GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

BioShock

BioShock is the "genetically enhanced" first person shooter that lets you do things never before possible in the genre: turn everything into a weapon, biologically mod your body with plasmids, hack devices and systems, upgrade your weapons and craft new ammo variants, and experiment with different battle techniques. You are a cast-away in Rapture, an underwater Utopia torn apart by civil war. Caught between powerful forces, and hunted down by genetically modified "splicers" and deadly security systems, you have to come to grips with a deadly, mysterious world filled with powerful technology and fascinating characters. No encounter ever plays out the same, and no two gamers will play the game the same way.
Average Customer Rating:
8.765
8.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
7
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
16 out of 1794%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BioShock
Review 1 for BioShock
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/3/12
Host
Location: Washington
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game was stunning. Not only does it keep you very entertained, the visuals and game play are what make this game great! The semi old school guns, music and appeal make the game really interesting. Its dark and at times deranged but it keeps you moving forward! Great game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BioShock
This is a game I would play for hours on end!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/14/12
TheKingCrab
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is easily on of the best games I have ever played. Although I get easily scared, this game is so much fun that I can't stop. I would recommend this game for anyone willing to have a lot of fun. I absolutely love this game!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for BioShock
Im sorry but this game is really making me upset.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/27/12
lovelessgamer42
Location: New York,NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game requires a dx10 thing. where am I suppose to get one of those thing ? I need to know where to get one I really dont want to get mad over something that is as a good as a it is.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 26 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BioShock
Will this run on macbook pro 13 inch 2011??
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/11
Garlic
Location: dbfafgleygf
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
LOOK at top and awnser I really want to get it and it is ten dollars cheaper than on the app store
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 5 for BioShock
BIO Shock: Atlantis gone wrong
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/10
ParagonSoul
Location: Atlanta
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
BioShock is a game in which the history and story of the setting is discovered through the adventure of the main character. I was immersed in the game because of the sound and visuals. They are horrifying; fast paced and stress inducing which forced me to focus on the game. As far as placing myself in Jack’s shoes, I was not as involved. I played the game as Jack, not myself. Usually, I can relate more to first person games but BioShock is unique because there are role playing game elements in it. The choices, however limited, are available and their outcomes are different. The “missions” or “quests” that Atlas has you carry out also resemble those of a RPG because once you finish them; you go back to a main base area that changes depending on what you just did. The game is not one hundred percent focused on a linear escape plan where Jack fights from one area of the city to another and eventually reaches the last place before escape is possible.
There are game play elements that are directly derived from the plot, specifically the plasmids. They are first presented as a necessary tool for survival but as Jack progresses through his adventure, the role of the plasmids in Rapture’s history becomes evident. Something interesting to point out would be the insanity of the Splicers. They were infused with the ADAM and plasmids. These made them stronger and have super human powers; however without constant supply of ADAM, they experienced mental instability and insanity. When Jack first enters Rapture and is forced to use the plasmid, he is now susceptible to this insanity as far as the plot goes. When he is out of ADAM he will go insane. So technically if you have him sit there and do nothing, his ADAM will run out and he should go insane, this doesn’t happen because there is no progression of time.
Another game play element which has plot foreshadowing and symbolism is the hacking feature. Jack can manipulate Ryan’s weapons and turrets. This shows a transfer of power from Ryan to Jack which foreshadows that Jack will kill Ryan and take his place. Ryan thinks that Jack is from the CIA or KGB but this is improbable because Jack’s plane crashes at rapture. The CIA or KGB would just send him there covertly. An accidental plane crash to create the facade or innocence would be a backwards way of infiltrating rapture. Jack does seem like a spy, just not a government one.
The overall purpose of the game play is to discover more about Rapture and what happened so the visual clues in the city are essential to learning about the history and way of life in Rapture. There are propaganda posters saying “Who is Atlas? “ which means that Atlas is well known, political, and powerful in a sense. This means that he should not be trusted because he has his own agenda and it will not coincide with Jack’s goals. Jack’s goals change over the course of the story, as we find out more about Rapture we can choose to help the little sisters. If this is the case then we would be disobeying Atlas and from this point on, his advice would be almost useless. The Big Daddy and Little Sisters are named in a way that reminds us of the time frame the game takes place. They are not common terms in today’s colloquial speech but would be found in the 50′s and 60′s I believe.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AceGAmer
Chino CA.
