GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Pokemon Ranger

An action RPG set in the world of the Pokemon Ranger movie. You play as a Pokemon Ranger. Different from a Pokemon Trainer, a Ranger travels the lands, using Pokemon in a fight to defend nature from baddies. Its release precedes that of Diamond and Pearl, and all three games link up together for some top secret bonuses.
Average Customer Rating:
7.875
7.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
1
8 stars
3
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 out of 1675%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pokemon Ranger
Review 1 for Pokemon Ranger
i would've said this when i was younger... yep
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/19/10
Kibburo
Location: Detroit,MI
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
this game is probably the best i've ever played throughout the pokemon history. it's completely different, and, what can i say, the first pokemon game i wasn't afraid of playing (when i was younger, i was afraid my pokemon would faint, and there was nothing i could do about it, but that's how some 5-9 year-olds think, right??) but i've lost the game TWICE, and i plan on going for "three time's the charm", and this time it's not thirty dollars. about the only bad thing about this game was that duskull (my third favourite third generation pokemon) wasn't in the game, and that i usually found myself running in circles, trying to avoid pokemon when my styler got damaged (running into pokemon that did 6 damage, and i only had 3 health left....) and ended up in the heart of them again.total: if you want the better portion of the pokemon ranger series, then buy the original, the first. looping, yes, challenging, most certainly, entertaining for hours, what can i say??
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tika
 
Please wait while more information about Tika is loaded.
Additional information about Tika could not be loaded.
Awesome, but the game plot is too short
Posted 8/9/14
The game is so awesome, but the game plot is too short for me. it'd be amazing if the game plot is a little longer. Its definitely different than other Pokemon games I had played. The price for this game is a reasonable price.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Pokemon Ranger
I just got it for my new ds lite and
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/6/10
Rockyboy
It is a really awsome game i mean REALLY awsome once you get to get into the action witch is awsome i also like the fact that you are a pokemon ranger and get to use the Styler to circle the pokemon in fights and capture them but yes it does scratch the screen alot but thats no problem if you have a thing to protect the screen! i also like the characters but this is my first pokemon game but it is inspiring me to try some more when i didn't buy it when i had a older original DS i didnt really know much about it but i still liked pokemon back then but i wasn't very intense about it i'm still not VERY intense about it but if you want something fun to spend some time on then this is the thing for you i know lots of people dont like pokemon games but this game is so addicting you probably wont care if its a pokemon game i just really love the game and maybe you will to thanks for reading my long post =].
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
17 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pokemon Ranger
pokemon ohhhhh yeahhhhhhhh
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/22/10
rallys
Location: blanchester,OH
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
its an awsome game and i would recomend it for any person who loves action,adventure,and of course.....POKEMON!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pokemon Ranger
Why so many bad reviews?
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/12
Mandy1303
Location: ATL, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this is not a horrible game, not as good as the other pokemon games, but it was that bad! i kinda enjoyed it. its very different from the traditional games but still almost as fun, they story was good. i enjoy circling the screen its something new and can be challenging at times. so its not that bad is very enjoyable IMO. its worth getting at the price it is now. so go buy it youll have fun!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pokemon Ranger
Awesome, but the game plot is too short
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/9/14
Tika
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
It is an awesome game, but the game plot is too short for me. It will be amazing if the game plot is a little bit longer. On the other hand, I had fun with this game! The price for this game is reasonable!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 6 for Pokemon Ranger
Too short
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/14/08
GamerGirl08
Pokemon ranger was a great game...while it lasted. The story line was great, it was easy to follow and understand, but it ended way to fast and sudden. This game was pretty challenging at some points and really fun but again the short story line ruined it. This game was really different from other pokemon games. Your are not a trainer in this game you are a ranger and you don't catch and train pokemon like in the other games. I thought this new perspective was a great addition to the pokemon game collection, it unfortunate that it had to end so quickly. Besides being too short another problem with this game was that all that circling you were doing with your stylus trying to catch pokemon scratches your touch screen really bad and using the stylus is the only way you can control your character in the game.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pokemon Ranger
sad face
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/13/11
121210mnk
Location: NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I had this game but then some one stole it from me. Its a really good game. I miss it D:
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
8 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pokemon Ranger
It's... Well....Ummm.......Okay....
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/4/08
Gamelover123
I LOVED the game at first. And going through it was a little bit of a challenge. The controls were pretty easy to do, dadadadada. The graphics were okay, I guess, not to well though. Interface. It almost, ALMOST always let me do what I told it to do. It wasn't all that long of a game, you had ten missions, beat the Boss, have three extra missions, have three MORE extra missions from the Ranger Net, BOOM you're totally done, except for the Ranger Browser. Then you're done. I beat the ENTIRE game, all missions, all Pokemon Data , I even sent over the Manaphy egg to my Pokemon Diamond!!!!!!! And then started a New Game...Beat it too ( not totally). The game did NOT last long by any means. I thought 2/3rds of the music was terrible! The up-side was that the storyline was pretty good, puzzling in places, challenging in places. Over-all...Not that good. Bye.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pokemon Ranger
Still good today
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/17/14
ChemicalAssassin
Location: Los Angeles
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I remember playing this game as a kid, and loving it. It was one of the games I had the patience to beat. Picking it up now, all grown up, I immediately thought "This is going to be a horrible game", thinking I only loved it when I was a kid. However, I couldn't have been more wrong. The game is short, but it's really good, even now. It's worth the 15 bucks, If you have a DS and like pokemon, I'd buy it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for Pokemon Ranger
I enjoyed this game, I don't get the bad reviews..
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/28/12
XD4210
Location: Pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a fun game. I remember staying up late at night with my lights off so my parents wouldn't know I was playing my Nintendo DS. First of all, if you played either of the two games that come after this in this series, be prepared for a huge difficulty boost. While in the other games a bar fills up when you circle the pokemon in question, in this game you must circle them a set amount of times. This may sound easy, but you must do it without lifting your stylus from the screen. his can be very difficult especially later in the game. An example would be the Rayquaza battle. You must circle him what I believe is 31 times while he charges around the battlefield rapid firing tornadoes in all directions. If you play this before the other games in the series however, you will likely find the others extremely easy for you, so overall its just your personal preference. You will likely only play through this game once or twice, but the story is long and unlike most pokemon spinoff games, the story is actually interesting. Anyway, I am sorry for the long review, but I recommend this game to all pokemon fans and those looking for a challenge.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 11 for Pokemon Ranger
good game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/10
gamer2
Location: online
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
it is a good game it took awhile to get used to though
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pokemon Ranger
I don't know why so many bad reviews
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/12
Narcal
Location: Yuba City, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is not bad at all. It is a little difficult and it gets boring after you play it for a while but it is an overall good game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pokemon Ranger
...No
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/11
Shadowthehedgehog
Location: Wisconsin, WI
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
One day my dad brought me to best buy to buy a game. I chose this one because I like shadows of almia. But, when I played it for only 10 minutes I got bored. This game is about drawing loops around pokemon to capture them. Sounds fun but it isn't. The bad thing is that to capture pokemon you need to have a certain amount of loops, if the pokemon touches it once you have to start it all over. The only good thing about the game is the graphics. They aren't great, but good for the nintendo ds.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
yami759
Earth :)
 
