GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar

The Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar puts you into the greatest fantasy of all time. For the first time, you can immerse yourself in the only authentic recreation of Middle-Earth to explore legendary lands, interact with famous characters like Gandalf and Aragorn, and create your own heroic story. The War of the Ring has commenced! As the Fellowship embarks on their quest to destroy the One Ring, you must defend the Free Peoples against Sauron's evil minion, the Nazgul Witch-King. Adventure solo or forge fellowships, battle hideous monsters and rise to fame in the most epic MMO ever launched.
Average Customer Rating:
9.375
9.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (314 reviews)
10 stars
11
9 stars
3
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
Review 1 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
Excellent MMO
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/24/12
xxxxSHIFTYxxxx
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is one of the best MMO's I have ever played! The storyline and the lore of the game is so immersible it's unreal! Right out of the gate you will see a lot of the popular characters from LOTR and be involved with aiding the fellowship. The graphics are pretty good for a game that is 5 years old. On ultra high settings the world is amazing to see and possible to run on a mid level graphics card. I've been playing since launch and will continue until I throw that ring into mount doom...and then some :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
Good for Some, Bad for Others...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/11
oomglool
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is great for people who want to try a new game, MMO fans, if you have friends to play with, and if you just want to play a game you want to stick with. People will enjoy this game if they play RuneScape, World of Warcraft, or pretty much any game that is online and you level up in it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
Definitely give this game a try...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/25/11
BZB1223
Location: Levittown, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I know we've heard it all before, but I was a WoW player for quite some time, just like many of us others that have tried this game. I have followed the LotR trilogy since I was a young child and ever since then, it has stood out to me more then most stories. This game replicates the experience of that feel better then any game. As of right now in 2011, I would have to agree that LotRo is a much better choice then any other MMO out there. It has excellent graphics, amazing sound and one of the greatest story lines in a game. Even for a casual player, the quests will make you feel like you're actually there. Overall, if you're new to the whole MMO experience or just looking for a new one to play, this game is more then suitable.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
A different crowd...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/11
NewbornRiddler
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
So basically the game plays just like World of Warcraft, but with a Lord of the Rings outfit. Instead of being based on the movies this game is based more on the books. You meet characters that are only in the books and expierence events you only read about. This games isnt for everyone though. Its not the cartoony game with oversized armor and weapons. The game is an easy transition for anyone who played WoW, and isnt that hard to learn for first time users. Overall its a great game and great for any fan of LotR or MMORPGs.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
soso
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/20/11
auti
Location: californa
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is fun like the first few weeks. then it gets bouring. it takes about 8 hours to download and it is sooo nat worth t. if you want to play a REAL GAME then get world of worcraft or something.
 
My Product Recommendations
World of WarCraft: Cataclysm
5.3 out of 10(366)
 
 
 
World of WarCraft: Cataclysm Collector's Edition
8.7 out of 10(63)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
BEST MMO TO EVER BE MADE IN THE HISTORY OF MMO'S
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/25/11
Mohla
Location: Buffalo, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is insane! From the second i downloaded it i knew it was gonna be good and it has. I currently am on the breandywine server with a 65 and a 51. Without a doubt this game is better than WOW. The graphics are amazing, crisp and clear. Sound is brilliant with an abundant track, it makes u feel like you're actually in the game with the sound. The gameplay is like nothing ive ever seen before, absolutely amazing! Everytime i log off of the game i am back playing it again within the hour, it is addicting and fun, i assure you that you will enjoy this game and play it everyday for a very long time, and u will not get bored. final words: GET THIS GAME NOW!!!!!! YOU WON'T REGRET IT!!!!!!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
