GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Guitar Hero 2 - Game Only

This is the GAME ONLY. This title does not include the Guitar controller required to play.RedOctane's follow-up to the critically acclaimed rhythm game. Guitar Hero II features a brand-new and expanded track list, more venues and new play modes, and aims to rock longer and harder than its predecessor. RedOctane has once again teamed up with veteran music game developer Harmonix for the sequel, and is using famed recording studio WaveGroup for its music production, who also recorded the covers for the licensed tracks in the original Guitar Hero. The game's all-important track list encompasses all forms of rock and metal music including classic rock, "hair metal", heavy metal, modern rock and alternative rock. In total, Guitar Hero II features more than 55 songs. New modes include a multiplayer co-op mode where players can play not only the lead guitar track, but rhythm or bass as well, allowing players to take on two different sections of the song simultaneously. Supports the Guitar Hero SG controller.
Average Customer Rating:
8.727
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
3
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 1182%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Guitar Hero 2 - Game Only
Review 1 for Guitar Hero 2 - Game Only
Guitar Hero 2
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/10
Dman69
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a very fun game to play. Has fun songs. It does take awhile to load but still a fun game. Overall a very fun game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Guitar Hero 2 - Game Only
Simply a great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/09
Justin Bowen
Guitar Hero 2 is a music/rhythme based game featuring great songs such as Beast And The Harlot by Avenged Sevenfold, Sweet Child Of Mine by Motley Crue, and many other songs. Players use a guitar shaped controller similar to the one in Guitar Hero 1. Guitar hero 2 features new songs, more challenging charts to play, and many other features. Players can either take the stage by themselves or hook up another controller and rock out with their friends for twice the fun. Guitar Hero 2 features a unique multiplayer mode called Pro-Faceoff where both players must play the same chart on the same difficulty so there is no longer any whining about who has the easier part of the main riff or who has the easier part of the impossible solo. Guitar Hero 2 also features a guitar store similar to the one in Guitar Hero 1. After the player has gone through Career mode and racked up some money from playing songs, they can take their hard earned money and buy new songs, new gear, new videos, and even some new characters such as The Grim Reaper. Just like in Guitar Hero 1, players can go through a part of the game called "Training" where they can learn about the new features in the game, learn more advanced techniques, or learn how to play the game if they have not yet played. Players will notice in the menu, the audio/video lag option is still there which is very useful if you have an HDTV and you notice the game produce a lag. Simply go to this option through the main menu and once the calibration test has started, simply strum each time the target has gone through the hole. Players will also notice much more challenging songs throughout the game such as YYZ by Rush, Thunder horse by Dethklok, Jordan by Bucket head, and Six by All That Remains.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Guitar Hero 2 - Game Only
awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/4/11
whispy
Location: sidney NY,
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I'm speechless about this game because it's so cool and has good songs on them.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Guitar Hero 2 - Game Only
best guitar hero
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/10
delco
Location: jersey
i love guitar hero i have every one.this one is my fav .
