GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Need for Speed: Carbon

What starts in the city is settled in the canyons as Need for Speed Carbon immerses you in the world's most dangerous and adrenaline-filled form of street racing. You and your crew must race in an all-out war for the city, risking everything to take over your rivals' neighborhoods one block at a time. As the police turn up the heat, the battle ultimately shifts to Carbon Canyon, where territories and reputations can be lost on every perilous curve. Represent your car class, your crew, and your turf in Need for Speed Carbon, the next revolution in racing games.
Average Customer Rating:
8.895
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
6
8 stars
3
7 stars
3
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 out of 19100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Need for Speed: Carbon
Review 1 for Need for Speed: Carbon
One of the best games in the Need For Speed series
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/12
DeathSchuldiner
Location: Fresno, Ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Its like playing EA's version of The Fast and The Furious:Tokyo Drift!
Like I said, one of the best!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Need for Speed: Carbon
Favorite need for speed
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/26/12
bobbismer
Location: bobbismer
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is the best game i have played.i would reccomend it for gamers that like street racing and is the best customization
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Need for Speed: Carbon
Best NFS Game on the PlayStation2!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/12
ClassicReviews
Location: Richmond, Virginia
The graphics were great for it's year! This game was better and more improved then "NFS Most Wanted" was. Another thing that makes this game good and differant is that it's a nightime racing game! Which another thing that makes the graphics quite wonderful. The Car selection was pretty good, and the car gangs were good. Solid game, 91% recommend this game!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Need for Speed: Carbon
Very good but lack some things
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/11
rockman910
Location: Brooklyn, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Need for speed carbon is pretty good for some racers. the races are good the police pursuit are quick and cool, but i wish there were more bosses(like one boss for each car types and tier), keep the money prizes the same(every time you win a race with any amout of the cash prize like 5,000, 10,000, 20,000, 25,000, or even 50,000 , the cash prize for winning again you only get 500,witch make it hard to earn more money to pay for parts and cars), get dauruis car in career after complteing the game or even buy it(after beating the game, his car is only avibale in quick race) and upgrade your crew members atubties(to earn more money after a race and get bigger discounts for parts and cars). Other then all of that, Carbon is still a good game to play.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 5 for Need for Speed: Carbon
Best Need for Speed Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/11
Hawkmaster1
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game has great graphics and is one of the most addicting games I have. Story mode is kind of short, but even after you beat the game it's still fun to play.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Need for Speed: Carbon
awesome!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/24/11
sssssssssssssss5555555555
Location: TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is so cool. every time i trade it in i go and get it back.the car mods are the best for nfs. its alot better than most wanted because theirs no blacklist . the cops look easy at first but it gets really hard. if you run over spikes you can still move. the game is alot of fun. buy it !!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 7 for Need for Speed: Carbon
This is great!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/11
A1B2
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is one of the best Need for Speed games that I have ever played. If you are ready for easy controls and challenging gameplay. The only thing that is challenging is the boss races and canyon duels. If you could get one tip from me. I would say have a nice nitrous kit ready to go.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Need for Speed: Carbon
Really challenging and fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/11/11
NFSJustin
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
1. Chalenging-The police pursuits and boss battles make it challenging but then it could go overboard and make it hard. 2. Fun-Customization and races are the fun part about this game. I really like the autosculpt...espacially for the old muscle cars with "Charged" hoods make it look pretty cool. And finally, the races are kinda easy depending which difficulty level u r on.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Need for Speed: Carbon
Its great for racing game fans but not my type.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/19/11
SLINKY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is not my type. if you like racing games and thats is ur type of game its great for u.But for me it wasnt my type of games are grand theft auto games . the game :its control is good graphics great it is pretty hard in drifting sections but the rest is pretty easy . its a great game dont get me wrong on that ! the police chases get pretty hard!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Need for Speed: Carbon
#1 game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/11
ps3rules
Location: Pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this was one of the first games i got for my ps2. it has alot of action. the graphics are okay but overall i give it a 9 of 10. in this car game there are four territories and are all owned by a person. you have to win races to dominate and steal territories. the setting in the game is untold, but i would rate this best car game for ps2!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Goosegeesegoosegoogoegoo
Canada
 
Please wait while more information about Goosegeesegoosegoogoegoo is loaded.
Additional information about Goosegeesegoosegoogoegoo could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
NFS the carbon!
Posted 8/7/11
WE had this game but we sold it, although it was fun while it lasted, we got like 2 dollars for it!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Need for Speed: Carbon
A VERY GOOD NFS GAME!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/10
mariobro12
Location: U.S.A. Illinois
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got this game about 2 years ago, but I still love it a lot! The graphics are very good too. It was too short though, and couldve had more cars to be perfect, but overall a must have game for nfa fans!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Need for Speed: Carbon
best nfs on ps2
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/10
jam6
this game is amazing it is a step up from underground and pro street and also is much better than undercover. If you want a great racing game pick this one up.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
whiteboy22
 
