GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PS3 Component AV Cable

Maximize the potential of the PlayStation 3's power with the Official Sony Component AV Cable. 24ct Gold-plated connectors and OFC (oxygen-free copper) cable provides a better signal transfer for your audio and video, thus improving the quality of the output. 10 foot length provides ample length for connecting your PS3 to the TV.
Average Customer Rating:
9.833
9.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
10 stars
11
9 stars
0
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PS3 Component AV Cable
Review 1 for PS3 Component AV Cable
Amazing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/19/12
Inali
Location: Vermont, USA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Component cables are the BEST connection to the older large tube TV's, and it looks fantastic. The color quality and sharpness easily surpass composite and s-video cables by far. Don't think these are only for the older TV's though. You can also use this on any LCD, LED, Plasma, or DLP TV that has component inputs and be able to output either 480i, 480p, 720p, 1080i, or 1080p. Who ever tells you that component cables cannot handle 1080p is wrong. Though the picture quality with these may be superb, I still recommend NOT using the red and white audio cables with this and instead using either the Toslink (the optical port) connection or even HDMI to your sound system if your setup allows it. I highly recommend these cables to ANY PS2 or PS3 owner that have TV's with component inputs. Although the PS1 connector is the same as this, the PS1 cannot output component, therefor these cables WILL NOT WORK with an original Playstation 1.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PS3 Component AV Cable
Just hooked them up
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/10
RobL
So I had to decide between HDMI or these cables. My HDTV has a DVI input which means I would've had to buy a relatively inexpensive adapter to connect to HDMI. I went into my local GameStop and they had a set of these cables for 9.99. That's pretty much a no brainer, so I bought these cables. The gold-plated connecters provide for the best connection you can get with component video and a 10-ft cord gives you lots of room to work with. These cords can handle up to 1080i and the difference between 1080i and 1080p is negligible. Both HDMI and Component video are capable of handling digital signals, it's just a matter of how that signal is transmitted and like I said, the difference is negligible, My advice, look and see if they have any pre-owned cables first. You can save lots of money.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PS3 Component AV Cable
Good HD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/8/08
Jorge Sanchez
So when i first got my PS3 the guy at EB Games told me that to get the full experience out of my PS3 I needed HD, so I asked for the cable i may needed, I didn't have HDMI at the time so i didn't really know what else there was. He gave me the component cable. The first reason that I really approved of the product was because it was made by Sony, and when I buy stuff for my playstations I always try to stick to Sony. They were pretty affordable, at least I thought so, only ** dollars compared to the HDMI cables that cost ** dollars. I got them home and plugged them in. I set the PS3 to the highest HD level my TV could take which was 1080i. The picture was amazing and almost life like. The cable was very long, so I could set it up almost anywhere. If you need some HD cables and your TV doesn't have HDMI, get these. Don't waste your time on other brands. Go right to Sony for your PS needs.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PS3 Component AV Cable
Great, a must buy for HD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/10
Ricky3
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a much better cable than the standard one given with the PS3. At first i used the standards, and it could only display below 480 graphics because it's composite. But now with the component cables you can get the true potential out of your PS3 because it allows you to display 720 and 1080 graphics to your TV. So, buying component or HDMI cables is a must to get HD from your PS3, but I'm sure other cheaper component cables would work just the same.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RayRay101
 
Please wait while more information about RayRay101 is loaded.
Additional information about RayRay101 could not be loaded.
Component Cable
Posted 2/26/13
Is your t.v standard
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for PS3 Component AV Cable
Makes a huge difference...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/23/08
turtlesdad
I bought the component cable not too long ago because I wanted to play my ps3 games in HD. They were well worth the price and made a huge difference from the SD cables the system came with. I wanted to save money by going the cheaper route and not getting the HDMI the guy at the store was trying to sell me... being my TV set at the time could only support 720p... Now I have a dilemma, I recently put my 42" LCD in the bedroom and have upgraded my main TV to a 61" DLP screen supporting 1080p. The cables can do up to 1080p, but my TVs input on components could only handle 1080i, only the inputs on HDMI can do 1080p, now I am forced to buy the sony HDMI just to get the gaming experience I am looking for. These cables are great if you don't wanna dish out the extra dough for HDMI, but if you have the money go ahead and get the HDMI because like me you might regret it in the future.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PS3 Component AV Cable
If you don't have an HDTV
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/10
Kings15
Location: California
I have a big clunky Standard TV so I can't bother with HDMI. I used AV cables that came with the PS3 most of the time, but when I discovered Blue and Green inputs for the Component cable I bought these to try them out. THEY WERE THE BEST DECISION EVER! I was barely able to read the text in most of the games, now it's clearer than ever. If you don't have a HDTV and still stick to the old school ones, get these!!!! It's definitely not close to 1080p but it's a HUGE difference compared to the AV cables.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PS3 Component AV Cable
great for a ps2 slim also
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/19/11
AnonymouslyConfused28
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When I got my LCD TV a while back I did not realize how fuzzy my ps2 games would look. So I picked up these component cables and my games look a lot better now.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PS3 Component AV Cable
Must Have
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/19/08
chairguru22
To get the most out of your PS3, you need an HDTV. And to get the most out of your PS3 and HDTV, you need either component or HDMI cables. Sure, HDMI gives you slightly better picture quality and better sound quality, but it's also much more expensive if you want the Sony brand cables. If you are simply hooking up your PS3 to your HDTV and playing sound through the TVs speakers, then these cables will compare with HDMI ones at a fraction of the cost. MGS4 and GTA4 look fantastic on an HDTV and I can't wait to see how Madden 09 looks. I've tried other demos of the popular PS3 titles and they all look awesome too. In addition, movies will look much better, specifically Blu-Ray movies. If you are getting a PS3 to enjoy BR movies on your HDTV, well you need these cables or else you are defeating the purpose. Highly recommend these component cables.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PS3 Component AV Cable
THE BEST CABLES
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/11
ONTEA15
Location: New York , NY
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When I bought my PS3, everything was decent except the graphics. I was gonna return this for an xbox but my friend told me that if i want the true experince out of my PS3, i have to buy component cables or an HDMI cable. The reason i went with component even though hdmi is a little better is that i bought a hd-pvr , but the hd-pvr only accepted component. anyway, i plugged in the components, set the resoultion to my liking, then the screen went black. all of a sudden, i had good quality. man my friend was right. i did a test on everything and it turned out better than before. it was like a whole new PS3. I swear these cables are magic cables!!!! if u want excellent hd quality and the best experience, pick up these cables!!!! if u want to add me my username is The_Evil_Hands and GatesVideoGames.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for PS3 Component AV Cable
This product is a must buy.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/21/10
Agent8009
Location: Desert Hot Springs,CA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I had a hard time finding good component cables that work well for my TV and my PS3 until I bought these for a good price and let me tell you it was well worth it. Automatically I seen a difference in clarity,definition, and the boost of vibrant colors. If you want to get the full potential out of your TV and PS3, this product is a must buy.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PS3 Component AV Cable
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/1/10
KaiHiwatari
Location: orlando.fl
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
This Component Cable is Amazing!!!
Design:10
Value:10
Performance:10
Overall:10
i recommend you buy this Cable for more experience!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PS3 Component AV Cable
VERY NICE
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/23/11
DUBCROOKS
Location: Rockingham,NC
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
If you're a ps1/ps2/ps3 owner like my self this is a great buy. plus it helps seeing as the ps3 comes with AV cable...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.