GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Lost Planet: Extreme Condition

In Lost Planet, human snow pirates navigate VS (Vital Suits) through hostile ice-covered environments, fighting against the indigenous Akrid creatures for the precious thermal energy they need to survive. For one such pilot named Wayne, death almost seemed imminent until he was fortunately rescued. However, he can only remember a few fragments of his past including the slaying of his father by the monstrous beings. Yet under the veil of ice, a devious plot has been set into motion by NEVEC. What really happened to Wayne and how will his destiny become intertwined with NEVEC's plans?
Average Customer Rating:
6.635
6.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (70 reviews)
10 stars
15
9 stars
5
8 stars
10
7 stars
8
6 stars
5
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
5
39 out of 6362%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lost Planet: Extreme Condition
Review 1 for Lost Planet: Extreme Condition
Awesome Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/20/08
Jamros
Lost Planet is a great game for such a small price. I ecspecially love the controls, and the fact that the game is a third-person shooter was a welcome suprise. The graphics are superb, the sound is great, and for people like me who don't like games that are too hard, the level of difficulty is perfect. There are a few minor criticisms I would give this game, however. The storyline is a bit cheesy, to be honest; I won't give anything away, but without doing much research, I expected this game to be about soldiers fighting aliens, with the overall objective being gathering your men and destroying all Akrid. I was sadly mistaken, but the story is still alright. Also, the length was just okay. I would have become bored with the game if it had been too long, but the game was fairly short. There are eleven missions, and each mission will take anywhere from 10 minutes to an hour and a half. Overall, it was a great game, my first on the 360 in fact, and I would highly recommend.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Lost Planet: Extreme Condition
One of the greatest games of all time
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/10
deathmachine
I just got my Xbox 360 a couple weeks ago and this one of the cheap games I bought. It is probably the greatest game I have ever played. The challenge in this game is near flawless the game has some levels that are easy and some that are pretty hard which I like because I don't like a game where every level is like a walk in the park and I also don't like a game where every level is so impossible that I get bored playing it. The graphics in the game are absolutely amazing.It makes the frozen wasteland you're running around in really come to life. I'm not really sure how long this game actually is cause I haven't finished it yet but from what i've played(up to mission 7) it is pretty long. The storyline is pretty good.The controls are very well layed out.The sound is also pretty good.There aren't very many weapons in this game but riding in the VS robots is really fun. You should definitely get this game. I can't wait for Lost Planet 2 to come out.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
killerswat4150
ohio
 
Please wait while more information about killerswat4150 is loaded.
Additional information about killerswat4150 could not be loaded.
worst game EVER!!!
Posted 12/22/10
this is probably the worst game of all time,after have spent hours getting through the game thinking it would get better as it went on... it ended up getting worse. you have to constantly get thermel energy to live which just sucks and the vehicles just suck!!! they look like a few peices of scrap meatal glued together with a car engine. the guns dont even look like guns especialy the assult rifle it looks like a 2x4 with a handle. the akrid look like somthing a four year old would draw, and the story line dosenht even make sense first your going after a monster called green eye the you go after snow pirates to get some vehicle of some sort and then go take out a bunch of akrid nests. for some reason. the veiw is always third person witch is really stupid. trust me dont waste your money on this game
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Lost Planet: Extreme Condition
DONT WASTE UR MONEY!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/09
SUPCOWPUR
don't buy this game! thats go out on a limb and say tht ur looking for a good shooter game... WELL U ARE OUT OF LUCK IF U BUY THIS TERRIBLE GAME! ok first the game is impossible! it takes forever to get to the end of the first lvl u say ok i just hit a check point and this is getting boring so ill save and quit ok first u turn it back on and ur at the beginning of the lvl again! this gets extremely annoying so wat do u do wen u get a terrible difficult long boring hard game? U CHEAT OF COURSE! so u look up some cheats. well there about 50 buttons long!!!! so u finally get them to work u beat the lvl ya! 1 lvl2 plain and simple no energy no cheats no ammo!!! no fun! this game was a torture device rather then a game if this game was free i wouldn't get it DONT WASTE UR MONEY! insted save up for a good shooter like Halo 1,2,3 or Cod: 1,2,3,4 Waw left 4 dead turok orange box army of two... anything except from this
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lost Planet: Extreme Condition
lost planet