BEST F2P MMO OUT!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/28/11
LilRwedBwick
OK i played this game when it was p2p and played the beta and now i'm playing the f2p version and i is AMAZING! i find it more fun then WoW its has such an amazing environment amazing graphics amazing sound and an amazing community unlike WoW community were most of them are immature, in LOTRO you will find a lot of help full people and make quick in game friends. The best part is that its so easy to understand. Its almost perfect but it has its down sides, one of them is paying for extra characters slots,extra bag slots and add ons but its really not that much you use turbine points to purchase things, but the best part is that YOU GET FREE turbine points just by completing quest and deeds that you could buy the basic things you need =D you dont even need to buy the game anymore JUST DOWNLOAD AND PLAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!of course if your a hardcore mmorpg player and you want to buy stuff with real money then go ahead but you wont need to for a long time because they give you so much when you start out its ridicules just go and download it now! =D
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
Ambient realism, a laid-back MMORPG
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/16/09
saint4God
Only two games get a subscrition from me - this and World of Warcraft. While World of Warcraft has a lot of pop-in fast and furious things you can do, LOTRO has a much more relaxing and awe-inspiring feel. Controls/classes/playability are similar to WoW with a few better and a few worse customizations. Main highlight is certainly the graphics, with sound and quest writing following closely behind. Overall story seems familiar...like in a famous book trilogy I've read, but one of its charms is that it holds true to the original in many ways with maps and cultures included. Interface is a little bulky at first but resetting the settings makes it a more driveable game. A few things cannot be changed though I wish they could (size of non-chat text and bag icons size on hi-rez). Sense of community is a bit lacking, unless you enjoy Out Of Character chatter or getting/giving advice. One roleplay channel is shared by everyone in the region and have yet to find a kinship that roleplays in kinship chat (though they may exist?). Otherwise, not a whole lot in the way of a player-driven roleplay experience can be found. Many of the non-player characters, however, seem to have the right idea. Tons of quests are available depending on the desired region you'd like to explore or difficulty of encounter. It's a top-notch gaming experience for those who've enjoyed off-line roleplaying games for only a fraction of the cost of them.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
LOTRO
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/26/08
Maverick720
Well folks, if you're still looking for that perfect MMO game, this is not it. This is a very, very good game with an easy to understand control system and interface, arguably the daddy of all fantasy storylines, and an in general fun game to play. I've been through several MMO's and I haven't found any to date that have gotten me to continue paying a subscription fee. If you're looking for the veteran WoW player's review keep scrolling, because this isn't it. I find LOTRO to be a very good game that piques my interest in the potential department. Turbine regularly patches and changes things based off of player opinions. This game has the potential, through expansions to take you through the entirety of Middle Earth and end up fighting the epic battles of Helms Deep, Minas Tirith, and at the foot of Mount Doom. The new expansion features the mines of Moria and the infamous Balrog at the end. The storyline of Lord of the Rings itself has enough draw if the developers can keep shelling it out without changing much of the story. That being said, the game does have its flaws. The character customization aspect is not to par with games such as WoW, Guild Wars, of Everquest 2. I've heard complaints about the story characters not matching those of the films, keep in mind folks Turbine only has license to the books, not the New Line Cinemas films. I'm not saying this is best of all MMO's but it's the one I'm currently wrapped up in and, god willing, continue to be for some time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
This Game Pwns
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/29/08
Mosesphish
