GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Yoshi's Island DS

A mysterious floating island has suddenly appeared over peaceful Yoshi's Island. Soon after its arrival, a gaggle of kids vanishes from the island school. Thankfully, Baby Mario, Baby Peach and Baby Donkey Kong manage to avoid being kidnapped. Now, Yoshi and the three young superstars must set out on a wild and colorful quest to rescue the kids and investigate the ominous island hovering overhead.
Average Customer Rating:
9.185
9.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
10 stars
17
9 stars
7
8 stars
0
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
26 out of 2796%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Yoshi's Island DS
Review 1 for Yoshi's Island DS
A must have for Yoshi lovers!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/14
Kds2012
Location: Fort Mill, SC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought this game after I bought Yoshi's New Island and I actually like this one better! It has graphics similar to the original and having the different baby aspect makes the game last longer as well as adds something new to a classic. The levels can be pretty tricky to achieve a perfect score on and get the baby coin. It's a must have for lovers of the original Yoshi's Island!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Yoshi's Island DS
wanna buy so bad
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/2/13
Luigigirl27272
Location: Dallas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
everyone is telling me is is a great game so i really want it also if u like to start easy then hardcore buy this game and also luigi needs love to u know XD O3O
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Yoshi's Island DS
I love this game because it is fun for all ages.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/28/13
Efon
Location: North Hollywood, CA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is very fun and playable for all ages because of the simple control style and developing gameplay. The new style of combat in each boss prepares the player of the game for the new challenges of the game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Yoshi's Island DS
Great!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/12
Mandy1303
Location: ATL, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
it is exactly like the N64 version, so if you liked that youll love this! really fun, like super mario bros, just great! loved it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Yoshi's Island DS
GOTTA LOVE THIS GAME!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/12
khoadragon
Location: Orlando
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is so fun in my opinion. In the first gameplay, you would think this game a peice of cake, but think again. This game goes from easy to extremely hard. THATS WHAT MAKE GAMES SO ADDICTING AND FUN!!!!!! Anyways,this game cannot be miss for any of the mario and green dino lovers.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Yoshi's Island DS
Great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/12
Bunniesareawesome
Location: Malibu, CA
This is a great game! It uses the two screens fairly effectively, though only for looking more up or down than you can normally see. You go through the game switching babies for different specials like floating with peach or running fast with mario, and you are trying to save all the babies bowser stole. Basically you are going through the worlds throwing eggs to fight off foes, find secret locations, or hit coins. It makes for longer gameplay since some perfectionist may want all the flowers or coins on every map, and you have to find all the secret locations to do so. It's a great mario game, and I suggest it to casual gamers!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Yoshi's Island DS
lame game
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/11/12
billybobjoe1984
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
this game is lame and for people who dont know what real video games are. The game is realy wierd and boring
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Yoshi's Island DS
WHAT?
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/11
daBHguy
Location: Mesa, AZ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
O.k, let me quote something frome the description for you 'a gaggle of kids vanishes from the island school'? I don't remember anywhere in this game there being a school. They're babies for crying out loud! The gamestop description is inaccurate. The GAME however is great, but once you've completed it it isn't as awesome anymore.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Yoshi's Island DS
Better then the original, with a horrible mistake.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/11
VocaloidFan4Life
This game is amazing, with tons of fun aspects, and amazing graphics. My ONE criticism on the game, is that the game is surprisingly hard after World 3! This doesnt ruin the game, it just doent make it perfect. This was the Second video game I ever played, and I still play it alot.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Yoshi's Island DS
very fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/11
terrorblood
Location: GA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is very fun and i had it once and i loved it.It was so great im thinking about buying it this time.This game is for people who like adventures.I really love it and i think you would to.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Yoshi's Island DS
Yoshi <3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/16/11
ABLAIR
Location: Oklahoma
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This was the first DS game I ever owned. I loved it and still do. I recently repurchased it, and I am never trading it in again. I love the levels, as well as collecting the red coins, flowers, and stars. It's tricky to get a perfect score on all the levels, so it keeps you going for awhile. I love Yoshi and I am so glad to have this game back!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Yoshi's Island DS
