GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Half-Life 2: The Orange Box

It all started in 1998. Half-Life sends a shock through the game industry with its combination of pounding action and continuous, immersive storytelling. Valve's debut title wins more than 50 game-of-the-year awards on its way to being named "Best PC Game Ever" by PC Gamer.Flash forward almost ten years later. The critcal acclaim has yet to stop...Now, The Orange Box delivers five innovative action games from Valve - creators of the blockbuster Half Life franchise, in one box. The Orange Box includes Half Life 2: Episode Two, Portal and Team Fortress 2 in addition to full versions of award-winning Half Life 2 and Half Life 2: Episode One for an engrossing first-person action experience.
Average Customer Rating:
9.156
9.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (102 reviews)
10 stars
44
9 stars
12
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
0
57 out of 6489%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Review 1 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Great online shooter
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/26/13
PO88
Location: New York,NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
GOOD GOOD AND GOOD! the game is amazing! you have to get it! the guns are cool too! GEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEET IT
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
that the orange box can be fun for fun players.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/14/13
killspreeman67
Location: seattle
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
its fun for fun players and the best game on the game is team fortress 2 it has good everything i just love team fortress 2
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
A Masterpiece, Nothing Less
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/31/13
roidesjeux1234
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Arguably the greatest deal in the history of video games. I almost feel bad paying so little for something with so much value. Gameplay? Excellent. Sound? Flawless. Graphics aren't superb, but they have aged wonderfully and hold up against the games of today. These games will be remembered for years to come as the best of all time. Half-Life, Portal, TF2. Simply brilliant. If you don't own it, it's never too late to experience these titles brought to the consoles by legendary developer Valve.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Perfection:(n) The Orange Box
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/14/12
Kinglok1
Location: Illinois
I rated this pack a 10/10 for many reasons, chief among them is the fact that this pack includes Half-Life 2 and its expansions. Half-Life 2 is my favorite game of the pack, it is a combination of first-person shooter and adventure/puzzle game. As you progress through the campaign you will encounter many challenges solved not only with bullets, but with brains. The game is fun, challenging and very original. It is emotional at times, but also humorous. The game is very long, but does not get boring; It comes with the two expansions available at the time of its release for The Orange Box. It has good graphics, very good for the time of release, and faces are so detailed you can see the emotions of many of the main characters you meet. This pack also includes Portal, a first-person puzzle game in which, armed with a gun which shoots two-way portals and sheer determination, you must attempt to complete a set of challenges put forth by super-corporation, Aperture Sciences. (Portal by itself I rate 9/10, short, but an utter blast to play.) Last, but arguably not least is the Xbox 360 version of Team Fortress 2. I am not going to lie, this game is practically dead, but once you're in a match, it is just as fun as any of the other games in the pack. The lighter side of violence is revealed through Team Fortress's larger than life characters and run-and-gun casual gameplay. All in all, this is one of the best investments I have yet made on my Xbox, no small deal ( as I've put at least $300 into my Xbox in games). I bought this a few years back for about USD $35 and haven't looked back.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Entertaining for a supposedly old game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/14/12
aco612
Location: Future wetlands of Louisiana
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Yes, this came out EARLY into the Xbox 360 console's life, but there is a lot of content here. It is described as 5 games in 1 box, which is partially correct, although 3 of them are Half Life games. And those games are sooooo good. You'd expect the developments in FPS over the last 5 years to have made them outdated, but it hasn't. Actually the gameplay in the Half Life games is superior to almost all FPS released to date on the Xbox 360! Why? Because of the depth of gameplay - a partially interactive environment that doesn't hold your hand yet doesn't require a cheat book to figure out - Half Life 2 still is worth playing. All parts of shooting and melee are intuitive, with no complex button mashing to make things happen. Portal is equally valid today, as a wonderfully challenging "puzzle" game that melded FPS with strategy. Neither have a particular lot of replayability, but the strength of their original playthrough is enough to recommend them. Highly recommended, that is.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/12
Personish
Location: Arizona,Phoenix
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Half life has always been a award winner. I think they should make a new half life. That would be cool. But this game pack is great overall. Portal is a fun braintwisting puzzel game. Team Fortress 2 has great online play. And the half lifes are amazing. They have all kinds of weapons , and creatures to kill. If you havn't played half life or portal get this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
My favorite game, ESPECIALLY TF2
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/2/12
MoonPie07
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Wow, I don't even know where to start! The Half life series are not boring, but super adventurous and fun at the same time. The Portal series have been a BLAST for me. The first Portal was terrific. Great achievements, and so much tests to keep your brain going for quite a long time! The story line is sad and very interesting and EXTREMELY original. Team Fortress 2 was hands down, the best game EVER!!!! TF2 is in my top 3 games of all time, and smacks on the 1st place spot. The graphics are EXTREMELY good, the originality is over the roof, and the gameplay (such as weapons, lasting appeal, characters, setting) is truly MIND BLOWING. 9 amazing classes with own techniques and specialty. I truly hope an update is made to this game just like the PC. I never get bored of this game and always find someone to play. The orange box puts your skills to the TEST!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
A Masterpiece, of Sorts.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/8/12
NyanRanger
Location: Pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ahh, The Orange Box. A wonderful game made by the great company Valve. Lets start this off, for the great price of $30 for FIVE games, you can't go wrong. I'll review each one at a time, so sit down and enjoy my opinions.