 
Please wait while more information about AceGAmer is loaded.
Additional information about AceGAmer could not be loaded.
It ok
Posted 8/1/11
It starts off well, but it later just gets boring, and if you miss something on one level it could spell disaster on the next.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for BioShock
This isn't just a game, its a piece of art
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/10
BroadwayGuy
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Bioshock isn't just a game, its art. Sadly, most of its players overlook what exactly makes this so amazing, and just see it as a "point-and-shoot" experience. While I understand the appeal to many gamers for fun, Bioshock is an amazingly intellectual experience that challenges your personally morality, the ideas of freedom, scientific boundaries, religion, abortion, genetic mutation, mans'-reach-exceeding-grasp, capitalism, communism, and many, many other philosophies. The game in itself, as a game, is very well made, and very fun, immersive, but like I said, this is not just a game. If you fashion yourself any kind of intellectual, and even if you're a casual gamer, or not even one at all, you should definitely playthrough this game at once. It is an absolutely mind-blowing experience, and you'll appreciate it even more if you're any kind of critic. This is a must-buy, even to non-gamers. It is one of the greatest experiences with art I've come across in my lifetime, and if you think about the game, it'll affect your life.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BioShock
A terrifyingly chaotic game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/4/10
eslagel
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Bioshock was a terrifying new experience compared to the adventure/fantasy/sci-fi games I am used to playing. This game isn’t for the faint of heart or horror/suspense haters, and experience in first-person shooters definitely helps.
The unexpected plane crash in the beginning cut scene isolates the player’s character in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean. Jack stumbles upon the hidden, underwater city of Rapture created by Andrew Ryan, a semi-psychotic, free will fanatic. The imagery of this underwater utopia excited my inner fantasy/sci-fi gamer, but the moment players enter the city the environment grows chaotic and violent. Let the horror begin, because every resident of this futuristic establishment is out to kill you.
Honestly, I wasn’t expecting the beginning of the game to be so sinister. From Andrew Ryan’s introduction of Rapture, I was expecting a Utopia where people were free from suppression, rules, and the threat of having their earnings taken away by government, church, or communists. Even the name “Rapture” was positively connected to “Rapture” as the second coming of Christ. However, there is no doubt that Ryan’s Rapture quickly turned into the opposite of Utopia, Dystopia.
Dystopia is often perceived as a futuristic Utopia that has dwindled into a repressed state. They are usually in a state of violence or warfare and have an underlining theme that technology has passed the boundaries of morality and how humans have been twisted by their greed for new technology. All of these explanations of Dystopia connect to Ryan’s Rapture, which he intended to be a Utopia. Rapture was described as a place “where the scientist would not be limited by petty morality,” meaning that the technology developed in the city eventually crossed the line, leading to chaos. “Plasmids” were created to enhance the citizens; however, those that used too much lost their humanity and became known as “Splicers,” Jack’s violent attackers throughout the game.
These developments in plot explain the first-person shooter gameplay experience described as SAVE YOUSELF! I personally dislike first-person shooters because of the startling enemies, confusing number of weapons and variations in ammo, and limited visuals compared to third-person games. However, Bioshock had such an interesting story line, list of objectives, and creative atmosphere that I still thoroughly enjoyed the game. Just when you think Bioshock is nearing the end, an interesting plot twist keeps player’s on their toes and alters the gameplay experience to prevent repetition. There are even alternate ending depending on whether or not you saved or harvested the “Little Sister” characters in the game. There is no doubt that Bioshock was spectacularly designed. This game has incredible lasting appeal, and I would highly recommend it to other players.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BioShock
Bioshock with gameplay and plot
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/10
CGB1
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Every corner I turn my shoulders tense up waiting for a splicer to pop out to try and hit or shoot me. At the beginning of Bioshock there is nowhere to go but a creepy tower and once inside I see a bust of a very serious looking man named Andrew Ryan. The sign underneath Andrew Ryan is ironic because it is stating that there are no gods or kings, yet he has a huge bust of himself. Andrew Ryan is the ruler over Rapture and he does not like people trying to corrupt his world.
