GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at GameStop.

Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar

The Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar puts you into the greatest fantasy of all time. For the first time, you can immerse yourself in the only authentic recreation of Middle-Earth to explore legendary lands, interact with famous characters like Gandalf and Aragorn, and create your own heroic story. The War of the Ring has commenced! As the Fellowship embarks on their quest to destroy the One Ring, you must defend the Free Peoples against Sauron's evil minion, the Nazgul Witch-King. Adventure solo or forge fellowships, battle hideous monsters and rise to fame in the most epic MMO ever launched.
Average Customer Rating:
9.375
9.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (314 reviews)
10 stars
11
9 stars
3
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
Review 1 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
BEST F2P MMO OUT!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/28/11
LilRwedBwick
OK i played this game when it was p2p and played the beta and now i'm playing the f2p version and i is AMAZING! i find it more fun then WoW its has such an amazing environment amazing graphics amazing sound and an amazing community unlike WoW community were most of them are immature, in LOTRO you will find a lot of help full people and make quick in game friends. The best part is that its so easy to understand. Its almost perfect but it has its down sides, one of them is paying for extra characters slots,extra bag slots and add ons but its really not that much you use turbine points to purchase things, but the best part is that YOU GET FREE turbine points just by completing quest and deeds that you could buy the basic things you need =D you dont even need to buy the game anymore JUST DOWNLOAD AND PLAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!of course if your a hardcore mmorpg player and you want to buy stuff with real money then go ahead but you wont need to for a long time because they give you so much when you start out its ridicules just go and download it now! =D
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
BEST MMO TO EVER BE MADE IN THE HISTORY OF MMO'S
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/25/11
Mohla
Location: Buffalo, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is insane! From the second i downloaded it i knew it was gonna be good and it has. I currently am on the breandywine server with a 65 and a 51. Without a doubt this game is better than WOW. The graphics are amazing, crisp and clear. Sound is brilliant with an abundant track, it makes u feel like you're actually in the game with the sound. The gameplay is like nothing ive ever seen before, absolutely amazing! Everytime i log off of the game i am back playing it again within the hour, it is addicting and fun, i assure you that you will enjoy this game and play it everyday for a very long time, and u will not get bored. final words: GET THIS GAME NOW!!!!!! YOU WON'T REGRET IT!!!!!!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
i'll take 2. thnx
Posted on:2/27/07
nemo38
This is a really fun game. I think some people here didn't give it much of a chance. For me, I wasn't that impressed at first. The intro area is really basic kill and lvl quests but once you hit lvl 5 or 6 then your onto the real game. The graphics are amazing. The way they designed each area is just stunning imo. I especially liked how they designed the town of Bree. And there are an abundent amount of quests..lotsa quests. But i also like the title system and being able to come across a group of players just jamming away on their musical intstruments... its fun. I was only in one epic quest before stress test ended and i found it quite enjoyable. As others posted earlier, their are horses that can take you from one town to other towns that you have already been to, though the one time I used one he rode me off a cliff :) so there are a few bugs that need to be worked out. Anyway, i would recommend this game to anyone looking for something new. You might just suprise yourself. I did.
Review 4 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
Great Game
Posted on:2/8/07
Deadfast
Im in the beta at the moment, and I can assure you there isn't a bunch of people who look the same. The armor system is great with lots of diverse armor, all of which can be different colors. The graphics are obviously far superior to WoW, even though it seems to have a cartoonish appearance at first. Once you delve into the game you realize the graphics are very stunning and true to what most LOTR readers imagined them to be. Even if you just watched the movies, the storylines and visuals in this game are very satisfying. I was a long time player of EQ1 from the beginning, I played AC2, Lineage II, EQ2, WoW, and a couple other mmo's and none of those games have such an immersive storyline or world. The only fault I can see with the game at the moment is the occasional small bout of lag that comes and goes quickly, and im sure this will be gone by release. The title system is absolutely great also, which will be a dream for roleplayers. I would recommend this game to anyone.
Review 5 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
Try before you buy
Posted on:4/12/07
just a tester
This game is decent, has great terrain graphics, the battle sequences are a but sluggish, Quests could have been better described, but hey it's LotR it's a good story line, the game indulges you into the whole middle-earth saga, IMO it's fun, different, some parts inventive- i enjoy the music :p, it runs smooth, has from what i've seen already TONS of content if you're one of those kind of gamers.. I've been getting annoyed at the fact that this game has been closely related to wow, wow set no standards in the MMO community, to those out there who believe it did, yes wow is a good game but it's repetitive as with all mmo's.. Just don't badger it until you've tried it obviously every persons tastes in video games are different, there is no reason for people to say not to buy it, it's you who needs to look into it an see if this games for you. DO NOT go off of what other people are saying about it, good / bad altogether it's a decent game and I say give it a shot.
