GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Wii U Charge Station

The successor to the #1 selling Charge Station for Wii®, the Charge Station U from Nyko Technologies® stores and charges 1 Wii U GamePad and 2 Wii Remotes. Also included are2 NiMH rechargeable batteries and rubberized battery covers for the remotes. The Charge Station U utilizes an easy drop and charge system that allows you to conveniently charge your controllers while you store them so you always have full power each and every time you game. The station utilizes the existing GamePad power supply, so it I can rapidly charge all 3 controllers simultaneously. The GamePad cradle portion of the dock is equipped with adjustable viewing angles making it perfect for watching video content while you recharge your controllers.
Average Customer Rating:
6.333
6.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (152 reviews)
10 stars
16
9 stars
5
8 stars
5
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
8
1 star
7
27 out of 4856%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wii U Charge Station
Review 1 for Wii U Charge Station
Pretty Good Accesory
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/22/08
Tavel
I received this charging station as part of a Wii system bundle. It's very easy to install and use, simply remove the factory battery cover, insert the battery pack and affix the included battery cover. Build quality is probably above average. The unit feels solid and has some nice ergonomic enhancements like a rubberized and weighted base to keep the unit in place while jostling the remotes around. The rubberized battery covers fit the remote perfectly, and provide much needed grip to the remote's handle. The remotes nestle into the charger quite easily, but sometimes require repositioning to make proper contact and begin charging. However, the charge station suffers greatly from it's NiMH battery packs which have "memory" and will rapidly lose capacity if continually trickle-charged as per manufacturer instruction (This is why I marked down in "durability"). Contrary to the description and spirit of the device, the batteries should be allowed to run flat between each charging to retain capacity. (Li-ion batteries would make a much better choice because they readily accept a constant trickle charge with no adverse affects.) Despite all of this, the station still functions as an excellent storage solution for the remotes, as long as its left unplugged until the batteries require charging. It also vastly reduces wear on the battery covers themselves because the battery packs don't require removal. Repeatedly opening the covers to replace batteries slowly wears the plastic "springs" until they break or otherwise fail to hold (how many TV remotes are without battery covers...). But most notably, the rubberized replacement battery covers add excellent traction to the remote handles.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
39 of 46 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bagnasty
 
Please wait while more information about bagnasty is loaded.
Additional information about bagnasty could not be loaded.
plugin
Posted 6/24/12
Where does it plugin?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Wii U Charge Station
Not worth it.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/14
Sarcastron
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got this to save on batteries. It worked pretty well for two weeks and suddenly stopped working. Given the number of reviews that mention similar issues, Nyko seems to have QA issues.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 3 for Wii U Charge Station
No power cable included
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/14
sheikra101
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It seems like an odd choice to sell a charging station and not include a power cable. I bought this because I lost my gamepad charger and was disappointed to find that you need that to power the station. It should state that clearly on the box which it doesnt.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Wii U Charge Station
Horrible, does not last
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/12
Vanroth
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
got this thing years ago, the only thing thats good about it is the new wii mote backs it comes with, the connectors died within three months of getting it and it would no longer charge at all, I think something burned out in the cheaply assembled dock.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 5 for Wii U Charge Station
works for a while then... nothing
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/12
mercanaree
Location: Kent, WA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
We bought two of these so we could charge the remotes and not buy batteries. It worked great for a year. But that's when I started having problems, the battery packs stopped holding a charge for more than 2 hours, I needed constant recharging for all four, and then they just stopped working. They don't charge anymore and my parents don't want to keep buying batteries. So don't waste your money, buy a product like Energizer's rechargeable batteries. Just don't buy this.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 6 for Wii U Charge Station
Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/13/11
jawrippa
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
YOU SHOULD BUT THIS PRODUCT RIGHT NOW IF YOU DO IN THE MANUAL IT SAYS THAT IT TAKES 4 HOURS FOR THE WII REMOTE TO FULLY CHARGE BUT PUT IT ON FOR 1 HOUR OR LESS AND THE BATTERY CHARGES ON THE WII REMOTE ALL FOUR LIGHTS BLINK SO EVERY WII ONWER SHOULD HAVE ONE OF THESE JUST DO WHAT IT SAYS ABOVE THEN YOU CAN CONSEVERE THIS PRODUCT AND ITS BATTERIES FOR A LONG TIME I HAVE HAD MINE FOUR 5 MONTHS NOW
