GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Marvel: Ultimate Alliance

Created by Raven Software, Marvel : Ultimate Alliance lets you control the biggest, mostpowerful Super Hero alliance the world has ever known. Choose from heroes like Spider-Man, Wolverine, Blade and Elektra, to form and customize a four-member strike force. Then partner, battle and interact with more than 140 characters from the entire Marvel universe. Various actions you take may have an impact on how the story will end. It's an alliance of the ages, undertaking an epic multi-mission quest, with an innovative combat system to enrich this legendary experience.
Average Customer Rating:
7.262
7.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
10 stars
8
9 stars
8
8 stars
10
7 stars
4
6 stars
4
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
32 out of 4276%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Marvel: Ultimate Alliance
Review 1 for Marvel: Ultimate Alliance
Pretty awesome if your a fan of superheroes
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/1/11
maxmaximus
Location: miami
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Just finished beating the game for the third time. the story is okay the gameplay is simple the graphics are reminiscent of original xbox titles but the game itself is rich in marvel folklore. This game has excellent lasting appeal on account for all the things you can unlock, costumes, items, and four characters.you can beat the game on normal or hard and start hard or "super hard" with all your previous data. I also enjoyed the co-op its pretty fun kicking butt as superheroes. For 5 bucks this game is a must have.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Marvel: Ultimate Alliance
The most amazingly perfect game ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/09
lkjafljasdf
First off, if you do not have this game you are missing out on the most amazing expirence ever! MUA lets you assemble a team of 4 superheros and play through an interesting story. Depanding on the situation you can decide which heroes will best fit your team. While the combat may not be any thing special, the detailed storyline and humongous roster of superheroes and supervillans that are encountered in this game is fantasic. Basically the story runs like this, Doctor Doom has assembled a huge team of supervillans and has a impending plot that will most surely destroy the Marvel Universe as we know it. The only thing standing in his way from sure destruction is your team of over 100 Marvel Superheroes. You have to battle your way through 8 worlds from the Marvel Universe. The Helicarrier, Atlantis, Mandirin's palace, Mephisto's realm, Murderworld, Asgard, Skrull world, and finally Dr.Doom himself in his castle in Laveteria.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Marvel: Ultimate Alliance
Surprisingly fun, but little depth
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/12
ChemLord
Location: Montana
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a good game for a casual saunter through or maybe a game for a kid to screw around with. It is not hard and most likely won't challenge a serious gamer, even on hard.
There are some RPG elements in that you can choose which abilities and outfits to upgrade, how the gear you find is distributed among your heroes and lastly and most importantly, which heroes you choose to send into battle. My suggestion is to choose your favorite hero and play and upgrade them through the whole game instead of changing among heroes. This way they are utterly indestructible by the end. Although, changing heroes won't make the end game impossible either so its your choice.
The fighting is fun and easy with enough combos to add variety, but not quite enough to make big strategies with them. By the end you will feel more and more bad A as you smack around baddies without much problem.
The story is decent, but some of the voice acting is bad. There are also some things the characters do that seem a little out of place. However, you don't play for the story, you play for the easy butt kicking action and for a super casual game that is best played with friends. Keep in mind though that Ultimate Alliance 2 is out as well and it is quite a bit better. This game is fun, and an OK pick up if you love Marvel.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Marvel: Ultimate Alliance
Somewhat annoying.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/12
RootBeerOfDoom
Location: Nampa Idaho
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is rather good, if you have a LOT of patience you can unlock a bunch of characters. However do not play this game for many days in a row, it will get on your nerves. The levels, while they look different, have many similar challenges. I only enjoyed the game when I used a cheat code to get all the characters. Once I did that I could keep the game fresh, but some challenges still were just so hard to understand what to do, it got annoying fast. This is a good super hero game if you have other games you can break the monotony with. P.S. the cheat code to get all characters is: Up, Up, Down, Down, Left, Left, Left, Start. Enter in the Hero Management Menu
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Marvel: Ultimate Alliance
terrible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/18/08
rico viking 300
being the comic book geek that i am(without the geek) i was really anticipating geeting my hands on this game, well let me just say i could have waited a lot longer. this game was awful from the beginning. where do i start, the graphics are horrible, the voice actors were like listening to public broadcasting, and the moves each character does i had never seen them do in their respected comic books. what the heck is all the hoopla about. it's boring too nothing but button smashing the whole game. the only plus about the game and i do mean only is the diverse characters you can play with. guys(and gals)that you would never see together in the comics can join forces and the mixture of villains was a nice touch, but that's it! people told me i was crazy for buying justice league heroes before this well now i can say their crazy. heroes is waaaaaay better than this sorry excuse for comic based game. there's gonna be some die hard comic book guy's who disagree with me but i'm one of them diehard comic guy's so i'm telling you straight from the horses mouth staaaay awaaay.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Marvel: Ultimate Alliance