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/5/11
steelwolf
Location: NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
so overall alright game, not the best but its pretty good in some areas and its pretty cheap and worth getting for the money!!!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lost Planet: Extreme Condition
AWSOME GAME!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/08
spidersean728
I played this game at my friends house and it was awesome! I am going to get an xbox 360 for christmas and I a hoping this along with madden 09 that this is one of my first games. I was playing the worm level I swear it was like watching but playing a real person who is feeling the tremors of the worm shake the earth. I like this better then halo because it represents more of a challenge and it is a third person shooter so I can see what is going on around me. And the graphics i think their better then half the new games that are coming out right now including halo! And the control is very easy know extra little buttons to hit and the vehicles are very easy to maneuver, unlike halo 3 where you have to move the controllers up and down and side to side. It is cool how they really bring the connection of how thermal energy is an important life source, for humans and achrid. SO in all it is a great game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Lost Planet: Extreme Condition
Could of done better
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/30/08
<*StevE*>
Cool game for the xbox 360. I did not like the camera angle and the way you shoot on the game because it seemed difficult for me to aim. the bosses are somewhat quiet easy because most bosses have a really large vulnerable spot which can kill them fast with certain weapons. I understand that you are seated in a negative 30 environment but the t-energy ( substance item in Lost Planet that can be found in game) concept to keep you warm kinda sucks because i was empty of t-energy and all i need to do was walk a couple of steps more to sustain me for about 2 minutes and i froze to death which in turn makes me start the whole level all over. You would probably would have to know your way around because the environments are big so you might get lost and possibly freeze to death. I would recommend Renting it for a week ,beat it and forget about it or try finding it for a low price like i did =)
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Lost Planet: Extreme Condition
Exactly what I expect from Capcom
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/11
NewbornRiddler
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Ok so the game isnt the greatest, but I actually enjoyed it. I thought the story was pretty interesting and the fighting was fun especially in mechs. The graphics arnt bad, but the art style is exactly what I expect from a game made by Capcom with the anime looking characters and what not. The sound is ok, but didnt really give a battle type feeling. The only downside I had with this game is that the main character moves way to slow and enemies shooting rocket launchers make that stick out even more. In the end its not a game for everyone, but is something to try out especially for only $5.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lost Planet: Extreme Condition
Great Graphics-Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/2/08
wingnut
This game has some of the best graphics I have seen. The game play is better than most. If you like the campaign part of gaming then this game is a must have, because the story line is top of the line. The weapons are powerful, the explosions are very well done, there's like 4 distinctly different grenades, and 3 different guns and a rocket launcher. Then let's not forget the VS (vital suits). These are basically robots that you pilot. They have there own arsenal of even better weapons. They move well and there are several different types. Anything from light armor with speed to heavy armor with better protection. None of them are too slow for the siuation. Everything works well in whatever part of the game you're in. And that's just the tip of the iceberg (no pun intended). This is one of the first games I played on the 360 and I keep coming back to it. I highly reccomend this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for Lost Planet: Extreme Condition
spend your time in the game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/15/10
thecheeser
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
why people don't like this game:they hardly play it!(my friends[i have 2 of them!]they spent like 15 minutes playing the game gave it back to me and said it sucked!i told them to get even further in it,they actually liked it!)! the same thing with me!i was the exact same way!now people cant play any games that are good because call of duty!for some reason people love their captains telling them here's a machine gun,go blow the brains out of a bunch of terrorist in a room adjacent from us,you do it and beat the game!the call of duty series ruined gaming and gamers!well i'm not here to trash talk call of duty!just play the game its underrated and actually good!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Fallout Trilogy
8.8 out of 10(7)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DJBiggDaddy
P-Dale
 
Please wait while more information about DJBiggDaddy is loaded.
Additional information about DJBiggDaddy could not be loaded.
BOOORING!!!!!