When I played the game, I found it a little disturbing that I had to stick a needle in me every time I needed more electro bolt plasmid. It would not be so disturbing if I did not shove the needle into my arm so violently.
I believe that the plot of Bioshock is to escape the underwater city, Rapture, that has been corrupted and the only way to escape is to listen to a guy on the radio named Atlas. I am never told who Atlas is; I am just expected to trust him. After watching Atlas’ previous follower get killed, I was hesitant to follow him. However, Rapture is a scary place and since he knew how to escape it was better to follow him than to be lost. He also had the motivation to help me escape because he wanted to save his family. When he found out his family had been killed then he had the motivation because he wanted revenge on Andrew Ryan.
After killing the Big Daddy’s the player makes the decision on whether to rescue or harvest the Little Sisters. I chose to rescue the Little Sisters throughout the story hoping that Tenenbaum would make it worth saving them. It seems like there is a recurring theme to have people that I don’t initially suspect or people that I learn to trust turn on me. Later on in the game Atlas also known as Fontaine tries to kill me, and I already did not trust Andrew Ryan. The only person who ends up being trustworthy and actually helpful is Tenenbaum.
Before fighting Ryan he reveals the story of my life. I was informed that I was programmed for Fontaine to control me, which is why he always says “would you kindly.” The boss fight with Ryan was very dissatisfying because I would have liked to choose whether I wanted to kill Ryan or not. Instead I was played through and had no choice but to kill Ryan by him using mind control on me, which he told me that Fontaine had been using on me the whole game. I believe Ryan was trying to test me to see if I wanted to not kill him bad enough to fight the mind control because he was my father but I had no choice. I felt like the computer took my kill from me because I did not actually fight him, the game had me kill him in the cut scene.
Next Tenenbaum, who I found out was there when I was programed ,helped me by making it so Fontaine cannot use mind control to make me do what he wants. Eventually I arrived to where I fought Fontaine which is also somewhat of a letdown since I did not get to finish him off. I get all four quarters of his ADAM, fight through his fire, ice, and lightning powers, and the Little Sisters get to steal my kill. I was definitely bitter about that but the ending with the Little Sisters was sweet and I had a happy ending since I decided to rescue the Little Sisters. Overall the gameplay was very exciting and the twists in the plot kept me wanting to play more.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 9 for BioShock
Reviewing amazing Gameplay elements in BioShock
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/10
tbone3
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
BioShock by BioWare provides elements of pure excitement and absolute horror for all gamers. This game brings elements to the gaming table not seen in first person shooters or zombie killers. After playing it through, you realize that Rapture epitomized gamer and environment as well as gamer and plot interaction. The developers left no holes in the story while incorporating the very history of the virtual world of Rapture into the gameplay itself.
Even though the beginning of the game takes time to start, the initial play leads into continuously creative game. After descending to the icy depths of the ocean, you begin your interactive journey through Rapture's ruined city. At this point in BioShock, gameplay develops and the plot unfolds. Even though the first scenes within the city are forced cut scenes, you often fail to distinguish from them and actual gameplay due to the fluidity between the two. After finally moving the character Jack into the setting of Rapture, you realize that most of the environmental elements are interactive. Corpses move and bleed when you hit them. Windows crack when you smash them. Most importantly, objects reveal useful tools and items when you open them. At first, the game only allows access to these small environmental changes, but later in the game you harm machinery and even melt cumbersome ice caps. Thankfully, the developers of BioShock decided that your abilities to interact with the environment should grow with the help of plasmids. These gene altering drugs are far more enjoyable to equip than any tool or weapon that you might find in other first person shooter games. As well, they bring you into the back story of Rapture by successfully combining a crucial element of weapon defense in gameplay to the plot. Rarely do zombie-like games utilize the pathogen or disease that created their nightmarish world as a tool or weapon for players' personally gain. In BioShock, however, this acts as the main drive of the play and the story.