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Guitar Hero 2 - Game Only
If you're a beginner to Guitar Hero, this is right for you!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/11/10
gamerexpress
Guitar Hero II is a good game for beginners out there who want to try out Guitar Hero before you move on to Rock Band. Unlike the first Guitar Hero, GH2 (Guitar Hero II) has a training section in the game if you just started Guitar Hero. You can practice on how to use the fret buttons on your guitar (sold separtedly) in 3 different sections. You can also learn on how to use Star Power on your guitar if you're having trouble on it. And if you just lost on your first song, don't FRET! You can always practice the song in Practice Mode if you're having trouble on that song. Graphics- The enivorements in the game are fairly designed good, but the characters are poorly designed. At the end, when you see your character on the newspaper in the game, the black and white on your character can look real sloopy and sometimes scary. And spefically, when a certain character drops his/her guitar in the game, it's like wiped out of the screen, but most players won't notice that often. The stage enviorements however do look good for a PS2 (PlayStation 2) game, but not for a Xbox 360 game. Controls- Controls are fairly simple (unless you have not done the training if you're new to Guitar Hero), when you're playing a song on GH2, just follow the following fret notes that are displayed on the TV screen. (If you're planning to buy this game for your PS2 or 360, I'm going to get you a headstart on controls: Use the strum bar on the guitar (again sold separtedly) and press the notes on your guitar to play the notes on your TV). Realism- When you earn Star Power and when you slant your guitar upwards, your character does some weird moves (one character in the game spins his guitar around and still playing it) which totally lacks realism. And also, when you're on the Red Meter (messing up a song), the crowd boos your band out and when you completely mess up, the music automactally cuts off from the amp and your band real disappointed which is real realistic. Overall- From fair realism to average PS2 graphics and real easy controls and a training course to try out your guitar, I highly think that Guitar Hero 2 is best for beginners.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Guitar Hero 2 - Game Only
Videogamegamer
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/3/10
videogamegamer
This video game is amazing. I would really recommend this game if you enjoy challenging but fun video games. This was my first guitar hero game and it was amazing. I really enjoyed the song selection compared to the more recent guitar hero video games. I also think that the game was a little disturbing with some of the graphics, like on the main menu for example, there was a bunch of skulls and graffiti in the pictures. I would also recommend buying the guitar hero controller and buying a seperate memory card (for specific stations) 8GB would do. I would also recommend to not use cheats because my game didn't work that well after I enterd my code. I had a lot of fun playing this game. Every guitar hero is fun to play. I hope that you enjoy.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Guitar Hero 2 - Game Only
A real classic in the rhythm genre.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/11
WheatleyTheDalek
Location: Aperture Science, Inc.
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is a bit dated, I admit, but it is still a lot of fun, and much better than the newer GH games. The gameplay is very fun, to say the least. It's especially fun when you get someone else to join you in multiplayer. The graphics are dated, but who cares anyway? Mario 64 is still fun and those graphics are even more dated! But what about the sound? The whole point of a music game is the sound. Well, all of the main songs are covers except for two ("Stop!" by Janes Addiction, "John the Fisherman" by Primus). However, as Harmonix is a music company at heart, the covers are very well done. Except for, again, two ("Laid to Rest" by Lamb of God, "Killing in the Name" by RATM). The bonus songs are also great, EXCEPT FOR TWO ("Yes We Can" by Made in Mexico, "Red Lottery" by MEGASUS!!!!!!). As far as lasting appeal, I say this: If you're the type of person who will play through a game and not tire of it, plenty of lasting appeal. If you aren't, then there isn't so much. If you have an X360, get that version instead, because it looks better, and there's more songs. If not, well, this is just as good. With great gameplay, cover songs that are actually pretty good, and plenty of unlockables and extras, this game gets a well deserved 9/10. This is Wheatley. Good night, and I am not a moron.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Guitar Hero 2 - Game Only
amazing
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/14
gamereviwer
Location: carrollton Texas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this was my first guitar hero game i overplayed and loved it the songs are great controls also and overall a perfect age get it now
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Guitar Hero 2 - Game Only
i think its cool if you like guitars
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/10
jacob98
Location: toledo,ohio
This game is perfect for: party gamers
it think guitar hero 3 if fun but not as fun as the newest one
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Guitar Hero 2 - Game Only
This Game Just Stinks
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/23/10
Jhairs
Location: Chicago, IL
I don't know where to start, oh yeah how about with how slow this game is. It takes Forever to load. Also i hate how delayed the buttons are on the controller. You can't even pass a song on hard let alone expert. I love all the other guitar hero's but this one JUST STINKS. The graphics are a true eye-sore. Every time i try to look at it my eyes feel like there about pop out. Please do not buy this game for PS2.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Guitar Hero 2 - Game Only
Best GH Game Ever!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/29/11
Infernape48
Location: Annapolis, MD
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love this game on PS2. It is amazing. Get it. You have to. The graphics are great. I love the gameplay. The graphics are great. The star hero is so cool. I have to make sure that I do star power right when you get a full meter. This is the best game for the PS2.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10