Yoshi's Island DS is a fun game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/26/11
ABLAIR
Location: Oklahoma
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game was actually my first DS game ever! I loved it. I traded it in a few years back, but i recently repurchased it again and I love playing it all over again! The story line is simple, but fun. It is pretty much like the Yoshi's Island/Super Mario Advance 3 GBA game. The eggs Yoshi throws are sometimes hard to manuver, but not enough that practice won't help. There are many levels, with percentage of completion for each one. Collecting all red coins, star points, and power flowers gives you the completion score. Like I said before, simple but easy to play and challenging all in one game!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 13 for Yoshi's Island DS
This is awesome !!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/1/11
Zelink16
Location: suffolk,va
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Yoshi is awesome and this game is fun and funny :) Its a must have and buy !!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Yoshi's Island DS
yoshi island!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/11
minnesotawildfan
Location: newton, massachusetts
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
yoshi island has 5 worlds 1,2,3,4,5.you can get different babies than baby mario their are baby peach,donkey kong,bowser jr and wario.you have 12 places in a world place 4 is a semi boss and 12 is a big boss world 1,2, and 3 is easy but 4 is a little harder than average 5 is just plain hard.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Yoshi's Island DS
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/11
DKandDK
This was a wonderful game. It is great not to have mario as the main hero for change. The graphics are good , but can sometimes have the same backround in more than one level. It is also awesome how each baby has their own power, such as baby peach and her ability to fly in vents with her umbrella. and baby DK being able to climb vines. It can also get extremely hard because I consider myself to be a decent gamer and I am stuck in world 3. So overall I recomend this to people who are looking for a unique and hard Mario game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Yoshi's Island DS
Challenging, yet Great!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/10
writerforever
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Yoshi's Island DS was one of the first DS games I got, and I love it! It starts off easy, (but not boring) and works its way up to challenging, always keeping it interesting with fun new graphics, music, characters, and enemies! There are different mini games and extra levels you can earn along the way, too. Overall, I would reccomend this for all gamers, because you don't have to be an expert to play this and enjoy it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Yoshi's Island DS
The best game ever!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/4/10
maggers
Location: illinois
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I think this game is better than the gameboy versian and has better graphics than it. I try to play it every day
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Yoshi's Island DS
i like this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/10
maggers
Location: illinois
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
it was the best game i ever played!!! it is a good game for kids
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Yoshi's Island DS
Great Game + Yoshi = AWESOME!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/10
WiiRox
Location: U.S.A
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game was great. Although, the problems with this game were that insted of having 8 worlds with small levels inbetween. this game has 5 worlds with longer levels. I have to say, i liked new super mario bros better. also, i know that nintendo is trying to keep that yoshis island graphics look, but c'mon, lets move on, They could have made it look a little bit less cartoonish. The sound was amazing, expetially if you pluged in your headphones and really lisened to it. after all this games faults, I still love it just cause its a great game.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Yoshi's island DS Trailer,
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DKandDK
 
Please wait while more information about DKandDK is loaded.
Additional information about DKandDK could not be loaded.
Top 25 Contributor
Posted 3/16/11
My favorite part about this review was the video
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Yoshi's Island DS
I Love mario games!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/8/10
MarioManiac34
I never played Yoshi's Island until i got it on DS. It is a fun game but i dont think i would reccomend buying it it only has 5 worlds and all you do is collect coins and flowers and try to get the high score. Great for young kids but any older gamer wont enjoy this as much. I'd much rather play Super mario 64 ds or the new super mario ds game. If your like me and never got the chance to play Yoshi's Island i would rent it and try it out or borrow from someone. Dont just go out and buy it. I never played Yoshi's Island until i got it on DS. It is a fun game but i dont think i would reccomend buying it it only has 5 worlds and all you do is collect coins and flowers and try to get the high score. Great for young kids but any older gamer wont enjoy this as much. I'd much rather play Super mario 64 ds or the new super mario ds game. If your like me and never got the chance to play Yoshi's Island i would rent it and try it out or borrow from someone. Dont just go out and buy it.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 8 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>