GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Spore

12th Annual Interactive Achievement Awards Winner: Outstanding Achievement in Game Play EngineeringMaxis, makers of The Sims, present the next big bang - SPORE. Create your unique creature and guide it on an epic journey through a universe of your own creations. Play any way you choose in the five evolutionary stages of Spore: Cell, Creature, Tribe, Civilization, and Space. How you play and what you do with your universe is entirely up to you. Spore gives you a variety of powerful yet easy-to-use creation tools so you can create every aspect of your universe: creatures, vehicles, buildings, and even starships.
Average Customer Rating:
8.031
8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (214 reviews)
10 stars
50
9 stars
12
8 stars
7
7 stars
6
6 stars
4
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
6
75 out of 9877%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Spore
Review 1 for Spore
Bast game ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/14
CreativeKid
Location: Plaistow
First I wish I had a laptop because I'd get it but let me tel ya is the best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Spore
This game is absolutely brilliant!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/5/11
TheReview
Spore lets you create and customize a creature, cars, planes, boats and space ships however you want. I mean, you can create just about anything. The game is also witty, challenging, creative and unique. There are a million ways to play, and so many paths to choose. For instance, if you really like creature stage, where you form packs, hunt, scavenge and befriend other creatures, you don't even have to go on to the next stage; you can play that forever. Deciding to be evil, or nice also drastically changes the game. I know I'm kind of just spouting nonsense, but you have to play this game to see; it's amazing.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
35 of 35 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Spore
SPORE!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/14/10
guy5253
spore will define all pc games across the globe and will take you on a new adventure you would never imagine. it is so well made and i love how yo can create what your creatures like, there clothes, their buildings, there cars, there ships, i love every single thing about spore, and i love how maxis listen to the players and puts the things they want in spore, i can not stress enough how incredibly awesome this game is and the graphics are amazing. this game is a must buy for people who like to control almost everything in a game and if you like strategy games you love it. this game is not one of the games you buy play once or twice and forget about it. this game will never get boring cause you cant predict what happens. BUY THIS GAME!!!!! you will love it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Spore
Love it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/11/11
Daftendirekted
Location: Lancaster, CA
This game is so fun. It is like having your own creature, and your the cause of evolution. Well it isn't like it. It IS it, and it is so fun. You can start as a teeny tiny germ. the best thing about that stage is that if something tries to eat you, you can go and bully it's species when you get bigger! Next is the creature stage! I love how the blooooood spills out of the species you have to eat to survive...... or how the juice comes out of the fruit you eat. It depends weather you choose to be a herbivore, carnivore, or omnivore. (BONUS CHEAT! In the cell stage there are 3 different mouths to use, a carnivorous, herbivorous, or omnivorous. If you use the omnivorous mouth, you will not be an omnivore when you go to creature stage. You will have to have a carnivorous AND herbivorous mouth.) Next come tribe stage, then city stage (my absolute favorite!) then space stage. Really good game to buy!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Spore Galactic Adventures
9.1 out of 10(17)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Spore
Let your Imagination flow!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/14
XilianX2010
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Create any creature you want, and take them on an adventure through evolution! Besides the massive campaign mode, the creator mode is the highlight of the game. Create creatures, spaceships, and your very own architecture! I highly recommend if you love RPG, and massive open world games. The game isn't complete with the expansion pack, Galactic Adventures. The DLC makes the 1000x more than it already is. It's worth the money. :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Spore
Boring
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/08
zdawg77
Well, I bought into all the hype about this game, and I love many other "sim" type games like many of the various sim-city games, sim-ant (from the old Mac days) and I was really excited about Spore! But I was very disappointed, and I think most other gamers out there will be too! In my opinion, this game is designed for very young kids / gamers, with very little depth and not much in the way of game-play. As everyone knows, there is a large portion of this game dedicated to making your organism look the way you want it to. In fact, that is all there really is to this game. Each stage of the game is a mini-game, and the design process removed, there is very little to each stage. It takes relatively few hours to finish this in its entirety, and quite frankly the game play is very boring, simplistic, and there just isn't much to this game as a whole. If you're excited about spending hours designing your creature/clothing/etc., then you might like it. Anything else, and it blows.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 7 for Spore
Eh, okay.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/09
GuitarEyez