Posted 3/23/11
the story sucks and its boring.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Lost Planet: Extreme Condition
Nice graphics, but too many annoying cons.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/18/11
evildead
Location: baltimore, md
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I'm sure majority of the people who hate this game has the same issue with it as I do. The worst part of the game that really kills this game is the stupid therma energy thing you have to keep from draining down to 0, or you die. You get the thermal energy by killing the mobs, but the energy drains so fast, all you can do is run forward as fast as you can while killing. If you try to pick up every thermal energy, it's useles becuz by the time you kill the mob and pick up the energy, it's already wasted. So essentially you are in a state of hyperactivity trying to look around, not get hit but kill the mob, move forward as your energy drains and somehow kill the boss mob at the end. It's waaay to stressfull for both the eyes and hand and not enjoyable. I've played about 1/3-1/2 of the way through and I'm not enjoying it. The graphics are good, but you can't really stand around to enjoy the scenery. The best graphics is the girl in the cinematic cuts. She is eye candy. But besides the nice curve balls, it's not a game I would recommend at all, unless you like to be under stress and duress non stop.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 11 for Lost Planet: Extreme Condition
Don't even know where to begin
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/09
MrWoo
Well, let's start this off by saying never, ever EVER pay the full new price for this game. In fact, the 12.99 I payed to get this game used would probably have been better spent on Jack N the Box tacos in hopes I could give myself diabetes. As far as the story goes (easily the worst part of this game) I don't know if I hate the overall plot or the dialog more. In fact, I'm glad I played this game in my own privacy because I don't think I would want anyone else to know I had even picked it up. The story is easier to guess than a Nick Cage movie; there isn't a single attempt at character development or explanation of what the hell is going on. What is this so called Frontier Project (other than warming a barren planet) and why would anyone want to stop it? Also, I did not think it was possible for multi-player make me earn to delve back in this enriching story... but it is. It's like a cross between crapping your pants and puking at the same time. You can hardly move, everything around you is white which is really really easy on the eyes, and you get the joy of listening to fifteen 12 year old's chatter all match. Don't ever, ever pick this game up.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lost Planet: Extreme Condition
A change
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/08
JimzY
I bought this game thinking it would be pretty good. And it turned out to be alright. The graphics were good and the sound flowed as well. I thought the storyline was your typical story of good guy bad guy sort of thing with a little twist to it. The game latched on a good concept with the "energy as your main source of health". You have to kill many aliens that are crawling around in order to gain the specific energy source they contain within their bodies. And there are HORDES of these things. They hatch from nests planted within the earth and they will eventually swarm you if you don't take out the nest in time. These freak aliens can be as small as your character to as big as, well.... bigger than some of the buildings in this game! These guys are huge and the graphics along with it make it more realistic which is sweet.This game is good. Its not the greatest but I think the producers latched onto a good concept of collecting energy source for survival from the aliens. The gameplay layout could have been better and the storyline not as typical but other than, everything seems to flow in place.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 13 for Lost Planet: Extreme Condition
Cool game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/11
Hockeygoalie33
Location: The twilight zone.
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Good graphics, cool guns, interesting until you beat it after you beat it it's boring unless you have live. It has a AMAZING! storyline. But to repetitive.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lost Planet: Extreme Condition
LOST PLANET? HOW ABOUT LOST INTEREST!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/11
ringu217
Location: mt. pleasant, SC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
So once again we see a typical "humans live on a different planet and fight aliens" game aka Halo for 1/3 the price. This game captured my attention because it was cheap and obviously whoever wrote the synopsis on the back of the case made me fall madly in love. When I got home and turned it on...BORING. Extremely boring. Maybe it's just because I'm not an alien-killing video game player but this game reminds me too much of Halo and I hated Halo. I couldn't even get past the 2nd level because I kept running out of energy stores! Not to mention there are several glitches including monsters being able to walk quite literally through the walls and fight you. Totally gives the monsters the advantage right? Right. I would not recommend this game unless you love Halo. I guess you get what you pay for.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Lost Planet: Extreme Condition
Not Worth It
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/6/10
Mr.Awesome758
Capcom makes excellent games ranging from titles such as Resident Evil, Megaman and Devil May Cry. However, Lost Planet is far from a good game, it's a title that I couldn't believe sold well and got good scores. The game is a third person shooter but the controls are terrible. How are you supposed to play a game when it's all so broken. Pretty much every aspect of the game is mediocre. Presentation is bad. The game just overall just looks like crap. Yet again, Capcom delivers a game with terrible story that ultimately makes no sense and just puts you to sleep cause it's so boring. Lost Planet isn't that long of a game, but at least it offers some challenge, unless it's brought upon the terrible controls this game brings. Don't waste your money. I saw it for a very low price and purchased it and regretted every minute of it. I just hope you don't buy this.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lost Planet: Extreme Condition
