GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Heavenly Sword

A dramatic tale of revenge sees Nariko, a fiery red-haired heroine, embark on a quest for vengeance against an invading King and his army. The story builds around the ancient Heavenly Sword, which once belonged to a powerful deity. It can never be wielded by a mortal without it slowly but inevitably draining their life-force. When the invading King (voiced by Andy Serkis, aka Gollum of Lord of the Rings fame) destroys the warrior clan that guards the Heavenly Sword, the clan leader's daughter, Nariko, takes up the sword in a desperate fight for survival. Nariko must now pay the ultimate price as she embarks on one last mission of vengeance against the King and his army before her life is finally and irreparably overtaken by the omnipotent Heavenly Sword.
Average Customer Rating:
8.654
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
10 stars
12
9 stars
6
8 stars
3
7 stars
3
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
24 out of 2692%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Heavenly Sword
Review 1 for Heavenly Sword
Very Good for the Price of $9.99
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/13
bryce1jake
Location: Greenville, NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game starts and you are at the end of a battle but the past slowly catches up to you. But it seems like you fight the same men on each level and the bosses seem like they regenerate life until you kill them for the third time. But overall the graphics are good and it is fun but can get quite frusterating on some of the bosses. I give HEAVENLY SWORD a 7. Does anyone have any tips for fighting Bohan/Raven King on the last level. I am stuck on that part and I keep on Dying. Se ya, bryce1jake.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 2 for Heavenly Sword
Extremely fun - consumer advisory
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/13
MrYamamoto
Location: Downey
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I just got this game a few days ago. Yes, I know I'm REALLY late to the party. I must say that this game is beyond amazing and fun - especially once I was able to get a hold of things and the controls. That being said - here is my advisement to other would-be players.
For future reference - The 1.10 update of Heavenly Sword may cause some complete freezing during loads. I thought it was my disk at first - fairly clean. I went to trade it in for a new copy and I ran back home excited to play it, though, the freezing continued to persist. I ended up rolling back the game data and re-installed the game minus the update and it worked/works perfectly without problem. Well, minus the rumble effect that was added in by the said update. Overall, it is still worth it without the rumble.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Heavenly Sword
This game is a classic.....
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/27/12
batman25
Location: Los Angeles, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is a classic and it is one of Sony's best games....... The gameplay is straight and the graphics is sick..... If u have a Playstation 3, this game is a must have.............
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heavenly Sword
Worth a play through
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/12
Connor1992
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Pretty decent god of war knockoff with amazing graphics. Not in the same league, but id recommend picking it up even if youve played all three god of war games
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heavenly Sword
A cinematic experience
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/12
StrictLegion
Location: Detroit, Michigan
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is slightly and almost perfect due to its' amazing breath-taking graphics (keep in mind this game was made in 2007 and the graphics beat games that were made in 2011). The fighting scenes were smooth, a bit difficult. The controls are also a bit difficult, it just needs some getting use to. The voice acting is amazing, it's realistic. The most important part thing is that the story mode. The story line just attracts you, some games just make you want to skip through them because theyre just uninteresting and boring. Not this game, this game just attracts you to play it more and more. The soundtrack is also beautiful, so are the scenes. The downside of this game is that it's definitely too short and the cameras really irritate you after a while.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Heavenly Sword
Stay Away From This Game!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/11
Capcomfan2010
Location: Joliet, IL
So as we all know the developing team for this game Ninja Theory are working on a new Devil May Cry game and a lot of people have said that it looks like this game so I tried it out about a few months ago (I just forgot to write this review then) and I have to agree if this game is this bad I'm expecting DmC to be as well. There are so many glitches, frame rate drops, rip offs from titles like God of War, sometimes you'd kill an enemy but you'd end up dying, the audio is extremely off and it reminds me a lot like Genji: Days of The Blade which had almost everything this game had the only difference was you aren't in Japan nor can you switch in between characters.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 28 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heavenly Sword
its a good action game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/11
OldMartin
Location: Los Angeles
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game its good but its like prince of persia game play but in this you dont have the time sands
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Heavenly Sword
Fantastic!! Emotional!! Fun!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/11
fearhunt
