GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Timeshift

TimeShift takes the first-person shooter to an entirely different dimension marked by erratic time and unrelenting action. Players take on the role of Colonel Michael Swift, a renowned and recently retired test pilot, who has accepted an offer from the US Government to test out two of the most significant inventions of the century. Armed with a time-control device called the Quantum Suit and a time machine called the Chronomicon, Swift is briefly sent back in time to plant an experimental probe. Upon his return to the present, a major shift has occurred. The world he left has changed beyond all recognition. And his intimate knowledge of the true time stream has made him an enemy of the state. Swift is both on the run and on a mission to set time straight once again.
Average Customer Rating:
7.5
7.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
4
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 1275%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Timeshift
Review 1 for Timeshift
No Time for this
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/12
mike
Location: Eunice, LA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Upon seeing this game's preview way back when a certain show previewed it, I was quite interested. The idea of beiing able to stop (or slow down) time in order to slip past enemies or just annihilate them seemed like an intriguing concept in a shooter. However, I quickly became bored with it. The sound, graphics, and gameplay are just lacking. Don't get me wrong, it's not on the same level as terrible games such as one that rhymes with "Luke Pukem" or overhyped to the point it was an "Epic Fail", but this is definitely not one I recommend.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 2 for Timeshift
Yet Another Good Game Goes Under the Radar
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/19/12
Mangomonster420
Location: North Las Vegas, NV
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I got this game, I first thought that it sucked because of not having any trophies (Yes, I am a trophie junkie), so then I thought that since it's only 5 bucks, why not keep it? However, the more I played it, the more exciting I found it to be. Like, u get to control time!! Who wouldn't want to have godlike powers while fighting a war? I REALLY want Timeshift 2!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 3 for Timeshift
Great game, unique style.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/12
Slipknotdayof9
Location: Newport News, VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
To start off this game is kind of hard. Its has ALOT of puzzle elements. You can control time for brief periods by slowing, reverseing, or stoping time. There are a few times where you must make split seconed descions, and chances are you'll die a few times because you can't figure out how to save yourself. In one of the early missions a "tank like thing" starts blowing up a hallway you MUST get across... took me 5 mins to realize I needed to reverse time, then stop time, and run like a monkey on crack to get to the other side (and the hall way gets blown up behind you). You can save allied forces you come across in simaler ways. EXAMPLE: You notice an allied soldier about to get executed.. you can stop time, walk up behind the enemy, steal his gun, and kill all his friends while your at it. Giving the enemy someone else to shoot at instead of just you. Don't get there in time? Simply reverse time and you'll get another shot. Each power lasts about 2-5 seconeds tops. And then you enter a cool down period. The guns are pretty useful, even the pistol kicks but, but you can also be killed in one or two shots if you arent careful, so your best ally is time manipulation. Each gun also features a "special" attack. The assault rifle has a grenade launcher, the pistol a 3 round burst, etc etc. The story was pretty good, not the best, but enough to keep you intrested.. in the weird case the gameplay doesnt. The graphics are a little dated, but not terrible.. it still looks like a ps3 game (I'd say about average for a shooter). The multiplayer is fun, but not alot of people play (not alot of people have this game considering it doesnt have the overrated "Call of Duty" tag on it). Sci-fi gamers along with Call of duty, Medal of Honor, DOOM, etc lovers will FREAK over this game... even if you don't like shooters this game could change that. Its like a violent version of portal, you have to use your wits to surrvive. TRY IT, what do you have to lose? Don't like it, return it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Timeshift
I've heard
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/11
Homefrontguy
Location: New York, LI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've heard that this game is good. I got the demo and it looks pretty good. The graphics are amazing, the guns are good and the lasting appeal.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Timeshift
Ignore the NEGATIVE Reviews
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/11/11
techman55
Location: New Jersey
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I'm into huge hardcore games like COD, Bad Company, & Crysis. This game did very well to put the time control scheme on. I'm a type of gamer that RESPECTS games with high potential, and this game is full of it and they try to use it to the max. Graphics are very well designed and the sound has its good times, but the gameplay is fantastic! It is like a part puzzle and action game, it actually reminds me a lot of Half-Life 2 because there are tons of logical thinking and puzzles involved. The movement is okay but certainly can be better, but the player can get very used to it. This game is for PATIENT gamers that respects games like these. The multiplayer is also okay but needs some more features like mics and leveling up or customizing characters or guns. I am looking forward to (if) they make a sequel. Overall great game for a good price :)
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BigMike88
Princeton,Ky
 
Please wait while more information about BigMike88 is loaded.