Half-Life 2 and Episodes 1-2 - The Sequel to the classic hit Half-Life, Half-Life 2 brings a load of new items to the table after each expansion. After the "incident" at Black Mesa, Dr. Freeman is awoken from stasis after 20 years... This goes on into a tutorial with a nice setting.
Gameplay wise, It gets a 9/10... It starts slow, but gradually gets faster in pace.
Graphics, It gets a 7/10 at the time these we're revolutionary graphics, as of now... they're meh.
Sound, a 9/10 in my book, with great dialogue and memorable voice acting, it's one of the great parts of the game.
Overall, the 3 games alone are worth the price its self, but we still have a few more to go to.
Team Fortress 2 - Another Sequel to a marvelous game. The first thing you may notice is it's wacky and colorful artstyle, something rarely seen in today's Boom and Bloom FPS's. Unfortunately, this game has been deserted by Valve on the Xbox and PS3 due to Microsoft and Sony being jerks about the games updates (A Massive amount of Content is missing from the game compared to the PC version).
Gameplay, 9/10 a great array of 9 classes which all are balanced and have pro's and con's, aswell as great maps to play on.
Graphics, 9/10 it has some great visual effects and has as I mentioned a uniquely crafted artstyle.
Sound, 10/10 Superb voice acting and really great sound effects make this a game to play through.
Overall it's a wacky messed up world in the Team Fortress 2 world... but, you should have no trouble fitting in.
Portal - A surprise hit and another superb game in this collection. A game that no one had ever heard of and then a game that everyone has heard of. Albeit only it has a small campaign, but has challenges and bonus levels for you to play through.
Graphics, 8/10 Great textures and cool visual effects makes this a pretty cool game, like Half-Life 2 it's graphics are dated and it does become bland after a while.
Gameplay, 9/10 Gameplay you've probably have never seen in any other game out there. It's intuitive and works flawlessly.
Sound, 8/10 It's an ambient and hollow game, expect little to no sound at times except for the sound effects (which actually works very well considering the plot). And the voice acting from GLaDOS is great aswell.
After beating this game I had to do it again, just because it was so darn fun. It is sort though, so be wary of that. I would recommend buying Portal 2 after this, a greatly improved game in every aspect.
A Great Buy, everyone should own this collection.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Ehh
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/25/12
Int123
Location: New Jersey
i dident find any games to be addicting at all potral is short half life is boring and it was a waste so i returned it
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Great for the price now
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/24/12
Swagtildawn
Location: Frankfort, Ky
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I paid 22.49 (24.99 without gamestop rewards card) for 5 games. Although 3 of the games are the same series it was still worth it. Half Life 2 is one of the best stories of all time and the gameplay is really pretty solid. I just liked all of the Half Life's. I honestly would have paid that price for just the half life games, there extremely good and even though there a little dated I would say any gamer who likes a good story with a silent protagonist will love this game. Half Life 2, Half Life 2: Ep. 1, and Half Life 2 ep. 2 together would be a 9/10 overall. Team Fortress 2 is the downfall to this set of 5 games. I love the fact that valve was being very cartoony with the FPS online multiplayer but it really just comes up short in my book. There are 9 preset classes with there own perks but it seems all the game types are the same and the maps are extremely similar and boring which makes the game almost unplayable, I would have liked a small story mode with this game at least and I give this game a 4/10, a 4 standing for the number of minutes I can actually play this game. Now moving on to Portal, I enjoyed it just like I enjoy any mediocre puzzle game. I liked that it was more challenging than others but it really has nothing other to offer. Its different than most but for me Its just not for me, but it is quite popular so who I am I to say you wont like it. I gave it a 6/10, just a decent puzzle game. If your just buying an xbox I would say its def must have because it literally has everything for a low price now. Yes the multiplayer is bad, but like I said it has everything and If all fails, you have Half Life 2 and episodes so that should keep you pretty entertained for a while. :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
only fun for 1 game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/19/12
cmh619
Location: san diego,ca
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
the only truely fun game is portal. portal is still very short though. team fortress 2 no 1 is online. half life 2 is pretty fun but gets old fast.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
i dunno
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/14/12
AnonymouslyConfused28
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
For some reason I keep trying games made my VALVE and I always end up not liking them. I just find Half Life 2 boring. It is a bit dated obviously. Maybe I am just used to the more fun and better playing new games on the market. I dunno
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Best out of 5 games, TF2
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/12
MoonPie07
