GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dark Sector

Dark Sector thrusts players into the role of Hayden Tenno, an operative sent on a dangerous assassination mission into Lasria - an Eastern European city on the brink of ruin that hides a deadly Cold War secret. Attacked by an unknown enemy, he awakens to find part of his body altered by an infection that has granted him inhuman abilities. Now, Hayden must learn to evolve along with his powers, to survive and to become a hero. Created by acclaimed developer Digital Extremes, Dark Sector is a new and original action-thriller designed exclusively for next-generation consoles. A dark, gritty experience packed with fast action, incredible superpowers and an engaging story; Dark Sector represents the next evolution of action gaming.
Average Customer Rating:
8.29
8.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
10 stars
14
9 stars
8
8 stars
8
7 stars
3
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
33 out of 3887%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dark Sector
Review 1 for Dark Sector
Surprising Game!!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/14
FPSRUSSIAN27
Location: North Huntingdon, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got this game thinking it would be something different and something to just pass the time with. But this game really surprised the heck out of me. The graphics are excellent, the gameplay and storyline are well written. The controls are easy to remember. This game was an awesome find and I think every one should buy this!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Dark Sector
Great Find!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/12/13
FPSGamer87
Location: North Huntingdon, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game looked okay and it was only a few bucks so I bought it. Well man was I surprised!
This game is awesome. Great graphics, gameplay, sound, and controls. The storyline is pretty well scripted as well. I am really glad I bought this game!
If you're looking for a game that is inexpensive and will give you hours of entertainment, buy this game!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Dark Sector
Perfect weekend game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/12
DBZCODFAN
Location: MICHIGAN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought it on friday and beat it sunday night. The game is in 3rd person which "I" thought I wouldnt like but I got use to it. The gameplay is pretty simple and the story is interesting. It doesnt require alot of skill so if your new its perfect for you. It would only take someone that knows the layout of the game a good 4 - 6 hours to beat, but for new people it takes time. I personally got stuck a few times because I didnt understand what to do, but I do recommend buying this game just for kicks. If it was alittle cheaper that would be good but for $5,00 you cant really beat it.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bmcbean
Corunna
 
Please wait while more information about bmcbean is loaded.
Additional information about bmcbean could not be loaded.
Great Game!
Posted 10/10/12
I just bought this game last night and i am already half way (Chapter 6) and i only paid $1.90! it is an amazing game i think.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Dark Sector
DARK SECTOR ROCKS!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/1/12
SWAGG617
Location: Boston,MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
DARK SECTOR WAS A GOOD GAME ITS BETTER THEN A LOT OF OTHER GAMES OUT THERE GIVE THIS GAME A CHANCE HOPE IT COME OUT WITH A PART 2
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dark Sector
BuyThis!! It's Cheap!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/28/12
jwkdog
Location: Auburn,Ky
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is like resident evil and great for gamers who have surround sound!! Enemies come out of nowhere, huge bosses and just a great game!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 6 for Dark Sector
Possibly the worst game I've ever played.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/11
NintendoYay
Location: Indiana
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Dark Sector is a terrible game! It appears as if it was an original play station game that was reformatted for the PS3. Graphics are low below par, mechanics are clunky, and the story line is nothing special either. I attempted to play all the way through, but I was in fear of tearing my eyes out.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dark Sector
okay game but to many old bugs from a decade ago
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:5/3/11
ps3fan
Location: texas,tx
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
the game would have been a game of the month if they would of not used such a bad style of gameplay to bad this game would have been cool but i bought it for five bucks so iam not going to make a big deal of it LOL
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 8 for Dark Sector
this is like resident evil 5 with powers
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/11
90u8gfy6788
Location: gilbert
this game is fun but the action will keep you sucked in for a long time
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BigMike88
Princeton,Ky
 
Please wait while more information about BigMike88 is loaded.
Additional information about BigMike88 could not be loaded.
best game ive played in yrs
Posted 11/10/11
this game is awesome ive had it since it came out and just beat it today november 10th 2011 and i was stuck at this one part and i was near the end and i finished it today best game overall
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Dark Sector
Sleeper hit of the decade
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/11
LogyBear
Location: Mapleton, Ut
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
what a fantastic game! i bought it a year ago and am still playing through it. Amazing, was not given enough credit. Great job DC with the great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dark Sector
Awesome game - super low price !
