GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

BioShock

BioShock is the "genetically enhanced" first person shooter that lets you do things never before possible in the genre: turn everything into a weapon, biologically mod your body with plasmids, hack devices and systems, upgrade your weapons and craft new ammo variants, and experiment with different battle techniques. You are a cast-away in Rapture, an underwater Utopia torn apart by civil war. Caught between powerful forces, and hunted down by genetically modified "splicers" and deadly security systems, you have to come to grips with a deadly, mysterious world filled with powerful technology and fascinating characters. No encounter ever plays out the same, and no two gamers will play the game the same way.
Average Customer Rating:
8.765
8.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
7
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
16 out of 1794%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BioShock
Review 1 for BioShock
This isn't just a game, its a piece of art
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/10
BroadwayGuy
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Bioshock isn't just a game, its art. Sadly, most of its players overlook what exactly makes this so amazing, and just see it as a "point-and-shoot" experience. While I understand the appeal to many gamers for fun, Bioshock is an amazingly intellectual experience that challenges your personally morality, the ideas of freedom, scientific boundaries, religion, abortion, genetic mutation, mans'-reach-exceeding-grasp, capitalism, communism, and many, many other philosophies. The game in itself, as a game, is very well made, and very fun, immersive, but like I said, this is not just a game. If you fashion yourself any kind of intellectual, and even if you're a casual gamer, or not even one at all, you should definitely playthrough this game at once. It is an absolutely mind-blowing experience, and you'll appreciate it even more if you're any kind of critic. This is a must-buy, even to non-gamers. It is one of the greatest experiences with art I've come across in my lifetime, and if you think about the game, it'll affect your life.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BioShock
Best Game I Have Ever Played! EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/08
Cellblocker
I am definitely not one for horror but when i got my hands on this game i just could not stop. This is by far my favorite game of all time. On the ratings i honestly would give this game A 1000 ON STORYLINE INSTEAD OF 10 because it has the most compelling and twisting story. It keeps you thinking and on your toes throughout the entire game, and after you play this game you never look back on it the same way. This game is what no one is expecting. As mentioned in the other review this game is one of the few games that makes you feel like you're really there and makes you question if Rapture (the city) is really there. As you progress further and further into the game it starts to unfold slowly. You get the feeling that this isn't a game. It's a story. It's a miracle. It's a once in a lifetime chance. This game is amazing and always will be. If you do not already own this game i am telling you to go buy this.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for BioShock
One of The Best Games Ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/31/08
oldfordfreak
Once in a blue moon you get a game that makes you feel you are the main character. This one does and very effectively. There is no one who shouldn't play this game at one time in their life or the other. It has an awesome story line that leaves you both ticked and awed at the same time. If you have a decent computer this game will make you think that you have the best computer in the world. It doesn't take much power, but you will drop your jaw at the detail very often. The big daddies are so awesome, the guy talking to you on the radio is great. You have to buy this game to see the unique environment that you are put in. If you have a any problem with your sound make sure to enable stereo mixing hidden in the microphone tab of your sound menu. It took me a long time to figure that out. Well grab your shot gun and kill some genetically modded peeps! Happy Shooting!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for BioShock
Best Game of 2007
Posted on:8/19/07
dillon
If this game is anything like it's relative System Shock 2 then this will be the best game of the year. A FPS that requires thought vs just charging in and holding down the trigger ... how rare are those these days ... As for the preview " Um Huh?" by "Guest" This game is for true gamers, not people who discovered FPS by getting an Xbox and playing Halo. The graphics are sharp and look great ... the only "dated" aspect is the fact that it's designed to look retro-40-50s style. gtfo nub.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BioShock
A terrifyingly chaotic game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/4/10
eslagel
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Bioshock was a terrifying new experience compared to the adventure/fantasy/sci-fi games I am used to playing. This game isn’t for the faint of heart or horror/suspense haters, and experience in first-person shooters definitely helps.
The unexpected plane crash in the beginning cut scene isolates the player’s character in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean. Jack stumbles upon the hidden, underwater city of Rapture created by Andrew Ryan, a semi-psychotic, free will fanatic. The imagery of this underwater utopia excited my inner fantasy/sci-fi gamer, but the moment players enter the city the environment grows chaotic and violent. Let the horror begin, because every resident of this futuristic establishment is out to kill you.
Honestly, I wasn’t expecting the beginning of the game to be so sinister. From Andrew Ryan’s introduction of Rapture, I was expecting a Utopia where people were free from suppression, rules, and the threat of having their earnings taken away by government, church, or communists. Even the name “Rapture” was positively connected to “Rapture” as the second coming of Christ. However, there is no doubt that Ryan’s Rapture quickly turned into the opposite of Utopia, Dystopia.
