Happened !?!?!?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/7/08
Toad32r
I have been a big fan of EA Nascar games for quite a long time, and for the most part, have been satisfied with the whole Nascar experience from EA. To give an idea of my level of interest to Nascar, i have SEVERAL die cast vehicles ( over 150 ), as well as a large Jeff Gordon tattoo that he actually autographed. So for me to be negative towards Nascar 09'... i can't believe it myself! Where to begin;... to get additional paint schemes for your favorite drivers, you have to purchase them in the Playstation Store, instead of opening them with accomplishments.The numbers that you can use when you create a car are again all in the 100's, not very realistic if you ask me. Another thing that makes the game very aggrivating is the amount of flags thrown during races, especially the black flags thrown for "bumping" during the race, which makes you have to do a drive through of pit lane. You go from top 10, to last place instantly. I played the game a total of 6-7 times, and got black flagged 8 times. For those of us that still believe in the theory of " rubbing is racing", NOT ANYMORE!! Something that adds to this frustration is that if you and another computer car are battling for a position, it acts as if it doesn't even know you are on the outside of them. The CPU cars keep the exact same path, giving you absolutely no room on the outside even to be 2 wide without slamming you into the wall. So as this happens, you get black flagged for being on the outside of another car... they run into you, but you pay the price! Playing against real players might be more fun, but i returned my copy to the store before i ever tried it. Rent it first.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NASCAR 09
For the true NASCAR fan
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/22/08
bsktballjd
I hadn't picked up a NASCAR game since NASCAR 06, but I had played a demo of this year's game and it looked interesting so I thought I would try it out. The graphics and sound for this game are very good, as should be expected for any next-gen game. It's hard to complain about the vehicle customization and variety because it is afterall a NASCAR game so it's not as though there are many vehicle options. They did leave out the ability to race for a certain vehicle manufacturer (i.e. Ford, Chevy, Dodge, Toyota) which is not a major flaw, but it is something I personally think they should have taken the time to insert into the game. The tracks are well designed and are obviously different from each other, a major improvement from the previous NASCAR games I have had experience with where all the 2 mile ovals raced the exact same way at the exact same speeds. Overall, NASCAR 09 is a very solid game, but it may be geared more toward a true fan of NASCAR than just the average gamer looking for a racing game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for NASCAR 09
Best Nascar Game Yet
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/08
PS3 Fanatic
This is the best Nascar game that EASPORTS has ever put in stores. The graphics are amazing. I am also happy because they changed the handling from Nascar 08. The sound is also great. The cars sound real. The cockpit view is also amazing. When you race in the Craftsman Truck Series the gauges light up. But there is one negative thing about the game. When you are racing and you have black flags turned on, be careful because they will black flag you if you bump a couple drivers. So keep your eyes open and the volumed turned up so you can hear your spotter at all times. I recommend this game for all race fans. When you first start your career, you start in the Craftsman Truck Series. You have to work your way up to the Sprint Cup Series. I hope this review has helped you decide whether to buy the game or not to buy the game. You will be truly amazed of how realistic and how much more fun the game is compared to Nascar 08.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for NASCAR 09
ITS OKAY, BUT BUY USED IF YOU CAN!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/08
DOLLAR80
Yea I would agree its allot better than 08 was its about time EA put out a decent Nascar game. The graphics are good, but the cars all look the same and the numbers are screwed up. I cant believe EA cant make a good Nascar game I will be glad when there contract is up. I personally think that they just don't care about the Nascar game when they make it and don't really look into exactly how Nascar is or how you can operate in Nascar do to the fact of the way the game is designed. I cant believe they still don't have a multilayer so you can race your friend or family when there at your house. I hope EA finally wakes up one day and makes this a good game its like they fixed the major problems from the 08 game but now the good things from the 08 game are the bad things now so its like you traded off the good and bad, what the crap is up with this up? I would recommend this game if you could buy it used because I have to agree with the other's it not worth new and it just isnt one of thus games you will want to play over,and over again even my dad who's 47 got tired of this game after a week of loaning it to him and he will play just about any thing but is up there with the big Nascar fans so for him to not want to keep it is bad. I hope one day that they can make a game for Nascar as good as the fans would like it to be and will listen to us. Until then happy driving and stay of the walls!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for NASCAR 09
$60 for a $9.99 game
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/23/08
Sports Fan Number One
I bought this game yesterday and I wish I would have selected the golf game instead. The black flags are crazy! And, do not get me thinking about the fact that you cannot play a multi-player game. Also, the custom car numbers are in the 100s, which is completely unrealistic. Easy mode is easy, but veteran mode leaves you spinning out of control! In career mode, the ride is based on your reputation, which is also crazy! And, if you happen to brake into a turn, everyone will pass you. If you cause a caution, the game will sometimes send you to the back of the pack. There are a few good things... The graphics are terrific, which is a HUGE advance from PS2 to PS3. If I had to recommend this game to someone, I would recommend it to people who love both a challenge and NASCAR.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 11 for NASCAR 09