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/11
tray90
Location: Virginia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is top of the line . it has a good story , the action doesnt stop . there is never that dull moment when you have no idea what to do . its like a movie . oh, and let me not forget all the surprises this game has !
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 11 for Dark Sector
Great game for a cheap price
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/20/11
Bruinsfan
Location: Midland, MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was just trying to add to my slim collection when I came across this game. It was really cheap and looked like a lot of fun. It was. The story is fun to follow, and the gameplay is very nice. Very gory, but using the Glavin is addicting. You can throw or use it as a hand weapon. The farther you get, the more powers you obtain, like invisibility. Playing online was also a lot of fun with two different styles. After I beat games, I put them up for debate of either keeping them or trading them in... I'll be keeping this one for a long time.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dark Sector
Great Game for a Really Great Price!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/11
vGamesGoneWild
Location: PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
WOW! Before getting this game I read so many reviews saying that this game is worth well more than the $5 it costs, and let me tell you it does! If you are looking for a new game but don't have much to spend this game is a must buy! The graphics are good, gameplay is great, the action is intense and leaves you on the edge of your seat. Not only can you use guns but you also have this blade that you can throw and people and cut off their heads, legs, and arms and it will always come back to you! GO OUT AND GET THIS GAME NOW!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dark Sector
Uncharted meets Resident Evil and Arkham Assylum
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/11
Evoslingerr
Location: Meteorite, MX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
An average third person shooter that offers an interesting new weapon... the glaive [tri-razor disc you throw]. What's interesting about this game is the way you control the glaive, allowing you to throw it and eviscerate almost any enemy... Having a hard time focusing the throw on an enemy? Control the movement of the glaive with the same control used with the remote bat-boomerangs in Arkham Assylum. [Deactivating the Sixaxis movement feature may prove more efficient when controlling the glaive] Direct the glaive to the extremities of your zombie enemies and cut them in several parts. You can charge up the weapon with different elemental attacks, and upgrade your weapons using rubles [money]. An interesting proyect, could had offer more elements to gameplay, but for the price suggested in the used section, it's completely a must buy...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dark Sector
Awesome game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/10
Deadalus
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is great, but it does get repetitive after the first half.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 15 for Dark Sector
9$ is wrong this game is well worth much more money maybe 60$
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:6/14/09
j dog 22
This game was well worth ** it could have been more but ** is fine all im saying is this game will be recommended to many of my friends who enjoy shooting and pretty much action blood gore and just kicking butt. i thought the story line was sick which means insane crazy or awesome. the sound was terrific i loved i had my t.v. as loud as it could go because i loved the sound. i thought the costumes and outfits were great especially the first super ninja spy costume i thought that was wicked. Also the graphics were great i saw everything clear and it felt like it was happening in real life it was also wickedly awesome. i thought it was a fareley long game i mean i don't really play games 24-7 but this one was so wicked i had to play this 24-7 until i finished it and then i still wanted to play it more i think i beat this game maybe 12 times at least i had never done that with a game and that is saying something. anyways i wrote this review and rated this game to show that the game is wicked awesome and insane. that is all of what i think about the game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
dash
mississippi
 
Please wait while more information about dash is loaded.
Additional information about dash could not be loaded.
