GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Half-Life 2: The Orange Box

It all started in 1998. Half-Life sends a shock through the game industry with its combination of pounding action and continuous, immersive storytelling. Valve's debut title wins more than 50 game-of-the-year awards on its way to being named "Best PC Game Ever" by PC Gamer. Flash forward almost ten years later. The critcal acclaim has yet to stop. Now, The Orange Box delivers five innovative action games from Valve - creators of the blockbuster Half Life franchise, in one box. The Orange Box includes Half Life 2: Episode Two, Portal and Team Fortress 2 in addition to full versions of award-winning Half Life 2 and Half Life 2: Episode One for an engrossing first-person action experience.
Average Customer Rating:
9.13
9.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
10 stars
13
9 stars
7
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
22 out of 2396%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Review 1 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
turned out to be really fun
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/13
christine
Location: las vegas, NV
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I typically don't play this kind of game (gore and shooting) but finally gave it a chance after being obsessed with Portal and wanting to know what Black Mesa was about. Turns out it's really fun! actually quite addicting, I have to say I'm a big half-life fan now.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
You have to own this!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/24/12
daSMELLofdaFEET
Location: Leander, TX
If you haven't played these games yet...what are you thinking?? When I got back into gaming, Half-Life 2 was the first game I played. So, it definitely holds a lot of sentimental value for me. But, still, it seriously is one of the most ground-breaking games of all time. You get to enjoy huge gunfights with guards, massacre and burn crazy headcrab zombies and work your way through some of the most thought-provoking puzzle environments in any game. The other three HL2 episodes are all pretty similar (and lots of fun). They're shorter than the main campaign. Portal is simply the best puzzle game you will ever play. You basically have to work your way through numerous testing chambers using your "portal gun" to find your way out. The puzzles, voice-acting and overall gameplay is spot on. I didn't play Team Fortress. So, I can't comment on that one. You will love playing this disc for weeks. p.s. If you're new to gaming, I recommended some other games below that you need to check out. These are awesome too!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
The second best compilation of games on one disk
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/8/12
Bikezocool
Location: Florida
To me this was the second best disk game with multiple games in one. The 1st is grand theft auto 4 complete edition. this game is in my top 5 games of all time. Really excellent, That is a fact
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
The Perfect Bundle
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/11
TheBesrkerOfBorderlands32
Location: Coventry,RI
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
You can get the best games that are for pc and bringing it to the ps3! if you want to play online with me, you can add me as Llamaboy321
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Three awesome games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/11/11
Derrick1
Location: Bristol
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Let's start of at Half life 2. Half life 2 is a first-person shooting game that has puzzles and zombies involed. Gorden freeman, goes through an adventure will Alxy Vance, mostly to get Eli Vance, her father. You go through combine soldiers and headcrabs to get to Dr. Breen where you also get captured. Team fortress 2 is a other first-person shooter game where you play online to fight other people. You have different classes like the Heavy. He has a chaingun. The sniper. He has a mini machine gun and a powerful sniper. There are just about 10 other classes as well. Portal is a other puzzle game where you have a portal gun and you try to escape the facility. You end up defeating the portal master of some sort. Go through deadly sentrey turrets and missile traps. There are even more games. This also contains Half-life episode 2 and Half-life episode 1. 5 awesome games in one disk.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Amazingly addicting
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/27/11
coolguy3145
Location: AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Whether it's one of the games or a few the orange box will have you hooked for at least the next 5 weeks of your life. Valve outdid themselves this time. Half Life 2 along with episode 1 and 2 is sure to take up to 16 hours to beat. The breath taking scenery, AI intelligence (both friends and foes), and the battles will be just the start of this game. Then Portal, a FPS puzzle game is a intriguing start. Where it makes you think but not hate yourself. Then Team Fortress 2 has endless amounts of fun whether playing with friends or making new nemesis.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Half-Life 2 cannot be topped
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/20/11
10987654321
Location: unknown
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
In my opinion Half-life 2 is the greatest game ever so Half-life 2 is the only reason that you need to buy this game. Portal is also a good game even though its short, but as good as Team Fortress 2 is the console version is almost a demo compared to the pc version which is also FREE on STEAM.