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Wow, i don't even know where to start. This game is just AMAZING. Gameplay is truly great, graphics are well made, and I can never get bored of this game! Half-Life 2 is fun and extremely adventurous. Portal is very puzzling and challenging, yet it delivers loads of fun gameplay. Team Fortress 2 is fun, skillful, and just super great! 9 classes, 2 teams, several wars. It is loads of fun. The Orange Box is a must have!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
An ultimate of five great games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/12
DOHgamer
The Half-Life series are awesome. It's a unique sci-fi shooter, with an interesting plot to back it up. I am really looking forward to play Half-Life 3, if it ever comes out. Portal is a great puzzle game also in its own unique way. There are some moments where it would challenge you, but it's simple and entertaining. Once again, Valve has done a great job with these games, and I am really looking forward to their next game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
A true gem, wheather you play hardcore or casualy!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/2/12
Daftendirekted
Location: Lancaster, CA
This is a great bundle of games, for a good price. Each game is about 5 dollars if you buy this pak. Not only that, it's not something like 1 really good game, 2 ok games, and 2 bad games. It is five AWESHUM games!!! Half-Life 2, HL2 Episodes 1&2: This game is really cool. You are a scientist named Gordan Freeman and... Well I won't spoil it for you. This game is great! It is strategic, and has action in it. Also, unlike many shooters, the plot isn't told by cutscenes, rather it just happens from your perspective. It's really neat. Plus, for a game that was originally released in 2004, this has AMAZING graphics that I would rank ABOVE Halo: Reach. Portal: This is an amazing game. I had never heard of it before, and when Portal 2 came out, I was all "wait there's a Portal 1?". This game is fun. It requires thinking, but somehow it doesn't make my brain hurt. You can use portals to do some really freaky stuff! TF2: Also cool. This is a cartoony FPS, but it is still fun. There are a few maps, but my favorite is 2Fort, where you capture the enemy's intelligence. There are 9 classes: Scout (You get a scattergun) Soldier (Bazooka) Pyro (flamethrower) Demoman (Grenade launcher) Medic (healing thingie) Engineer (wrench to build turrets) Sniper (sniper rifle) Heavy (chaingun) and Spy (all sorts of crazy stuff). It is fun to play, and I have gone for hours before... OVERALL: This is a great package of games, and everyone should get a chance to play it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
deamon0821
virginia beach, va
 
Please wait while more information about deamon0821 is loaded.
Additional information about deamon0821 could not be loaded.
all awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted 10/12/12
I loved all the games because all the storys I thought were interesting so you sholud buy it
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
EXTREMLY GOOD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/17/12
TheGameingMaster
Location: CT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I may have to say that this is a really good bundle of games.The total price of all these games without buying the bundle costs way more that this reduced price bundle.And with the wide variaty of these games,it will take some time to get sick of this.But as I would say "gameing will never end",it's a true fact in my eyes.So many people always to try buy as many games like me but end up getting broke with just buying 3-5 video games.But this will save space and money.well thats all i really gotta say about "The Orange Box".X-Box live Gamer Tag:xXSaintEpicXx
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NINJA402
Ca,Stockton
 
Please wait while more information about NINJA402 is loaded.
Additional information about NINJA402 could not be loaded.
Great Bundle of Amazing Games
Posted 10/7/12
I got this game a few months back and wow I loved it. Half Life is fun Portal is too but Team Fortress 2 is really amazing and I recommend this to anyone who wants a good time with great games.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
6 out of 5 stars "It's that good."
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/22/12
SodaPopReviews
Location: San Diego, CA
HALF-LIFE 2: The Best game I have ever played and indescribable its so spectacular. The Story is the best I've seen. You are Gordon Freeman, a scientist turned soldier after an experiment went wrong unleashing a portal to another dimension called Zen, letting aliens and monsters from Zen, destroying and killing the inhabitants of the Black Mesa Research Facility. A alien species called the combine are deployed as an organized military army that's job is to eliminate the resisting survivors, and Gordon Freeman. Fight alongside the Resistance against the Combine and other Alien Monsters for freedom in many environments. Ravenholm, where you'll be confronted and mobbed my many types of monsters and zombies like Headcrabs, and their victims controlled my the Headcrabs and turned into zombies and City 17, against the Combine Civil Protection Troops or in compounds where the Combine assemble. There is so much time and challenges in this game, it'll take you a month. There is a gritty graphic look to the scenery that makes the graphics a ten. There are challenges everywhere and mind bending achievements, and the game does not tell you where to go. You gotta figure out the challenges for yourself and where to go. The Engine is where you can interact with anything, pick up anything and everything is real. The weapons are unique and feel good when they are used. This game will never get old and is the best I've ever played.