Review 6 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
Excellent so far
Posted on:2/23/07
Futurehobbit
Like many here, I have had my first opportunity to play during the Stress Test Beta. (Ongoing this weekend, February 23rd-Monday the 26th.) Thus far, it is an excellent, yet gentle, introduction to the Lord of the Rings world. Like many who have posted, I have played WoW since the beginning and EQ before that. Lord of the Rings falls somewhat closer to WoW in feel, with a very familiar interface and easy quest sysem. Unlike some, I think the graphics are extraordinary and appropriate to the Tolkien world. While it doesn't feel like the Peter Jackson flavor, it is more reminiscent of the Hildebrandt paintings, with a more colorful palette. It's too early to tell whether LotRo will stand the test of time, but Turbine has made a fine start with it. It will not appeal to all (which is fine with me), but it should appeal to the more casual gamers who have always wanted to visit Tolkien's world and interact with characters they've read about for years. Cheers!
Review 7 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
Same old thing
Posted on:2/13/07
A Customer
I'm in beta and I can tell you that there's nothing really new here. They tried to change the formula so it's more focused on your actions as well as your armor, but it's dungeons and dragons in different skin. There are a lot of bugs that need to be fixed but there's still three months till launch. It generally appeals to people who don't like World of Warcraft either because they find it boring or they don't like the juvenile/cartoon environment. There's only one faction you can play full time (good guys) so naturally that cuts pvp or realm wars to something called Monster Play where you go to a location with, say your Elf, and interact with a dark fountain. You're given the option to play as a level 50 orc/warg/uruk/spider and after an hour of pvp you get zoned out and you're back to your level 12 Elf. I'm actually back to playing DaoC for the realm wars/pvp until Mythic comes out with Warhammer, and that's supposed to be all about kicking bottoms.
Review 8 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
This game rocks
Posted on:2/11/07
A Customer
I'm in the beta too and a long-time MMORPG player. Of all the games I've played, and that's ALOT, this is one of the best I've seen so far. The quests are very good. Instead of pointless "kill 20 of these" or "collect 12 of those" quests, these quests actually have a purpose and a story behind them. Yeah, there are some filler quests, but compared to a game like World of Warcraft where 80% of the quests are pointless filler, you will only see a small number of them, mostly at the lower levels. The graphics in this game are incredible, yet not as taxing on your system like Vanguard and Everquest 2. Combat and crafting are very deep and rewarding. The mixture of solo and group content is very well-done. This game definitely has the potential to be a "WoW killer", but I sort of hope not so the kiddies still have a game to play and stay the heck out of LOTRO! :p Seriously though, if you are an MMORPG lover, this is one you will definitely want to try out!
Review 9 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
This Game Pwns
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/29/08
Mosesphish
So I was sitting in my room one rainy day, playing world of warcraft, (If you play, you will understand the following statement), Raiding Karazhan. We had come up to Moroes, and you can well imagine how that went, with everyone in the group being only on their first or second run, except me and a few others. After our 7th wipe, I blew my cap, enough to take drastic action. "THATS IT! I'M OUT!" I screamed. Obviously they thought i meant I was out of the raid, but were shocked when I went to a vendor, sold my gear, and gave the money to my guild master to use. I then logged off, deleted my 3 level 70 characters, and canceled my subscription. I was gameless for about 3 months, before my friend suggested this game to me. I was extrememly happy that he did. This game is by far the best MMORPG I have ever played in my life. The sound is realistic, the quests are plenty, and the physical gameplay is great enough to entertain even the pickiest of all gamers. My suggestion?? If you are choosing between WoW and LOTRO, then pick LOTRO. The actual game files aren't as demanding on your processor, plus I guarentee you that it will bea more entertaining expierience.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
Pretty Good
Posted on:4/15/07
Aaso
I like this game alot. I have been playing MMO's for 7 years now and I have never hated a game as much as I hated WoW. Lotr gives me hope that not everybody who plays an online game is just out power level to max level then wander around and kill people 40 - 50 levels below them. PvP does not make or break a game its the game content that does that. Lotr has that content with a full main storline like GW did with plenty of sidequests to keep you busy. Also the fact that there are know clerics or priests kinda makes this game cool because its Minstrels that keep everyones Morale(health) up. i think this makes the games a little more realistic and allows healing within a world that was already defined to not really have any "healers". I think you shouold definately at least try the Beta because there is a ton of stuff to do and it is at least worth seeing this beautiful story setting brought to life in a way that allows you to explore it yourself.