All together the elements of interaction between the history of Rapture and the plasmids, and the manipulation of the environment and any available tool make BioShock a game unlike the rest. You, as a gamer, experience the story first hand even though the plot comes together from clips of the past. The game allows you to relate to the history, and make the connections yourself. The brilliance of this design makes BioShock purely riveting from start to finish.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for BioShock
Bioshock, worth the money and the sleepless nights
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/10
TheArtOfRuin0
Bioshock is one of those rare stellar games that comes out once a year if you're lucky. There are very few bad things I could say about this game and none of them make me regret purchasing, or even playing, the game. The main aspect I’ll focus on in this review is the connection between plot and gameplay. Many games seem to lack any connection between the two. In most games there’s a sequence: cut scene, game play, cut scene. You perform a mission that initiates a cut scene with little to no connection to the mission you just completed. This is repeated over and over again with minor variations. Gameplay can be fun, but in these games it’s separate from plot. Bioshock is the polar opposite. Because plot information is given to you during gameplay in Bioshock, there are no such divisions between missions. Game play and plot are not two separate entities. They are almost seamlessly woven together throughout the game in ways you won’t completely understand until you complete the game. They are integrated very well so the player stays engaged and still gets a large amount of information on Rapture and what the character is doing there. First off, there are very few cut scenes. Most “cut scenes” take place by sealing your character in a room while something is shown or someone talks to you. You retain control of your character during most of these but cannot move on until they are done. Also a large amount of plot information can be found through the environment. The developers use everything from audio diaries to corpses to rubble to give you some background information on Rapture. Also, the objectives you complete are directly related to the plot. There are no filler missions to add gameplay time or something to do between cut scenes. The developers even manage to make the restrictions of game play into a plot element. They do a wonderful job of feeding you information about the plot during actual game play. This makes the game flow much better than many other games. It also helps you stay immersed in the game world. The game rarely rests control of your character from hands and even when it does there is a very good reason for it. Overall, this is one of the best games I have ever played. I was hesitant to purchase it because I’m not a fan of scary games, but I’m glad I did. Bioshock is worth both the money and the sleepless nights. I recommend this game to all.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 11 for BioShock
BioShock: To harvest or not to harvest
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/10
julieb
Enter the mysterious world of BioShock that offers gamers a most unique experience. On a mission to survive the horrific city of Rapture, players are constantly searching for anything – weapons, plasmids, tonics – that will help them escape. Along the way players discover ADAM promotes their chances of survival and escape. ADAM acts like a cancer, destroying the body’s original cells and replacing them with mutant cells instead. Players try to acquire as much ADAM as possible because they can use it to purchase plasmids and tonics that provide their character with new or better skills. They obtain ADAM through two methods: saving or harvesting the “little sisters.”
Because players need ADAM, they have morality decisions to make that affect the finale of the game. Players have the choice of either saving the little sisters, giving them back their lives, or harvesting them, killing them for ADAM. Tenenbaum, the little sisters’ creator, asks players to save her little girls, stating she will make it worth their while; on the other hand, Atlas demands that players harvest the little sisters to receive ADAM. Players must decide whose directions they will follow based on their survival needs and morals. They must ask themselves, “Am I willing to harvest these little girls?” or “Will saving the little sisters benefit me over time?” Although players do not initially know the benefits of saving the little sisters, they discover the rewards are great if they save the girls. As players receive gifts such as the Hypnotize Big Daddy plasmid and the Safecracker tonic, they realize Tenenbaum was trustworthy, and saving the little sisters not only left them with peace of mind, but also offered them far greater benefits than harvesting.
Overall, I believe the connection between gameplay and plot in BioShock is incredible. Until the final cut scene is watched, players do not realize that their moral choices about saving or harvesting the little sisters have affected the game’s outcome. The final cut scene a player views is dependent upon whether players saved or harvested the sisters. Because I saved all of the little sisters, I watched the scene where they grow up happy, go to college, and get married. However, others who harvested some or all of the sisters view a scene in which their character goes to the surface and tries to take over the world. Also, players’ relationships with Tenenbaum are directly affected because of their earlier decisions regarding the little sisters, which is evident in Tenenbaum’s tone of voice that narrates the final scene. If players saved her girls, her voice is soft and friendly, but if players harvested the sisters, her voice is harsh and unforgiving. Thus, players’ morality choices made early in the game affect the plot’s final outcome. Because the gameplay decisions and plot finale are woven together like a thread, giving players direct control of their gaming fate, I give BioShock a rating of 10/10 and recommend it to gamers and nongamers alike.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Host
Washington
 
Please wait while more information about Host is loaded.