Dystopia is often perceived as a futuristic Utopia that has dwindled into a repressed state. They are usually in a state of violence or warfare and have an underlining theme that technology has passed the boundaries of morality and how humans have been twisted by their greed for new technology. All of these explanations of Dystopia connect to Ryan’s Rapture, which he intended to be a Utopia. Rapture was described as a place “where the scientist would not be limited by petty morality,” meaning that the technology developed in the city eventually crossed the line, leading to chaos. “Plasmids” were created to enhance the citizens; however, those that used too much lost their humanity and became known as “Splicers,” Jack’s violent attackers throughout the game.
These developments in plot explain the first-person shooter gameplay experience described as SAVE YOUSELF! I personally dislike first-person shooters because of the startling enemies, confusing number of weapons and variations in ammo, and limited visuals compared to third-person games. However, Bioshock had such an interesting story line, list of objectives, and creative atmosphere that I still thoroughly enjoyed the game. Just when you think Bioshock is nearing the end, an interesting plot twist keeps player’s on their toes and alters the gameplay experience to prevent repetition. There are even alternate ending depending on whether or not you saved or harvested the “Little Sister” characters in the game. There is no doubt that Bioshock was spectacularly designed. This game has incredible lasting appeal, and I would highly recommend it to other players.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BioShock
Good Question, 360 or PC
Posted on:8/17/07
Glenn
I downloaded and played the demo on my 360, I found it amazing! Gameplay was smooth and beautiful to look at. Loved the 1950's look of the game, creepy characters roam around as you discover new places and new weapons. I really enjoyed seeing them get fried and burned then wacked with a monkey wrench. Hehe givem the old 1 , 2 . This is the game that XBOX " should " have had for when it launched. Like the guy said below, 360 or PC is the only con I see so far in this game. 360 fun , sofa, controller, big screen HDTV or PC fun, precision of the mouse and keyboard, big wide screen monitor. I stil have not made up my mind on this choice but I do know I am going to my local GameStop and picking up this game.
Review 7 for BioShock
BIO Shock: Atlantis gone wrong
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/10
ParagonSoul
Location: Atlanta
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
BioShock is a game in which the history and story of the setting is discovered through the adventure of the main character. I was immersed in the game because of the sound and visuals. They are horrifying; fast paced and stress inducing which forced me to focus on the game. As far as placing myself in Jack’s shoes, I was not as involved. I played the game as Jack, not myself. Usually, I can relate more to first person games but BioShock is unique because there are role playing game elements in it. The choices, however limited, are available and their outcomes are different. The “missions” or “quests” that Atlas has you carry out also resemble those of a RPG because once you finish them; you go back to a main base area that changes depending on what you just did. The game is not one hundred percent focused on a linear escape plan where Jack fights from one area of the city to another and eventually reaches the last place before escape is possible.
There are game play elements that are directly derived from the plot, specifically the plasmids. They are first presented as a necessary tool for survival but as Jack progresses through his adventure, the role of the plasmids in Rapture’s history becomes evident. Something interesting to point out would be the insanity of the Splicers. They were infused with the ADAM and plasmids. These made them stronger and have super human powers; however without constant supply of ADAM, they experienced mental instability and insanity. When Jack first enters Rapture and is forced to use the plasmid, he is now susceptible to this insanity as far as the plot goes. When he is out of ADAM he will go insane. So technically if you have him sit there and do nothing, his ADAM will run out and he should go insane, this doesn’t happen because there is no progression of time.
Another game play element which has plot foreshadowing and symbolism is the hacking feature. Jack can manipulate Ryan’s weapons and turrets. This shows a transfer of power from Ryan to Jack which foreshadows that Jack will kill Ryan and take his place. Ryan thinks that Jack is from the CIA or KGB but this is improbable because Jack’s plane crashes at rapture. The CIA or KGB would just send him there covertly. An accidental plane crash to create the facade or innocence would be a backwards way of infiltrating rapture. Jack does seem like a spy, just not a government one.
The overall purpose of the game play is to discover more about Rapture and what happened so the visual clues in the city are essential to learning about the history and way of life in Rapture. There are propaganda posters saying “Who is Atlas? “ which means that Atlas is well known, political, and powerful in a sense. This means that he should not be trusted because he has his own agenda and it will not coincide with Jack’s goals. Jack’s goals change over the course of the story, as we find out more about Rapture we can choose to help the little sisters. If this is the case then we would be disobeying Atlas and from this point on, his advice would be almost useless. The Big Daddy and Little Sisters are named in a way that reminds us of the time frame the game takes place. They are not common terms in today’s colloquial speech but would be found in the 50′s and 60′s I believe.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AceGAmer
Chino CA.
 
Please wait while more information about AceGAmer is loaded.
