GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at GameStop.

Universal GelTabz

Get a grip! Get a better, more comfortable grip on your controllers with GelTabz!
Average Customer Rating:
7.692
7.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
4
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
10 out of 1377%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Universal GelTabz
Review 1 for Universal GelTabz
Work Great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/28/12
Lifetimer
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have used both these and the competing Grip-It covers and these are WAY better, they have a firmer design and really give you the thumb traction you need. They are like sneakers, a little stiff at first but once they are broken in, its a beautiful thing.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Universal GelTabz
Horrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/11
Colbs
Location: San Jose
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
these are very ugly and uncomfortable like one other viewer said GO grip its i agree these are HORRIBLE
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Universal GelTabz
so far so good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/9/11
AnonymouslyConfused28
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have only had these for a few days now but they seem pretty good. I like the feel of them and they also add a little bit more comfort to my analog sticks.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Universal GelTabz
Get the 3 Pack
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/24/10
Frosting
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I love GelTabz. I've been purchasing them for my systems for years. I extremely recommend getting the 3 pack (that includes the wii nunchuck tab) even if you don't need it. GelTabz has improved itself in my opinion with this batch. The 2 pack of black/green/pink has a slightly bigger opening on the bottom to go around the stick and make it easier to apply, but this does have the negative effect of it falling off after a year or so of use! (I've owned all variations) I currently am using them on 4 360 controllers 1 ps3 controller 1 ps2 controller and 2 wii nunchucks. I still have a pink set 2 green sets and 3 black sets. (2 of the black sets are from the 3 pack). The 3 pack black set with blue nunchuck tab is the best yet.
Only problem that comes to mind is a slight discoloration to the white portion of the tab after long term use (after a couple years) Which is why I have replaced a few with the newer black ones, which after having had for quite awhile have yet to discolor.
(Only reason for 9's is because there is always room for improvement.)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
14 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
battlefield3isawesome
ohio
 
