GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Yoshi's Island DS

A mysterious floating island has suddenly appeared over peaceful Yoshi's Island. Soon after its arrival, a gaggle of kids vanishes from the island school. Thankfully, Baby Mario, Baby Peach and Baby Donkey Kong manage to avoid being kidnapped. Now, Yoshi and the three young superstars must set out on a wild and colorful quest to rescue the kids and investigate the ominous island hovering overhead.
Average Customer Rating:
9.185
9.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
10 stars
17
9 stars
7
8 stars
0
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
26 out of 2796%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Yoshi's Island DS
Review 1 for Yoshi's Island DS
Great Game + Yoshi = AWESOME!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/10
WiiRox
Location: U.S.A
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game was great. Although, the problems with this game were that insted of having 8 worlds with small levels inbetween. this game has 5 worlds with longer levels. I have to say, i liked new super mario bros better. also, i know that nintendo is trying to keep that yoshis island graphics look, but c'mon, lets move on, They could have made it look a little bit less cartoonish. The sound was amazing, expetially if you pluged in your headphones and really lisened to it. after all this games faults, I still love it just cause its a great game.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Yoshi's island DS Trailer,
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DKandDK
 
Please wait while more information about DKandDK is loaded.
Additional information about DKandDK could not be loaded.
Top 25 Contributor
Posted 3/16/11
My favorite part about this review was the video
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Yoshi's Island DS
This Game is really good.. until
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/24/09
Game Girl 20
I think that this game is a really good sequel to the first yoshi's island. I think that its really challenging. almost sometimes tooo challengling. exspecially the secert lvl u can unlock. The only thing that i have to say that bad about it is that the end boss is really easy and once u beat the game you really wont wanna play this game again. Also the one thing i found that really was horrible about the game other then the lack of play back ability is the fact that its short. I am a gamer and it usually take me awhile to complete some games cause it took me months to compelete RE4 but with Yoshi's island it took me a week and i didnt rush through it game i took my time to complete it and even got all the collectable items. So it doesnt really make since why it shorter then the orignal game for SNES. Other then those few flaws its a very fun game and you will be addicted to it until to you compelete it. i recommend if you get this game get it used and trade it in when ur done.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Yoshi's Island DS
I Love mario games!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/8/10
MarioManiac34
I never played Yoshi's Island until i got it on DS. It is a fun game but i dont think i would reccomend buying it it only has 5 worlds and all you do is collect coins and flowers and try to get the high score. Great for young kids but any older gamer wont enjoy this as much. I'd much rather play Super mario 64 ds or the new super mario ds game. If your like me and never got the chance to play Yoshi's Island i would rent it and try it out or borrow from someone. Dont just go out and buy it. I never played Yoshi's Island until i got it on DS. It is a fun game but i dont think i would reccomend buying it it only has 5 worlds and all you do is collect coins and flowers and try to get the high score. Great for young kids but any older gamer wont enjoy this as much. I'd much rather play Super mario 64 ds or the new super mario ds game. If your like me and never got the chance to play Yoshi's Island i would rent it and try it out or borrow from someone. Dont just go out and buy it.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Yoshi's Island DS
GOTTA LOVE THIS GAME!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/12
khoadragon
Location: Orlando
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is so fun in my opinion. In the first gameplay, you would think this game a peice of cake, but think again. This game goes from easy to extremely hard. THATS WHAT MAKE GAMES SO ADDICTING AND FUN!!!!!! Anyways,this game cannot be miss for any of the mario and green dino lovers.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Yoshi's Island DS
very fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/11
terrorblood
Location: GA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is very fun and i had it once and i loved it.It was so great im thinking about buying it this time.This game is for people who like adventures.I really love it and i think you would to.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Yoshi's Island DS
AWESOME GAME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/20/10
Ds lover but not absessed
Ibought this game as one of the first ds games i wuld have. Let me say I LOVE IT. The story line is very good. The whole way it was designed was great. I had it for a few months because i old my selfi will not get a new game unless i be this one. it tooka few onts but i dd it. the charters are vey cute. also the fact hat there are points inthe game where if yo die you dont start the whole leval over. i spe loved it when i wasbatteling the big guy. I can say i was 100% sastisifed. the controllswere easy to learn. somepartsof the game i did get fustrated cause i was not beatign it butonce i got it i sure felt great. YOSHI needs to get a new game up. i loved this one. im not big ito the fighting games so iloved this. My lil sister inlaw is 10 and i evn let her play te game when sh cames over. sheloved it also. her cmment was 'I LOVE YOSHI"