Review 11 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
Ambient realism, a laid-back MMORPG
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/16/09
saint4God
Only two games get a subscrition from me - this and World of Warcraft. While World of Warcraft has a lot of pop-in fast and furious things you can do, LOTRO has a much more relaxing and awe-inspiring feel. Controls/classes/playability are similar to WoW with a few better and a few worse customizations. Main highlight is certainly the graphics, with sound and quest writing following closely behind. Overall story seems familiar...like in a famous book trilogy I've read, but one of its charms is that it holds true to the original in many ways with maps and cultures included. Interface is a little bulky at first but resetting the settings makes it a more driveable game. A few things cannot be changed though I wish they could (size of non-chat text and bag icons size on hi-rez). Sense of community is a bit lacking, unless you enjoy Out Of Character chatter or getting/giving advice. One roleplay channel is shared by everyone in the region and have yet to find a kinship that roleplays in kinship chat (though they may exist?). Otherwise, not a whole lot in the way of a player-driven roleplay experience can be found. Many of the non-player characters, however, seem to have the right idea. Tons of quests are available depending on the desired region you'd like to explore or difficulty of encounter. It's a top-notch gaming experience for those who've enjoyed off-line roleplaying games for only a fraction of the cost of them.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
Expertise of a Wizard
Posted on:3/3/07
Petro91
As we all know by now World of Warcraft is the dominant MMO out there right now. People automatically assume this game will be crushed by its competitors and fall into a deep abyss. As we also know from the Lord of theRings Movies, there are many fans of this series that would enjoy this game when it releases. I certaintly would enjoy this game for the exploring of a land we all were enchanted by. This game looks to be an amazing game by graphics, gameplay, and classes. What we should understand by now is MMO's take up a lot of your time and if this is anything close to a grind to level and make money this game as I can see will do poorly. If of course it is not, and has more group questing with friends, just like the movie, I can see this game doing great. Of course we will not know until the full game releases, we have the beta to get info from, but MMO's are either a loved or hated game you can't be casual or you will get bored and quit.
Review 13 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
About Closed Beta
Posted on:2/18/07
pendulum83
Someone said below that Pre-Ordering will only get you into the Open beta starting Mar 30. Well that's not exactly what LOTRO site says. Let me quote here directly from their website. "As a Founder you now have a guaranteed slot in the upcoming Open Beta for LOTRO. Not only do Founders get a reserved space in the Open Beta, they also get in first! You can start playing on March 30th, 2007*. Anyone who is not a Founder must wait to play until April 6th* If you simply can't wait to play, you can also apply to join our Closed Beta. While not everyone can get into the Closed Beta, we'll be making an extra effort to invite as many Founders as possible into the program. When you sign up for the Closed Beta, put your Turbine Account name into the VIP code field so we'll know you're a Founder." so, there is a large chance you can be invited into Closed Beta with purchase of Pre-Order version and become Founder. source: www.lotro.com/founder
Review 14 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
So far so good...
Posted on:4/14/07
A Customer
I haven't gotten to play this very much since my computer's recently disfunctional, but from what I have played of it, it looks pretty solid. Combat's alot like WoW but a little slower in feel. The quest system is also fairly similar to WoW. I personally like how they did the classes. It's LoTR, so you're really not going to have five mage classes... Instead, you get three melee classes, hunter, minstril(bard), burglar(rogue), and loremaster. I also personally don't mind the fact that there's no pvp since... well, like others have said, an Orc running through the Shire's just... not right. I honestly respect the developers for choosing to stay as true to the actual LoTR storyline as possible, and honestly believe that being able to have free pvp would have ruined that. In any case, if you're looking at this you should probably download the game and see what you think for yourself. There's still a few days left of beta after all.
Review 15 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
Preordered !!!!