it will be epic
Posted 11/18/10
i cant wait 2 buy it
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Dark Sector
Too Cheap!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/15/09
Manicania
I don't care what anyone says, $* is too little. This game is worth much more. Anyway, I first rented this game a while back, I really liked it. It was so much fun. And it was really, really long, much longer than I expected. The controls are great. The story is crazy, some of the stuff that happens is just so unexpected. I really wish a sequel was made, it would definitely be appreciated. About the gameplay, well, I don't think the gameplay is similar to anything else. I mean, it's basically shooter meets hack and slash. You do use guns a lot, but you gain awesome abilities (lightning, fire, ice, etc.) to use with the glave, which, did I mention is controlled using the Sixaxis. It is so awesome gliding it right through an enemy's head. The melee attacks have the coolest visuals. (My only complaint is that it's different for each enemy, so when there's a lot of the same enemy it gets repetitive.) So many locations. First you're outside a military base, then in the sewer, and so on. If you don't know about the character, basically he was part of an experiment that went wrong and now his arm is messed up, but it's good because he can do all the cool stuff mentioned earlier because of it. You pick up guns using the glave, you can only hold them for a short amount of time though (the glave like dissolves them or something). But it makes it more challenging, which I like. The boss battles are hard, and fun, and intense, and are everything a boss battle should be. This game, surprisingly, has an online multiplayer. It's bad, really bad, but hey, at least they tried. So if you can get over that very minor (I don't even notice it). One thing I think would be cool (which would totally be doable in a sequel), is cooperative campaign. I would definitely, no question, recommend this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Dark Sector
a sleeper hit that should be taken another look at
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/08
xxhackisbackxx
I had this game before and i loved it but i got rid of it before i could finish, i see alot people not liking this game and videogame magazines giving a poor review for it, i think they dont know good quality. Of course everyone one is going to give A+ ratings to MGS4 and GTA4 and games that have a anticipation waiting, but if you actually play this game you will find that the graphics are top notch some of the best ive seen, and the game company is not a very big company its called D3 this company has a love / hate relationship for games, this game should be loved, but also everyone gets pissed off because it doesnt have a very good online multiplayer WHO GIVES A F%CK, the online does not make a game, the storyline does i love this game and it is on top 10 list of greatest games plus i see the better in games i dont try to depict games unless it is vampire rain, that just really sucked
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dark Sector
all around perfect game!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/10/08
a customerr
I got this game and got home and ripped it out of the package and played it. It was ok at first and then it got really interesting. The storyline is not very obvious for what is about to happen which is very thrilling for a game for only $**! Which is a fabulous price for such a good game. The arsenal is very fun to use and the glaive is A LOT of fun to use in combat. Aftertouch makes fighting even better which is where once you throw the glaive you can control it by tilting the controller around which is one of the best features i feel a game can have. Plus the game has the feature of horror in it with the virus infection and then just the good old fashioned killing of guys with machine guns. Also there is some thinking and puzzles involved in the game which just makes it all that much better. My friends have played this game with me and they are big COD4 and Halo 3 fans and they say that this game is as good if not better than both of those. Some people might think i'm crazy for giving this game all 10s but it's totally true and none of this is lies. I would recommend this game to anyone that is a fan of shooters, puzzles, and role players. Oh and also the graphics are amazing and one more feature to the game is the ability to press X and automatically get to safe cover...and the controls are some of the easiest i have ever played with. I highly recommend this game to anyone able to buy M rated games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dark Sector
Not to bad Not to good.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/08
aknative07
Well i'm new at this leaving feedback stuff but here it goes. the beginning is different I've never played a game that starts out black and white, kinda cool how it switches into color after you get poked by that one chick. if you haven't played this game you'll know what i mean after. the guns are kinda cool. I've spent more time with the pistol and glave, which is very cool i like the glave. but i wish you could hold Different weapons and the glave at the same time. the way of fighting on there..... well it sucks. you hit the person or zombie about 20 times and they just sit there looking at you like a wimp. when it takes them 2-5 hits and your dead it has quite a few dark spots, but you get a handy flashlight to help you. it looks like you get some cool stuff in the black market but you have to damn near beat the game before you can start buying more weapons or just look harder for the money as you play. the games kinda short. once you beat it it tells you to play again under "Brutal" and even then its pretty easy. just follow the same path you took the first time and there you go. and watch out when you get a bunch of zombies because they will all gang up on you and its hard to get out once they do.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 20 for Dark Sector
Falls short
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/08
PS3_Owner
This is ... a fine game. Not great, not bad, just fine. Not my cup of tea. I like the genre, but the way they put emphasis on the glaive (cool arsenal) is too much. If they took out the glaive, it would have been the same experience is all I am saying. Plus, the graphics isn't all that great. It's dark all the time. I get the idea that it's the setting, but on my LCD TV it just seems like its too dark. The sound is great, I love the ominous sounds, especially with surround sound. Especially, when the zombies attack you, they sound scary, sometimes make you jump out of your seat scary. The story is okay, not enough twist though. Almost seemed linear. And, not enough character development on the other characters. The length of the game is good. But, replay value not so good. Nothing else you can achieve.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 2 3 next>>