awesome game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/17/11
yurface65yesfromyoutube
Location: Yurface, Yurfaceworld
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Awesome how you can get optional missions, and have special conversations between two characters from their same comics. The roster is huge, and when you beat the game, you can go to wherever you want. The only con is the horrorville level. If you don't upgrade enough, it is impossible! The most annoying part was pitfall, which took forever.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Marvel: Ultimate Alliance
This games is for casual gamers.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/11
GamerGurl
Location: Montgomery, AL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Ultimate Marvel Alliance is an awesome family game. My family loves playing it together and fighting the bad guys. Just because it's rated T doesn't mean that it's not appropriate for your children. It's a little violent but I gurantee you that you will enjoy playing this game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Marvel: Ultimate Alliance
wow
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/5/11
codylx
Location: fl
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
great for a few bucks and ton of gameplyay and tons of costomizing and up grading grate story one of the longest games iv playd and im 15
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Marvel: Ultimate Alliance
Great With A Snag Or Two.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/3/09
Knows His Way Around an Xbox.
This really is a fun game, but it depends on a lot of things. It depends on how you play either single player or with friends. With friends no game can top it but in single player it gets a bit repetitive. I personally love games for campaign and online only matters to me a bit. The graphics in game are decent, but by cut scenes amazing. I played this back when PS2 ruled the gaming community and just absolutely loved playing with friends. This game is good for Marvel fans (Not Marvel Geeks, Geeks go too into detail.) I will admit that most of this game does not pertain to comic book series which is mainly true marvel geeks wont enjoy this game, but regardless i love it. Every time I go and see or read about anything Marvel, my first incentive is to play this MOU. Overall Its fun and cant wait For Marvel Ultimate Alliance Two!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Marvel: Ultimate Alliance
Good for 8-12 year olds
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/11
Jthebrain
Location: Orlando,FL
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Marvel: Ultimate Alliance is a game in which you can play as dozens of Marvel characters in order to aid S.H.I.E.L.D. and save the world. There are a TON of characters that you can play as which is a hu,u,u,u,u,u,u,uge plus. Bad thing is, you can only have 4 at a time. Graphics aren't bad. I don't like the fact that, when you play, you are looking from above. I think that's called 2nd-Person view. The bad guys are pretty easy but the controls can get confusing. You can switch between 4 characters and each of those characters has a bunch of powers for you to switch between. It can get frustrating. If you really like Marvel, it's good for you. You'll love all the characters. For $4.99 Pre-Owned, why not?
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Marvel: Ultimate Alliance
Great for Marvel Lovers!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/2/11
NewbornRiddler
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game is a great buy especially for 5 bucks! Anyone who loves Marvel comics will like this game. It can be played with up to 4 people each playing as a different Marvel Hero. You dont get to play as everyone, but the choices you are given make the game a fun experience.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Marvel: Ultimate Alliance
The game is great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/08
Titotrainer
The affordability of this game only makes playing it even more enjoyable. I love how the game transitions with intertwined storylines from the Marvel Universe. I also love all the character options that are available. All in all, this game is definitely worth having. I hope that there will be a continuation to this game in the near future, or maybe a change in storyline, like the Secret Invasion storyline that is taking place right now in the Marvel Comics. Also, if they were to make another game in continuance, I would like to possibly see a clash of Marvel versus DC characters, like if Marvel Villains and DC Villains got together to take over the world, and it was up to a team of Marvel and DC Comics' heroes to stop them. If they made a game with that premise and the same type of gameplay as Ultimate Alliance, I would buy it immediately.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Marvel: Ultimate Alliance
It's good
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/15/10
BigAl411
I think it's a pretty nice game to play especially with other people
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Marvel: Ultimate Alliance
FAN SERVICE! (Yu-Gi-Oh Abriged Anyone??)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/11
BigD66
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
So at it's core it's like the X-men Legends games. You control a party of 4 heroes and do battle against the forces of evil. The gameplay is beat 'em up. You have a normal combo, a trip, a popup and a charged smash. On top of your melee moves, you have 4 powers you can use as you level up and progress. Each hero has 4 outfits they can wear that give them different buffs in battle such as incresed melee damage or more health. The story is pretty good. but they KILLED it on fan service. Every inch of this game is a love story to all the nerds and nerdesses who love these chracters. Replay isn't great, but once you get a team you can run through on hard with them and wreck shop with all your amped up powers and outfits. All in all this is a great game that is a must have for any Marvel fan!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Marvel: Ultimate Alliance
not a good game....