Beautiful snowy environments but linear gameplay
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/24/12
ShaunWhiteHimself
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I remember playing it on my friend's gaming PC rig back in 2006. It was one of the first games of this gen with a very impressive visually-striking graphics and beautiful winter environment that looked like scenes from "The Day After Tomorrow" or "Trans-Siberian" movies, but farther away in the future and on a different planet. So when I found it used at Gamestop's bargain bin for $2.99 I grabbed it right away. The game still looks impressive after 6 years. I've always been fascinated by snow and this game really makes you feel like you are in a desperately cold cold world with. You will encounter tons of different weapons and operate different transformer-type machinery. The cut scenes also look decent. Controls take some getting used to. Gameplay-wise, it is very challenging game indeed, no easy levels like in Max Payne or GTA! The only complain I have is, the game is very linear, and there's no time for sandbox-like roaming around because your body temperature will drop and you will just freeze to death if you wander into the wilderness for too long. But for $2.99 it's worth it if you are into hard time-based shooters.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 17 for Lost Planet: Extreme Condition
Very Underated
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/10/10
Edmunt
Lost Planet is a TPS (third-person shooter) developed by Capcom, and it is freaking awesome! First off the graphics are smooth, the snow and weather affects look great. The only things that look better are the giant Akrid that you will fight throughout the game. These are giant insect monsters that populate the planet. Throughout the game you will face the akrid as well as groups of snow pirates and other organizations which is good because the combat controls are great. Left stick is movement, right is aim. Simple. And if you come across something way bigger than yourself and don't have the weaponry to handle it then theres most likely a VS near by. A VS is a giant robot battle suit. These can be hit or miss depending on which type your in, some are just simply useless and slow. Then theres the story, its OK when you realize whats going on but for the most point its mainly just shooting which is what it does good. The only other problem I would say this game has is the knockdown animation. If a missile knocks you down it takes a while to get back up, by this time the next one could be on its way. Annoying? Yes. Game breaking? No. Lost Planet is a good game that should not be overlooked.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lost Planet: Extreme Condition
Good as a frisbee
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/11
stingray
Location: new york, NY
For some reason my copy wouldn't save my data so i just gave it back in. Game play sucks you only fight one type of enemy and the game is a bit challenges. If you buy this game either have a fun time destroying it or turn it back in.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lost Planet: Extreme Condition
Great, but flawed
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/09
Otend
Okay, disregard my previous review of this game. Back then, I gave it a ten due to the fact that I was still playing it and couldn't think straight because of the fun I was having. Right now, I'll say this: it's far from perfect, but it's worth a shot. The visuals are beautiful, which is easy to expect, because this IS a frozen wasteland we're talking about. Everything is done in high detail besides that, though, to the point where I'm shocked that it maintains a slightly consistent framerate. The sound design is top-notch, with plenty of ambient sound to help with the atmosphere. The game itself is around ten hours, if I remember right, but with plenty of maps for multiplayer provided for free (two or three map packs and another map, plus the ten-odd maps on-disc). Good luck finding people, though, because the Colonies edition has many more players. The game also has a number of small little things that will frustrate people. Here are a few. It takes the better part of 8 seconds to get back up if you are knocked over (trust me, this WILL happen very often). You can't aim straight up. There's no split-screen multiplayer. The single player game is sometimes unforgiving for the wrong reasons (difficulty isn't a fault, but difficulty due to some poor design decisions is bad). However, despite this, it remains a solid game that's worth picking up. Plus, it'll prepare you for the sequel.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Lost Planet: Extreme Condition
Worst Third Person Title That I've Ever Played
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:8/26/12
mitchinator
Location: Portland,Oregon
Lost Planet has never gotten my attention for a few reasons. 1. The entire game is just a bunch of boss battles. 2. The game has awful controls. 3. You are a lone wolf in every single mission. 4. It tries to make a new genre. Well, none of this is game breaking, so I gave the game a shot. What was my result? A total waste of money! The game opens up with a team of soldiers in a big warehouse fighting this huge beast. Guess what happens after that? You are thrown onto a mountain and you have to fight some big bright ants. That is really the entire game. The repetition gets so high, that I didn't want to finish the game. And I didn't. Because of the insane difficulty. If only you had an A.I. partner, that would make the game so much easier. The game is very unfair and has zero exciting moments. It also is very shallow in gameplay. Very few mechanics are interesting. However, the game has legit visuals. The amount of polish is unbelievably low. It is almost as if the developer just wanted to throw some garbage third person shooter onto store shelves just for attention to say, "Hey Gears of War! We're better than you! Now pay us money!" Let's just put it at this. I have not played a Capcom game since this pile of manure.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>