GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Wii Classic Controller

The Classic Controller is designed to work together with the Wii Remote on the Wii console. Created for accessibility and comfort, the Classic Controller blends design elements from game systems such as the NES¨, Super NES¨, and Nintendo 64¨ providing seamless play control for a wide range of games. The Classic Controller is primarily used for playing Virtual Console games on the Wii Shop Channel. Also look on the back of Wii Game Disc packaging to see which games use the Classic Controller.
Average Customer Rating:
8.533
8.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
5
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 out of 1587%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wii Classic Controller
Review 1 for Wii Classic Controller
Better Than You'd Think
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/7/09
PS3 and Wii Owner
I Bought this the same day that i bought my ps3 energizer charge station (check my review... that product is great!) and im impressed. Dont pay any attention 2 any bad reviews of this thing. While i havent had a chance to use it extensively for any period of time, right out of the box its clear that this is a better alternative than the side ways wii-mote, or gamecube controller! While does feel strange at first due to lack of anything to really grab onto...unlike the ps3. (it has a feel similar to older nintendo conrollers... duh) The buttons do take a little more of a press than the normall wii-mote due to the fact that the buttons stick out farther, but this is better in look and feel than the wireless classic controllers out there! This thing is way better than u think... :-) Also dont buy this anywhere other than eb games/ Gamestop they are the best as far as being cooperative and friendly when looking for important gaming accessories!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wii Classic Controller
Poor design great functionality
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/15/10
AnonymouslyConfused
I highly recommend this controller for your VC games except your N64 games. I would use a Gamecube controller for your 64 VC games. But, this controller is excellent for your other games say for instance NES,SNES,Genesis,etc. Works great for games like Brawl and Mario Kart Wii. The controller has kind of a good and bad design at the same time. The design works well if you are playing your games using the D-Pad. If you have bigger hands like me it feels kind of odd at first using the analog sticks and you will have to position your hands accordingly. Also what I did was I purchased the NYKO grip which really helped in my situation. The controller is of good construction. With this being a 1st party controller its easy to note it has durable plastic and does not have the cheap feel to it that a lot of 3rd party controllers do. The D-Pad is completely perfect which Nintendo has been known for a lot of years.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wii Classic Controller
Must Have Accessory
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/9/08
TBONE99
First of all, the people that have been busting on the controller about the location of the joysticks, they need to get out more, because if you look it is virtually the same place as a play station controller (geographically), and secondly, nintendo has made worse (N64 controller). I for one enjoy this controller. It is essentially the same thing as a super nintendo controller (in my opinion, the controller that started it all, if it wasn't for the diamond button layout, we wouldn't have xbox and play station controllers). It is very stable and it feels like if you threw it at a wall it wouldn't break. I trust nintendo with everything that they make, and I am telling you, this is definitely the best controller they have ever made. Buy this and play all of your favorite n64 and super nintendo favorites on the most durable, reliable and downright best controller for the nintendo wii.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Superson1c
Michigan
 
Please wait while more information about Superson1c is loaded.
Additional information about Superson1c could not be loaded.
Pretty good... if you like SNES games.
