GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Final Fantasy III

The Gulgan thus prophesied: This earthquake is only the beginning. The great tremors that swallowed the crystals, the light of our world, only to spawn monsters from the depths of the scarred land, are nothing but harbingers of what is yet to come. Something is coming...fathomless, ominous, and full of sorrow... But hope is not yet lost.Four souls will be blessed with the light, and so it shall begin... A chance encounter with a sentient crystal changes Luneth's life forever. Luneth must leave the peaceful village of Ur behind, and seek three others who share his destiny. Together, the four young adventurers set out on a dangerous journey to banish the darkness that threatens their world.
Average Customer Rating:
8.933
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
5
8 stars
0
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Final Fantasy III
Review 1 for Final Fantasy III
The missing piece is finally here!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/17/11
Bamaboy
Location: Poplarville, MS
The Final Fantasy name is synonymous with the word RPG. While US fans have played most of the games in the series, until 2006, Final Fantasy III was never released in the United States. Starting out, I was expecting another slow RPG with enhanced graphics. However, this is not the case. Final Fantasy III not only looks great, but the battle animations let the gamer have a deeper feeling for the game, and the job system is just awesome and has a lot of depth. Not only is Final Fantsy III a lost gem that has finally been found, but an absoulutely amazing one after a really long wait. This is one of the best turn-based RPGs on the DS, and is a must buy if you want to finish up your Final Fantasy collection.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Finalfantasy3
 
Please wait while more information about Finalfantasy3 is loaded.
Additional information about Finalfantasy3 could not be loaded.
Posted 7/29/13
worth the money and its really fun to play and the classes of the game is a good touch too and its a challenge.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Final Fantasy III
hmm... something i'd never expect
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/14/11
1012killer
Location: Atlanta, GA
it's great and all that square enix finally released a remake of the japan-exclusive final fantasy 3, but there are some flaws. when i first played the game, i was expecting to play as the onion knight (of course). i was plain wrong. you play as luneth and 3 others. i was expecting the battle animations to be better; luneth getting close to the enemy and striking it with her sword. instead, we get the same kind of attack animations found in the original 3 final fantasy games (nes versions). and there are hardly places were you could save, unlike the quicksave option. and now, because there are harly places to save the game, whenever i am defeated by monsters, i'd have to start over my pogress and start back at the beginning, so i'm not sure if there is lasting appeal. and you can't exactly skip cutscenes, either. and in certain places, after i open up the menu, i'd get lost and go the wrong way. why not add a navigational map and markers to tell you where to go? i'd much rather play any other final fantasy, but that doesn't mean that it is a bad game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Final Fantasy III
a great final fantasy game...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/09
FFgeek10
I am a die heart fan of the final fantasy series and of square enix. Let me say that this isn't as good as others in the series but its still a fantastic game and it's certainly not a let down. Let me say you should play this game for at least an hour before you say "oh, this game is crap," it'll take about that long for story to really develop. Once your through the first hour the story will be just as great as any other final fantasy (which if your a fan you know that's great). The battle system is a tad different from other final fantasy games but it'll be just as fun. The graphics are a ton better than the original FF3. Overall I highly recommend this game for any final fantasy fan. But if your playing the series for the first time, I would get a different final fantasy before you get this one.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Final Fantasy III
Not enough love for this game...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/24/10
LovesAssassinsCreed
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game has so far, been the best Final Fantasy game I've played. No, it's been the best Role-Playing game I've ever played. Seriously. You can't play this game the same way every single time you end up playing it (which means, longer fun!)
Not only are the controls NOT ANNOYING AT ALL (like some of the other RPing games), they're easy to use and very convenient for the game. For instance, based on the boat/ship you ride on (once you get one) you can choose to stop on the shoreline, go under water, or travel in the sky. It's really cool how awesome your transportation is. (YOU CAN EVEN RIDE CHICKEN/DUCK THINGS. *apparently, they're called Chocobo, or something like that. :3*)
Anyways, your team is made up of 4 characters, each of them having different personalities and each of them can be an assortment of characters: There's the warrior, skilled at defense and attacking, the black mage for the attacking magic, the archer, exceeding in speed and accuracy and MUCH more. (I believe there's 33 different jobs you can choose from. There's even a NINJA job and a THIEF jobs. Really classy and REALLY awesome. :D)
The maps in which you can play the game on, are very diverse and big. Towns are really fun to explore, and the whooole game is in 3D with not too bad graphics. The battle system is easy and really fun too, even if the game might get repetitive in some parts. There's so many missions and gameplay that I've been paying the game for YEARS and I haven't even BEATEN it yet. (Which was by my choice. Mostly, i decided to escape the storyline and walk around a bit more than necessary~)
So far, it's my favourite Final Fantasy game. Ever.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Final Fantasy III
Final Fantasy Fixation
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/29/10
EarthBound
Location: Matteson, IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Probably the best Final Fantasy NDS game there is, by far. Even if your not a hardcore FF fan you'll fall head over toes for this widely unseen Final Fantasy story.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Final Fantasy III
The best RPG/turn-based game ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/2/11
LuneththeOnionKnight
Location: the Floating Continent
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I bought this game several years ago, and have played it 50+ times. It is so good, you will want another copy so as not to delete old files.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Final Fantasy III
Great installment
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/10
wikidude
People don't like this game for many reasons that don't make sense at all! This is one of my top ten final fantasy's! It has awesome music in my opinion and there are some minor problems, but they are not that much to worry about. Where there are 20+ jobs in here, so if you try to master it all it will be a long game for real. My sister she really annoys me over this game but I cant stop this being addictive to Final Fantasy III thing! There are several final fantasy's that were worst. (I'm definitely not saying it is bad because i love this game still even though i got it in 2007!) It can get hard during some parts of the game so beware and don't say i did not warn you about that at all! Overall, awesome final fantasy game that will probably keep you up! That was my review on Final Fantasy III!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Final Fantasy III
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/16/11
Gamer1919
Location: tx
I'm glad that the game has 3d graphics instead of the old FF games and the game is long to me.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Final Fantasy III
Great game the first time around.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/28/12
Someguyfromspace
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Back in '07, I picked up this game, because it sounded cool. This was my first FF game. At first, I had no Idea what was going on, and it pretty much stayed that way for the entire game. Seeing the different spells and abilities from different jobs was fun. Although my Monk was totally overpowered, which I knew from the 9999 damage pretty early in the game. Overall, this was super fun until I beat the Cloud of Darkness(I really liked the BGM for the fight), then there was really nothing left for me.
I hadn't done any Onion Knight or secret stuff, and I never will.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Roxas358
Clemmons, NC
 