IM TOO TIRED. JUST BUY THIS! PORTAL IS GREAT AND TF2 IS A MUST HAVE!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Will Never Get Old
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/16/12
TACOpinata
Location: Knoxville, TN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
In my opinion, this game collection is classic. I'm not gonna lie, I really just got this for portal, but the Half Life episodes and Team Fortress 2 are really awesome as well. I think it's awesome that the Half life and Portal stories are from the same universe. This makes the storyline a interesting. I totally recommend this game for everyone and have already made up my mind to go for Portal 2.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
Perhaps the best bang for your gaming dollar ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/12
Clarkey
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The Orange Box was the same price (roughly) when I picked it up a year or two ago. If you noticed that most games get 5-10 bucks slashed off their price every few months you'll realize that the demand for the Orange Box must have stayed constant for quite a while. There is a VERY good reason for this: it contains 5 pieces of content, each one being among the most enjoyable and well-known you can buy on ANY platform.
Half-Life 2 and it's add-on mini-sequels Episode 1 and Episode 2 are games that everyone owes it to themselves to play. They are First Person Shooters with an amazing story, great characters, amazing music.... even the graphics hold up extremely well despite being a few years old. I don't want to give anything away about the game.... just know you'll LOVE it if you like First Person Shooters and you'll probably still love it if you don't. Half-Life 2 and it's add-ons would be worth paying the $60 of a new game even without the other games included in The Orange Box. One of the best games ever, definitely top 5-10.
Portal is also on the Orange Box (Portal 1 not the new one that just came out) which if you are unfamiliar it's basically a First Person physics/puzzle game where you can make 2 portals in separate walls or ceilings or whatever... and anything that goes in one portal goes out the other. This leads to some mind-bending puzzles like jumping through a hole in the floor and using the momentum to fly through the other portal to clear a gap. It has somewhere around 25 levels and it alone would be just shy of enough content to warrant buying The Orange Box. Also a VERY funny game as you are helped/taunted/attacked/apologized to by a demented AI throughout the whole game.
Team Fortress is the last one....its an all-online multiplayer game. I'm not the biggest online player in the world so I can't really speak on this one as much.... there are a lot of different classes and they work together as to encourage a lot of teamwork if you want to win. It was a lot of fun but when i play online I'm usually playing Halo Reach... although I've known many people that swear by Team Fortress as one of the best online games out there.
In Summary: these games are all a few years old but wear their age VERY well. Half-Life 2 with it's 2 add-ons would be more than worth the price tag of the Orange Box. I'd probably be OK paying the full price just for Portal, and I know of many people that would pay it just for Team Fortress. Add that all up and this is an absolute STEAL. Even if you arn't into FPS games (which all of them in The Orange Box are) this is one of those additions that is necessary in any gamer's library.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Half-Life 2: The Orange Box
A Great ARG Series and a PVP Cartoon Class Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/11
Sirrockyqo
Location: Papillion, NE
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Halflife 2 Episodes 1-2 and Portal is an Alternate Reality Game. HL2 is an ARG game set in Europe made in 2004. Gordon Freeman is the Protanagist in the game He has to find City 17 go to Black Mesa East. Then escape through Ravenholm along the cost. To Nova Prospekt and then you make your way back to City 17 to the Citidal and stop Dr Breen. HL2 Episode 1 has you go back inside the citidal to delay the super portal. Then escape on a train to White Forest. In HL2 Episode 2 You make your way through underground Antlion caves to save Alyx Vance from death. Then you continue on the road riding in a car nicknamed "The Jalopy" To White Forest. But your followed and have to fight off an invasion of Striders escorted by Hunters. Then you launch a rocket closing the Super Portal! In Portal you are a Test Subject in Aperture Science, whom was rivals with Black Mesa of the Half Life Series. Where you make your way through test chambers with an Genetic Lifeform and Disc Operating System also known as GLaDOS. At Test Chamber 19. You have to Escape and Destory GLaDOS. Team Fortress 2 is a PVP Team game including gamemodes as: Defend, Payload, Capture Point, Team Payload, Capture the Flag and 3 More!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Buy Valve's Orange Box today!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>