GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PS3 Energizer Power & Play Station

In just 2.5 hours, the Energizer® Power & Play Charging System for PS3® charges up to 4 controllers simultaneously. Charge 2 controllers on the station and 2 more with USB cables (sold separately). Includes UL-approved AC power cord."We like the look of Pelican's Charging Station for the PlayStation 3. It'll look modern and attractive sitting among other gaming peripherals and is definitely a more convenient way to keep your SIXAXIS controllers fully charged than plugging them into the PS3 directly." Score: 8.5/10 IGN
Average Customer Rating:
7.396
7.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (63 reviews)
10 stars
24
9 stars
7
8 stars
4
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
5
36 out of 5368%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PS3 Energizer Power & Play Station
Review 1 for PS3 Energizer Power & Play Station
overall skip this and get the official Sony one
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/13
OverlordLaharl
Location: inside my head
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this charger WILL break your controllers, in fact all PDP/energizer PS3 chargers will because they all use the same connectors. in the 1 year of my owning this thing i went through 3 controllers, all because this thing makes it hard to connect the controllers and eventually breaks the controllers USB port. if you want a controller charger get the official Sony one, that one wont break your controllers.
ratings: performance: 10 it does what it says it does
value: 1 i spent more money on replacing controllers than the item actually costs
design: 1 the thing makes it hard to connect the controllers all because it uses the usb port and not an attachment like the Sony one
overall skip this and get the official Sony one, you wont be sorry
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 2 for PS3 Energizer Power & Play Station
Worked well for two weeks then stopped working
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/11/13
Annonymous351
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I bought this as a present for my brother. He was able to charge his controllers but then the product just stopped charging both of his controllers altogether.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 3 for PS3 Energizer Power & Play Station
only good for about a year or so
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/13
Kbomb984
Location: Philadelphia
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When i got it it worked perfect but now for about 2 years the thing goes on and off and when i put it in when it is low battery it turns green
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 4 for PS3 Energizer Power & Play Station
Looks very nice but chargers are funky.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/12
MrDangles
Location: 12944
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This product is very nice looking but the charger says its charged when i know its dead and wont charge at the same time.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for PS3 Energizer Power & Play Station
Good Product but doesnt last
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/28/12
Bdan
Location: Yukon, Ok
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i was going to rate this product at the top due to the convenience factor and how great the indicator lights were, however after one year of use the product no longer works. I figured since it was a branded product of Energizer that i could trust this but i guess not. I read many reviews and questions that it was okay to leave it on the base when not in use but i still unplugged the rear cable just to make sure when not in use. within the first year the green lights would come on automatically even though the battery warning lights and PS had shown my controllers to be almost dead. After another month i couldnt get the lights to stay on red to charge and wiggling them took too much time before i got irrirated. I love the convenience factor of wireless remotes but this charge stand sucks horribly. I will stick with alternating my controllers with the original cable till i can find a solution i like. I dont think someone should have to buy charging dock after charging dock. give us products that last!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 6 for PS3 Energizer Power & Play Station
Just plain sweet.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/23/12
Zsruk
Location: Illinois
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This charger is awesome, it's easy to just throw two controllers on it, and if you have usb cables (which you should) you can do more. The best part is it's lightweight enough that I can hold a controller while it's mounted on this thing so my lazy butt can sit on the couch and still play games while the controller charges. XD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PS3 Energizer Power & Play Station
Worthless after 3 months
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/12
John1234
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this charging station so I wouldn't have to charge my controlers with my PS3. It was really good for the first 3 months but after that it wouldn't charge my controler unless i applied pressure to the controlers while charging. I used new controler as well.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PS3 Energizer Power & Play Station
Good but...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/12
THEGAMER423
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The PS3 Energizer Power & Play Station is great. I like everything except that sometimes it can take you up to a minute to get them to plug in and start to charge. Other than that I have no complaint and I like how it can house 2 controllers and a PlayStation Headset.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PS3 Energizer Power & Play Station
very good
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/12
192384
Location: florida