So I was sitting in my room one rainy day, playing world of warcraft, (If you play, you will understand the following statement), Raiding Karazhan. We had come up to Moroes, and you can well imagine how that went, with everyone in the group being only on their first or second run, except me and a few others. After our 7th wipe, I blew my cap, enough to take drastic action. "THATS IT! I'M OUT!" I screamed. Obviously they thought i meant I was out of the raid, but were shocked when I went to a vendor, sold my gear, and gave the money to my guild master to use. I then logged off, deleted my 3 level 70 characters, and canceled my subscription. I was gameless for about 3 months, before my friend suggested this game to me. I was extrememly happy that he did. This game is by far the best MMORPG I have ever played in my life. The sound is realistic, the quests are plenty, and the physical gameplay is great enough to entertain even the pickiest of all gamers. My suggestion?? If you are choosing between WoW and LOTRO, then pick LOTRO. The actual game files aren't as demanding on your processor, plus I guarentee you that it will bea more entertaining expierience.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
The only MMORPG good enough to challenge WOW's throne.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/23/08
MatthewTheReviewer
I was looking for an MMORPG to play one lazy day. I didn't mind paying more than usual, and I was bored of WOW. I had low standards, expecting it to be a ripoff of something else. But, after playing for a month, I can honestly say that this is just as good if not better than almost any MMO out there, even 1 year after release. True, it takes ideas from a lot of things, but it takes them and makes them better. The controls are simple and easy to learn, with the arrow keys-to-move thing. The sound isn't truly lifelike, but better than any other MMO I've played. And although the level cap is 50 and there are plenty of quests, it will be a challenging ordeal to get to 50, but not frustratingly so. Alongside regular armor, at level 20 you are given the choice to wear cosmetic costumes while still getting the defence bonuses from your costumes. The Graphics are Stunning, and At the setting "High" It was surprisingly fast. Even at level 50, the amount of quests, deeds (Mini-quests done to earn traits or titles, titles will show things like "Watcher of the roads" above your head, and traits upgrade stats), and welcoming Game veterans will make you want to continue playing. Also, instanced quests that mainly go along the story of Following the foootsteps of the story from the movies, But not directly, such as Talking to people in Brandybuck to learn about the black rider's chase after the hobbits. If you're looking for an MMORPG, I'd probably suggest this over World of Warcraft.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 12 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
lotro is great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/08
LOTRO IS THE BEST!
This is the first mmorpg game I have ever played and so far I love it. All the customizable options for your character really give you an idea that your character is different from all the others in the whole game. Some specific things in lotro that show your individual self is skin color, hair (that includes color and how it looks), race (along with race is also which land of that race you are originated from), and traits. These are just a few of the amazing things included in the making and forming of your character not just at the beginning but all threw the game. From the start the game puts you in the beginning of your own story. Whether you are a hobbit, elf, man, or dwarf the game seems like it was made just for your character. So obviously I do love the custom characteristics of this game but that is not all. The fighting abilities for each class really bring the game to life (almost as if your were in Middle Earth itself). I myself have read the Hobbit and the Lord of the Rings around 4 times and every element that is in the books can also be seen in the game. The new patches, though, I think are what make this game even more interesting. The ability to buy a house is cool because again you can customize your own house so that it fits your look and how ever you like it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
so much better!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/08
sofun4u
I tried Lotro shortly after it came out and it really wasn't all that great. Not that i played it very much but it was lacking some polish and just wasn't as rich as it should be for me to invest the kind of time I like to invest in mmorpgs. Then a couple of weeks ago my friend told me that they did a lot of improvements and i should check it out. ...so i got another 14 day trial and it totally blew me away. WOW, what a difference a year makes. it is so much better. I purchased the game at ebgames... and have been playing the heck out of it. I am not the kind to say it is better than this game or that, because tastes are different, but it is really fun. the quests gameplay and crafting are really fun and the other stuff is just cool. I was in the ah yesterday and two real people were playing music on their guitar type things... and people were there listening... even played a matalica song which made me laugh... then you can buy and decorate a house... it sounds kind of silly but it is fun... and you can change your hair and even put on clothes over your armor to give it a personal look... I dunno, there is just a whole lot to do and it is fun to me. Hope this review helps although I know it is not so informative.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
