GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Sims 2: Pets

The Sims 2, is going to the dogs - and for that matter, to the cats, guinea pigs and birds too! The addition of a new friend is guaranteed to enrich the daily lives of your Sims! Not only will players have the opportunity to choose from a variety of existing breeds, and hot designer mixes, but they'll also be able to personally design their new friend with the Create-a-Pet feature. The ability to customize gives fans the opportunity to create their ideal pet by choosing their body shape, unique markings, even their pet's personalities! With so many different animals to choose from, there's no telling what unpredictable experiences could occur! Players will also be able to teach their pet new tricks, take them for a romp in the park, outfit them with new pet accessories and even give them a job! As in real life, your Sims' pet will require care and training. A neglected cat with an urge to scratch might claw up your new couch if you aren't careful, and leaving your dog unattended near a freshly planted flower bed probably isn't wise!
Average Customer Rating:
5.143
5.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
4 out of 757%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Sims 2: Pets
Review 1 for The Sims 2: Pets
It's kinda iffy
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/11/08
Mickee
Well. This is difficult to say- The Sims: Pets is not a good idea for young children, of course, but it's pretty fun how you get to create different families and people. Plus, pets are a good addition to the Sims games. I was pretty disappointed by the graphics, though. Also, it took quite a long time to load a saved game... that made me impatient and after a while you got a bit sick of it. Controls are good to handle, easy to play, it's not really challenging, but I could never get my Sim's happy level to go higher up; it was always low. I mean, what am I doing wrong if I'm feeding it, letting it meet people, keeping the house clean, and making sure it looks after the pets? I tried so hard to get its level up higher but it wouldn't work. Eventually I gave up and let it be miserable. I just think, Hey, that's your problem, Sim dude. You can be upset if you want... I've done all I could.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Sims 2: Pets
Loved it when I was younger!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/11
JamieAllOver
Location: PA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
When it first came out and I was still in elementary school, I loved this game. In fact, it was my favorite game and I think I would still like it. I think it's geared toward kid's, but anyone can play.
One thing I don't like in the game is the limited freedom. You can only explore your home lot or the pet park. Another thing I didn't like was how long the load times are. It can take forever to load!
I loved building my own house and putting all of the furniture in. I also love how much variety there is with the pets and the people in Create A Sim.
Overall, I think it's a great game that's geared more for younger children, but can be enjoyed by anyone. I really think if you're a Sim fan you should get this for PS2, PSP, Gamecube, etc.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AnimalLover05
Ballground,GA
 
Please wait while more information about AnimalLover05 is loaded.
Additional information about AnimalLover05 could not be loaded.
Best Sims 2 Game
Posted 7/22/11
I think that this game is a amazing game because i love animals and i want a good game that im a human and i have an animal :)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for The Sims 2: Pets
the fun game is fun hyperactive and just like re
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/4/11
sammy9898
Location: rosedale New York
This game is perfect for: party gamers
the game is fun hyperactive u have pets get 2 got 2 work eat sleep kiss make out pets have kids
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Sims 2: Pets
I would never recommend this game, ever.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:8/20/09
The_Maheen
The Sims 2: Pets for Playstation 2 is a silly and dumb game. When you play it for the first time, it's a lot of fun, especially all the features added that is not even for the Sims 2 on PC when you are creating a Sim. After a while the game is not that much fun. Later you come back to the game, and it's fun, but again, it gets boring. I got bored of this game very quickly. The really, really annoying thing about this game is that it's all about PETS! I know that the game is based on having a pet, but not everything revolves around having a pet. There's barely enough fun to have with your Sim. There is even a shopping center dedicated to pets. I also would not recommend this game to younger children. I would not reccomend this game to people who like Sims for PC.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
4 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Sims 2: Pets
Eh.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/10
LossOfLife1
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
It's alright, but the other games are better. It's pretty cool to have a pet, but the graphics are kinda suck-ish. It's nothing like the PC/MAC version.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Sims 2: Pets
OK
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:8/9/11
Deathlyhallows13
Location: no where
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The Sims 2 pets is a OK game. It get's old after a while. the music get's on my nerves. The graphics are almost as good as the Sims 2.(Sims 2 has the best graphics out of all the games.) The lasting appeal is not that good. there's not alot of matching furniture, so you kinda have to get creative. The Properties' landscapes all look the same. the town square is "eh" looking. You have to force yourself to get into it. To me, I can't play a Sims game without a "Max all motives" cheat. Well, this game doesn't have this cheat, which makes the game suck even worse. The game is OK.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Sims 2: Pets
Should be called, "The Bathroom Game"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:2/9/13
probablyBatman
Location: Bad Wolf \ Bigfoot's Guilty
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
First of all, I just want to say that I only played this because I was bored and this was given to me by someone who was getting rid of his PS2. Anyway, as you can see from my rating, I didn't like this game. You can't do what you really want to do because you constantly have to stop to go to the bathroom, or eat, or shower. Also, If you get a job in this game, you have to wait like five minutes doing nothing before you're done. Not to mention it takes forever for it to load. I guess it might be fun for girls but the pacing of this game was absolutely terrible.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10