Additional information about Host could not be loaded.
Amazing
Posted 6/3/12
One of the best story games I've ever played. It keeps you very interested not only with the game play but with the dark visuals as well. Scary at times and a bit deranged. Amazingly fun!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for BioShock
Bioshock Review
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/10
jrogers64
Playing through Bioshock I found it to be a very interesting game. It has an original storyline and has pretty good graphics. In a game like this, high quality graphics are essential because the environment plays a key role in the plot. You are in a world completely unknown to you, and you need to pay attention to the things around you to learn what’s going on and to stay alive.
The story takes place in an underwater city built by a man who is trying to create a world free from government. However, ironically he himself seems to act just like a dictator. He dreams of having a utopia underwater, similar to Atlantis, where people live off of hard work. However, we never get to see this beautiful underwater city the way it was supposed to be.
By the time you arrive, it is clear something has gone horribly wrong because the place is mess and the people there are not normal. They are almost like zombies and your mission soon becomes to escape.
Bioshock is a first person shooter that distinguishes itself from other games by allowing the player a wide variety of options in killing these zombies, or splicers as they are referred to. There are many weapons, both melee and ranged, all of which can be upgraded. Also the game offers the use of plasmids, which are genetic upgrades to the player’s body, enabling him to shoot fire, ice, electricity, and do other useful things. These plasmids can be upgraded as well.
Although fighting through the levels and objectives is fun and it drives the plot, the game can get boring at times because it is fairly repetitive. Killing splicers over and over again is only so much fun, especially since once you find an effective method of dealing with them; you pretty much stick to the same strategy the entire game. Also they are easy to kill in general and there are not very many different varieties of them.
Another repetitive part of the game is hacking. You use hacking to do things like lower prices on vending machines and reconfigure turrets to shoot at the enemy for you. It becomes necessary later in the game when the enemies get tougher, but it is a part of game play that does not really seem to fit in with what else is going on. Plus, the fact that it’s the same thing over and over again makes it annoying.
Other than those few setbacks, the game is entertaining. The storyline is gripping and overall the concepts of the game are very unique. The story itself is presented you to in an original way also. No one ever comes and explains to you what has happened to the city and the people, it’s something you learn from messages that people have left behind for you to find along the way. This way, game play becomes essential to figuring out the plot, but if you wanted to, you could completely ignore it.
I would definitely recommend buying this game, but I wouldn’t really expect you to play through it again and again once you’ve beaten it once.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 13 for BioShock
Excellent
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/10
stukes
Location: Atlanta, GA
Bioshock has the best plot of any video game I have ever played, and has great gameplay and ambiance to support it. As a gamer, when I first begin a game, I often find myself watching a cut-scene or other story sequence in which the backdrop to the narrative is introduced. While this can still be effective, it instantly forces a certain character upon me, telling me who I am and what I have done. Where Bioshock succeeds is that both the gamer and protagonist are introduced “tabula rasa,” and by harvesting or saving a Little Sister, or choosing Plasmids, the player is able to define himself to a significant extent.
Bioshock, during its first half, is a survival game; while the player's given objective is to save Atlas' family, the player's primary concern is survival, and the he is given a wide variety of tools with which to do so. With a healthy combination of plasmids and conventional weaponry, the player is directly in control of his fate: if the player uses the combination effectively, he survives. Otherwise... well, not so much. This is where I personally had big problems. While I am a veteran gamer, and can figure out tricks and secrets to aid myself (electrocuting water, or setting traps) when confronted with direct conflict, I often failed to use plasmids effectively, and therefore much of the conflict felt quite difficult. Even on easy, I was shocked that I was unable to breeze through the game. Nevertheless, the relevance of the combat to the narrative is strong, and when mastered, quite entertaining.