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Yoshi's Island DS
Challenging, yet Great!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/10
writerforever
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Yoshi's Island DS was one of the first DS games I got, and I love it! It starts off easy, (but not boring) and works its way up to challenging, always keeping it interesting with fun new graphics, music, characters, and enemies! There are different mini games and extra levels you can earn along the way, too. Overall, I would reccomend this for all gamers, because you don't have to be an expert to play this and enjoy it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Yoshi's Island DS
A must have for Yoshi lovers!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/14
Kds2012
Location: Fort Mill, SC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought this game after I bought Yoshi's New Island and I actually like this one better! It has graphics similar to the original and having the different baby aspect makes the game last longer as well as adds something new to a classic. The levels can be pretty tricky to achieve a perfect score on and get the baby coin. It's a must have for lovers of the original Yoshi's Island!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Yoshi's Island DS
An Awesomely Hard Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/08
YoshiGirl
Overall the game is very well designed – simplistic controls, friendly graphics, and smooth animation. The storyline is a little cliché, but what can you expect…the game is about the adventures of a little green dinosaur. My favorite thing about the game is the variety of playable characters. You can play as Baby Mario, Peach, Donkey Kong, Wario, and Bowser. Each baby has unique abilities that aid Yoshi across the levels. Each level is scored out of 100 points. Points are accumulated based on the amount of health retained and the number of special coins and flowers collected. By scoring 100s in the levels and completing the last level, players can unlock secret levels and bonus games. **NOTE: this game is EXTREMELY CHALLENGING…seriously. It is very difficult to complete some of the levels and nearly impossible to get a perfect score on many of them. This game might frustrate younger children because of its difficulty. Yoshi’s Island DS is one of my favorite games ever. I have had it for about a year and it still amuses me. I highly recommend this game to Yoshi fans and gamers looking for a challenge. This game will defiantly keep you occupied for hours.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Yoshi's Island DS
Yoshi <3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/16/11
ABLAIR
Location: Oklahoma
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This was the first DS game I ever owned. I loved it and still do. I recently repurchased it, and I am never trading it in again. I love the levels, as well as collecting the red coins, flowers, and stars. It's tricky to get a perfect score on all the levels, so it keeps you going for awhile. I love Yoshi and I am so glad to have this game back!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Yoshi's Island DS
My sons love this game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/30/08
mboeckx
We bought this game about a month ago and it is still one of their favorites! My sons are 7 and 10 and even the 4 year old will play for a bit! The storyline is inviting and riding on Yoshi is great fun. They love the baby Nintendo characters, especially baby Bowser. They still haven't won the entire game, so it keeps them playing and is challenging enough, yet easy enough for them to want to continue. This would be a great birthday gift or christmas gift for an elementary boy or girl who love their DS!My sons love the graphics of this game. They especially love the storyline. Yoshi is in charge of riding the babies around. If the baby falls off, the baby cries and Yoshi has to get him or her back before the baby stealers come out of the sky. Yoshi can "eat the bad guys" and then he lays eggs which he can then grab and throw at the bad guys too. There are different areas on Yoshi's island, I think about 5, including a place where Yoshi swims. The game is easy for a younger child to navigate without parental guidance. The sounds in the game are cute- even the baby's cries are realistic!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Yoshi's Island DS
Great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/12
Bunniesareawesome
Location: Malibu, CA
This is a great game! It uses the two screens fairly effectively, though only for looking more up or down than you can normally see. You go through the game switching babies for different specials like floating with peach or running fast with mario, and you are trying to save all the babies bowser stole. Basically you are going through the worlds throwing eggs to fight off foes, find secret locations, or hit coins. It makes for longer gameplay since some perfectionist may want all the flowers or coins on every map, and you have to find all the secret locations to do so. It's a great mario game, and I suggest it to casual gamers!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Yoshi's Island DS
Great Game (Overall=Very good!!)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/30/08
A Mario and yoshi game LOver!!!