Posted 8/19/11
This is a pretty good controller to have, but I mostly use it for SNES games. I bought this mostly so I could comfortably play Super Mario World (it has made all the difference). It also works great with other titles for the same console. But if you just want to play N64 or NES games, I'd reccomend using a Gamecube controller or the Wii Remote instead.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Wii Classic Controller
the classic experience
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/4/09
Zinru
I love this controller because as much as i like the motion aspects of the Wii, sometimes its nice to just sit and relax while playing. I dont always need to be jumping around and the classic controller gives me the ability to choose between interactivity or relaxation. I always use this controller for any game hat allows it. This controller also has a nice sleak design and is comfortable to hold and manuever. My favorite feature is probably the simple fact that i dont have to worry about the sensor bar, I can move around as i please without the game being interrupted because im out of range. In my eyes, this is the only way to play Mario Kart and Super Smash Bros. Using this controller brings me back to the nes and snes days of gaming I recommend this to anyone who plays video games.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wii Classic Controller
Good, but not excellent!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/24/09
Linkle2
Don't get me wrong, if you are looking for a more classic gaming way to play the Wii, look no further. Think of this as a more up-to-date Gamecube Controller, but more compact. I have found this very useful in certain games like Legend of Zelda, Mario Kart Wii(although I prefer the Wii Wheel), and Super Mario Galaxy, which takes a lot of the tension out of doing special maneuvers. The couple of problems I have with the game is it still uses your Wiimote's battery, instead of just plugging in a wireless port at the top. It is also very small, so your hands can tend to slide, and if you aren't the neatest person, you could lose it fairly easily. All in all though, for the price it is, it is worth it if you love the Classic Gaming, but if you are using this just to escape from certain games, it won't work, as in some games(like Mario Kart Wii) you are limited to certain tricks, etc.Buy this, you won't be let down. Rock on!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wii Classic Controller
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/13/11
jurassicparkfan500
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This controller is awesome because you can play classic games like zelda and donkey kong and can also play newer WiiWare games and also games like Super Smash Bros Brawl. Eveything about this controller is awesome.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wii Classic Controller
This controller is great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/09
Ymaster224
Dont listen to anybody that says this is a bad controller cause this is no were near bad this controller is PERFECT even if it does have a wire at the end of it it doesnt bother u at all you forget it even there. When i first held the controller in my hand it brought me that nastalgia feeling it feels soo much like the SNES controller but soo much better. This controller is well worth the money you will not be dissapointed at all. the dual sticks at the bottom make me feel like im using a ps3 controller..If u play brawl alot or mario kart this is great. BUT if u already have a GC controller then you dont really need this. Thank you nintendo for creating such a brilitant controller. Again the classic controller gets a well deserved 5/5.....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wii Classic Controller
Great Controller
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/21/11
jman39clues
Location: GA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This controller is great and is easy to use. Be sure to get all buttons loose before playing because some buttons are hard to push in, but overall, it is a great product.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
nintendomonkey
 
Please wait while more information about nintendomonkey is loaded.
Additional information about nintendomonkey could not be loaded.
Posted 3/18/12
Do you have to plug this controller into a wii controller to use it?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Wii Classic Controller
AWESOME!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/23/11
Daftendirekted
Location: Lancaster, CA
First of all the "1's" were because those categories didn't really apply to this (sound and graphics). This is totally awesome. I originally got it for my grandpa, because I bought him space invaders off the virtual console, and it only supported this. I use it for alot of things- It works with most, if not all virtual console titles (I have Space invaders, Sonic the hedgehog, and mappy) and some wiiare titles (like Gyrostarr) and a selection of discs (SSBB, Mario Kart Wii, 007 Goldeneye, Black Ops). It is awesome, and it has a good feel, like a classic controller. Very good buy!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wii Classic Controller
Something isn't right
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/10/08
Little zack
This isn't that great of a controller for a few reasons. One thing is it design, holding it comfortably is a tad bit of a problem, since there isn't any handles (There is a handle for it, but it does not come with the controller itself). Another thing with the design and comfort is how you have to plug it in to the the Wii Remote, I tied it up to the controller so I wouldn't have to have the controller be dragged around (Or be hanging, if you do play standing up). Another thing was the key lay-out was a tad difficult to get used to, if your just starting to use it. The responsiveness is good though. Don't make the mistake like I did, Just use your money that you would use for this to buy the nunchuck, which is a whole lot easier to use, and you can use it with more games.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