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wii U Charge Station
Cheap Parts
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:9/28/11
kkaatttt
Location: Santee,ca
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When I first bought the Nyko charging station the batteries wouldn't charge completely unless I applied pressure on the wands. No biggy, I used rubber bands and that worked for a while. Just recently however, one of the cheap little pins that connects the battery to the charger broke off and I was down to one charging dock. Now one of the pins on that dock broke off. It is very irritating to gave to buy a whole new product because of tiny little copper wires that the company could have paid ten more cents for to make it more durable. I won't buy from them again.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wii U Charge Station
it works fine
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/26/11
zeldahero
Location: Ohio , OH
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Theres defintely nothing special about this it works good but if you leave the remotes on it to long they'll keep automatically turn themselves off.... I barely ever think about the thing it works to me about like its supposed to its not really special at all... : \
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wii U Charge Station
Didn't last long.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/11
MommaBrophy
Location: Portales, NM
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I traded in powerup points for this. Big mistake. At first it seemed perfect, it charged both controllers pretty quickly and it held charge long enough for the kids to play their hearts out. It took about a week before one side stopped charging and within a month it didn't charge at all. Try another product. Don't waste your money on this.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wii U Charge Station
Try another brand or try this
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/23/11
GoBunny
Location: GA
Age: 55-65
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When the battery packs ran dead (almost the same day in 1 month) they wouldn't take a charge. There is a recall on the battery packs and a free replacement but you pay for shipping the dead ones. The replacements did the same thing/dead again. I figured since they were dead I didn't have much to lose, so I experimented with a different way to charge. After touching a 9v battery contacts to the bottom of the battery pack contacts-it charged on the station. It seems to reset the memory in the pack. Be sure you touch + to +
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wii U Charge Station
Almost Useless
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/22/11
Nay8
Location: Jackson, MS
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When I first got this charger and battery set it worked awesome! It charged great and they stayed charged for a long time. But i'm into my first year with this product and I can say that it has fallen flat. One of my batteries doesn't charge anymore and the other will only stay charged for about 30 minutes to an hour. This product is not worth buying unless one wishes to continue to buy these rechargeable batteries.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wii U Charge Station
Good Idea, Bad Design
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/11
Dunage
Location: IN
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Don't waste your time or money. It might work great for the first month or 3, but soon it will start to say your batteries are charged when they are still dead or only part way charged and you have to keep moving them on the base to try and get them to charge. This is not an operator error as I have had several people try AND I have even taken the batteries out of the controllers and made sure all the gold contacts have been made and it will still do this. Go with anything else but this product.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 13 for Wii U Charge Station
Great Wii Assessory
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/11
grady
Location: mobile, alabama
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This device is very handy, and will save you alot of money; everyone should have one of these. The price is currently $24, and a great investment.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wii U Charge Station
"You need (wii charging) KABOOM!" as said on TV
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/18/10
Ps2hustler
Location: N/a
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Replacing batteries is a stinking hassle, especialy despiting how you have to do it prevaisively on the Wii makes it even more of a pain in the [bleep]. Now, you can kiss a portion of your batteries goodbye forever. Costing less that 100 batteries, the generically-titled Wii Charge Station from Nyko makes charging a Wii remote as easy as slapping something in a tight pocket. However you can't play while charging unlike Microsoft's solution for the wireless Xbox controller, you just wait for a couple of hours and KABOOM! the batterypower is back. If you have more than 2 remotes, you might want to consider the battery packs I have reccomended. You can even get them in exclusive colors, and they're made for this! The only reason I gave this an 8 rather than a 10 is because the wrist strap is hard to get around.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AntoniYO
 
Please wait while more information about AntoniYO is loaded.