Please wait while more information about yami759 is loaded.
Additional information about yami759 could not be loaded.
You're right... partially
Posted 11/4/12
The first 10 minutes or so could be boring, but that is because many games have to be boring and easy at first so you actually know what to do and how to do it good. Trust me, the game gets a lot more fun, and does not even seem like "drawing loops around Pokemon" after a little bit of playing. And also, it is only $10. I'm not sure how much it was when you made this review, but what do you expect from a $10 game? I mainly bought it to get Manaphy, but I actually liked the game.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Pokemon Ranger
awesome but if u want a manaphy egg then buy a new
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/10
Leo116
Location: dallas texas
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
one or if u r lucky then that thye previous owner didn't do ranger net then u r in luck u r able to get the manaphy egg great reqwuired fo kid gamers gets kind of triky though.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pokemon Ranger
Great game but why so many bad reviews?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/13
Glaceon1
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Pokemon ranger is a great game! It gives you a break from the normal pokemon games like black and white. I really like this game. But why is there so many bad reviews? Sure you draw circles alot but you have to look past that. Pokemon ranger is better than what some people are saying!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Pokemon Ranger
POOR!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/7/10
PKMN12345
Location: Albuquerque, NM
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game stinks!!!!!!! Salamence and Charizard are almost impossible to capture. I really wish this game used the Friendship Gauge method of capture.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 12 found this review helpful.