I debated for many weeks whether or not I should get this game. I finally did, but I wish I hadn't. It's okay and all. I played it for a few hours but probably only because it was hard to get the hang of. I had more fun looking at the different things you could do with your creature rather than actually playing it. I'm not saying that it is not worth the money to everyone, because everyone has different likes and dislikes. It's a neat lil game but I don't think I will be playing it again. I have a very very very expensive laptop and for some reason when I installed this game it crashed my Flash Player and all hell broke loose. I know it's not me because my computer just laughs at the game Crysis. Any hard core gamers will know what that means. ;-) But anyway.... So if you have issues after playing it you might want to uninstall it completely. Once that was done then my computer worked fine. I don't really want to go through that again. Good luck to those that wish to try it.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Spore
An awesome game!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/08
Metalm
Ok Let me just say that this is one of the best games to ever come out. This is really the best game for any age, I mean come on you get to build creatures and spaceships, what more do you want lol. The style is like a strategy, rts, i guess you can call it an rpg because your actions will depend if your a military kind of person or a peace maker. As you play you start off a cell then creature, tribe and etc. after reading this you must be thinking that oh man theres probably nothing wrong with the game, but there is always cons to many games. Cons; each level isn't very long. what i mean by this is that you start on one stage and then you go to another, and another, until the space stage which gets pretty long. That leads me to the next con the space is Repetitive, after that you do the same thing over and over and it kind-of gets old. But after that there is not that many cons from my point of view. If you like to create and pretty much everything BUY THIS GAME SPORE RULES ,Metalm
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 9 for Spore
Amazing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/14
TyMan1900
Location: New Lenox,illinois
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is so fun you can go to space evolve hunt down species and make friend change your creature make a planet it is so fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Spore
Coolest game I have
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/08
Germanus4711
I do own several games, but Spore beats them all. Cool graphics, good sound, but the game action is the best. One does not have to be a FPS, actually I try to play it w/o violence. Okay, I killed one amoebae, as it was green and I thought it was food. Well mistakes happen in evolution. I cannot wait to see what happens when I get to a stage beyond tribal - a lot of food I have to give away. It's like being a chef, get new customers! Best of it, the game makes me HAPPY! Unlike cool games I have, e.g. R:FOM, Oblivion, etc., this one is addictive. Congrats to the developers at EA, best game so far I ever played. Only two caveats, it's not on PS3 and the performance is sub-optimal on a MacBook Pro w/ 2.1 GHz Duo Core. So on a Mac you better have the new MacBook Pro's to play it (Duo 2). But it does work fine for those who wonder. Clearly a 8-10+ or a "My wife would play that" rating, if such rating exists. I guess that kids under 8 don't even know what evolution can bring.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 11 for Spore
Frequent Game Crash
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/16/08
donald1941
The game is fun. It is quirky and humorous, although the early stages are rather simplistic. I understand this was deliberate in the development of the game. As a player progresses to a higher level, it becomes more complex but never to the point of having to go back and repeat again and again just to advance. However, when one gets to the Space section one runs into a problem. There seems to be some issues that cause frequent crashes, even on high end machines. It seems to be a problem encountered by many, not just one or two. The various SPORE forums are full of questions concerning this problem. EA hopefully is working on the problem and will issue a patch very soon. Until then, it is a headache. If one plays the game at the Space level it requires the player to SAVE almost at each play to prevent the crash. Until a patch fixing this problem is issued the game is imperfect and frustrating at that level, which, by the way is the most fun and varied of all the stages.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Spore
Great game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/23/09
tominator50
spore is AWESOME! its realy fun to go around and kill stuff. but, if your not into that stuff, you could go the peaceful way. graphics are great. and with all the people saying that its crashing nonstop and stuff, i havnt had anything like that happen to my game, ive had it for months. very easy controls to get the hang of. and how many games have you played that let you create your own universe? you start out as a cell in tidepools. then you evolve to the creature stage (wich is probably my favorite stage) then there is the tribal stage, wich you must find food for your tribe, conquor other tribes, or befriend them. then comes the civilization stage. in this stage, you create a city and try to conquor or buy other cities. and then, finally comes the space stage. this stage is pretty fun to. you can do missions, go to war, or just blow stuff up. and you be able to do more stuff when the galactic adventures expansion pack comes out in june. bottom line is, spore is definitley worth the money. i suggest you buy it :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Spore
It's good but its lacking
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/10
arbiter650
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
When i first bought Spore i thought it was going to be a very great game, but instead i had gotten something that seemed like it COULD have been a great game but it was severely lacking. take for example the creature parts. they are great but in the end its all about giving your creature the edge against any other creature in your way of playing. it isn't about being creative at all, its just being the best. But there is something that EA can do to fix this mess of a game: EXPAND IT. turn that one disc into five discs with an impressively deep level in each of the stages. in other words, make it a very long version of "Sid Meyer's Civilization," (i almost mistook this game for a strategy game) and add some DIFFICULTY TO THIS GAME because it is just to easy. i once got through to the space age IN ONE HOUR... ON HARD MODE, enough said, it just doesn't have a fighting chance against similar games. if you are looking for a very good game that you will be playing for days on end, get Sid Meyer's civilization instead.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Spore
