GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

BioShock

BioShock is the "genetically enhanced" first person shooter that lets you do things never before possible in the genre: turn everything into a weapon, biologically mod your body with plasmids, hack devices and systems, upgrade your weapons and craft new ammo variants, and experiment with different battle techniques. You are a cast-away in Rapture, an underwater Utopia torn apart by civil war. Caught between powerful forces, and hunted down by genetically modified "splicers" and deadly security systems, you have to come to grips with a deadly, mysterious world filled with powerful technology and fascinating characters. No encounter ever plays out the same, and no two gamers will play the game the same way.
Average Customer Rating:
9.329
9.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (364 reviews)
10 stars
152
9 stars
48
8 stars
13
7 stars
4
6 stars
4
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
213 out of 22893%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for BioShock
Review 1 for BioShock
One extremely messed-up Storyline
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/7/14
CynderAnne
Location: MN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
For those of you who actually like games with a storyline and not just senseless killing, this is an awesome game, but be warned. This will mess with your head. A lot. One minute, you think you're helping, but then you're not, but then you are, but in reality you aren't. A ton of back and forth. I did like the gameplay, though. I'm personally not really good at FPS, so I set it to easy to get practice and well…easy is really easy. Easy on this game is about the same as if you're a first-time gamer or very casual, with the more intense setting of nightmare for hardcore gamers. Graphics were really awesome. This whole game reminded me of the movie musical REPO: The Genetic Opera. I"m sure that those of you who love this game will love that movie. However, my only beef is that the wallet size is too small and there aren't enough machine gun rounds found throughout the game. That's my only beef with it. Also, the upgrade weapons stations can only be used once and that's it. That's the other one.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 2 for BioShock
One of the MUST OWN games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/13
Snow93
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Bioshock is one of the BEST game I've ever played in my life. The story was perfect and game play while flawed was still very satisfying. The setting was one of the coolest I've ever seen. The sound design fits perfectly for the story line. There is plenty of challenges to keep you occupied and overall it's a fun time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for BioShock
One of the best games I've ever played.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/13
Xmaster117
Location: Stafford, VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Bioshock is a game that has aged well. In Bioshock you are in a plane crash and eventually find yourself in a city torn apart by addiction, Rapture. In Rapture the people have become addicted to (Didn't realize the pun), Eve and Adam, two materials that can let you do wonderful things such as shoot fire or electrocute things. The addicts are called splicers and they are your main enemy in the game. Back to the story though, you are trying to help Andrew Ryan get back his family and will discover Rapture lore through audio recordings (Recommend listening to them all) and along the way you fight Big Daddies, Large drill-like things that protect little sisters. Little sisters are demented demon-like little girls that harvest Adam from dead people and once the Big Daddy is defeated you may harvest or save them. All in all this game has great combat, interesting exploring, crafting of items such as bombs or special ammo, hacking into safes, and a very immerse non-linear game-play that you cannot miss for just 19.99.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for BioShock
This is a Great Game, but not for Everyone.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/17/13
Nateman3000
Location: Chicago, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game has earned tons of praise from critics and the average gamer alike. Don't get me wrong it's good, but not for everyone. If you usually p,ay Call of Duty or Battlefield I don't recommend it. It is a shooter but not at all like COD or Battlefield. It's not as fast paced and ammunitions are hard to come by. I recommend it for RPG gamers because your character and the shooting plays like RPG games due. Bioshock is one of the best games I've played. It may not be everyone, but for those it is you will enjoy it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 5 for BioShock
BioShock is a Good Game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/26/13
Eptoplasmic
Location: Roanoke, VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is awesome,but i actually got this after (black ops 2) and i got it owned and i loved it but i like black ops 2 way better though
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 6 for BioShock
Completely Amazing!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/20/13
RiSiNgFaLl95
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This Game is completely amazing, and has so much technical beauty, that it makes this game what it is, which happens to be BioShock! Personally I loved the music in this game, because it was beautiful yet somewhat melancholy at times, which perfectly set the mood for this twisted underwater utopia. The Gameplay also was just sheer beauty, and had a fantastic storyline that no one individual can grasp in just one playthrough, which leads you to want to play it more than just once. I came into playing this game thinking that it would be pretty good, but it completely exceeded my expectations, and I have successfully completed the masterpiece 3 times, and am going on the fourth. Next, were the graphics, and for being a good 4 or 5 years old, this game has beautiful graphics, and illustrious detail that make your jaw drop. I couldn't believe how fantastic they were, because BioShock even beats some of the graphics today! It's textures were sometimes a little bit sketchy, but I have yet to so a game that hasn't had the same problem. Last but not least, it the lasting effect, which made my jaw fall to the floor because of cold-blooded betrayal towards the end of the game, and the boss battle was a little bit disappointing, because even on the hardest diffuculty, I never died playing, the main boss. Overall, this game is fantastic, and I would definately recommend this game to anyone with a mind open enough to play BioShock, and really take in the experience. Play this, you will not regret it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for BioShock
A sick, sick, twisted, fun journey
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/13
Coolyo
Location: Boston, MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Let me start off with saying this is now my favorite game series hands down. The game is just amazing from the moment of the lighthouse and the scenery of Rapture, it is mind blowing. The gameplay is like no other game, letting you chose through plasmids while buying plenty with Adam. The plot is thick, almost too thick, making the game memorable and making it the key feature. The length is perfect, not letting it drag on like some campaigns do. Gameplay did get annoying, but that was probably because I play on hard. So many cool things and great memories and twisted parts, including the end, meeting Ryan in person, and the guy who tells you to take pictures of art, especially the sick piano scene. 10/10.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for BioShock
BioShock=Genius!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/13
Jrv325
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Bioshock is a great game, I just finished playing this one and I was surprised @ how much I really like this game, It's seriously genius. The gameplay, awesome & fun. The graphics, amazing. & the story's good... C'mon, go get bioshock, if haven't already.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for BioShock
My Jaws Dropped!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/13
GamerToTheMaximum
Location: In a Hotel in Rapture
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Bioshock surprised me in ways I have never been before. Everything in this game is perfect. It should have been released in 2011 though, because it looks SO LIKE a 2011 released game. I won't EVER regret buying Bioshock. Rapture stood out to me. The city structures are where they need to be and the story on Rapture is well written. Overall, the game is excellent! BUY IT NOW!!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for BioShock
Best game I have ever played!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/13
USMC561
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
To this day Bioshock remains my favorite game of all time, in my opinion is the best game ever made. This game brought me to a place that I've never been able to return to in gaming sense , and I mean that in a good way ! If you havent played Bioshock yet then let me tell you something, you are missing out big time I promise you it is worth every penny that you'll spend on this game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for BioShock
Great game, but it's certainly not "horror."