LOTRO: Great time Investment
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/22/08
Bradsbad1019
If you already like Lord of The rings and are familiar with the characters and places, then you are already supposed to like this game. But, if you have no idea what LOTR is about, who cares? You will be able to pick this game up and enjoy it from day 1. You start the game off in your own instance to get to know your first 3 spells/attacks/abilities. After the instance is over (its short) you are submerged into LOTRO. As you level you will be able to go to about 9 different zones. WAIT WHAT!!! Only 9 zones??? The zones in this game are massive with so many quests and so many things to do. Oh wait... This game also, with PATCHES, introduces and gives the game new Zones. Brand new Zones without an expansion, has any other game ever done that? I honestly don't think so. But, to those who say the developers lack drive to make this a mainstream game, they are idiots. Turbine is continually adding new game features and media into this MMO. There are no talents for your characters like in WoW, rather there are Traits. You get traits by completing deeds (such as killing 300 wolves, finding 8 specified ruins, completing 45 quests in a zone) . All in All, if you are looking for a different game to try out, give this a go. It's definitely amusing and worth the money, hands down.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
Not an innovative revolution, but in the MMO industry, a damn fine game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/08
TheBigLebowski
The Keystone when looking at LOTRO is its surprising rate of improvement due to updates. It seems Turbine really likes its community and is willing to give them what they want. With each update the improve an element of the game and introduce new ones. To those who accuse this game of lacking drive...WHAT?!?!?!? Lets just say that you are eager to explore the next area, and more and more abilities get unlocked as you go up. And once you reach high levels, Huge PVE Raids and PVP options become available. The Storyline is a real kicker. IT gets you hooked with a cool intro towards the beginning, and keeps it up with awesome instances. This is the type of game where you actually care a bit about the NPC's. The games environment is a huge plus. Realistic but fantastic land scape's are a big part of this, and Atmosphere and Weather effects, as well as subtle screen and audio changes really get you involved in a living breathing Middle Earth. The progression from nice , peace full, areas like Bree and the Shire, to Angmar and The Misty Mountains is exceedingly well done, and walking back into a long left area gives you an almost nostalgic feeling. When it comes to PVP, or Player vs. Monster Player AKA Freeps and Creeps, theres allot to say. Namely that its fun, but is far from fully developed and at the height of its potential. It should also be noted that most people hate it when they try it for the first time then learn to love it. Raids, and hunting are fun, and theres some good stuff here, but in comparison to others, there is room for improvement here. Player Customization is also good. The reason I gave it an 8 is because theres a few missing details and features, but the outfit and barbershop systems are a huge boost to the game, and a joy to use. The character customization is increasing in quality rapidly. With that we come to the new system in the game,player housing. Player houses are cool to say the least, but small and not as easy to customize in comparison to games like SWG. The Biggest plus for housing is the awesome neighborhood locations, known as homesteads. For example, the Dwarven one is a partially under ground, cavernous area of hills, slopes, and beautiful canals, and rock formations. Its also noted that kinship mansions can be bought for your kinship. The instances and raids in this game are frankly awesome and very engaging. Allot of people talk about how allot of the monsters in this game are actually scary. The game relies on these to keep it interesting but they deliver. There are however some missions which are boring bland collection missions, but these are few and far between. My final topic is crafting. And yes, it is awesome. The system continues to branch out everyday, but the crafting system as it is now is very good. Kinda hard to explain it in a review so I wont even try. Bottom Line:This game has great graphics, Length, Challenge, and story as far as MMOS go. It really gets people engaged in a good way, and while the game is not a MMO revolution, it takes the best of the Genre, adds its own special flavor, a few nifty details here and there, and a LOTR whopping. This game is a must have for any gamer fan of the Tolkien franchise. Sound and controls are average, as is character customization, but they are rapidly improving that.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Gilldur
Landroval
 
Please wait while more information about Gilldur is loaded.
Additional information about Gilldur could not be loaded.
Great Game! WHy sell the old version?