Please wait while more information about Roxas358 is loaded.
Additional information about Roxas358 could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Go for these instead.
Posted 8/1/12
If you happen to have a PSX/PS3/PSP/emulator, etc. I would suggest getting Final Fantasy 7, 8, 9, 10, 10-2, and 13. If you are looking for some good RPGs go more for Kingdom Hearts, Mass Effect, Pokemon (lol), Zelda, I would suggest finding a YouTube IGN review before finding the game (like Golden Sun Dark Dawn). Also, if you have a DS I HIGHLY reccomend Glory of Heracles, The World Ends with You, and the Castlevania games on it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Final Fantasy III
Great remake of the classic NES title
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/28/12
Roxas358
Location: Clemmons, NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have played the original NES title (on a emulator ^_^), and it was pretty good, so I bought the NDS remake of it a little while back and here's my opinion about the game. The graphics are greater than I thought it would be at first glance at the box. The battles are traditional Final Fantasy turnbased. The job system is first introduced in this series, but with every job having to be leveled up, and half the reason I rated this with a 5, this game can easily become a tiring and monotonous hours of "grinding/leveling up" your characters. The story is o.k. for the game, but with HUGE gaps between them, it gets really annoying trying to proceed in the game. Where I haven't beat the DS version, I have seen enough of it to understand that the remake is almost the same as the NES version, but with 3D graphics, a different variation to the story, INSANELY difficult to get through dungeons due to the underleveled party (half the reason I can't continue anymore...), and the game just isn't as appealing as I thought it was going to be. Bottom line, get this game if you are a REAL BIG fan of the series and want a filler game (to all you FF fans, don't be mad at me I think that this, 2, 12, and 14 are the worst entries for the series) for when a better game comes out. So, buy this if you want, or just ignore it; your choice.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 11 for Final Fantasy III
The introduction to the final fantasy class system
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/15/11
finalFANtasy07
Location: Fremont,CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
the introduction to the class system of what is FINAL FANTASY, including an amazing story line, awesome gameplay, treacherous bosses (it's sad that gilgamesh isn't in this game..), and fantastic music! BUY THIS GAME NOW IF YOU LIKE FINAL FANTASY 5 AND FINAL FANTASY X-2!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Final Fantasy III
BEST FINAL FANTASY GAME EVER!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/18/10
chazavold
Location: Winter Springs, Fl
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is the best game I have ever played. I would highly recommend getting this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Final Fantasy III
great classic rpg
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/11
boxnev
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
although like any final fantasy game, there is a lot of traveling and it gets redundant after awhile but this is still a classic rpg and a must have for hardcore final fantasy fans and rpg fans alike.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for Final Fantasy III
One of the best final fantasy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/11
steveworldwar2
Location: MN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you like final fantasy and haven't played this game, then you have to!!!! Although the final boss is a little tough, the rest of the game is fun.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Final Fantasy III
BEST FINAL FANTASY GAME EVER!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/18/10
chazavold
Location: Winter Springs, Fl
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is awesome, and I would highly recommend getting this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.