 
My Product Recommendations
Halo: Combat Evolved
9.5 out of 10(30)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Great but the portal is bad
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/19/11
streetkiller
Location: all over the world
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
if they made it without the portal it might have be awesome better than any game ever.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 25 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
PORTAL 1 NEEDS TO BE A STAND ALONE PS3 TITLE
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/15/11
WWEBatman
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Well I Wish Portal 1 was a single game on ps3 but overall a great set but i'm not into half life a team fortress
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
The Best PS3 Compilation!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/9/11
docbaby80
The Orange Box is the best compilation of games that you can get for the PS3. It features Portal, Half Life 2 (Plus Episodes 1 + 2), and Team Fortress 2. Here are my personal ratings and comments on all 3 (technically it's 5 games, but I'm counting Half Life 2 as 1). Portal-10/10 One of the most creative games of all time, this is a game that you have to play before you die. GLaDOS' hilarious humor will never get old. Half Life 2 (+Ep. 1,2)-9.75/10 One of the greatest games of all time finally comes to consoles. Once again, Half LIfe is a series that you have to play before you die. This is a phenomal sci-fi shooter with a very compelling story. My only complaint is kind of strange controls for the PS3 port. Team Fortress 2-9/10. TF 2 is a great multiplayer game with funny graphics and good music. It features creative classes and fun multiplayer modes. However, there is SERIOUS lag when you shoot. If you have an RPG, your shot will be delayed anywhere from 1/2 to 3 seconds! OVERALL: The Orange Box, 9.5/10 This is a great value given the fact that you get 5 great games for a reasonable price. If you don't have this game yet, go buy it now.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Best Game Yet
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/11
NovaProspekter
Location: Buffalo, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
5 games 1 disc. All the games are worth playing and I still play The Orange Box a year after I got it. Very solid gameplay. Good graphics. Wonderful. My only problem is the hackers on Team Fortress 2, but recently I've noticed that the number of hackers has gone down.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Great Buy for Non PC Gamers
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/11
ctjedi52
Location: Ankeny,IA
Portal- This game is a great solid several hours going through all the levels and using brains and physics. This game isn't even the main game in the Orange Box set. Yes, it is a great game but you do not get the full experience on the console. You can only get the full experince on the PC.
TF2- This game is a great online game. This game isn't as good as the PC because of no hats or updates and also there aren't many games on it. Still this game sticks out and I love the PS3 version.
Summary, I really didn't want to judge the Half Life part because I don't play it ,but the combo is still amazing and worth the money. The only thing I would like to point out is that the PC version is better and this is not a replacement
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
.... Awesomeness
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/10
Mansanity
Location: South Carolina
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ok... im not going to bore everybody to death with a super long review. The Orange box is the best game package of all time!!!! i bought it for my ps3 because i have had it for PC for a VERY long time and i just wanted some better graphics... (i got exactly that). my only disappointment was that it didn't come with half-life lost coast. other than that, this is the best purchase i have evar made!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 14 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
One of the best shooters of today!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/24/10
ShockWave270
This game is mind blowing portal is an amazing puzzle game which will keep you interested all the way threw you are equipped with the portal gun which can be used to help complete levels. Next is Team fortress 2 this is one of the best online shooters of today there are many classes such as the heavy who carrys a mini gun, the medic who heals people, and the soldier who is the most basic yet most satisfying to me. If mw2 is your kind of shooter i do not reccomend it. Last is the main draw for this game is Half Life 2 this game is a master piece only play this if your a man this is one of the best stories you will find in any video game there are 3 parts of this game Half Life 2,half life 2 ep.1,and half life 2 episode 2. This is well worth the money so BUY THIS GAME! 5 GAMES IN ONE PEOPLE COME ON!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Top Tier Game(s)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/10
Xing
