GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Pokemon Pearl

In the Sinnoh region, there are two Pokemon that symbolize the region. They appear in the Sinnoh reigon's myths and old folklore. One is called Dialga, and is said to have the power to control time. The other is called Palkia, who is said to have the ability to distort space. The sinister organization called Team Galaxy is trying to rule the region by utilizing these two Pokemon's power. During your adventure to complete your Pokedex and become the Champion, these two Pokemon, and Team Galaxy, will intertwine into the story and lead you on a fantastic journey across the Sinnoh region.
Average Customer Rating:
8.571
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (109 reviews)
10 stars
16
9 stars
15
8 stars
9
7 stars
4
6 stars
2
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
38 out of 4978%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pokemon Pearl
Review 1 for Pokemon Pearl
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/9/09
JoBroFan123
This is a really fun game with a lot of adventure! It has a wider variety of Pokémon, but still bringing back everyone's favorites like Pikachu and Magikarp. And the GTS makes it really fun to trade. You can trade with anyone around the world, as long as you have Wi-Fi connection. I love this game, and I'd recommend it to any PokéFan. I had a lot of fun playing this game. While playing, you should try to use the Masuda Method. Breed an American with a foreign Pokémon, and make the chance of getting a shiny drops to 1 out of 2,000 instead of 8,000. Still hard but much easier. Just thought I'd let you know about that if you didn't already. Another fun thing to do is go underground. You can dig for treasure, make a secret base, and connect with a friend to see their secret base. I really love to play this, because even when you beat the Pokémon League, the story still continues. Plus, there are certain things you can do daily. So again, this is a great game, and you should totally buy it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pokemon Pearl
Fun but ...........
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/27/10
FansRave123
Overall this game is fun but It gets kinda boring after you beat the elite four and catch the legendary pokemon. Pros: Has a really good story line, the challenge is really fun and hard because the elite four pokemon are really strong and most of the gym leaders, the controls were about the same as any other pokemon game, the funnest part of it is when you have seen all the pokemon then you get the ultimate pokedex and then you'll be able to catch all the pokemon from many of the regions, the graphics have improved by alot since the older games. Cons: Is alot like all the pokemon games, the character comstumization hasnt improved because all you do is pick if you are a guy or girl and type in your name and thats all, it's really hard leveling up your pokemon because the trainer you fight dont give you alott of exp. I probably wouldnt tell anyone to buy this because it's alot like the older ones.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
6 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pokemon Pearl
Pokemon gave me life. No it is my life.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/22/09
Daisuke - Th3 As1an Gam3r
It all started with a single man. Satoshi Tajiri created Pokemon which had gotten my life started. It began with the first episode. I didn't quite get it but it was funny when Pikachu zapped Ash the first few times. I started saying Pikachu alot every time I saw it or had it in my head. My parents began buying me Pokemon game, which was the first one, Pokemon Blue. Then it came to Red, and finally Yellow where Pikachu was your partner. Then they bought me Gold, Silver, and then Crystal. I really loved those games. When a new Pokemon game out for a new system they would buy me the new system so then I got Ruby, Sapphire, Emerald, DS, Diamond, and then Pearl. Just let me tell you this game is good, filled with new pokemon, awesome graphics, amazing story line, fascinating gyms, and contests, and great sound. For those who enjoy Pokemon and are a big fan, I recommend this game as well as Pokemon Diamond and Platinum Version which comes out the day I am writing this. Recommended, 10/10 - Daisuke the Serious Gam3r.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Pokemon Pearl
Pokemon Names
Posted on:1/21/07
GrandMaster
Well in pokemon diamond and pearl, alot of pokemon's english names have just been announced. Like Diaruga's english name is now confirmed as Dialga, and Pakirua's english name is Palkia. Tamanta's (the pre-evolved form of Mantine) english name is Mantyke. Also Mime Jr., Weavile, Bonsly, Manaphy, Lucario, and Chatot. There is also a god pokemon named Arseus (japaneese name). There are also new features, like from the old games, Day-afternoon-evening-midnight-morning and it keeps cycling. There is also a train in the safari zone that takes you to another part of the zone. There is also a new SUPER CONTEST which sonsids of three performances. Dance-attack performance-and a Pokemon's appearence (you get to dress your pokemon) There is also Underground Sinnoh. When you go underground you can play with friends (like in the union room) and make secret bases and dig for things. (like fossils, gems, items, etc.) So maybe now you want to play POKEMON DIAMOND OR PEARL!
