GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dot.Hack G.U.

The hit sci-fi fantasy video game and TV series is back to deliver an epic, immersive RPG experience on the PS2 system. What if what you do as a player in a game impacted your real world? What is reality? .hack has pursued this innovative concept in the previous 4-part series where "The World" was ultimately destroyed. Years after the events of the first .hack series, "The World" was rebuilt. As a new player, you are saved on your first day in "The World" from several PKs (Player Killers) by a mysterious man. From this day on you have dedicated your time to hunt down PKs, and have become known throughout "The World" as the feared "Terror of Death". Word in "The World" is that the legendary PK you have been searching for has surfaced, and you must now set out to find "it". Your world is thrown into chaos when you finally encounter this PK, and are defeated by him...
Average Customer Rating:
9.545
9.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
10 stars
9
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dot.Hack G.U.
Review 1 for Dot.Hack G.U.
One of the best ps2 game series of all time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/14
Teiraa
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I had dabbled a bit in the first series games but never completed them. Then playing this was just amazing. Everything was improved and the story has all the action, sadness, betrayal, mystery and everything else one could want. If you are a fan of RPGs in the slightest this is a must play.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Dot.Hack G.U.
Cyber Connections 2 has made yet another great .hack series!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/27/08
Luckypoker
Yes, CC2 has sent their newest .hack Series, G.U., released a few years ago. As some may not like it's new battle system, it's got a great Challenge like the original 4! New Characters, New Weapons, Same old Comatose storyline. You're probably saying it's going to be boring, a waste of my money and time. Well think again! If you enjoyed the first 4 .hack games, you should definatly buy this series! No doubt about it! Even if you didn't like the first 4. You'll like this! It's one of those Win-Win situations! So don't stall! Buy this game. Only real problems, and flaws are, The story line is a little short. Took me 85 hours total to beat the first 2 games, that's including all the items, max levels, and Doppleganger! But, it's still awesome. With it's beautiful landscapes, And Wonderful music. You'll find yourself just listening and looking in an area in the middle of a quest! Believe me, It's worth that couple twentys that're laying around on your dresser! Hopefully CC2 wil be releasing another game, based off the new .hack Series, just released in Japan!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dot.Hack G.U.
1st of second 3, 5 of 7, and best series ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/11
ultimateRPGfanatic
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you haven't played the first four dot.hack games, I highly recommend that you do even though you really don't have to for the dot.hack//G.U. storyline. If you did play the previous dot.hack games then you can download the saved data from those games for some bonuses in these next three. Compared to dot.hack vol1-4, dot.hack//G.U. has a storyline that is just awesome, but it's still its own game with different people, places, events, and suspense. Also if you played the first four dot.hack games, you will know extra bits of info with the backstory that's just fun to know. Nevertheless, the dot.hack//G.U. games have an awesome story the differs from the original but is still extremely addictive and once you start, you won't want to stop. Also, if anyone was turned off by certain things in dot.hack vol1-4 games, such as the battle system which I know people have complained about, (it didn't bother me at all) things in dot.hack//G.U. are a bit more streamline and the battle system is quite a bit different in a fun and enjoyable way. After you beat this game, you will want to move onto the next one ASAP due to another addictive story from in dot.hack series!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dot.Hack G.U.
I thought wrong
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/23/11
JJ14
Location: Chicagoland
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
.Hack G.U. Whatever I thought when I heard about this game. It sounded just like the show. But was I wrong, the game blew me away. I was first amazed at the awesome Graphics the game had. The sound was amazing too. It sounded so much better then the first one. The game play of the game was so much better then the first one especially the Trigger Commands. The story was even better. I would have never thought....Wait I better not say that. I don't wanna ruin the story for you. Just play the game you won't be disappointed.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dot.Hack G.U.
Not terrible but far from perfect
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/13
syuvial
Location: Portland, OR
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Graphics: The graphics are passable, but you're unlikely to remember much about the repetitive dungeons, and bland towns. The game has a couple areas that display the beauty and creativity that could have been present elsewhere, so the potential was there.
Sound: The audio could be a little bit muddy sometimes, and a lot of the music was uninspired. The worst part of this game by far, though, was the voice-acting. Some characters had such bad vocals that listening to them was almost a deal-breaker.
Gameplay: It's a pretty solid game, control wise. Combat is fast paced, with just enough skill requirement to keep you interested. All portions of the game work reasonably well, too. You won't find yourself cursing at bugs, bad cameras, or unfair mechanics.
Story: Pay no attention to the other reviews that give the plot such glowing praise. There's nothing to write home about here. The plot is shallow and largely predictable. On top of that, the writing is often stiff, and seems to have suffered from poor QA during translation. Later games do rectify some of that, and if you take the game as completely separate from the rest of the series, it's okay, but there are a number of problems that arise when you try to reconcile the end of the first series with the beginning of this one.
In short, .hack//G.U. is:
A must play for long term fans of the franchise.