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this is good it chargers fast has a cool design and a USB holder and not one but two controller holders and if the light is red it is in charge and green it's fully charged but i say the only problem with the nice device is that after about 3 or 4 months it starts to get a little loose and that just the only thing and when it get loose it still good but u have to take real good care like people there's last 2 months well mine lasted 4 because i took my time to but the controller on and stuff while some other people just hurry and breaks like they say take care of your stuff and it will last longer
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PS3 Energizer Power & Play Station
It works, plain & simple
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/12
Steamroll9
Location: LI, NY
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Have owned this for about 3 years now and am very satisfied. It can be a little tricky sometimes to slide the controller in, but gets easier with practice and this is the only reason I wouldn't rate it a 10. The green and red lights look cool in my TV cabinet. The headset recharger is a cool add-on, but I doubt many actually own the sony branded headset, but the USB ports are very handy for recharging my headset(jawbone 2) as well as my Logitech universal remote. Also having the option to recharge 4 controllers at once is clutch. 2 other friends have purchased after seeing mine, and they are equally pleased with the product.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PS3 Energizer Power & Play Station
Great product
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/1/12
FuzzyGinger
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Because I lost my original cable to charge them, this has become very useful to me. I travel with it as well, and it has stayed intact perfectly well. It also helps me keep my controllers in one place so I never have to look for them, which can be annoying (I know I'm not the only one who's lost a controller of some sort.)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PS3 Energizer Power & Play Station
STAY AWAY BUY A SONY ONE
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/10/12
paintballer
Location: Gainesville, MO
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got this for christmas and was impressed. But 10 months later it stoped charging them. And I was just about to get some new games. So my advice is ONLY BUY SONY ACCESORIES FOR YOUR PS3 DONT BUY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And it deserves a 0 but I can only give a 1.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
brooks88
Eden,NC
 
Please wait while more information about brooks88 is loaded.
Additional information about brooks88 could not be loaded.
You can get something bad in everything you buy
Posted 3/1/12
How can you give it a one when it lasted 10 months?Even the Sony ones sometime go bad.I have had one since I got my PS3 and have not had any problems but my Sony charger for the move controller stoped after 3 months.For the price i would highley recommend this
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for PS3 Energizer Power & Play Station
Don't buy it
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/12
Furby
Location: Salinas CA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Well I bought this thinking it was the best charger on the market but was I so wrong,when I plug in the controllers they don't charge no light comes on cause its red when there charging and green when there done but I have to wiggle them for the light to even 'MAYBE' come on and charging with the USB cables is the same thing JUST DON'T CHARGE.......Don't buy this look into other charge stations
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PS3 Energizer Power & Play Station
GREAT!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/24/11
United97
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This thing is amazing. You can charge it when ever you want. I charge it when I go to do something else and when I get back it is charged. I am one of those players who plays till their controller is dead and this thing helps so much. For $30 this is a great accessory to have for your ps3. Now it says it charges 4 but it really only charges 2 but that's alright if its just you and a friend. GET IT!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jmmm
 
Please wait while more information about Jmmm is loaded.
Additional information about Jmmm could not be loaded.
Says 4 because it does 4
Posted 1/3/12
yes it has 2 slots for 2 controllers. Also 2 USB PORTS VIA USB CABLE for whatever. (controllers, mic, ipod etc.)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for PS3 Energizer Power & Play Station
Don't get it!!!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/11
GGGGgggggGGggg
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this with the money i got for christmas last year. I was expecting it to last for a long time and do what it was supposed to. Unfortunately thats not what happened. It lasted for about two months, and during those two months it worked great. However, the contacts are messed up on it and it will not charge the controllers unless they are exactly in the right possision. It has gotten to point where I would rather charge using a usb cable than mess with the charge station.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 16 for PS3 Energizer Power & Play Station
this is so dame awsome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/11
holligramps
Location: NEW YORK /NY
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
oh yae i love this charger and it hold the blue tooth for you thats why i love it so dang much\
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PS3 Energizer Power & Play Station
Good, Don't listen to careless owners
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/8/11
DarkPaladin
Location: Ut
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
PS3 Controller Recharging stand
This thing is great. I got it used with my power up+employee discount (25% total). For roughly 5$. I mean for that cheap you can’t go wrong right? Even for 30$, it’s a great product.
I can’t stand the concept that I can only charge controllers with the USB, while my ps3 is on. When my Ps3 is on I want to use the controllers. And after getting off the xbox RROD train, I refuse to keep my ps3 on idle or anything that might risk it’s performance. These plug directly into a wall outlet. So weather the ps3 is on or not, as long as they are plugged in, they are charging.