In the second half of the game, I felt as though the game truly reached its peak, combining mixed elements of previously encountered gameplay with new elements like fighting mind control and the final boss. The game's twist was incredible. The fact that Atlas had used “Would you kindly” so frequently yet succinctly blew my mind. The twist also made a near fourth-wall breaking explanation for the mostly linear gameplay: the player/Jack actually has no choice but to journey closer and closer to Ryan, and it is not until Tenenbaum frees the player from mental captivity that the player is able to choose his own path. While the gameplay following the twist appears to be Jack's free will, it is interesting that the game continues to be largely linear. While this is more likely to be an engine-restriction rather than a plot element, I think it easy to believe that Tenenbaum is now simply using the player to achieve her own goals. Ultimately it is inconsequential, as the player's and Tenenbaum's goals are one in the same.
The game then came to its conclusion; however, I found the conclusion to be unsatisfactory. It seemed too rushed and cliche, and did not leave me feeling like I had done what I had: defeat the warlords of Rapture. Instead, it shows a short, thirty-second cutscene of the player just going to the surface with the Little Sisters. There is no resolution to the Adam wars of Rapture, and no mention of my effects on Rapture itself.
Bioshock holds its position as my favorite plot of any video game. The sheer depth of the story, as well as the lack of plot-holes that seem so prevalent in modern literature had me in awe. The writing seemed professional, the gameplay balanced, and the experience incredibly polished. Bioshock sought to immerse players in the world of Rapture, and through the use of excellent plot, attention to detail, and consistency with plot constants, like the use of the phrase “would you kindly?”, succeeded in its immersion.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 14 for BioShock
Bioshock is definitely a scary game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/10
BigMac14
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Bioshock is one of the most immersive games I have ever played, and because of this, I enjoyed every minute of it. Without a doubt, it is also one of the scariest games that I have ever played. Some games attempt to provide realistic scenarios in order to scare gamers, but this entire game is nerve wracking. There are not many places to hide and in a situation where splicers can come from any angle, the fact that you cannot hide from them makes the player a little uneasy. If it were not for the vast array of weapons in my control, I do not know how any normal human could expect to survive in Rapture. The other thing that made the splicers more realistic was the fact that they all had different things on their mind. Each one screams something different when they attack you and this gives them some individuality, something that I would not expect in a zombie game. The detail in each splicer is also impeccable and instead of hoards of monotonous zombies, you are faced with the population of a city, broken down to the primal level. However, it is not just the scare factor that made this game for me. The choices provided in the game made it more fun, but also more immersive. The big choice you have in this game is whether or not to kill the little sisters that run around with the big daddies and harvest Adam. If you harvest them, you can get the most Adam and your character becomes stronger faster. However, there is another choice, you can rescue them and still get some Adam. This whole concept of moral choice caters to the sympathetic gamer and lets players seem like they are more involved in the story. It also lets them write a small part of the narrative, and feel more involved in the game. It is these two concepts that make Bioshock stand out as not only a video game, but as a narrative as well. The fact that this game can be described as a narrative is a testimony to the skill of the game’s writers. It adds to the entertainment value of the game and increases gamer loyalty. I would give this game a 9/10 because it seemed to be monotonous after a while, however, for the most part I thoroughly enjoyed playing this game and I felt, at least for a little while, like I was a part of the incredible world of Rapture.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 15 for BioShock
The Best Game You Will Ever Play
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/6/08
Rogue7
Buy this game. I know I have to tell you why but first I just have to say: Buy this game. Even the pickiest of gamers will have trouble probing BioShock for flaws. BioShock is a game that will amaze you like no other. You play as the rather unfortunate "Jack" a man who was aboard a plan which has just crash landed. Coincidentally it has crash landed next to a strange tower like structure... In the middle of the ocean. Your options are sit outside and either die or be found (not a very good video game idea) or venture into the structure. You choose the latter. You find yourself traveling down to the bottom of the ocean... Where a man named Andrew Ryan has created his Utopia. Mr Ryan was not satisfied with the world around him. So what did he do? Essentially he created his own small world "where the artist would not fear the