Posted 6/13/11
Love the game. The one MMO that I've stuck with. my only problem is why doesn't Gamestop sell rise of isengaurd online or at least the siege of mirkwood expansion or even mines of moria expansion. The new rise of isengaurd one is suppossed to include all the expansions. I'd like to buy it through gamestop but gamestop isn't selling. but as far as the game, you will love it!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
Good but not great.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/10/08
AustinOnline
Lord of the Rings Online appears to be the MMO everyone has been wanting. The crafting system is massive, but not mind-bogglingly massive. The graphics have a feel that everyone loves. The music is created perfectly and sounds amazing. The UI is easy to pick up on and makes the game fit in its nice little style, just how everyone wants it. Then why did I give it a mediocre rating? Heres why: The graphics are amazing! It doesnt stand up to Everquest 2 but once you get into it, it seems that that doesn't really matter. The music is incredible. I noticed myself standing in the Inn just listening to the music sometimes. This game only lacks one thing, and it is the single most important thing in a MMORPG that almost seems invisible, and thats 'Drive'. In this game, while everything seems super perfect, along the way you feel like there's no point in going any further. You feel like you can put the game down and never pick it back up and you wont feel like you've lost anything. I tried so hard to slow myself down and give this game a chance, and though I still continue to play it, it's not the Lord of the RingS Online game we all hoped it would be. I love this game to death but also hate this thing with a fiery undying passion. If you think I'm a crazy reviewer, then by all means pick it up, but I honestly think that about around level 10, you'll start to lose the fondness for this game. Simply because once you've played it for 3 hours, you've pretty much experienced what the game is, because there is really no change, the game consists of nothing but repitition. If you're the kind of person to pick up any new game, then please, try it, you might enjoy the crap out of this game. But if you're one, like me, to spend money wisely, I'd advise you take this into serious consideration before deciding to make a commitment to this game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
This game is solid
Posted on:4/22/07
Brad
I can support this game, very polished, incredibly detailed and immersive world that's familiar, and a lack of bugs for a MMO. Disappointed in the lack of race and profession/class options, but I hope additions will come. And there's no Monster play in open beta, so we'll see what that's like at launch. Great game, and because of it's relative stability at launch, it should allow the creators to get new content out and make changes earlier and more often than other MMO's. Got the pre-order and the cape is worth it also, as well as the pre-order DVD.
Review 18 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
Worth a look
Posted on:4/22/07
Aust
I've been in the beta for a couple weeks now and I have to say this looks very promising. The quests are well written, the idea behind the crafting system is unique (although the actual crafting system needs tweaking), and the graphics are amazing. About the graphics though, the low settings are very low, so it will run on slower computers, but that's why some people are saying the graphics aren't great.
Review 19 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
Very Good MMO
Posted on:4/22/07
Pro
The graphics of this MMO will knock for socks off first and foremost. Second, this game appeals to the average MMO player. Casual/Guild/RP friendly, Raids in end-game, and an EPIC storyline that keeps you playing... ~~ My entire guild is filled with top tier players from other MMOs. Death and Taxes, and many other guilds that absoutely ruled the franchise as we know it. We ALL absolutely love this game! ANY fan of LOTR will cry once you enter this world. It is truely unimaginable. The world was placed so perfectly as it relates to the books. Any Massive Multiplayer fan will love this. Kills WoW. KILLS. WoW looks like a sunday newspaper cartoon compared to living in Middle Earth realtime..
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Lord of the Rings Online: Shadows of Angmar
#1 mmorpg out there!
Posted on:4/21/07
elk00
I cant simply explain this game, for it just blows me and many others off there very own feet. I have been playing it (the trial) for 2 weeks now, and i cant stop. I love the graphics, items, quests, and pretty much everything on it. Such as you can play instruments like the flute or lute and have a blast or do a bunch of emotes and goof around, or get a fellowship (group) together and go out and have a ball. And being in kinships is really fun, and the main thing thats fun about that is you can go on raids, ARRG so much excitment. Plus there is many more things you can do, so why dont you get out there and adventure the middle earth and it will blow you away as it did to me. ITS A MUST BUY! (or at least try it, as i am doing now) For this game is 100 times better then all the other mmorpg's out there.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>