4 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wii Classic Controller
Perfect For Virtual Console Titles As Well As Supported Wii Titles
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/26/08
xXSteVeDaVeXx
If you do not own a gamecube controller, or you just prefer wireless, then this is the controller for you. You can play all the games on the virtual console like a dream, and play other titles from Wii such as Mario Kart, and Resident Evil 4. I highly recommend this product for it's wireless capabilities, compatability and comfort. The only thing that bothered me in the least about this controller is the analog sticks in the middle. I realize that they really are great for the games like resident evil, mario kart, and games like mario 64 (virtual console) but for super smash brothers brawl it bugged me just a little bit, because it was not as precise as the gamecube counterpart. This of course is just a little issue, and when you get the hang of it, can be an enjoyable compatability experience like no other.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 12 for Wii Classic Controller
Nice Controller!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/14/09
Heres Jonny
This is a decent controller. I think of it as the xbox 360 version of a controller. It is nice to have if you don't feel like getting up to play or if you have leg problems. The bad thing about this controller is that it isn't able to be used in all wii games. Mainly sports games and some action games are compatible with this controller. You don't have to worry about the sensor bar for the wii because the game knows that your using the classic controller and doesn't try to sense the wii remote. This is like playing the xbox 360 version of a game only you are playing wii with wii graphics. For the price this feature to the wii is it is definitely worth buying and you will enjoy it with friends or even on your own. This isn't as amazing as the wiimote but it is a cool and fun feature of the wii!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 13 for Wii Classic Controller
This is a Terrible Controller
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/22/08
DELEDOM
This controller is terrible simply due to the location of the analog sticks. They are way to low. If you are use to the left had stick being above your thumb (XBOX 360 controller) then this is the most uncomfortable controller ever. The sticks are way to low, and the location of the "Z" buttons are terrible. The X,Y, A,B buttons are not far enough in, so if you have big hands it is highly uncomfortable. I would not recommend this controller to anyone. Even though the button layout on the gamecube controller is a liitle wierd, I would recommend buying that anyday over the Wii classic. Also, the cord comes from the bottom and you have to plug it into the wireless controller that comes with the wii. Who's idea was that? All around, this is a terrible controller.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Daftendirekted
Lancaster, CA
 
Please wait while more information about Daftendirekted is loaded.
Additional information about Daftendirekted could not be loaded.
Top 50 Contributor
Posted 1/10/11
"so if you have big hands it is highly uncomfortable" I have humongous hands but no problem. Ever. "location of the analog sticks. They are way to low. If you are use to the left had stick being above your thumb (XBOX 360 controller) then this is the most uncomfortable controller ever." not every one has had an xbox or a game cube. and by the way first you said this "This controller is terrible simply due to the location of the analog sticks. " then you said this " and the location of the "Z" buttons are terrible. The X,Y, A,B buttons are not far enough in,"
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Wii Classic Controller
Always A Classic!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/08
Wii-Lover-1
Comfort- At first It may be a little strange and new for your. But after a while, it just floats on your hand. Very light weight. And very easy to use after a couple of times.Rubber analog sticks are a dream to use. Durability- Doesn't break easily. If you drop the controller, nothing much is going to happen. However, the analog sticks seems to turn pink or peach after a month due to usage of the rubber surface. Responsiveness- This is one fine product. Only malfunction is that the analog stick might act weird. The default neutral position is in the middle. But sometimes its malfunctions and the neutral position may be anywhere. So ever if the stick is in its default neutral area, or straight up, the character or whatever may move so in another way. Again, It may be odd to use at first. Design: Sleek and easy to use. A Nintendo necessity. But rather quite odd at first. Functionality- Again works like a dream. With most stores having a return policy, don't think about buying this. If you want it, buy it. Conclusion- I would recommend this. But remember, this is not for most Wii titles and Game Cube titles. Mostly for the Virtual Consoles and games like Super Smash Bros. Brawl. Don't worry, the back of the game will say if compatible with the Classic Controller.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Wii Classic Controller
great controller
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/1/09
zeldaboy123
The Wii classic controller is a great controller to have even if you don't have any virtual console games because it can also be used to play a few Wii games such as Super Smash Bros Brawl, and Mario Kart Wii. The controller is very comfortable and feels like a Super Nintendo controller so its feels like a your playing a old school game console. I personally really enjoy playing Super Smash Bros Brawl with this controller because I personally hate using the Wii remote for fighting games. Bottom line you should buy this controller even if you don't play virtual console games because it can be most usefull when you don't expect it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10