Review 5 for Pokemon Pearl
Good beginners game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/11
assasinninjaTK
Location: Georgia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This should be the first game on your ds its good clean and basic.Thanks too a HUGE amount of pokemon and wi-fi connection,you will want this game forever!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pokemon Pearl
Pokemon Diamond/Pearl
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/08
Anonymous
Pokemon Diamond and Pearl is perhaps one of the best pokemon games ever made. With new pokemon, poke balls, and contest style it has something for everyone. The game does however seem to be based on fire red and leaf green. Just like in fire red and leaf green there is a pokemon tower honoring dead pokemon and the team galactic base is set up just like the team rocket base. Unlike in Ruby, Sapphire and Emerald where the bases are in mountains and caves. The new pal park unlocked from seeing all 150 pokemon the sinnoh pokedex, allows you to send over six pokemon every twenty-four hours from a game boy advance pokemon game. Overall the game is great with the same concept of training and breeding pokemon, then beating the elite four plus champion that we all love. The game deserves ten out of ten.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pokemon Pearl
My Re-Review for Pokemon Pearl
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/14/11
andrewpbeast
I looked back at my review for Pokemon Pearl version and I realised I went way to harsh on the game. Even though I gave the game a 9, I was way to busy in pointing out that it was my least favorite Pokemon game in the main series and righting about all of its flaws. So here is a short re-review. First off, the games sound is not all that bad. Sure, it does sound all little off from all the other Pokemon games and the Pokemon do sound very techno-ish, but it really is not that annoying. Plus, most of the new Pokemon are pretty cool. I also like how the game was actually kind of challenging, and the Pokemon league was pretty tough to beat. The one thing I am staying true to my old review is the slower than usual gameplay. The game moves very slow mainly do to the slow animations of the Pokemon and long awkward waiting times after each move. However, it never gets to the point where it is just not fun. CONCLUSION: Why I said in my old review that I would give this game an 8.9, I don't know. My true rating for this game would be around a 9.3... and all other versions I would give about a 9.8 (Gold, Silver, Cyrstal, Black, White) to a 10 (Blue, Red, Yellow, Ruby, Sapphire, Emerald). So while I was a little to harsh on the game before, I still recomend it because it is a fun, challenging, and creative Pokemon game. So... that's about it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pokemon Pearl
My first pokemon game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/11
moppy1
Location: ft.texas
This is is the first poke`mon game I Have bought. Its really great I still haven`t finished it yet so it lasts a long time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pokemon Pearl
Best pokemon game, so far...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/29/11
goomba
Location: Indianapolis,IN
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Being older, I don't care much for pokemon anymore. However, I still get out my Pearl, Saphire, and Soul Silver to play just for kicks. This was the first "true" pokemon game on the "new" nintendo consoles, and in my opion, the best. With new pokemon,( Not like the wierd one's in pokemon black and white.) new story, new region, and new professor, you just know it will be good. My complaints for Pearl are small. It seemed the difficulty was a bit high for some( Still trying to complete that natinal dex...) and that the region was a bit to...uh...vast. Minor complaints forgotton, this is a treasure for all who like Action and/or turn based rpg's. Don't miss out on it!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pokemon Pearl
AWSOME GAME! ! !