Location: TN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This was one of my first ps3 games i bought, and I dont regret the purchase. The pllot and the story in this game is very deep and moving. It will have you playing the game straight threw without putting the controller down. The graphics are one of the best i have seen on the ps3, for the time of this game being released. I only wish the game was a little bit longer, but it's still worth picking up.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heavenly Sword
Loved it!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/24/11
Perfxshun
Location: new york, ny
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I thought this was a really great game. Though the concept had been done before the gameplay and world kept the game fresh. The only real problem I had with the game was that it was sooooo short.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 10 for Heavenly Sword
Awe inspiring!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/11
FryedMustard
Location: California
This is more than a game, its an experience like none other! First off it has the most smooth and flowing (and AMAZING) combat out of any game that I have played! The graphics also are probably the best i have seen and i have yet still to see better! The game is like a well directed movie because the cut scenes are perfectly voice acted and the characters movements and actions are astounding! Also all of the cut scenes except for the one of the first and the last are not pre rendered which also impresses me onto another level of being astounding lol! The only con of this game is that it is around an 8 hour game for one play through but it is the most amazing 8 hours i have ever had with a video game!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Heavenly Sword
One of the Best!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/31/11
gaminggal83
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Simply put, this game was amazing! I loved the character, along with the story line. It was also action packed, full of beautiful artistry, graphics and cool mini-action games. Most of all, I loved that gaming extends to hot, heroic women (such as myself)! Anyways, the only sad part is that they did not extend a part 2 version of this game. I understand Uncharted was made by the same ppl who produced this game, but I really loved the character and story line of this one. They just don't make em like this anymore!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Heavenly Sword
i love it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/16/11
spider
i really like it but i cant get past the second boss use the range triangle for the small water wave and ranged square for the big one
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Heavenly Sword
I WANT MORE!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/11
Vicodinightmare
Location: Boise, ID
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This games was awesome. I really wish they would do a sequel of some sort but I don't think it's going to happen. This was the very first game I bought for my PS3 and I still love playing it. If you like adventure, sexy women, and great graphics - Get it!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Heavenly Sword
Though not my kind of game, pleasently surprised.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/11
Wanahakalugi87
Location: Roanoke, VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Although this game was one that I was looking forward to own, I was a little dissapointed. As I never buy a new game, I bought this game used. Being that I always give a game the full 7 days until I return it, I played this game a good amount. However, I have to admit that I was a little dissapointed. I gave the game a 7, which equals good, only because the story was interesting. If you are into the whole "God of War" comparison, you should give the game a try. I do wish there a little more free roam in the game itself, over all the gameplay is a little linear, at least where I got too. Over all not dissapointed, but I plan on returning the game to try somethingelse.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 15 for Heavenly Sword
Amazing Game! Everyone should try this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/10
MommyHimes21
Location: Alabama
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I just recently bought this game. It might be a few years old but it's an awesome game. For anyone that played the God of War series for the PS2 would love this game. The storyline is easy to understand and engaging. The shooting system took me a couple tries to figure out, but once I did I loved it. I was sniping people like nobody's business.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Heavenly Sword
Try the game, please.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/10
jonathanpeterson
Heavenly Sword is generally speaking at first glance a simple hack n slash. Moving past the initial impression of a poor man's God of War, you see it's actually completely different. Nariko's clan is charged with protecting the Heavenly Sword from mankind, because it is much too powerful and has only wrought destruction in humans hands. Believed to be the sword of an ancient hero, and thought to gain power while sucking the life of the wielder, it is no joke to use. Nariko has to use the sword, however due to unfortunate consequence. What follows is a story of one woman simply trying to save her father, her clan, and ends up saving the world. An actual heroine, unlike some characters, trying to do the right thing no mater the cost. The game play is easy and fun to master, counters are especially cool to pull off, and every enemy has a certain way that is best suited for defeating them. The speed stance, normal stance, is pretty standard and balanced, really suited for sitting up combos. The power stance is well suited for powerful finishes, or for breaking certain blocks. And the last stance, range stance, is good for deflecting projectiles, or also chaining combos. You also have "limit