Additional information about BigMike88 could not be loaded.
This is a great game
Posted 2/15/11
i borrowed this game from my uncle its the best game ive played tom clancys rainbow six vegas.Ive been playing this game on and off for about a year cause ive got 70 plus games to play and this gameis kinda hard hope they make a second one soon cause i love tis game alot
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Timeshift
Good game, bad timing
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/21/09
Omega Mitch
TimeShift unfortunately got lost among the sea of shooters released in the months before, during, and after it. For the more hardcore gamers who don't miss a release, TimeShift is a good game that presents some neat ideas that unfortunately never are fully fleshed out like they could be. The story is more or less a forgettable war-torn futuristic affair, nothing that will challenge you or stick with you for that long. The graphics are good, with some nicely detailed, crisp textures (albeit, just as many dull, washed out low-quality ones as well), and fun gore physics (though nowhere near the level of detail of Gears Of War), and the game is surprisingly colorful. The sound is average, with generic music and B-quality voice acting that get's the job done. The pacing is fine, the level design works, and the game is surprisingly challenging at times. The only thing that saves TimeShift from being a completely forgettable affair is the gameplay, which is actually pretty cool. You are given the ability to manipulate time, to stop it, slow it down, or rewind it. This is really the core of the game, and it works, providing some neat opportunities and a few interestingly smart puzzle-like situations. It's just a shame that it wasn't as fleshed out as it could have been. The campaign is a decent length of 8-10 hours, but has little incentive for replay. There is an online multiplayer component which is actually neat, speeding up the gameplay to resemble Unreal Tournament and maintaining a solid performance, but it's nothing that will have you hooked for weeks. TimeShift is a solid rental or discount purchase, but never overcomes its mediocrity to truly shine and stand out.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Timeshift
Good game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/09
cla93/
Timeshift is an ok game. It was one of the first games to go out for playstation 3 so the graphics are normal but the storyline is very good. It does have some challanges and it is a good fps game. The total playtime of the games is maybey 5-6 hours ONLY the campaing mode. The online mode is fun but if you play it a lot you start to get borde. Obouisly it isnt like COD4 but it is surley a good game. The controls are somewhat unconfortables but you can get used to it and you have a short but cool variations and list of weapons you can use. As i said the graphics arent that great...but the blood is showen pretty cool not too gorey but cool. It is similar to prince of persia in a way because you can control time you can slow it, freez it, reverse it or the contrary fasfower it. So nice game and i do recomend it if you like fps games and an good online game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Timeshift
SWEEEEEET!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/09
a big person
This game is INSANE!!! totally awesome you have to buy it! I don't quite understand the story line, I am only half way done with it, but I think you learn as you go. this game has an amazing challenge to it, you can put it on easy, skilled or elite. Easy really isn't extremely e-z so if you don't like challenges don't buy it. very good graphics, the sound isn't the greatest, a little overdone, kind of gory, but they did a really good job on it, if you just ate, and you are kind of sensitive, I would recommend turning the gore off. The Multiplayer is really fun also. you can play on 14 maps with up to 16 dudes! you can also pick between like 50 guy (or something like that) to play on multiplayer, and change you color to just about anything! yah, so totally buy it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Timeshift
Not Bad
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/08
Sub 7
I liked Time Shift. I thought it was a very cool game. It's not a Call of Duty or a Resistance but still a very cool game. I hope they come out with a Time Shift 2 and make it even better. It would be cool to see it as squad based, to time shift or freeze time as a unit would be cool. It kind of reminded me of the first Matrix game when you would hit the focus button to fight or shoot. At first people shied me away from this game and some of the reviews turned me away from buying this game. So I downloaded the demo and I actually liked it. So I went to GameStop near my house and asked if they had a used copy and they did so I bought it. Not a bad deal for $*****. If you like first person shooters I guarantee you will like this game. If you don't want to spend the $***** for a new copy, see if they have it used, you won't be disappointed.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Timeshift
good game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/1/08
finally a person who is right!!!
