GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Red Steel

Red Steel is an exclusive Wii launch title that takes full advantage of the console's innovative controller and puts players directly into the action-packed first-person experience with the weapon in their hand - literally.An engaging storyline unfolds as you learn that your fiancée has been kidnapped and her father - a Japanese mafia kingpin - murdered by a rival gang. The only way to save your loved one and defend your honor is to journey from Los Angeles to Japan and confront the Tokyo underworld.By learning the ancient art of Japanese fighting with your katana and the focused precision of modern firearms, you will progress and adapt yourself to this foreign environment, where skills alone may not guarantee you victory.
Average Customer Rating:
6.879
6.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
3
8 stars
7
7 stars
3
6 stars
3
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
0
21 out of 3364%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Red Steel
Review 1 for Red Steel
hard
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/25/13
iceage200
Location: litchfield mn
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
A pretty hard game and pretty boering. It is fun for like 40 minuites then it gets boreing. Bad graphics too.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 2 for Red Steel
This game never seems to end
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/3/13
StarWarsExpert
Location: the planet Hoth
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've been playing Red Steel on-and-off for the past 2 years now and still haven't finished the game (I'm about 45% done). This is, hands down, the longest-lasting video game ever. I feel like I've grown old playing this game., seriously. Anyway, this game has jerky controls, but the gameplay (especially the sword fighting) truly tests your patience and skill. Red Steel 1 is worth playing (let me know when you finish in a couple years).
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Red Steel
Really good Shooting Wii game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/13
readypembroke
Location: Missouri, USA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
First of all, this is great game! The graphics aren't bad and the controls are good (You can also change the fire button from B to A). The cool part of the game (what I think) is that Ubisoft somehow took the Unreal 2.5 engine and used it with Physx (same physics that Nvidia owns). The game is about some people take away your girlfriend and eventually you get involved with gang stuff and you go make some of the top people go on your side. The sword fighting is good, but sometimes it could possibly make your rage like I did. The game sometimes gets choppy but somehow still playable. Also sometimes your cursor will go haywire and mess up a little bit. The multiplayer I played like for 5 minutes and it was like the Old School mode in Call of Duty 4 where you go pick up guns from the map. This game is a must buy! If Red Steel 2 is like this one, then I will have to buy it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for Red Steel
average
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/12
videogamedude123
Location: New York, NY
i acutally don't know if i would recommend this to a friend. it is pretty good, but not as good as cod.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 5 for Red Steel
decent shooter.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/26/12
gamerassassin
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this is a pretty good shooter. there are a lot of better ones out there. its worth the three bucks. the sword usage could have been better though...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 6 for Red Steel
awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/31/12
videogamedude123
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
it was an awesome shooter pretty much like cod. it was awesome i highly recommend you get it. Get it!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Red Steel
Red Soup
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:4/8/12
Roxas358
Location: Clemmons, NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I first played this game it was O.K....until I got about 40% done (from what my saved data said) through it. The controls are o.k., but you almost have to be standing in front of the sensor bar to aim anything. The sword attacks were laughable, and do not get me started on the sniper levels....Overall, I would only reccomend this game to people who have more patience of watching Scott (the main guy) die over and over and over....
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Red Steel
Can't wait to get Part 2!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/24/12
CeCeAlldai
Location: Philadelphia, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Before I bought Redsteel I was nervous since some reviews were good and some where bad, after looking at the screenshots and watching all the videos I just had to get it. First I would like to say that this game is great for it's price, so if your looking for a fun shooting and sword fighting game this is for you, I was able to pick it up for a little under $7, which you can't beat. The story is easy to understand, it kind of reminds me of super Mario bros when Mario as to save peach. At first it might seem a little difficult to control but once you get the hang of it, it'll get better, not easy but better. It has good gameplay iv'e been playing for about 3 days straight and only beat 16% of part 1of 3. Also, if your worried about getting a pre-owned game no worries if it doesn't work you can bring it back within 7 days just save your receipt. To conclude my review I would like to say that this game is awesome and you should pick it up today!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Red Steel
good price for this game
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/11
manman567
Location: Nashville, TN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I dont think this game is all that great. it lags and its really hard to control. I bought a used one thinking it would be cool, but it isn't the controlling messes you up and its so hard to control.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 10 for Red Steel
this is fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/11
killernerd
Location: new york
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
ifyou are a boy and like shooting this is the game for you it is fun and hard at the same time a recomed geting this game:)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 11 for Red Steel
a pretty fun game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/29/11
rockdrummer
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I first bought this game in 2009 and traded it because i got bored with it after a while. But i bought the game again a few months ago and forgot how much fun it really was. For me its really easy and very fun so i can honestly say its replayable. Although the sound kinda sucks and is pretty sticky. The game play is good, and the graphics are great for a wii. So over all I give it an 8 and recommend it for casual gamer.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Red Steel
worst
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/11
Melamonkey
Location: California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is lame. i would rather play brats than this
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Red Steel
really?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/27/11
gamefan4564
Location: shelbyville mi
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I don't get why this game had to be bad, but it's hard to aim and if you don't point the remote at the screen, your aim just gets messed up. and the graphics are not that great either. while this game has swords in first person, this is evidence wii is not perfect for first person games
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
soulblud
Westlake Village, CA
 
Please wait while more information about soulblud is loaded.
Additional information about soulblud could not be loaded.