Posted on:4/16/07
eXcursion
i play on windfola server, after a few days in the beta i can see alot of value to this game such as the deed system this will have players accomplishing more objectives than just smack and lvl gameplay of that found in other MMo. it does have several features so close to wow mailbox system,professions. but this game does that and more, it has more of a realistic dark age feel unlike WoW's cartoony feel. the story is great and the scripted events are wonderful. plus you can not beat 199 for a lifetime membership, as the rest here i have been playing Rpgs Since FF1 on the NES alot longer than the internet has been public. Gameplay 8/10 Graphics 9/10 Funfactor 8/10 Sound 7/10 Content 6/10 average 7.9/10 i say if your a LOTR fan try this game, or if your a MMO freak like me who wants a more realistic playing enviroment try it. one thing i do not like is the lack of different armor and weapon models, which lineage 2 and WOW had.
Review 16 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
Long time Beta tester- the review you want!
Posted on:3/17/07
Grizz
Well heres your offical review...Ive been playing since beta one around November, and yes you can play as a bad guy. Its called monster play and the only requirment atm is you have to be lvl 10 which is easy to obtain, you can choose a warg, spider, or one of other various Uruk's, then you can enter into combat against npc's or any real time player controled character that is lvl 40 or higher. These can be huge battles to take control of various keep. You need to join a group called a raid which consists of up to 24 ppl in your grp. Sometimes more than one raid group is required. It is a really cool game otherwise, lots of crafting, too many quests to count. You can dye your armor. Also there is automatically free voice chat to whoever is in your fellow or raid group-(awesome feature). You can also join kinships, get married, name someone as your son or daughter, cook food, ride horses, drink beer and smoke pipe-weed lol.
Review 17 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
#1 mmorpg out there!
Posted on:4/21/07
elk00
I cant simply explain this game, for it just blows me and many others off there very own feet. I have been playing it (the trial) for 2 weeks now, and i cant stop. I love the graphics, items, quests, and pretty much everything on it. Such as you can play instruments like the flute or lute and have a blast or do a bunch of emotes and goof around, or get a fellowship (group) together and go out and have a ball. And being in kinships is really fun, and the main thing thats fun about that is you can go on raids, ARRG so much excitment. Plus there is many more things you can do, so why dont you get out there and adventure the middle earth and it will blow you away as it did to me. ITS A MUST BUY! (or at least try it, as i am doing now) For this game is 100 times better then all the other mmorpg's out there.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
Unimpressed.
Posted on:4/20/07
Open Beta Player
I've played many MMO's starting with Turbine's first, Asheron's Call. I wanted this one to be great and I was rooting for Turbine to compete with WoW. Unfortunately, at this point in time (and yes, it's still early) the game has yet to grip me. I see positive things written about the game everywhere, but I'm not feeling the same way. There aren't enough classes, races, or character customization options; the combat is just OK; traits are a pretty neat idea, but they do not make your character unique. My skills at level 50 will be the same as somebody else of the same class. This turns me off in a big way. If you're into Tolkien's literature (I have not yet read past The Hobbit) or you really want to roleplay in Middle-earth, give it a shot... if you're a MMO vet hoping that Turbine is going to be creating a Asheron's Call-worthy product, think again. This isn't the next big thing. It's just "another" thing.
Review 19 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
Beta Tester
Posted on:4/4/07
A Customer
Impressions so far...........The game is by no means bad or average but it isn't really anything spectacular either. Like so many online games coming out lately it has a "standard" feel to it. Gameplay is a bit sluggish, but that might be fixed later. Graphics and music are great..it's the gameplay and general mechanics that are lacking. Its has the same sort of "go there..kill 6 of these monsters and return" missions that most games have right now. It tries to innovate a bit by having the npc quest-giver fight alongside you or require your protection for a short bit, but nothing that siginificantly changes established formula. The atmosphere of Middle Earth is nice and there is a lot to explore. I think the game's strength will be its atmosphere and will definitely appeal to serious rpgers who are Tolkien fanatics, but I don't see it being a monumental gaming experience that some folks think it will be.
Review 20 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
Definately worth a try for any fan of LOTR
Posted on:2/13/07
jackal
If you are looking to play a game where you can have the biggest weapon to show off, have the dumbest looking armor, flame chat boards, and just beat down weaker characters while trying to get to the highest level the fastest way, then go play WoW. On the other hand if you are looking for a game with a massive, detailed world to explore and to basically live your own adventure in the Tolkien universe (the one that started everything, before pen and paper D&D, before WoW, before VIDEO GAMES), then you should at least give this game a try. Everything I have seen for this game looks amazing. The graphics are phenomenal. You can play as a monster, so you can get your PvP fix. You can even pay for a lifetime subscription (a first) and by all accounts it will be worth it for all the content. I have already ordered this game and look forward to exploring with what appears to be a great multi-faceted community!
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>