breaks" which differ according to your gauge (how full it is, obviously) and yes, even your stance. Each one is very enjoyable and evoke a sort awe moment, some had me saying Kratos who?. The sound is very good, very realistic, overall no noticeable problems for me except for maybe slight delays when transitioning to cut-scenes, but not a deal breaker. The graphics are great, a little aged now, but on par with where you would want them. There were some minor glitches, but I challenge you to find a game without graphical glitches, as I have played none.Again not a deal breaker. The length of the game is the biggest drawback, I wish it was longer, but I did feel satisfied overall with the arc of the game if you will. The game is the right length for the story, it didn't seem anything was tacked on just for the sake of making it longer. The game overall flowed together really well, certainly a solid effort and will not be leaving my collection. I really hope Ninja Theory will come back to this universe with a sequel one day, it is worth revisiting. Also I should mention the extras on this game have yet to be matched, there is no "battle arena" the only extra missing in my opinion, but does make sense. The making of's, artwork, etc. is a great value in itself, it's like getting a deluxe edition. It's "old" by now, if you have a chance to grab it, you have no excuses not to. The main complaint is length, and if you look at a lot of action games, even the good ones, they are almost as short too. God of War 3 was short in my opinion, I think these too aren't far away as far as length, just my opinion. Play it and enjoy.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Heavenly Sword
A great action game...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/17/09
Essential
Let me start by saying that those who overlooked Heavenly Sword because of comparisons, or whatever reason are truly missing out. This was a great game around launch time that showed only a fraction of what the PS3 is capable of. Games this epic are quite rare. The storyline is cleverly written, and immerses you into it. Some scenes will actually evoke emotion from you. The graphics/animation are some of the best that I have ever seen. The characters move very realistic, and their facial expressions are excellent. The motion capture team behind this game is brilliant. You will definitely get a challenge from this game because you are awarded combos as you progress through the game. You can always start playing, and just do the basic moves. The true beauty of the amimation, and gameplay comes out though once you have mastered the controls. The sound quality is very good. There are a few minor issues that are present. Many have complained about the short length. That should not be a problem if you like to get more experienced, and enjoy the amazing animation. My other gripe would be that the game seems too difficult at times, but if you like a challenge you will welcome it. In short, if you do not own Heavenly Sword, what are you waiting for, Ignore comments putting it down, and try it for yourself and judge for yourself.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Heavenly Sword
2 years old and still great in many ways!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/09
no email addresses
The following statement may come as a surprise to many who over-looked Heavenly Sword due to its constant God of War comparisons. It is a great PS3 exclusive that should not be missed by fans of “combo-centric action”, truly Epic battles, and slow-motion cross-bow goodness. Ninja Theory “knocked the ball out of the park” with Nariko’s adventure in so many ways, it’s a surprise to me this title seems to get forgotten. The plot, characters, and their voice counter-parts are all “polished past average”. Not to mention the visuals are still stunning, the facial animations are the most realistic / believable I’ve seen to date, and the character control is “solid” when kickin’ some ass. In all honesty, I can’t find much to complain about with HS. A hypocrite would call the game-play stale in comparison to GoW, which it isn’t at all (and I’m a big fan of the God of War series). A picky person would call the length of the game short but to me, this 6 hour experience “came and went” at just the right pace. I guess I could complain about how occasionally the audio falls behind visuals in cut-scenes, but this “off-sync” is not even comparable to how bad the Ghostbusters sync-issues were. Beyond your first play-through awaits an un-lockable “hell mode” for anyone looking for a “real” challenge. A second-time around wouldn’t be a bad idea considering the amount of combos to unlock will not be met in one run. This Blue-ray disk also comes wielding some interesting “Making of” videos and animated shorts, which are entertaining to say the least. At a glance, Heavenly Sword may remind some of the critically-acclaimed “Kratos games”, but at heart it feels like a different experience. Beyond melee combos, are projectile attacks that are “steered” with the in-game “After Touch” mechanics, adding another notch of fun onto this titles belt. Nariko’s adventure revolves around many characters, which all develop through the story-line as they interact with each other, unlike the GoW series. Heavenly Sword also grips the player with emotions through the amazing facial animations wether it’s the adorable cheer of Kai, or the menacing evil stares of King Bohan; which also gives HS its own tone. As an un-opened retail purchase, the price tag may be a bit steep for the occasional 3rd person action gamer; for the hardcore fans of the genre, not so much. Either way, Heavenly Sword is a great experience that shouldn’t be missed by any PS3 owner; be it a bargain bin purchase or a rental. Ninja Theory may be hard at work on their next title, Enslaved, but that doesn’t give players a reason to forget its predecessor. (A-) - Jeffrey d
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
longshot09
 
Please wait while more information about longshot09 is loaded.
