GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

The Sims 2: Pets

The Sims 2, is going to the dogs - and for that matter, to the cats, guinea pigs and birds too! The addition of a new friend is guaranteed to enrich the daily lives of your Sims! Not only will players have the opportunity to choose from a variety of existing breeds, and hot designer mixes, but they'll also be able to personally design their new friend with the Create-a-Pet feature. The ability to customize gives fans the opportunity to create their ideal pet by choosing their body shape, unique markings, even their pet's personalities! With so many different animals to choose from, there's no telling what unpredictable experiences could occur! Players will also be able to teach their pet new tricks, take them for a romp in the park, outfit them with new pet accessories and even give them a job! As in real life, your Sims' pet will require care and training. A neglected cat with an urge to scratch might claw up your new couch if you aren't careful, and leaving your dog unattended near a freshly planted flower bed probably isn't wise!
Average Customer Rating:
2.286
2.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
1 out of 714%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Sims 2: Pets
Review 1 for The Sims 2: Pets
Shameful Sim Game...
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/08
~sims fan~
I've been a sim fan for years, but when I bought the Sims 2: Pets, it was a MISTAKE!!! The reason is because the game is extremely boring since you're a doctor and you heal pets, that's all you do. I was expecting another great game from EA. The game is like in the style of the sims for the PC but it's very complicated to control. The graphics are one of the WORST part of the game, your sims look like BLOBS and they look totally abnormal. Even on the box, it says "create your own pet", all you can do with your pet is wash it, and train it with about only 10 moves and you basically can't interact with your pet that much. Again I was very disappointed, the game isn't just worth it, it's like the worst Sims game I've ever played... I highly recommend you don't buy this, try getting the Sims Castaway, it's much better.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
nerdess
ri
 
Please wait while more information about nerdess is loaded.
Additional information about nerdess could not be loaded.
shame shame :'(
Posted 10/23/10
i brought this game thinking like it would be like a regular sims game with your life and you have a pet and have a a vet career but have a life too like have a girlfriend/boyfriend but i'm really sad
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for The Sims 2: Pets
Not The Best
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/12
XoxEmXox
Location: San Diego, CA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I have seen EA show it's chops before. This is just embarrassing. Sims, you have disappointed us, and I don't recommend this to ANYONE.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Sims 2: Pets
Fun and then ... nothing
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/8/09
nintengirl101
i was totally addicted to this game at first but now that i have seen more and more games it is waaaaay boring. it is the same retarded people and the same boring animals each time. you get an animal, treat it, and get paid. the music is totally annoying and the animals are so ugly!!! if you want a good animal game, get nintendogs. you won't regret buying that game. this one... it is very likely. in nintendogs, you buy your own dog, train it to respond to your voice, teach it to go through an obstacle course (agility), use the commands you taught it to compete, or catch a disc. once they have learned it you enter contests for money to buy basic care items (shampoo, food, water, and more) and toys to have fun. you can also buy up to 8 dogs! if you don't like your dog donate it. it is soooooooo much better than this.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Sims 2: Pets
boring.....totally dull.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/08
tenchi69
I bought the game a few months ago, thinking it was going to be like the PC version or the other system versions. Boy was I disappointed when I started to play it! The day in the life of your Sim is to... boring, just uneventful. Unlike all the other Sim games, your day only lasts from the time the pet clinic opens, till it closes at the end of the day. When your not taking care of the patients, your stuck with near nothing for your Sim to do. The interaction between your Sim and the environment is very limited. Half of the time in the game, your taking care of animals who's owners are too stupid to figure out how to bathe their animal, or just want their pet to "look better", i.e. dressing them up in weird outfits. This game is just a waste of time, money, and thought. I don't suggest it to anybody.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
samdoglove
duluth, georgia
 
Please wait while more information about samdoglove is loaded.
Additional information about samdoglove could not be loaded.
WORST sims game EVER
Posted 7/6/11
I bought this game because I LOVE the sims. But when I got the game home, it was nothing like I expected. I have the Wii version and love it, so I wanted the handheld version. All you can do is eat, go to the bathroom, shower, and examine pets. There are no goals, no options at all of what you can do. The sim creator was extremely disapointing. For the Wii, you get so many options, but on DS there is almost no options. The graphics were horrible and the game was pointless. My advice, don't waste your money. I'm going to exchange this game for a new sims game the next time I go to gamestop. And does anybody know what language sims speak? If you know, please comment and get back to me on that.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for The Sims 2: Pets
One of the WORST sims games
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/7/10
toughgamer98
Location: NC
I love the sims. i got this game because of that one reason! but. well. here's the thing. The graphics were bad the game had no seeable goal and it was just plain confusing and stupid. The graphics, well all sims games graphics are that way, but it just didnt work. The game was just take care of this take care of that, which i didnt mind with Animal Crossing. it was stupid because it didnt let our pets work like they do in the other games. in other words- BIG SMELLY THUMBS DOWN!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Sims 2: Pets
It was okay
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/10
AngelMC18
Location: Whitehall,OH
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I liked it and my little sis liked it a lot too.I don't think it's the BEST sims game,but it was a good one
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Sims 2: Pets
horrible game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:5/4/11
coolman101
Location: New Jersey
I first bought this because it looked really good. I played for 5 minutes and got bored. Worst thing is your sim has to go to the bathroom ALL THE TIME! Take my advice and dont buy it.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
6 of 11 found this review helpful.