Please wait while more information about whiteboy22 is loaded.
Additional information about whiteboy22 could not be loaded.
Posted 12/23/10
this game is cool but it is too short. if it was longer and had more cars it would be perfect
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Need for Speed: Carbon
great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/9/10
jpizzle1122
I think this game was amazing I mean it was one of the best need for speed games ever. It had great graphics, cars, controls, an amazing amount of ways to tune your ride and you could build your own team. Unlike many video games this one is extremely addicting i mean i played this game for hours and didn't get board. the game also has a very large track variety and race variety so you can always find an awesome race. there is also an option in the menu so you can make a car out of everything you unlocked and it doesn't cost anything although you can only use these cars in quickplay. I like the feature of being able to have someone else in the race with you it makes it much better than most racing games. also, there are many shortcuts which i find is a cool addition to a street racing game. ea games did a good job 10/10
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Need for Speed: Carbon
Best need for speed yet
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/10
Sly fan 107
This is my favriote need for speed game, and the best. I have had this game for a while and I enjoy it a lot. I have always liked need for speed games, like underground and most wanted, but this one is even better, then all of them. This one I even enjoyed this one more then the newer need for speed, like need for speed shift. The graphics were just so awasome, and the vehicles were awasome. You get to envade, and get your bounty high like most wanted. The night driving was so cool. Racing throgh the city, or free roam is so fun. This game is so realistic, as I just couldnt get over the amazing graphics. Carbon is definitely the best need for speed game and comes in the top three PS2 games. And come in the top five racing games. I recommand this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Need for Speed: Carbon
sweet and fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/09
omaurici36
NFS Carbon is sweet to play nice and fun rides the police chases are kinda irritading but i have fun on occasion just opening up on the freeway with those cruisers running way back behind me the multiplayer is super fun i made my charger exactly how i wanted it that charger is a green monster when im lucky enough to get a straightaway that thing just roars away leaving the competition in the dust straight up the graphics are top notch the customization was awesome simplish but difficult the storyline by the way may have been a bit easy but still fun and entreaging but the crew was really annoying after a while they just slow down and if your behind up b lock you or justannoy you with those repetitive vocabulary the overall game just screams awesome of course it has some flaws but what doesnt need for speed :carbon is just super sweet
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Need for Speed: Carbon
Dont like
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/27/08
Tigerxlr
This was my first Need for Speed game i was exitcted to i played it. The controls are bad for me really when you turn it really goes off balance and the cars go slow when you start it off. The grapchis are awesome for PS2 its amazing i must admit that. The crews part is good to but gets boring after a while. They have so many Maps you and your friend could play o wait...You cant play in some maps with your friend. Cop chases are really great in the game. Theres alot of Cars you could get but if your a first timer at a Need for Speed game you wouldnt know anything on what your doing. The game got boring quick since its nothing what you expect really. I played it for 3 days and havent touched it since. I still dont know up to this day how to do some stuff. This game is like a 6/10.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rusty12
 
Please wait while more information about Rusty12 is loaded.
Additional information about Rusty12 could not be loaded.
INSANELY AWESOME
Posted 8/10/11
If your the kind of guy who is into muscle cars then get this and it even has lamborghinis,porsche,corvette,astons,andmy personal favorite is the 1969 charger
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Need for Speed: Carbon
OK
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/08
Customerrrrrrr
It was an OK game. I thought it would be a little better, after seeing most wanted, but it wasn't. The main thing was it was just too short. After I beat Darius, and the game said "Congrats, you have just beaten NFS Carbon," I was like, that's it? All in all, it's just ok. The other 3 bosses were really easy, Wolf was the easiest, I beat him in the race with 25 seconds to spare. In the Canyon Duel, I passed him at the way beggining. Kenji was little bit more difficult, but he only took me like 3 tries. Angie was the toughest of those 3, took 4 tries, but I still beat her. But there is some good stuff to say about the game. 1. I like how in this one, the crew members actually help you. They don't just race. There are blockers, who take out cars, scouts, who find all the sortcuts, and drafters, who give you and extra boost of speed. I also liked the canyon duels, those were pretty fun. The story line was good. All in all though, it was just ok.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Need for Speed: Carbon
Interesting Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/1/08
epr1977
I have this game for about 5 days, and I like it alot. The graphics, story-videos looks much better than NFS - MostWanted. The quality on the graphics are great, and the story is very good. I like the customatization a lot (even when i haven't used a lot). The part of the 'crew' is really cool, and I like that they kepp most of the fun things from NFS most wanted. The downside is that the story seems to be very short (I think I'm about half of the game and I have played it for just a few days.); something that I didnt like was that all the races are at night (like NFS underground series), and daylight races are much more fun for 'blind' people like me. Overall is an excellent game and a very good sequence from NFS most wanted, but i think that overall Most wanted is still better. DEFENETLY A GOOD BUY !!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Need for Speed: Carbon
Almost Wanted
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/08
TheDawg
After playing NFS Most Wanted, I figured I should try out another game in the Need For Speed series. I loved the cop chases, I loved the racing, and I loved customizing cars. When I bought NFS Carbon, all I wanted was a clone of Most Wanted and I would be happy. I was also interested by the canyon racing. For the most part, this game makes the cut; driving is as fun as ever and customization is at it's best with an auto-sculpt feature which lets you customize the look of various parts on your car. Unfortunately, cop chases feel like they are just pasted in as a tribute to Most Wanted. There’s no real incentive to take part in them, and they end up just making it impossible to use free roam without getting hounded by cops every 5 minutes. The game would have probably been better without them, frankly. Another annoying element of the game is the system of wingmen: drivers that will perform different tasks for you in a race. It is true that they can occasionally help you take out the leading car or get someone off your back, but for the most part they will either get in your way or, occasionally, win the race for you, which can feel really cheap when you are in fourth place. Nevertheless, if you are a fan of the Need For Speed series, you will still have a decent time with this racer. Driving is solid enough, customization can be pretty fun, and the city environment looks brilliant. It's not great, but it might just be worth checking out.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
phill1989
 
Please wait while more information about phill1989 is loaded.
Additional information about phill1989 could not be loaded.
The Best Of Need for speed
Posted 11/8/10
the game is great and you could ride around the city. the cars is awsome and you could tune the car to how you want it but the only thing that sucks about it is its to short but all in all its a great game!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)