This game is awesome!! It's one of the best games i ever played on the DS!!!!! The animations is good and the sound is very cute and yoshi is soo Cute!!!!!!! The story line is great its about where the mario babys got tooken away from there home and the bad guys wanted them for something i forget but anyway and so Browser lost them from in the clouds and so they fell out of the sky and yoshi found them and yoshi takes them with him and goes on an adventure with them and its so fun!!!!!!! though along as you play the game which is very long theres parts of the story that shows you whats actually going on I haven't reached the end of the game yet but im very close and i'm going to!!!! And so the bad guys still wanna try and get back the babys but you have to defeat them with there little mini games!! and its actually pretty fun you have to play it in order to really know how fun it is well i'd give this game a 10 out of 10 because i cant find anything bad about it!!!!!! ITS ALL GOOD!!!! well i recommend this game to you so yah go ahead and buy it!!!!! I Did!!!!! And i thought it was very cute!!!!! And Overall it's Awesome!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Yoshi's Island DS
This is awesome !!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/1/11
Zelink16
Location: suffolk,va
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Yoshi is awesome and this game is fun and funny :) Its a must have and buy !!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Yoshi's Island DS
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/11
DKandDK
This was a wonderful game. It is great not to have mario as the main hero for change. The graphics are good , but can sometimes have the same backround in more than one level. It is also awesome how each baby has their own power, such as baby peach and her ability to fly in vents with her umbrella. and baby DK being able to climb vines. It can also get extremely hard because I consider myself to be a decent gamer and I am stuck in world 3. So overall I recomend this to people who are looking for a unique and hard Mario game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Yoshi's Island DS
Glad they made a sequel to...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/08
OC Maker
The best Yoshi game ever! Okay, I've only had this game for the GBA. I just love the little green dinosaur anyway. When I had Yoshi's Island (my brother lost it, otherwise I'd still have it), I had only finished it once. I had found the game hard, yet very enjoyable. It was really one of my time-consumers. I thought baby Mario and baby Bowser were very cute. I know I'll enjoy this game when I get it. Another thing I loved about Yoshi, which is still true in this game, is his abilities and his constant change of color. You hardly got the original Green Yoshi. I don't know if you would want to get the original, but I do recommend it! So buy it and get this one. I know I will when I get the money. I'm sure this is a game you will not regret getting, even if you didn't play the original. Good luck gaming, friends!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Yoshi's Island DS
Better then the original, with a horrible mistake.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/11
VocaloidFan4Life
This game is amazing, with tons of fun aspects, and amazing graphics. My ONE criticism on the game, is that the game is surprisingly hard after World 3! This doesnt ruin the game, it just doent make it perfect. This was the Second video game I ever played, and I still play it alot.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Yoshi's Island DS
yoshi island!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/11
minnesotawildfan
Location: newton, massachusetts
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
yoshi island has 5 worlds 1,2,3,4,5.you can get different babies than baby mario their are baby peach,donkey kong,bowser jr and wario.you have 12 places in a world place 4 is a semi boss and 12 is a big boss world 1,2, and 3 is easy but 4 is a little harder than average 5 is just plain hard.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Yoshi's Island DS
The best game ever!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/4/10
maggers
Location: illinois
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I think this game is better than the gameboy versian and has better graphics than it. I try to play it every day
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Yoshi's Island DS
wanna buy so bad
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/2/13
Luigigirl27272
Location: Dallas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
everyone is telling me is is a great game so i really want it also if u like to start easy then hardcore buy this game and also luigi needs love to u know XD O3O
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>