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/09
JennyMGA26
I've played pokemon pearl about 3 times already and i never get to finish it. Each time i start the game i always want to start from the beginning. The game play is awsome because you basically control the direction of the game. You can choose from literally ANY pokemon ever created through online trading. Raise them however you like, make strategies on how you want to play, you can even enter a beauty contest! Not to mention my personal addiction of catching rare pokemon. I usually hate it when i really get into a game and then suddenly its over, you won't have that problem with this game. The game is not only long but gives you new and exciting missions to complete just when you think your done. so you'll never get bored! This is an overall awsome game and i would recommend it to anyone who asks. I even gave a copy to my nephew!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pokemon Pearl
Saving Difficulties, but good overall
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/8/11
iHeartPokemon
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I started this game over a couple days ago. I had beaten this game and not played it for a while, so i wanted to play it again. I played for a while and got really mad when i tried to save it and it wouldnt let me! i'm not one of those people who save every time something important in the game happens, i save when im done playing. So i had gotten to the 5th gym basically. But other than that flaw, I am enjoying it for the most part. The graphics are okay, I liked the 3rd generation's better honestly. I'm not into the whole 3-Dish thing. And sometimes i get confused because i dont know what to do next, but i deal with it. I've been playing Pokemon for almost 9 years now and i hope to play for many years to come (:
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pokemon Pearl
Pokemon Evolutionized
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/08
Pepsi2142
This game is all of the Pokemon you expected but is it getting old? No, this game wasnt as addictive as the other Pokemon games but sure is terribly fun! You can catch every Pokemon made yet. Not beacuse they have them all, but you can actualy transfer your Pokemon from other Pokemon versions. Its as long as any other Pokemon expiernce, and maybe longer so you wont have to worry with it not lasting you. Your team customization is the same as any other Pokemon game catch the Pokemon you want and put them on your team limited up to six. If you've NEVER played Pokemon I suggest you buy one if youre an rpg fan, but if youre not I think you might wanna rent one. Graphics in the game are alsome! The map you walk on is much more detailed from grass to rocks to water its all beutifull. Theres realy no story to Pokemon so you wont have to understand any thing in this. Over all I give this game 8.7/10 preety much 9/10!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 13 for Pokemon Pearl
Pokemon Pearl is an amazing game!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/08
Tom95
Pokemon Pearl version is one of the (is the) best game i have ever played for ANY console. The graphics are far better than i ever imagined, and the gameplay is great! The sound and character costomazation could have been a tiny bit better, although some songs were catchy, it was still a major jump from the gameboy games. I love playing it, and with all the new pokemon, the game could never be finished in even a month of solid play. I found the storyline exellent, making the lenght very long and challenging. The inclusion of wi-fi capibilities is what really blew me away! Now, you can trade with almost anyone, anywhere with a wi-fi connection. Also, battling is also more fun because of the additoin of wi-fi battles around the world. In conclusion, Pokemon Pearl is a must have, and anyone who plays it will be glued to it! I recomend this game for anyone, even people just discovering the joy of Pokemon games!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for Pokemon Pearl
good but...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/14/09
ba-zamino
pokemon pearl is a great game theirs no denying that. it has new pokemon and features, but sadly despite the incredible time we waited since sapphire and ruby(5 years) not that much has changed other than the night and day system which I dont count since it was present in silver and gold. The graphics are probally the best part the 3D and 2D enviroments merge perfectly together. Of course the most dissapointing part was the story collect 8 badges battle and single handedly bring down a evil corporation with unlimited funding and then fight 4 people held up in a fortress. I mean it was original 10 years ago but needless to say its getting old and at least team rocket had a gambiling ring as a possible way of making money unlike team bad hairdo. of course its still pokemon its fun, addictive, portable, and gives you the chance to imprison little creature and use them to fight against their will.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pokemon Pearl
A Great Game For Pokemon Fans
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/10
Panther1999
Location: Somewhere Over The Rainbow
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I liked this game more than I hated it. I think Soulsilver is worth your money more than this game, but who am I to judge? There are more legendary Pokemon than I expected (Can you spell Garatina?) so that was a plus. I like the Poketch in this game as well. And your main rival in the game (Who I named Frito) is a plus too! If you do get this game, I also recomend getting the guide for it. It makes it a lot easier and funner. Good luck Good Gamers! :)
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pokemon Pearl
its fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/7/12
ofw12
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
it is the funnest Pokemon game i have played! i highly recommend it for all ages BIG or small. the end.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pokemon Pearl
Very entertaining game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/29/11
ipodfreak46645
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game has good graphic's.The sound is pretty good,on a DS,and great for kids.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pokemon Pearl
Pokemon Pearl Version: The Good and the Bad
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/29/08
Spock
Pokemon Pearl Version met many of the needs Pokemon fans had been looking for but it also did not meet some of the needs. First I'll start with the needs it didn't meet. For one they could have uped the battle graphics a lot and made the moves look better. Another thing is that they could have made the AI characters a little smarter on selecting moves. Here are the needs it did meet. It meet the needs for brand new Pokemon! It included a lot of brand new Pokemon that were completly amazing looking! They realy made the time feel like it was how long it actualy took. It took some people around two hours from the start of the game to get to the second gym. This is some thing people have been waiting for. Before many Pokemon games went by a little to fast. When Pearl came along it was like actual real time. This by far was the best Pokemon game that has been made so far.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Pokemon Pearl
as cool as jinx
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/17/12
pikachu03
Location: va
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is great. i play it for hours apon hours. its fun for kids who like pokemon or teens who has money they want to spend.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pokemon Pearl
AWSOME GAME!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/22/12
follafle312
Location: Marysville, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is a really really fun game and i would recommend it too alot of people if they would hear me.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>