*sigh*
Posted 6/21/11
If your aim is getting messed up just by pointing at the screen, did it ever occur to you to adjust your sensor bar sensitivity? I played through this game just fine. While it's not the best, and it was just a launch title (the first FPS to come out on Wii, mind you), it's still fun. The multiplayer is the only thing to come back to, however. Perhaps you should check yourself. There are problems with this game, but that one was probably on your end T_T
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Red Steel
Heck yeah
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/11
JFG1999
Location: moorpark,CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
ok this game rocks. If you like weaponds this game is for you. The best part is that its only $6.99. Buy this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Red Steel
this game is pretty decent
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/1/11
blakesixx
Location: dalton georgia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
ok i had this game when it first came out in 2006 i was 10 years old and i got a few missions into the game i was on like mission 13 and i hated it cuz i didnt get the story at all i loved the gameplay but hated the story well wheni was walking though gamestop the other day i saw it and i picked it up and thoughti may like it again so i got it and a few other games ill do reviews on them to well i started to play not really knowing what to expect im now 16 wait so i woulda been about nine ish when i had it but anyways this game is very misleading with its title red steal yousee the gun and the sword and the nam,e youd think itd have alittle blood but none at all that was dissapointing the graphics are good for a pretty early wii game i like the controlls it did what most shooters cant do now even almost five years later this is a game that you wont wanna put down but if ytou dont itl be halfway through the game before youknow it but the later dificulties are insane sometimes if you cant find covor thats another thing i like you can tip over table and stuff and when youshoot somethin it will bust like pipes will have steam pouring out fish tanks will shatter and such and you can zoom by pushing the wiimote forward this game can opperate with the gun attachment but its really not adviced since the nunchuck is used alot in this game for alot of actions like throwing things tipping things pushing breaking and a second sword for gaurding and parrying i like the respect points thing how if you let someone live after a swords duel you get points for special moves and stuff and you get this legendary blade which is pretty much useless sorry but the swords are useles there arent alot of sword fights and they remind me of the swordplay in tenchu on wii which is not fun but theres aapretty good selection of guns they went for a sorta realism thing for this game you can only carry two guns makes sencew two hands two guns and its like call of duty hide for a few seconds and your health comes back and you can do all sorts of stuff but do not i repeat do not play for more than two hours ata time or youl beat it to fast i bought it the other day and i played for like five hours that day and i got like halfway through it now i cant even walk down a halway without a grenade hitting me then so much gunfire and nothing to use as covor but thats opk i didnt want to easy of a game sound is amazing for this game good soundtracks and sword classhes well my other games ill soon do a review on are phantasy star portable 2 and pokepark wii and epic mickey and whatever other games i feel like getting i only do reviews on games i own or have owned in the past i dont really do like pre reviews i have before and it was bad like with a few id like them in the pre review then in my later reviews id hate them so ill post more reviews after a while
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Red Steel
Could have been good.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/29/11
PWNER
Location: Utah
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game could have been good. It was good at first but then it's huge diffulculty spikes and stupid AI ruined it. There is a split screen multiplayer but only one game mode and only 4 maps that aren't that good. In the end this game is frustrating.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Red Steel
an OK shooter
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/10
metaridley
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
well...where shoule i start?? i think that the gameplay is not the best it is somewhat annoying and hard to use but that doesn't make it a bad game its still fun but tou gan beat in abot a day,maybe two the graphics are simply the wiis limited standerds so not much to say about that...the sound is very appealing and its really great,now it is a short gaME THAT YOU CAN BEAT WITHIN A DAY WITH NOT A WHOLE LOT OF REAPLAYABILLITY (caps sorry) so yeah...my conclusion is that is a good shooter but its not COD or anything i say you should rent it or if you really enjoy having games game stop has it for $5.99 wich is nice price,but my oppinion is to skip this and buy the sequel it is longer better graphics motion control and its a lot more enjoyable,if you want you can read my review on that... *note:if you happen to find this bundled with no more heroes,then buy it it has a semi fun game (red steel) and a very awesome action game (no more heroes)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
No More Heroes/Red Steel Bundle
9 out of 10(1)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Red Steel
pretty good
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/10
kkhatch14
Location: kaysville, utah
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Redsteel is no COD, but its worth a shot. The graphics aren't the best, but still the game is pretty good. The guns and the swords are pretty fun and its always a blast to blow stuff up. Pretty fun game, I guess.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Red Steel
fun for a day
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/23/10
Strechme84
Location: Milwaukee, WI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I had fun with this for about 4 hours. After a while the game gets really tedious and boring. i cant count on 1 hand how many times i wanted to break it. The story line is pretty good but other then that HORRIBLE.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Red Steel
good but not great
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/9/10
ps2 wii guy
This game is pretty good not call of duty good but good. A little shorter then I would have liked iit to be and sometimes a little rediculos. some enemies you shoot once and the die but a few you have to stand right in front of and empty 2 magazines from an uzi on him. A little easy and in my opionon the right amount of easy to where you don't get bored but you don't get frustrated because it is to hard. The story is your feyonce is kidnapped and her father is killed, like all other games and movies you go after the bad guys and open up a few cans on them. kinda like reading a comic book that you are a part of. You have three weapons at all times two guns and a sword. you can only use the sword when your oponent does which is not very often. Not a huge variety of guns but enough to kick some butt and have fun doing it.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>