Additional information about longshot09 could not be loaded.
Not as excited as the rest...
Posted 8/3/11
While everyone else was rather excited about this game, I found that while it had great graphics, awesome character acting and a pretty good story however the absolutely awful game play and controls over shadowed the rest. The lack of a block button when you have to kill literally 500 guys (LOL) is pretty bad. This is the first time I’ve seen (for good reason) a game use the six axis controller to guide every projectile to its target, sounds fun but not the case. Everything else about this game is great with the exception of the actual game play, I’m sure it all sounded good on paper but… worst controls EVER. I would not recommend this game to anyone.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Heavenly Sword
Small Faults, Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/19/09
Sherke
I went in to Heavenly Sword expecting it to be another run-of-the-mill action Beat 'Em Up game. I was pleasantly wrong. This is an amazing title. The facial expressions on the characters' faces and their body language truly make them seem human. The characters are very "real" in their actions and emotions, lending the game a certain artistry that makes it stand out amongst other titles of the same genre. In a lot of games, you tend to get a somewhat stop-and-go effect in the animations, making them look very mechanical. In Heavenly Sword, however, the animations were utterly smooth and fluid, as if watching actors on a film. Overall the game is not that challenging the first time through; the hardest part tends to be timing. However, once you have played through and unlocked the Hard mode, things get interesting. The enemies are much smarter, giving our heroine a run for her money. Unfortunately, I felt the game was somewhat short. However, the replay value is wonderful. Not only can you play through on an entirely different difficulty setting after finishing the game once, you have the challenge of gaining all 129 glyphs to unlock all of the extra features. The storyline was simply amazing. There was a depth and emotion in the storyline that one does not typically see in this genre. It played like an action game, but gave you a memorable and touching tale. Heavenly Sword goes far beyond a mindless bloodbath and delves into the complexities that make up a peoples' belief system. The controls were very streamlined. Nariko could switch between stances seemingly during combos, opening up chain attacks more complex than the simple button mashing typically seen in this genre. There was very little in the way of interface, but what was there was concise. You didn't have a huge bar stretching across your screen with your life, and the glyph bar would fade when inactive to nearly invisible. During sequences in which you had to press a certain button at a certain time, the needed button was clearly visible yet not in the way. The game has some minor faults here and there, all of which are negligible. This was an amazing title, and I would recommend it to anyone, whether they typically enjoy an action game or not. The game has so much to offer, I have no doubt it would please a vast majority of gamers.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Heavenly Sword
Pretty good game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/09
TaberLong
Overall a pretty good game but i was severly disappointed in the length of the game, i beat it in 4 and a half hours. The first go around its not that challenging(still fun to play) but if you are looking for a challenge you have to beat the game to get a harder difficulty level. The graphics and fighting style are great i loved the storyline as well and the controls were easy to get the hang of. As far as customer characterization there is none it would have been great if we could upgrade the weapons or combos to make them more powerful. With how the game ended they could possibly make a second and if they do i hope they make it longer and add a little character customization. I would still recommend this game, good way to pass some and you will be completely enveloped by the graphics and storyline.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 next>>