Face it, you're getting this game for either Half-Life or Team Fortress 2. But did you know there's another game in this 5-in-1 bundle? I know! Threw me for a loop too! Alright, alright. You're not here to hear me talk. On to the review. Half-Life 2: Picking up 10 years after the incident at Black Mesa (See Half-Life 1/ Half-Life: Source) You take control of Gordon Freeman yet again after being so rudely awakened by The G-Man. Don't question who this guy is, you'll end up getting a headache. Just know that he saved your life, by putting you in cryostasis and thawing you out again to help save the world. From what, I hear you asking? The Combine, an interdimensional race that enslaved the entire human populace in just seven hours. What ensues is a combination of running, driving, shooting, and puzzle solving, baked until golden brown. On the technical side of things, the graphics are decent, but I should mention that this was originally on the first Xbox, just ported over to the PS3 and 360, so the fact that it looks decent just shows it was ahead of its time. It controls how you would expect it to. R2 to shoot, L2 for secondary actions (EX: SMG Grenades) Square to interact with objects, L3 to crouch, R3 to zoom, L1 to sprint, R1 to switch to the weapon previously used, circle to reload, X to jump, and triangle for the flashlight. It sounds complicated when I'm explaining in text form, but it really isn't. Anyone who got too used to CoD's and Halo's "Sit. Wait. Regenerate." tactics of healing are going to have a tough time getting used to this. You have to find medkits in order to heal. What a concept (Sarcastic sarcasm is sarcastic). That about sums up this game. Next! Half-Life 2 Episode 1: What's this? More Half-Life? Well alright. Same deal as before, just new story taking place directly after the end of HL2. Same weapons, different puzzles, same control system. Next! Half-Life 2 Episode 2: Okay, this is the last Half-Life 2 game in this bundle. And admittedly the weakest. Oh, it's by no means bad, the series is just starting to repeat itself now.Same puzzles disguised as a different puzzle, exact same weapons, the only thing new about it is a couple of new enemy types and the story. The gameplay is exactly the same. NEXT! Portal: This is the mysterious game I was referring to in the beginning. I wouldn't exactly call this a shooter, but more of a first person puzzler. I can sum this up easily. 1. Short. Only a couple of hours long. This is indeed a good thing. It means it doesn't overstay its welcome. 2. Has the same gameplay as HL2, except the sprint was replaced with another jump button and the circle button crouches now. 3. It is HILARIOUS. If you like dark humor, though. 4. You are a test subject. A guinea pig if you will, forced to complete a series of tests in a science lab. It is considered a cult classic, and has garnered a sequel slated to come out this year. NEXT! Team Fortress 2: Well this'll be an easy plot to summarize. There is none. Red Team wants to kill the Blue Team. The Blue Team wants to kill the Red Team. There is an assortment of classes, each with their own weapons. For instance, the Soldier has a rocket launcher, a shovel, and a shotgun. The Heavy has a minigun, a shotgun, and his fists. Each map has a specific game, but the most popular one and the one you are most likely to wind up in when you press "Quickplay" is 2Fort, which is just Capture the Flag. But hey, at least it's fun. It's solid gameplay wise. Same controls as HL2, except L1 and R1 cycle through your weapons, and Square taunts. Remember, this is an online shooter. Some people are going to be better than you. Accept it, and just enjoy the game. Phew, 5 games in just 3995 characters. That's an accomplishment for me. Anyway, thought I'd mention that HL2 Ep 1 and 2, Portal, and TF2 all have Developer Commentary that you can listen to while playing them. Except TF2, for obvious reasons. If you are interested, give it a l
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Great Package! ! !
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/31/10
monster expert
I know a lot of people are saying that Team Fortress 2 is really bad but I think that its the best game in the package. Even though not as many people are on the ps3 version, it still, overall, has a pretty good turn-up. I didn't really like the controls for the game, but at least they let you change them to what you would like. One of the bad things on TF2 is that you can't zoom in unless you are a sniper and it's just a scope. Half-Life 2 has a pretty good storyline but I think they could've done a better job on the controls and the graphics. It is still a pretty fun game, though. I also like Portal which is pretty short but still a lot of fun. I spent 2 hours just jumping into one portal and falling into another and then falling into the first one and then falling into the second one, and so on. Overall, it is a real addicting game but if you have an xbox I think it might be a little better on that console. Keep in mind half life 2 pc is 5 years old. Score 7.25 out of 10
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
The Perfect Gaming Experience
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/24/09
Sands of Time fan
So, let me start out by saying that all these games put together form the perfect gaming experience on one single disc. Half Life 2 has an excellent story line and gameplay, especially the gravity gun. I wouldn't call half life 2 perfect, but it adds to the overall perfectness of the orange box. next there's team fortress 2, and on the ps3 version there are barely anyone on line so it's really hard for me to review it, but i have played the x box 360 version, and it is really annoying with all those snipers and spies, but its really fun, so it balances out half life 2's almost perfection to make the combination perfect. Lastly there's portal and this game is perfect all by itself, all the portal based puzzles, the pitch black humor, and it doesn't get repetitive because it's only about 2 or 3 hours long. but it still makes the orange box completely perfect and i can't wait for the sequel to portal. GET THIS GAME!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