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:8/14/08
halo3003
This game is not good..its super heros!!!most people I know who have a 360 are around 13 whitch means they won't like super hero stuff its just not worth buying!don't waste your money!!!The graphics are boring the sound is horrobile the game play just does not make you have fun!! I don't know what else to say about this game and im only at 345 characters lol.Anyways all you are is a superhero who runs around with his team of superheros beating things up!thats just not fun and the only unlockuble things are achivmants and characters and i think you can unlock new super powers or something i dont know i olny played it for like 10 minutes and got bored of it.....DON'T BUY THIS GAME unless your like 9 or under and like superhero stuff if you like superhero stuff then get it...overall i think the game is BORING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 28 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Marvel: Ultimate Alliance
Worth getting
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/1/08
boseefus58
The first time that I played this game I thought that how can somebody play this. But you actually have to sit down and play it for a while unlike what I did which was just play it for 10 minutes. The beginning is slow but once you are at least halfway through the story you will start thinking that it is very good. The thing about this game that makes it good is that you can switch between marvel comic book characters. Also later on in the story you can make up your own team with the characters and have your own logo and uniform. While you are playing you can switch through 4 superheroes that you pick in this thing called a s.h.i.e.l.d.. While you are choosing teammates the only thing that really stinks is that there is a hero map pack that you have to pay for with Microsoft points. Can't wait for the second one to come out soon. :)
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Marvel: Ultimate Alliance
marvels return to the raven crawler format
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/12
xmengamer82
Location: Maine
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i loved the x-men legends 1&2 made by raven for the first Xbox kinda disappointing they didn't pot them up to the 360 but it happens.
i rented ultimate alliance and had a lot of fun changing the heroes in and out making my own teams and upgrading their stats/powers, this game would be perfect for any dungeon crawler gamer that loves marvel comics/heroes/shows.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Marvel: Ultimate Alliance
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/4/08
BlazinFreak13
I have played this game a bunch of times at a friends house and I must say that this game is amazing. The endless combination of Heroes that you can use to form a group is outstanding. The storyline is very long but does not get to the point where you want to turn your system off and throw the game out the window. The graphics are decent. The game is kind of challenging at some points and the controls are good enough to know what you have to do instead of just button mashing all the time. The Interface of the game is Excellent. I would recommend this game to anyone who some-what likes Marvel superheroes or just wants a fun game to play while they wait for another game to come out. The game is very inexpensive due to the time that the game has been out but it is still a great game for the XboX 360.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 19 for Marvel: Ultimate Alliance
Forget This D-Grade Piece of Junk
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/10
Fish
Location: Kelso, WA
I really thought I would like Ultimate Alliance. The roster of awesome heroes this game contains was enough to win anyone over, however, actually playing the game was an overwhelming disappointment.
You start with 4 characters. Which is nothing. No Iron Man, no Hulk, no Ghost Rider, etc. Some of the coolest heroes are only available as DLC. Also, the top-down bird's eye view camera angle is annoying and hinders gameplay experience.
But changing the camera wouldn't save it from the awful gameplay. It's simply crushing how frustratingly similar all the characters play and control. There's almost no variety in this "mash 'X', win game" bore-fest, and to recommend Ultimate Alliance to anyone is just cruel.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
3 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Marvel: Ultimate Alliance
PRETTY GOOD
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/11
Clipsy123
Location: Poway, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this is a really fun game to play. I think its cool that you can play as 25 different super heroes. the graphics in this game are kind of like original xbox graphics but it is ok because it is still really fun.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>