Please wait while more information about battlefield3isawesome is loaded.
Additional information about battlefield3isawesome could not be loaded.
GelTabz
Posted 7/6/11
can you buy these in-store?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Universal GelTabz
gel tabz are weak.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/10
gnarnia
Location: boulder CO
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
gel tabz have been around for a long time. and i still hate them. go grip its all day!! GRIP IT FTW!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
3 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Universal GelTabz
A Great Product!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/10
D-HOP08
I dont know what that picky gamer guy is talking about. I purchased my Geltabs about 2 months ago and i have not had a problem yet with them. I never have to clean them or make them grippy again, and I play video games all the time. They are comfortable and they wont let you down. I just purchased 3 more sets so I have one on each of my ps3 controllers. These are cheap and well worth the money. They dont make your gameplay better, I dont think they are ment to. They are just made for comfort, so when your playing for a couple hours your thumbs wont hurt. I also use those real triggers, which work really well and are a reasonable price. So if your looking for a something to comfort your thumbs, go ahead and buy a set of these. But you might need to order now because I had to wait until they had them in stock, because I couldnt find them anywhere.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Universal GelTabz
Great!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/30/09
frozensparten
This product is really great! I bought it beacuse my original grip on my controller was chipping off. So instead of buying a new controller I decided to just order some of these amazing Universal GelTabz. They work very well. And they were at a reasonable price also. They give you a very firm grip on your thumpsticks. I would recommend this product to any one who wants to experience better gameplay and get a better grip on there controller's. Although saying all these positive things about this product I did find some faults about it, like the plastic seems very cheap and a bit too thin around the bottom edges that wraps around the thumpstick, so im a little worried that it will tear easy. Overall this is a great product and it is a most have to any serious gamer who wants to improve there gameing skills just a little more.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Universal GelTabz
Two weeks after my first review.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/09
Picky Gamer
Sorry readers for my first review i cant delete it. Ok i thought they were pretty good at first but after a month i discovered that they are worthless pieces of junk. They serve absolutely no purpose but only to make matters bad.First off when you spin around your analog sticks the rubber makes contact with the controller only slowing it down. Second they wear out and get loose on the sticks. Third you will spend all day cleaning them with rubbing alcohol trying to keep them grippy, the natural oil from your skin make them slippery worse than anything. I took them off and back to good old trusty analog sticks. The geltabz don't help your game at all. If you want to be good at a game practice it. Save you money. By the way my geltabz are on my broken controller my 2 year old son plays with he thinks there are pretty nifty toys.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
5 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Universal GelTabz
GelTabz are ok
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/17/09
Picky Gamer
They do what they were made to do. They help your fingers from slipping off of the thumb sticks. They do not improve your game in any of the first person shooters and those who think that it's psychological. Yes it is more comfortable and keeps your fingers from slipping. They are well worth the price. As far as installation you turn them inside out and flip them right on. One guy said it was a pain that is not true at all took me 20 seconds to put them on. I will buy a few more sets on back up they are nice to have and feel alot better than the stock analog sticks. Hopefully Microsoft will redesign the controller with the tabs built in or use a different material. I actually use mine on a Gamestop brand controller and they fit that as well as the real Microsoft controller. I will end it on this note they are well worth the price and do what they were designed to do, but they will not improve you first person shooter skill enough to notice. Buy them still they are comfy.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Universal GelTabz
A Great Buy at Twice the Price!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/09
OG Pooh
My initial reason for picking the Geltabz up was because the thumbstick on my Wii Nunchuck had become discolored & I just wanted to cover it up. After searching a number of Gamestop locations near my home, I found one set of them in stock at one store and two sets in another. I ended up purchasing a set which contained two black Geltabz & one smaller, blue one. The other two sets I'd found in-stock contained only two Geltabz (all pink, not that that mattered). Luckily I picked up the set of three, because the normal, universal sized ones that come in the two pack ended up too large to fit the Nunchuck properly (I later went back and purchased them too). Since I also own a 360 & PS3 (and have a Wife), the pink ones were put to use. What I'm getting at is this... If you're looking to use them on a Wii Nunchuck controller, MAKE SURE YOU GET THE THREE PACK rather than the "universal" two pack.Anyway, if not for my discolored Wii thumbstick, I would have never discovered these great products. Forget what anyone else has said, they go on extremely easily. They are very comfortable & really prevent your thumb from sliding off. The silicone material allows for a much better grip than the 360's smoother sticks, and is much easier on the thumbs than the Wii's somewhat harsh rubbery material. I haven't tried them on my PS3 yet, as I'm looking for another set. I still need another smaller Wii fitting cover, so I want to pick them up in-store (rather than online) to assure I get the three pack. To sum up, if you're looking for better grip, better comfort (less blisters) or just a cool, custom look, Geltabz are the way to go.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Universal GelTabz
A great mod with only one problem
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/09
David F
I picked these up at my local Gamestop a few days ago for my ps3. They were kind of a pain to install. Once I took a step back and thought about it for a second, they went on fairly easily. At first I thought they were awkward, and my accuracy seemed to get worse. After about an hour, though, that all changed. My game started to slightly improve, and the last round of COD:WaW I played after installing these I went 31/10 (Kill/Death ratio) with a crappy gun. I did notice one problem though. The rubber that stretches over the bottom of the analog sticks seems to be too thick. In certain games (COD in particular) the default action to run is to press in the left stick. After installing these, it's about twice as hard to depress the left thumbstick. It also no longer makes a solid click you can feel, so you have to rely on seeing your character start running, rather than knowing instantly that you pressed the stick hard enough. On some games like Resistance 2, which requires you to hold the stick in order to keep running, this may become a problem, as it is also twice as hard to keep it held down. Overall for the games I happen to play these are worth it. If I could add an entry into the suggestion box at geltabz, I would suggest they either use less rubber, or make the hole in the bottom of the geltabz larger so it doesn't contact the controller housing before the analog stick is depressed.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Universal GelTabz
I WANTED THE GREEN ONES!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/09
Gears of Tim7
I got these GEL TABS. They are just amazing how they help. I was at my friends house last weekend playing halo 3 online. He is constantly playing his 360 and boy did i get assassinated a lot because my fingers were slipping. I of course would get so irritated with that if i had to play like that and die every time I attempt to put a lancer or energy sword to good use, so i ordered mine with the two day shipping....IT TOOK 4 DAYS!?!?? But worth the wait definitely. Just got them today and played for a good 4 hours, then switched controllers to see the difference, you would be amazed! But I WANTED THE GREEN ONES?!?!?!?! I got black ones and a blue one for wii mote. I don't have nor am i getting an over rated wii system. But back to Gel Tabs, I love these little guys because my fingers don't slip, they're not coated with any false sticky stuff and the logo is like a lightning bolt which i thought was pretty cool. Its a bit of a hard job to put them on the analog sticks but design got a 10 because there is just no other way to accomplish a good grip for an analog stick.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Universal GelTabz
GelTabz definitely work!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/27/09
arcticwolf30
If you are an avid gamer who plays first person shooters like me, this is the product for you. I had gotten tired of my fingers constantly slipping off of the controller sticks during some of my most heated battles and so I decided to give them a try. These things are awesome! These tabs have tiny bumps on them to help prevent slippage in addition to having a surface that practically resists slippage for even the most sweaty fingers. They just slip on the top of your controller sticks and you're done. They stay on very well and have held up to all of the abuse I've been putting them through. I have had them now for almost 2 years and they have only recently begun to wear out. Luckily they are rather inexpensive and easy to replace. So, if you happen to be on the fence about getting yourself a set of these GelTabz I hope that this review helps to push you in the right direction. They definitely help and are worth every penny!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Devvin
Hammond
 
Please wait while more information about Devvin is loaded.
Additional information about Devvin could not be loaded.
cool
Posted 5/7/12
i would like to buy this for my birthday along with a ipod touch.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)