WOW!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/08
SmokeFan20
This NASCAR game is the best put out in quite awhile. Unlike last year, you can actually "rub" other cars without damaging your car, the sound of the engine is more realistic, and the custom paint is really nice. I especially like the fact you start out you're racing career in the truck series and work your way up. Additionally, you don't stay with the same sponsors or race teams throughout the entire year at first. The first sponsor contract you sign might be for only three races and the first race team you sign with might only be for five races. The "reputation factor" is a nice addition, the more rep you build, the better sponsors and contracts become available. I think the best part of the game though is that it gives you an option of either driving with "normal" or "professional" controls. Driving under "normal" controls gives younger or inexperienced racers a chance to enjoy the game and be very competitive without worrying about track bar adjustments and gear ratios. However, the "professional" control gives the experienced NASCAR gamer the ultimate experience. Like I said, this is the best NASCAR game that has been put out in quite awhile.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for NASCAR 09
my review
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/08
JTB
Nascar 09 has a lot of good stuff going for it, like awesome graphics, wonderful car customization* , and two different types of car to drive. The in-game guidance by Jeff Gordon, even though I'm not a fan of his, is pretty good. You truly get the feel of setting up a car by setting literally every aspect and tweak-able part of the car. But one of the main things I don't like about 09 is that there is no visual difference, no name on the car or anything, between the different brands( Ford, Dodge, and Chevy) in any series. All cars in their respective series have the same grille, same hood structure, and everything like that. This eliminates the brand supremacy at different tracks, which takes away from the overall fun of the game. Another problem I found with the game is that it is difficult to navigate at first. I had to restart my profile twice because it does not auto save initially and it is difficult to find the save button at first, but that just may be my fault for having poor navigation skills. One final problem is that with SOOOO much to change and shift on the car, there may be too much for a beginner or even a veteran to know what to change. Overall, other than these minor flaws, Nascar 09 is a decent game and it will do for a year until Nascar 2010.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NASCAR 09
Great game!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/10/08
Ethan C.
This game is awesome!! Graphics and tracks are great. a huge improvement from last year's game. The car customization is amazing, since you can have whatever you want on your car. They do let you drive off of pit road for practice and qualifying. The burnouts create amazing smoke, you can't even see your car on the screen!! Last year, you couldn't even get smoke to come out from the car. Everyone knows that on all cars, it says "objects are closer than they appear", right?? Well when you look in the mirror on NASCAR 09, the cars look like they are so far away, but if you use the joystick to look at your car from the front, they are actually right behined you. Also if you hit someone, the won't hit you or wreck you right away. And there is black flags!!!! But no weather.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 14 for NASCAR 09
great game
Posted on:5/27/08
sokool
This will be a great game because they fixed the handling and the career mode; the two things I hated from 08. One really good thing in this game is the paint booth. You can customize a car online then transfer it onto the game and race it online. I'm really looking forward to it, and I think it will be a great game.
Review 15 for NASCAR 09
uh
Posted on:4/5/08
Anonymous
Please EA you should have in career mode where you star out in like late models and work your way up to the big leagues. and you should be able to drive in pit road and during caution. also you should have in another career mode where you can be a crew chief, or a spotter, tire changer etc. and weather should play a factor during races. and finally get rid of all fantasy drivers and have alot more truck and nationwide guys.
Review 16 for NASCAR 09
Nascar ideas
Posted on:4/3/08
Edwards
They should make weather become part of the game. They also should let you have have control of your car when the yellow comes out. Another thing that would be cool is if we could drive from track to track like an open world game.
Review 17 for NASCAR 09
same game
Posted on:3/23/08
singer123
im sorry but all ea does every year is just change a few things and release the same game.bcuz know one else can sick of it.bring back a real game like dirt 2 daytona then nascar fan would have something to cheer about.give it up ea lets us decide who makes a better gam.
Review 18 for NASCAR 09
What you should do
Posted on:3/19/08
DEJ fan Big B
I just got through reading speed demons thughts about the game and I am 100% behind him. All EA Sports have to do is give you a tutorial on how to pit and bring the fastest line down into the pit so you know where to slow down and stop. I also think that they should give you full control when leaving the pits such as the race off pit road. It will add the drama of getting off it in one peace.
Review 19 for NASCAR 09
please be good
Posted on:3/18/08
tbone1194
they should make it like on nascar 2004 when they sing the star soangle banner and have air planes fly over and we should be able to switch to our teamates car like in nascar 07
Review 20 for NASCAR 09
speed demon
Posted on:3/14/08
raven 1991
nascar is one of my favorite videos games. I was impressed with 2008. What bothered me is that it was a little to hard. This game should give you the ablity to drive the car during caution laps and down pit road. It should also have the commentators talk during the race. I hopr there is weather delays and more car accidents and no fantasy drivers.
1 2 next>>