GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Need for Speed Carbon Own the City

Need for Speed Carbon takes handheld racing to a whole new level with all-new crew-based gameplay and an exclusive east coast open-world city. Settle an ongoing turf war by building an unstoppable crew, winning races against your fiercest rivals, and outwitting the cops. How you choose and manage your crew will be the difference between victory and defeat. The city is yours for the taking with Need for Speed Carbon, the ultimate in handheld racing.
Average Customer Rating:
8.267
8.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
10 stars
8
9 stars
2
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
13 out of 1587%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Need for Speed Carbon Own the City
Review 1 for Need for Speed Carbon Own the City
SWWWWWEEEEET game i love it!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/11
milkyway2027
Location: Jacksonville FL
this is a have to have for gamers that like the need for speed series the story mode is awesome and don't even get me started on everything else all i have to say is a million thumbs up if you ask me!!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Need for Speed Carbon Own the City
Better than NFS Most Wanted 5-1-0
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/4/09
jbourne
Where should I start with this game? The career mode is very weird and it has some really weird and pointless cutscenes that you can't even skip over. I mean they are really weird. One good thing though is the track selection. In NFS Most Wanted 5-1-0 every single track was a circuit and the races took forever. This game has circuit, sprint, lap KO, crew takedown, escape and delivery. Some of the races are fun but some of the races are ridiculously hard and my crew members were useless. The car selection is alot better than NFS Most Wanted 5-1-0. There are way more cars including some PSP exclusives like a classic Pontiac Firebird and the Pontiac Solstice. This game has decent graphics maybe the same as NFSMW 5-1-0 but they should be better. The city is a pretty nice size and can fun to free roam in but some of the street lighting makes the city look too dark and dreary. Overall this game is better than most PSP racing games but it could certainly be better.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Need for Speed Carbon Own the City
Average
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/15/09
Such _bad
This game is the best racing game for PSP. I haven't ever had NFS: Most Wanted 5-1-0 so I think I might not include that now. This game is probably an average game. I have had a lot of Need for Speed titles in my life so I am used to this. The cut-scenes are completely odd. They tell a very uncomfortable story but the art is nice. WHO CARES ABOUT ART? Nobody really needs cool sketches when you're showing cut scenes. The whole cut-scene is always just art, use real people! I thought this was awesome because of the vehicle variety. The variety is pretty amazing with cars like Aston Martins or Audis or even tons of different Lamborghinis. Probably this game would be one of the best because of the racing. It has different modes like Circuit, Sprint, Message, and more. These are my standings for NFS titles: 1. Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit 2- PS2 2. Need for Speed: Most Wanted- Xbox 360 3. Need for Speed: Carbon Own the City- PSP 4. Need for Speed: Shift- PSP 5. Need for Speed: Porsche Unleashed- Gameboy Advance
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Need for Speed Carbon Own the City
THIS GAME IS AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/4/08
b00mshot109
This game is totally worth buying! I got it as my first PSP game and absolutely I love it. The fact that you can change the controls amazes me. Also, the variety of cars you can choose from is a great feature. Driving with the free-roam option is one of my favorite things to do in the game and I enjoy getting into cop chases. The crew members are a HUGE help in crew races. Many games don't have this feature which makes it that much better. The ability to have up to 10 saved games at once makes this a good game for siblings. They can each have a saved game. Whether someone is looking for a good starter game, or just another good play, I highly recommend this game. Good job EA, you've done it again! Yet another fantastic racing game! Two thumbs up.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mohines
northcarolina
 