The look is pretty space aged fancy. It’s black (matches the PS3 color scheme) where each of the two controllers connect, is a fiber optic light. It glows red when charging, and green when charged. Now I have heard rumors (see previous comments) that it gives false readings of recharges via the lights. To anyone that doesn’t spend 22/24 hours every day on the console… common sense please. It doesn’t stop recharging when it hits the green light (fully charged light) the current continues going through those batteries for as long as they are plugged in. So if you want to get them charged fully, just set them in the stand whenever not in use. I realize many gamers will be like “you mean I have to get my lazy *** up and put it away whenever I’m not using it?” well it’s a good way to start developing a healthy habit. If you leave them charging over night, they should last several hours at least. I have yet to play for long enough that they die, and regardless I mostly play solo games or me online, so having a spare recharging at all times doesn’t hurt.
A few have complained that it’s a loose connection. I won’t lie, it is a little loose, but it’s just barely loose. Such a small fraction of movement, that it’s really nothing to be concerned about. In general, don’t chuck it across the room (nerd rage?) or something. Duhh. Is the Sony version better? I’m not sure, Sony is a high quality brand, energizer, eh sometimes yes often no. So most likely sony will be higher quality as far as durability and life span, but I think this is good enough. I never saw the sony version in the store, much less for 5$. Out of the two, I would most likely go with Sony since they have a better track record of electronics, and for new they are the same price. Basic thing to remember, is that it is a slender piece of electronic. Anyone who has used a lot of electronics know that the thinner they are and the thinner the cords, the more likely they are to break down. You can improve their life spans by simply taking good care of them. Don’t let the kids, or dog, or cat, or wind, or whatever bump into them. Put them either high up, or in some kind of cubby. This beats the USB cord any day of the week. I wish they would make the charging pad for PS3 controllers, but so far they are only for Wii and xbox. Controllers that you can take the batteries out of, not ones that have them built in.
Only reason I rate the design low is because I think it could’ve been a little bit solid at the connection, but again it’s good enough on that part.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
13 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PS3 Energizer Power & Play Station
Great Product
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/25/11
DOCMEDIC
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have had this charger for 4 years. I bought it almost as soon as it came out. I have had no issue's with it until I moved from Texas to Germany and the top port got damaged in the move. I will buy another and I am sure it will last just as long as the first one did. Great charger and looks real cool. Never had any issues with conecting or disconnecting all side USB ports work great.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PS3 Energizer Power & Play Station
Charges fast but dont seem to last
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/16/11
LLGG
Location: California
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I purchase two of these because I thought one was defective, I returned them once I found out they don’t work for what I needed it to.
I bought this charger mainly to use the USB port to charge my New Sony wireless Stereo Headset (the $99.99 one.). It was nice to think I could charge my PS3 remotes and my New Sony headset under the same charging dock, but both these charging docks would not charge my headset, charging light on headset would go on for 2 seconds then turn off and not charge. I tried charging a ps3 remote through the USB port and my remotes would not charge, I tried charging my Droid phone through that USB to test it out and it would not work as well. Maybe I got 2 defective products, but was not willing to buy another one to try it out. This product did work to charge the ps3 remotes through the mini USB Slots in the 2.5hrs as it is advertised.
Pros:
Charge ps3 remotes in 2.5hrs
Green light goes on when ps3 remote was fully charged
Charging dock looks pretty cool
Cons:
Not easy to put ps3 remote in slot to charge, if you’re not careful you could damage the Mini USB's
Bought two of these charging docks and list on the bottom still did not work:
USB Port would not charge my ps3 Remote
USB Port would not charge my Sony $99.99 stereo headset
USB Port would not charge my Droid Phone
I ended up buying the Dualshock 3 Charging Station by Sony to charge my ps3 Remote and this works awesome. It charges my remote really fast and I don’t have to worry about taking it off the dock when done, it will turn its self off once it has been fully charged and it’s really easy to put the remote on the slot to charge and you could leave the Mini-USB attachment on the ps3 remote and is not in the way.
To charge my Sony Headset, I bought the “PS3/PSP AC USB Adapter by Sony” and it works good to charge my headset, the headset will automatically turn off once it has been fully charged.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PS3 Energizer Power & Play Station
Keep the receipt! you'll need it soon!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/11
Milky216
Location: Ohio
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Keep the receipt! You’ll need it sooner than you may think!
We purchased this less than a year ago, we used it very rarely at first. When we started using it more regularly we notice that the bottom controller port would give false reads of completed charges.
We compensated by using only the top port. After only three months the top port started given false reads too.
We again attempted to compensate buy using the two side USB ports after only one month the plastic inside the ports fell lose and made the USB’s unusable!
Great concept and design, space saving and aesthetically pleasing but for real substance steer clear of this one!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Quad Dock Pro
8 out of 10(1)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>