An acceptable buy for heavy RPG gamers.
Not a good choice for others.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dot.Hack G.U.
Such an awesome game!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/30/12
lyra19
This is the absolute best game I've ever played! I recommend it to all gamers. Something about it just makes you want to play more. There is nothing bad I can say about this game!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dot.Hack G.U.
Don't give it up!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/11
brizown
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Everything about this game is awesome! There is nothing wrong with the game at all. I traded it in because I thought it got old, but now I regret it. NEVER GIVE IT UP!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dot.Hack G.U.
Nothing i've ever imagined!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/10/08
Teawnni
.Hack G.U was a really different game! I have never played a game quite like it. I was a game, where your character is playing a game! Thats weird! The graphics are okay, there not bad, considering some graphics, but they're not sick, compared to others! The challenge was really good, it took me 2 times to beat the final boss! YAY! But yeah that also contributes to the controls, are a tiny but tricky in Avatar battles. Oh, and Avatars, they're like, you know aeons from Final fantasy, they summon them;kinda! I loved the music to almost all the places! it suited them very well!!! The character customization was acceptable, you know, the whole weapon, accessory, and armor things, along with special books to increase strength or whatever. Anyway, the storyline is like nothing i could ever imagine! Its like an MMORPG, but with a storyline! In the game, you can join guilds, go one quests, and go on adventures, sound like the millions or MMORPGS out there? But, there is a twist, you do these for organizations that are the "game administrators" and the own self ambition of the main character, Haseo. You must do everything in your power to defeat "Tri-edge" and help out a long "lost" close friend. But the ending sucks! IT FORCES YOU TO GO AND BUY THE SECOND VOLUME BECAUSE YOU HAVE TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXT! It is a crazy RPG and i recommend it to anyone who is bored, wants to play a cool game, with a cool storyline, and that is really different. It is really entertaining! It takes a while to get into, but when you do, you will be running to gamestop to get the second volume!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dot.Hack G.U.
.hack//G.U Vol. 1: Rebirth Review
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/24/08
Elijah S.
Well before getting started I should mention that .hack//G.U is a three volume game, Vol. 1: Rebirth, Vol. 2: Reminisce, and Vol. 3 Redemption. It is directly related to the Japanese animation .hack//Roots, for those of you who enjoyed the anime you owe it to yourself to give the game a shot. I myself am an avid dothack fan. I've seen all the series and played most of the games, I have to say I did not enjoy the first 3 installments of dothack on the ps2, however G.U is a very good trilogy. I'm just going to jump into it now that I've gotten the formality out of the way. Story: 10/10 How can I say anything else? I've always been fascinated by the storyline in the dothack series, and G.U is no exception, it's put together wonderfully, and executed even better. Even if you've never played a dothack game, or watched any of the series, you really should pick this game up for the pure joy you'll feel upon completion. If you've ever played an MMORPG you know exactly what to expect from this game, but the concept is truly genius. Graphics: 10/10 Sure there were more graphic heavy things on the system, and compared to current gen graphics one may say they're lacking. However for the time this trilogy began it's wonderful reign, it's graphics were top notch. Simply beautiful, from the world design to battle animations it was all done very well. Gameplay: 9/10 While I love the gameplay it falls a tiny bit short, sure it's a very enjoyable system, and it keeps my eyes on the screen. However at times it gets a bit repetitive. Well also there is the door/tele system, which is quite annoying, but about what you would expect from an RPG though so I still give it a 9 out of 10, at the very least I can't imagine anyone not enjoying the gameplay in Rebirth. Sound: 10/10 Like with everything that exists in the dothack world, it's music is beautiful. I often find myself sitting here with an entire playlist of dothack soundtracks, and NEVER getting tired of them. No complaints when it comes to sound & music. Overall: 9/10 This isn't really an average of what I gave it in all the areas I discussed, it's just kind of my overall opinion on the game. I consider .hack//G.U Vol. 1 to be a VERY good game, but it's just, very very slightly off of being a perfect 10, there are a few tiny things in the game, that had the programmers thought to do them differently, it could have definitely bumped this game up to a 10/10 for me. Regardless it's worth the buy for any RPG Gamer, or any fan of the dothack series.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
lobothesacred3
 
Please wait while more information about lobothesacred3 is loaded.
Additional information about lobothesacred3 could not be loaded.
Top 25 Contributor
Question
Posted 2/2/12
You said that you didn't enjoy the first three .hack games on the PS2, but the first series of games was broken up into four volumes. Do you mean that you didn't enjoy the first four games?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Dot.Hack G.U.
Perfection
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/11
Goodfellas
Location: Deleware
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When this came out my heart almost stopped, Then when i played it my eyes fell in love. This game is a great jumping off point for another series of hack games to come.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Dot.Hack G.U.
I love this game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/11
Lavi
Honestly, one of the best RPGs I've ever come across. I would definitely recommed this game to anyone.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10