I had a lot of fun playing this game at first but then it got really repetitive. The game is really fun but there's not much of a difference between the missions. A lot of the game is stopping time, slowing time, reversing time, and fast forwarding time to get through secret passages hallways full of lasers ect. The other part of the game is the shooter which is pretty fun but 1- all the guys look the same 2- there's only like 8 guns throughout the whole game. Also when you get to the mountains you can ride ATVs and the controls on the ATVs isn't that great. I mean you can go fast and all but the steering could use some work. The sniping worked really well. The other thing i really like about this game was there was always a way to work stealth and strategy into the game. Over all I would DEFINITELY recommend this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Timeshift
Timeshift
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/08
Jverhass
I think every informed ps3 player knows the dread of this game. When you look at the cover it seems cool, but when you get to playing it just gets boring. For one, the story line is confusing and not so great. When you get to multi there aren't any servers to join. However I found the game to be challenging. I died a lot but I didn't really care to try again because I didn't really feel like it was even worth the challenge. The graphics aren't so great either. Their pretty low grade. The controls are like an average shooter until you get to time shifting and then you just get confused. The sound is real bad I even had my HDMI cables hooked up and it didn't make a difference. Over all, this game doesn't satisfy me at all and I would probably try to keep it away from my friends.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Timeshift
Time Shift To The 90's
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/14/08
Koptikz
This game is like an old version of doom. It would have been a best seller in the 90's. The days of sliding up ladders and dropping through holes are over. In todays games, we actually see and feel like we are climbing up the latter not siding up and down it. The graphic are very average. I felt like I was playing the game on a Ps2 and a half. The best thing about this game is the time shift feature but it is not enough to keep you into the game for long. I did have a little bit of fun mastering the time shift suit but once you have destroyed your enemy in every way you can think of, the game is pretty much over. I was bored with the game before I could reach the end. My advice, rent the game. The time shift feature will keep you interest for about a night...
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Timeshift
awesome
Posted on:11/12/07
mr. nobody
I just played the demo today and it was great i cant wait for its release
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SK1F7
minnesota
 
Please wait while more information about SK1F7 is loaded.
Additional information about SK1F7 could not be loaded.
Good game!!!!
Posted 8/25/11
I hated to see that this game got bad reviews. I personaly loved it and would happy to see a sequel or even remake but that wont happen. Another good game got destroyed by critics. But it is deffinetely a must buy specialy since its only $5 now!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Timeshift
Solid Shooter
Posted on:11/11/07
A Customer
The game is fun but their are better shooters out... My main problem with this game are the environments, they could be slightly more interactive but if you have played half life you will probably like this very similar movements.
Review 15 for Timeshift
amazing i can't wait
Posted on:11/9/07
Eugene V
This game is going to be one of the best shooters out this year. The demo was awesome, just breathtaking. i loved how you could manipulate every aspect of time. i'm definately picking this one up.
Review 16 for Timeshift
based on the ps3 demo
Posted on:11/3/07
TRuFLiP
looks great, an amazing FPS but not the best, lacking a lil bit on the sound FX but over all, an excellent game
Review 17 for Timeshift
Demo kicked butt
Posted on:11/2/07
icedemon80
I just played the demo on the PS3 and might I say it totally rocks. Manipulate time and suprise your enemy with awesome weapons. Awesome graphics and I cant wait till this game comes out.
Review 18 for Timeshift
eh....
Posted on:10/16/07
Mxmax
idk guys....the time difference between the launch of the 360 version and the PS3 version doesn't mean that they're updating the graphics for the PS3 version. all it means is that they're needing the extra time to get the engine to work on the PS3, because at sony the programmers are monkeys and they don't understand that if they made they're OS easyier to program for they would get a lot more games coming out more often. At this point in time i'm gonna hand it to microsoft, cuz on every game thats multi-platform Microsoft has several months of exclusive release. Idk about you guys but i want my game now, not 3 months after it's been released.
Review 19 for Timeshift
Great game for PS3
Posted on:10/9/07
Lord Metzen
Really, no matter who "guarantees it" the best graphics right now are on pc, with the Nvidia 8800 lineup, THEN on consoles, the best graphics are on PS3, any halo fan knows it, AND the online play is FREE as it always should be, and as it is on PC. So yeah, Timeshift will be on Xbox 360 and PS3, but at the end you get the best experience on PS3. Come on Timeshift, forward time so we can play it NOW!!!!
Review 20 for Timeshift
Sweet FPS
Posted on:10/8/07
Smokey
I don't know were you get information regarding the garphics, but ps3 will always beat out the 360. Its a know fact you can. But this a sweet FPS, way better then HALO 3.
1 2 next>>