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/24/13
JSan
Just as the summary states: this is not a horror game at all. Having played the likes of every Resident Evil, F.E.A.R, Silent Hill, Amnesia, Dead Space, etc. games, this falls drastically short on the "fear" front. That being said, the lack of fear hardly takes away from the quality of the game. At first I was a bit sketchy about this one due to how different it was from other shooters. Any shooter player can and certainly will tell you that this game originally had intentions for PC usage and was made for the Xbox. All complaining aside, once you get used to the style of the shooting, this game really opens up and becomes one to remember. I tried to do my very best for the longest time to avoid these types of games due to how often I played them in my youth, but, as stated above, since this game remains a bit different, I found myself hooked immediately. Never once did I jump on have chills run up my spine; instead, I often found myself more focused on the antagonists throughout the game, which all just so happen to be human. I really enjoyed this game and am currently diving into the second one before the release of Infinite. If you are looking for a cheap, fun game to get you by that contains philosophy, good amounts of gore, humor, and a pretty heft challenge, pick this one up--you will not be let down.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for BioShock
The Greatest Video Game Ever Made
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/5/13
armyoflame
Location: Detroit, MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Bioshock is wayyyyyyy more than just a video game. The fiction in this game is so good that it becomes almost an emotional experience while playing through it. It starts off leaving you feeling confused, claustrophobic, and fearful in a way that no other game has been able to achieve. it's obvious the developers made this game with a lot of love. There is simply no other game that can compare to it's art design, and sound. the voice acting is perfect. controls are perfect. it's just that good. play this game NOW. I beat it 3 times then sold it back... I have since bought another copy. I have to play it every few months or so.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BioShock
Best game of all time!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/12
jdmax121reviews
Bioshock is deffinitly uniqe!! Its not another stupid call of duty or borderlands. Its amazing and is one of my favorite games of all time. Pick it up right now!! You will not be dissapointed 100 percent garuntee
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for BioShock
a modern atlantis
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/16/12
strayrogue
Location: Harrington Park, New Jersey
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i love this game it is a marvel to any other game beyond compare. inside a modern atlantis now haunted by deformed humans is just creepy but it is very addicting and lots of fun achievemnets to unlock not to mention Rapture is very breath taking. Bioshock is a huge win.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for BioShock
One of the Best Games Ever Made
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/15/12
QuickKiller97
Location: Suffolk, VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game was so fun to play through I could not pry myself from the game to even eat. If anyone does not have this game, drop everything and go and buy it. It is absolutely amazing.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for BioShock
Excelent
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/28/12
VoltxChaox
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Buy it if you are bored with all the call of duty and halo games because the gameplay is a lot more fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for BioShock
Bioshock
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/5/12
sundog123
Location: California
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Bioshock is my favorite x-Box 360 game. It has everything that a horror/adventure game should. I love the storyline; everything from the Big Daddies to Jack Ryan. In the beginning, you crash-land in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean and find an underwater city called Rapture. This man named "Atlas" tells you that he needs to get his family out of Rapture. Rapture has gone to waste and gives off a very creepy feeling. During the game you have to fight off ADAM addicted splicers and come face to face with the Big Daddies themselves. Bioshock deserves a 10 out of 10 because it is a true masterpiece.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BioShock
Perfection
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/22/12
SirMaxximus
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
One of the best games of all time. The sequel is very good too. But this is a must play.............
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for BioShock
Outstanding.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/12
lightningcat22
Location: North Carolina
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
There are many first person shooters out there, plenty of action adventure as well. Let me tell you this, Bioshock is different. Bioshock is an experience. The greatest single player experience is here. I reccomend playing it at night alone. Sometimes you may even feel a little insanity yourself. It is hard to beat a game like this. I only know of 3 flaws, or just things I did not like. #1. Holding that many weapons is unrealistic. #2. The graphics sometimes take time to load. #3. When you beat the game you can't continue to search the city unless you load a saved game. I also wish you could select levels. However don't let that change your mind about getting it. IT IS TRULY AN OUTSTANDING GAME! 5 Star
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for BioShock
Great game - good story line
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/12
darthcouchpotato
Location: Mercerville, NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I bought this game a while ago, but never had the time to sit down and play it. Two weeks ago, I decided to pick it up and begin playing. Bioshock is a great game! Typically, only strategy games capture my interest but Bioshock is a shooter which combines some strategic elements with some role playing game elements very successfully. I highly recommend this game to all gamers.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>