Additional information about AntoniYO could not be loaded.
Unstable
Posted 2/3/12
My charge station doesn't work anymore. Once I put the wii remote on the charger, it says it's done charging. It never is. I have to keep taking it off, then putting it back on so it can charge a little bit more and more. When the battery is "fully charged," it only last for about an hour. No. This is terrible.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Wii U Charge Station
Unreliable Junk
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/9/10
CamelToad
Location: Memphis, TN
This really is a piece of unreliable junk. Like some of the other reviewers mentioned you have to set the controllers on the charger just right to get the charge light to appear. The worst part is that the lights will often change to show that the controller is fully charged when in fact the controller hasn't charged AT ALL. This is very frustrating when you have friends over only to find 1 controller isn't charged and you have to steal some batteries from some other household remote.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wii U Charge Station
PREFECT INVESTMENT
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/10
ERICATOMARS007
Location: Chicago IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I hate buying batteries. I was given this as an xmas gift and Its been great ever since. It keeps my controls fully charged. The downside is that I can only charge two controllers at a time and I have four. another thing is that you have to make sure you have it on the dock right and you see a blue light because if not it wont charge.. the additional battery packs are bout $10 bucks and I think its well worth it. It's better then having to buy batteries all the time and nothing is worse then to be in the middle of the game and the controller dies.. :( then realizing there are no batteries.. its not cool at all. trust me this is a good buy! and if you use it right there wont be any problems
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wii U Charge Station
Hate this thing...
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:10/21/10
BaconBoy
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I think I sold this at a garage sale or trashed it. It was terrible. You had to fit it in the pocket just right, even without the wristband, or it wouldn't charge. You also could not tap or move it without it dislodging the controllers. Stated before me was the fact that the batteries die if left unused, which is very true. Also is the fact that the back cover sometimes blocks the connection. This probably has to be the worst wiimote charger currently on the market. I do not recommend buying it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wii U Charge Station
horible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/16/10
bigpapa
Location: sherman,TX
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this because I was tiried of changing my wii controlers batteries. The first time I used this prodect I codent get it charging it made me mad and I stop using it. If I were you I wouldent even conserder it
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wii U Charge Station
This thing is beast
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/29/10
Angryteen
First of all, i like the back of this thing more. It has this cool rut type thing going on, and its rubbery. Charging couldn't be easier, you just move the strap out of the way and put it on the button. Installation took me a bit to figure out, but then i realized I was trying to put it in upside-down. All you have to do is give it a few hours or a night to charge, and the power lasts much longer than any batteries; if I still used batteries, then I would be a hundred dollars poorer. It doesn't affect the game play at all of any game, (unless you like the wii jacket), because it is in the back. If you're friend has never heard of it, then you can tell him its a hundred dollar extension. The one or two things I didn't like about it are that if you don't put it on the charger, and you leave town for a few days to a week, its gonna be dead, and charging is a pain.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wii U Charge Station
Doesn't do what it says!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/10
ktownhomey
I purchased this charger about 6 weeks ago and I am on my second one. Neither the first one I bought or the second one I exchanged for, would charge the batteries all the way up. I would leave the wii remotes on the charger all day when I was at work and the most charge I could get on them was 3/4. Even if the battery was totally drained, the charger would show the controller fully charged after about 30 minutes or so. But, when you went to use the controller, it would barely be over half charged. I should have known as soon as I first bought this, because if you didn't set the controller exactly right on the stand, it wouldn't even know that there was a controller in the stand. I didn't write this until after the second charge station didn't work. I would choose a different brand if I had to do it all over again.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>