TF2 kinda sucks but the rest of this package is AMAZING!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/09
Bpatches
Yeah this game gets a bad reputation for it's online game, "Team Fortress 2," but the rest of the games on this disc are some of the best games I have EVER played. TF2 is ok if you're bored but it is kinda PS2 quality as far as the online goes. Half Life 2 has the best storyline I have EVER seen in a game. I have yet to play episode 1 and 2 as I just beat Half Life 2 and it was the best offline experience I have ever had. I highly recommend this awesome bargain to anyone who wants a good offline experience. And notice I did say offline because like other reviewers say TF2 contains hella lag and horrible graphics compared to other PS3 games. This was the second PS3 game I owned and I still love it and I got my PS3 over a year ago. But overall if all you play is online don't buy this.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Do not buy
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/08
salamrocks
I bought this game thinking it was the king of all FPS but sadly i was wrong. I bought this game thinking team fortress 2 was going to be great for two months until my b-day came but i was wrong again. There are only 9 games available to join and the game is laggy as heck. Did i mention how bad the graphics are they look like really good ps2 graphics and there are constant slowdowns of the game. Portal is the only good game and sadly i beat the game in about 2 hours. I only recommend this game to people who are really old school FPS fans but i give half life two props for its really good story. I'm very disappointed with my purchase. If you are a fan of good value for your buck and are looking for a sci-fi game then Resistance 2 is your game because that game is simply amazing.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
3 of 57 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
xXZ195Xx
 
Please wait while more information about xXZ195Xx is loaded.
Additional information about xXZ195Xx could not be loaded.
Seriously
Posted 12/30/13
Half-Life 2 graphics (at least on the computer) are still better than that of NASCAR on the Wii and HL2 was made in 2000. My personal opinion is that Half-Life 2 deserved to be best PC game ever and it still is my favorite game today.
Customer Avatar
videogamesarereallyawesom
 
Please wait while more information about videogamesarereallyawesom is loaded.
Additional information about videogamesarereallyawesom could not be loaded.
What do you expect
Posted 6/20/13
the game is old but the graphics shouldn't be what your looking for, it should be the gameplay it's always about the gameplay plus do you know how old these games are, it's no wonder the games have high PS2 graphics. But on team fortress 2 I'm not a fan of that game so I don't care what you say about that
Customer Avatar
Lonespectator
utah
 
Please wait while more information about Lonespectator is loaded.
Additional information about Lonespectator could not be loaded.
I think there isn't a better deal out there
Posted 1/4/13
yes the graphics are out dated but I have yet to find a better set of games portal has half life references and half life has portal references I also am a major fan of team fortress 2 but i have to admit it is better on computer but it is still very fun and portal is kinda crazy scary i Played through when i was 10 or so just because of "Rat man" was creepy and yes the cake is a lie
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 20 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Only buy this game if your a man
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/08
Green Man and the all-famous Boston Creamer
Howdy there folks! It's Time for another creamy review! Here's the deal with The Orange Box... ITS AWESOME. This game is absolutely worth the 30 bones. If you ask me, it was worth the 60 I spent. The Orange Box does not only have one of the best story lines since the Metal Gear series, but it is full of exciting game play, and a colorful spectrum of characters (No pun intended). Let's start with portal. Portal is a new game developed by Valve, and is a 1st person puzzle based game. With astounding graphics and a sadistic robot guiding your way... your bound to you have a blast. The second big attraction to The Orange Box, is the sequel to Team Fortress. While the all famous Boston Creamer and myself did not like this part of The Orange Box it is not to say you won't. Team Fortress 2 is an online 3rd person shooter with funny animated characters. You can pick from a range of different classes including a Mechanic, a Medic, a Heavy Gunner, and so on. Our personal favorite was the spy, with who could imitate his way into the other teams base. Anyway the last and personal favorite of The Orange Box is Half-Life 2 Episode 2. The Orange box comes with Half-Life 2, Half-Life 2 Episode 1, and Half-Life 2 Episode 2. So really the Orange Box comes with a total of FIVE different games. Anyway we highly recommend this game because as of right now... it is one of the good few PS3 games out for the system.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>