Additional information about AceGAmer could not be loaded.
It ok
Posted 8/1/11
It starts off well, but it later just gets boring, and if you miss something on one level it could spell disaster on the next.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for BioShock
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/3/12
Host
Location: Washington
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game was stunning. Not only does it keep you very entertained, the visuals and game play are what make this game great! The semi old school guns, music and appeal make the game really interesting. Its dark and at times deranged but it keeps you moving forward! Great game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BioShock
Amazing game.
Posted on:7/8/07
A Customer
Bioshock will probably one, if not the best horror/FPS game released in 2007. With it's superior graphics, and stunning story line combined with an amazing company, the same company who created system shock franchise this game will truely be a work of genius. And don't listen to anybody who says it's a windows vista exclusive, because it is not. Anybody who has done any research on this game what so ever will know that this game supports a dx9 version, as well as a dx10 version. The dx9 version will work on windows XP just fine. So to the guy who posted before me, you obviously have no idea what you're talking about.
Review 10 for BioShock
One of the games to look forward to.
Posted on:1/14/07
ATM
Irrational Games, the developer, also was responsible for Thief (when some of the staff worked for Looking Glass Studios) and System Shock/System Shock 2, which were some of the best games ever made for PC. Now comes Bioshock, the spiritual successor to System Shock. And if you haven't been living under a rock, this game is shaping up to be one of the must-have games of 2007. The graphics: amazing. The story: engaging. But it's not coming out until June. We'll all just have to wait.
Review 11 for BioShock
Yea baby!!!
Posted on:6/8/07
Ben Prins
There are so many games that I am looking forward to this summer and fall. Bioshock has got to be the deepest, innovative, unique game that I have ever read about or seen. This game has story, immersion, creativity written all over it. The atmosphere and ability to enhance your body, plus the big daddy's, plasmids etc.. is amazing. I simply, like a lot of people can't wait for this game!!!! August can't comer soon enough. This game looks and sounds incredible.
Review 12 for BioShock
Can't imagine a better fps
Posted on:2/22/07
TheNewAmazing
The story is the most original I have ever heard of in any video game, and the gameplay looks realistic and not like a futurist sci-fi like Metroid, Halo, or any other fps we've seen in the past 10 years. The developers are trying to reinvent the genre and It looks like they just migh. We've come a long ways since games like Doom as far as storytelling and gameplay, now it's time for the type of game to shine.
Review 13 for BioShock
wonderful
Posted on:3/16/07
A Customer
if u go to gamespot.com and type in bioshock and go to the pc version. its amazing the story and everything is interesting [freaky kinda] . the graphics r supposed to be top noch like totally stellar dude so reserve ur copy kuzz i know i will o and make sure u watch all the videos
Review 14 for BioShock
Im sorry but this game is really making me upset.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/27/12
lovelessgamer42
Location: New York,NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game requires a dx10 thing. where am I suppose to get one of those thing ? I need to know where to get one I really dont want to get mad over something that is as a good as a it is.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 26 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BioShock
OMG cant wait`!!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:5/12/07
faisal the great
Man i cant wait till this game comes out!!! i been waiting for years finally it soo close!!! This is the most clever game ever made!! graphics are amazing!!!! check it out on you tube and check out the video the game makes made its crazy check it out
Review 16 for BioShock
This is a game I would play for hours on end!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/14/12
TheKingCrab
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is easily on of the best games I have ever played. Although I get easily scared, this game is so much fun that I can't stop. I would recommend this game for anyone willing to have a lot of fun. I absolutely love this game!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for BioShock
This game looks amazing!!!
Posted on:3/4/07
rINGW0rM
A new FPS game from the creators of System shock 2! X-tream graphics! This game is going 2 be amazing! I have been waiting for this game 4 a while now, along with Crysis, Stalker, and Huxley. I cant wait! Its gunna be 1 of the best games of 2007!
Review 18 for BioShock
Um Huh?
Posted on:8/17/07
Guest
I watched the trailer on Spike It make No Sence at all so im thinking this game is going to be crapy. The graphics look dated, and the game play looks retarded. Ive Also played the demo i was lost, Its Just That The Storyline is hard to follow.
0 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BioShock
The game is awesome
Posted on:8/14/07
Gamer
I played the game on the Xbox 360 at Wizard World Chicago. It was the first 35 minutes or so. The game is INCREDIBLE. The way it works, it's graphics, how you can kill things ANY WAY you can think of... this is one game I'm definitely getting.
Review 20 for BioShock
Games for Windows
Posted on:8/11/07
A Customer
Just like how someone previously stated, it does work on XP. Go to gamesforwindows.com and search for Bioshock. I encourage you to please do your research first before posting this kind of misleading information. Thanks.
1 2 next>>