Please wait while more information about Mohines is loaded.
Additional information about Mohines could not be loaded.
Talk About Best Buy
Posted 3/21/12
Best psp game I've played yet good story and great graphixs if you like this I'd recommend midnight club # dub edition for psp!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Need for Speed Carbon Own the City
Very good game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/15/09
Seahawks_Fan_35
This is very fun game. There are lots of vehicles to choose from like a Mazda to a Porsche. There are lots of ways to customize your car from changing the body parts, or changing the color or to add vinyls. At first you start out in a hospital after a car accident when you were racing your brother. Your brother dies and notice that someone while you were racing push your brother's car so through out the game you build up your crew, take over territories, and try to find out who killed your brother. The graphics are really good and are very nice for the psp. The controls are also very good. The AI are not that hard in the beginning but later in the game if you don't have as good of a car as they do it hard to beat them. Overall if your looking for a racing game to buy and you want it cheaper than the other ones I would recommend this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Need for Speed Carbon Own the City
This is such a great game for those race fans.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/27/10
Montana
Location: Uniontown, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Okay first of all this game is great. The reason being is there is so much to do. You can customize your car right down to the window tint. The free roam is alot of fun to, I like get into cop chases. The one bad thing about tis game is that the cars are very expensive, after the first few cars, so it take alot of races to be able to afford them. Overall this game is excellent, the game is challenging enough without being overly hard. The graphics are good, so is the sound. I would recomend this game to any of my friends. you will not be sorry you bought this game. it is so much better than NFS Undercover.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Need for Speed Carbon Own the City
Good game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/22/08
Ryan A.K.A ME!!
Very good game.. The graphics were very good for the PSP. The police chases were decent. I enjoy the On-line feature of this game. The cars are very highly customizable. I enjoy the music. Howerver, some of the lyrics of a few of the songs are a little bit touchy. It takes a while to purchase and upgrade all the cars if that is your goal in the game as it was mine. The races were very fun. Challenging at times but doable at the same time. The game has a freeraom in it unlike the other 3 Need For Speed titles currently out for the PSP. The ONLY down side to the game is... well there is no down side to this game.. I HIGHLY recomend getting this game for any Need For Speed fan. This is an all around fun racing game I give it a 9.5 out of 10.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Need for Speed Carbon Own the City
SWEET!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/6/11
iamsamish
Location: Deerfield Ma
this game is awsome, i was so exited to get it, the only thing i would change is how long the story in the beggining is. the cas are SWEET!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Need for Speed Carbon Own the City
the best
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/08
sam the man
Well I’ve been playing need for speed games for a while and I never get tired of this one you can drive around and find crates and get money and graphics but this game is a little hard and it's a little hard to get money but as soon as you beat ex you get the lambo murcielago for free it's the best in the game and I can see why it goes 0-60 in 3.4 seconds hello think about how quick it'll take to get to 200 mph anyway I would buy this game a hundred time if I lost it a hundred times that's how good this game I recommend this game highly and if a need for speed designer is reading I think you should put Ferraris in the game to you've got lambos why not add something new I love this game if they combined most wanted and carbon I’d pay any price to get it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
johnnyboy626
la puente california
 
Please wait while more information about johnnyboy626 is loaded.
Additional information about johnnyboy626 could not be loaded.
looks good
Posted 7/8/13
ive seen youtube videos of this game and ordered it but never really got it
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Need for Speed Carbon Own the City
Top 10 - Best Games PSP (EVER)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/14/11
Caspur
Location: Carmel, IN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I am completely serious when I say NFS - Carbon is one of the best games on the PSP(racing or otherwise). Personally, I LOVE the Need For Speed Series, and own every single game for my psp / consoles, but Carbon blew me away. After playing Carbon, I've become dissapointed with other racing games due to their lack of storyline. Carbon is the FIRST and ONLY game on the PSP that has amazing racing/graphics and also a complex/interesting story-line. I thought it might be exactly like the console version, but this was a completely different re-make, and I enjoyed it MORE than the original. The racing is awesome, and I loved the wingmen you were able to use / choose. If your looking for a solid racing game on the psp this should be your FIRST BUY no doubt.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Need for Speed Carbon Own the City
This game is freakin' awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/7/11
SoonersFan85
Location: Tahlequah, Oklahoma
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is freakin' awesome. You must buy this game if you like Need for Speed games. I will personally guarantee you will love this game. I think the storyline is awesome. It is the best game I've played in my entire life. You must buy this game PERIOD.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Need for Speed Carbon Own the City
terrible
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/5/11
smithy1
Location: illinois
i really dont see the appeal in this game. i mean its storyline is boring. the racing physics just are not right. the only big difference between the console version and the handheld are the selection of cars its more vast. but oveall i dont reconmend it. some other sugesstions for psp games. are gran turismo portable. and the console verson of this game but not this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Need for Speed Carbon Own the City
need for speed own the city
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/15/13
coolboy7654321
Location: dearborn mi
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
don't get this game because when you come in second place you still lose the race and it could get you mad like it made me and i broke my first one
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Need for Speed Carbon Own the City
GREAT!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/31/12
awsomebass
Location: mississippi
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It's a very fun game.......but after you beat the game its get kinda boring.It's not a hard game to beat.I beat it in about 3 days counting goofing off playing with new cars I had just bought,but overall its a GREAT game.Most of it is easy,for me the hard parts were just the last 3 but that all differs for every person who plays but like i said it is a great game!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 15 for Need for Speed Carbon Own the City
GET IT NOW IF YOU"RE READINGTHIS!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/12
Mohines
Location: northcarolina
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Great game. awsome everything. great price. The end will make you scratch your head but after a minute you'll notice how beast it is. And some races are awsome and so hard you'll want to destroy something.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10