spore is awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/09
mr.SporeRocks
spore is awesome i got this game the day it came out and it never got boring. I think all will love this game. the ell stage gets a 8/10 because its great but a little short. creature stage gets a 10/10 cuz it is just amazing and my second favorite part about this game. tribe stage gets a 6/10 fun but a little boring after a while. civ stage gets a 5/10 i did not enjoy civ stage at all. and now space stage gets a 9/10 cuz it is extreme and awesome and very long but is was a litte chalenging too. My favorite part of this game is he creature creator. This part will give everybody a thrill. One part of the creature creature3 is the parts packs (creepy and cute) will give you more parts so the fun never ends. Plus there is a test drive mode which lets you bring your creation to life. There is also the sporepedia which lets you kep track of all creatinsyou and other players have made. My rating for this game is 9/10 this game is pure UBER!!! if you are bored and have nothing to do ply this game and enjoy yourself. the bad part of this game is that the sequels are not too good. A.K.A. Spore hero, and Spore hero arena.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Spore
Great game overall
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/09
Warcore
Its a must buy because of its huge customization! You have so many parts to choose from and you can design anything that you could ever want! such as a space ship, airplane, land walker, boat, and thousands of possibilities to make them all! Also as soon as you make something you can then put it into the game and make friends with it or try to kill it! Overall just get this game it has great customization and you can go online and share your creature with everyone! And then you can download one of there creatures FREE. just to show you this customization of your personal creature you can download the creature creator FREE! This game's space campaign is the best you will ever see! it has over 1,000 solar systems with at least 3 world in each. so you can explore all of them. You can also choose to be a friendly creature or an aggressive creature, so you can kill everything in your path or make friends with it. Or you can do both! A GREAT GAME AND A MUST BUY!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Spore
Good Graphics, Great Performance
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/11
Kolton
Location: US
Spore is a game about controlling a species from its years as it enters the world as a cell until you become inteliigent enough to go into space. The gameplay is actually really neat but its stages do not last long enough to be fully enjoyed. The graphics are amazing for creating your own character and suprisingly even the worst of computers (for the most part) can play it with little to no lag. The big drawback though is that it takes up a ton of space but nowadays it isn't considered much but even with an old laptop, every byte of space is worth it. So if you are looking for a fun game to play for hours, or just one to pass the time, Spore is definitely a game that should be looked at.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Spore Galactic Adventures
9.1 out of 10(17)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Spore
this game is awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/27/14
skythegirlRS
Location: st. luis MO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
hi guyes if u know i love this game it is awesome and u sould try it it is awesome and super fun so try it out and have funnn! <3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Spore
a good game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/10
iggy
Location: hidden lane
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
wow, this is such a good game; i think you should all get it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Spore
This is a very interesting game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/10
Namesarentimportant
Location: Raphine,Virginia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Okay, first of this game is completely unrivaled in the customization field. No other game can even come close. One great thing is that you can continue customization throughout the entire game. From a cell,animal,tank,buildings,spaceships and even entire planets! The customization is absolutely amazing. The story line is also great, the story of life on other worlds. The graphics are fairly good. One of the best things about this game is that you can get parts packs and extension packs for this game. So if you are looking for a game that you can tinker around on for hours a day, this is the game of your dreams.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Spore Galactic Adventures
9.1 out of 10(17)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Spore
Good game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/23/08
spawn
This game is very fun but it is more like a toy then a video game but not in a bad way. It lets your imagination come to life. The only reason people dont like this game is because they have no creativity. I heard some reveiws that said they could beat this game in a couple hours but the truth is the game is endless because there are thousands of stars (not exaggerating) to explore, conquer or ally with the inhabitants living there. There are also hundreds of different ways to play the game. For example at the creature stage you can either be herbivore, carnivore or omnivore and which one you chose changes how you play the game. And in the civilization stage you can try to take over cities with religion, economic or military power. This is an overall good game but if you have no imagination then dont get it and at least give the space stage a try before you decide you dont like it because you can design everything from the planets to the animals.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>