censor, where the scientist would not be bound by petty morality. Where the great would not be constrained by the small." Not long after starting the game you find out Mr Ryan's Utopia was a complete and utter failure. The player must use a physical arsenal composed of assorted guns and a wrench in conjunction with "Plasmids" or genetic modifications which were found in the city. The former citizens of Rapture are now demented "Splicers" who will show no mercy to you in their search for the material required for genetic modification: ADAM. BioShock is without a doubt the most well done game I have ever played. The environments are chilling and amazing. The story is so astoundingly in depth you'll be lost in it for much longer then the game lasts. The voice acting is chillingly well done, the horror element is terrifyingly brilliant, the game play is fascinating and offers a great deal of choice. Parents I caution you. This game has earned its M rating for a reason. It is perhaps one of the most gruesome, violent, and horrifying games yet created. I do not recommend you buy it for your children. If they are old enough to play it then they can buy it themselves (17 years old). I warn you, the game is full of language, and your child will very, very likely be haunted by the content in this game. This game was amazingly well done and you will lose yourself in it. I recommend it to anyone old enough to buy it. ANYONE! This game deserves every award its received and more. Critics will agree. Now go buy this game and get the snot scared out of you.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for BioShock
Best Game I Have Ever Played! EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/08
Cellblocker
I am definitely not one for horror but when i got my hands on this game i just could not stop. This is by far my favorite game of all time. On the ratings i honestly would give this game A 1000 ON STORYLINE INSTEAD OF 10 because it has the most compelling and twisting story. It keeps you thinking and on your toes throughout the entire game, and after you play this game you never look back on it the same way. This game is what no one is expecting. As mentioned in the other review this game is one of the few games that makes you feel like you're really there and makes you question if Rapture (the city) is really there. As you progress further and further into the game it starts to unfold slowly. You get the feeling that this isn't a game. It's a story. It's a miracle. It's a once in a lifetime chance. This game is amazing and always will be. If you do not already own this game i am telling you to go buy this.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for BioShock
One of The Best Games Ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/31/08
oldfordfreak
Once in a blue moon you get a game that makes you feel you are the main character. This one does and very effectively. There is no one who shouldn't play this game at one time in their life or the other. It has an awesome story line that leaves you both ticked and awed at the same time. If you have a decent computer this game will make you think that you have the best computer in the world. It doesn't take much power, but you will drop your jaw at the detail very often. The big daddies are so awesome, the guy talking to you on the radio is great. You have to buy this game to see the unique environment that you are put in. If you have a any problem with your sound make sure to enable stereo mixing hidden in the microphone tab of your sound menu. It took me a long time to figure that out. Well grab your shot gun and kill some genetically modded peeps! Happy Shooting!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for BioShock
Best Game of 2007
Posted on:8/19/07
dillon
If this game is anything like it's relative System Shock 2 then this will be the best game of the year. A FPS that requires thought vs just charging in and holding down the trigger ... how rare are those these days ... As for the preview " Um Huh?" by "Guest" This game is for true gamers, not people who discovered FPS by getting an Xbox and playing Halo. The graphics are sharp and look great ... the only "dated" aspect is the fact that it's designed to look retro-40-50s style. gtfo nub.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BioShock
Um Huh?
Posted on:8/17/07
Guest
I watched the trailer on Spike It make No Sence at all so im thinking this game is going to be crapy. The graphics look dated, and the game play looks retarded. Ive Also played the demo i was lost, Its Just That The Storyline is hard to follow.
0 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BioShock
Good Question, 360 or PC
Posted on:8/17/07
Glenn
I downloaded and played the demo on my 360, I found it amazing! Gameplay was smooth and beautiful to look at. Loved the 1950's look of the game, creepy characters roam around as you discover new places and new weapons. I really enjoyed seeing them get fried and burned then wacked with a monkey wrench. Hehe givem the old 1 , 2 . This is the game that XBOX " should " have had for when it launched. Like the guy said below, 360 or PC is the only con I see so far in this game. 360 fun , sofa, controller, big screen HDTV or PC fun, precision of the mouse and keyboard, big wide screen monitor. I stil have not made up my mind on this choice but I do know I am going to my local GameStop and picking up this game.
1 2 next>>